• Replies 285

Happens to my GSX-R400. Always after riding fast and far the bike always dies off after i come to a stop. Never happen to my new S4 yet *touch wood. But i also keen to know the reason behind it.

http://www.motorcycledaily.com/070804middle.jpg

idling unstable may due to....

airfilter dirty

tunning unstable

sparkplug

engineoil

carb dirty

n come to worst...cdi faulty.

etc...gdluck

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

are only carb bikes have this kind of symptons?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Hi,im new to spec3 & the bike was abt 5days old.All went fine for the first 3days(idling ard 1-1.2k rpm and can start with a single press).After midnight ride with my bro(bring speed gradually up to 100km on TPE) & top up(v-power) full tank at JB for first time, the idling rpm went down to 0.8-1k rpm(sound much softer and smoother though) and had to open abit of throttle to start off. Does any1 can offer any help,suggestions or anything?not really stressed out but curious.Other than that the bike performs well and very humble on still at red lights.No dying off encontered.Never drag(not now :p)

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h89/Hyper_Vtec3/Sidebag.jpg http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h89/Hyper_Vtec3/Overall.jpg

my ride my VTEC

According to the Honda manual, the ideal idling speed should be 1200+-100rpm. But if i'm not wrong, there are S4 bros and sis over here who's bike's idling speed is about 1k.. after warm up...

should be about 1250 plus minus 100rpm.

yeah... you better run in your bike before going above 90km/h...

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

OPPPssss..so i tink my bike abit in the shock.Bros..wat abt my start up problem? anything can be done abt it?

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h89/Hyper_Vtec3/Sidebag.jpg http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h89/Hyper_Vtec3/Overall.jpg

my ride my VTEC

Hi Guys, just had some discussions with my colleagues who had spec3. Hmm its seems like their was about to done with the breakings and two had RPMs reading like like mine while the other one had slightly higher @1.2k rpm..all taken after a brisk warm up in the morning.But only mine had to open abit of throttle to start it up. Lesson to learnt?

my ride my VTEC

Originally posted by Spec3FBA@Feb 16 2006, 03:02 PM

Hi Guys, just had some discussions with my colleagues who had spec3. Hmm its seems like their was about to done with the breakings and two had RPMs reading like like mine while the other one had slightly higher @1.2k rpm..all taken after a brisk warm up in the morning.But only mine had to open abit of throttle to start it up. Lesson to learnt?

May be the petrol that you pump, happened to me some time back. Normally using synergy 8000, then change to 5000, and got prob starting in the morning, which i usually start at a single crank, now takes 3-4 cranks. My friends say its due to the change in petrol quality!!! Try using singpore petrol for once!!! :goodluck:

Originally posted by friedfishz@Feb 16 2006, 02:42 PM

I don't know if its a problem but it is suppose to be at 1.3k rpm (+/- 100).

Normal run-in should travel about 80km/h at 5k rpm. FYI.

run in finish liao mah bro? lolz

jan 2002 -- july 2002 nsr 125

july 2002 -- nov 2002 nsr 150

sept 2004 -- dec 2004 vespa 150

oct 2005 -- may2007 cb400 ver S

nov 2007 -- current Suzuki SWiFt 1.5M

My idling is 500-700 even after warm up. Engine wont die off.

If ur bike cannot start when crank, then blow a bit loh.. Wont affect. Or u can do what some biker do, that is to blow b4 shutting off, though i dun do that.

Btw, maybe u dun not 1 2 pump V-power so often when u run-in. Read some where V-power contain additive to clean ur engine. But thereis nothing much for it to clean when u run-in, therefore will start "cleaning" some thing that its not suppose to. Thats what I read b4. How true? I oso dunno. But it difficult not to pump the "best" petrol when u r in JB. :goodluck:

1) I hope the spec3 specs was designed to have tropical user like us in mind; keeping petrol consumption in minimum and i found it to be very smooth :)

2)Ive read the mototune article, interesting though. Dont you guys think that its true to settled down the piston than to wear off parts that not related to breakings-in.

3)To spec3 riders,is it normal for the front brake to make some hiss hiss hiss while on the move? it will dissapear when you pull your brakes.Nothing seems to stuck on the pad nor the disc got deep scratch/dent.

my ride my VTEC

My rpm was at 1.3 when it first came to me. I have since adjusted it to 1. Mine have been serving me well for the last 6 months with proper running in at 80km/hr for the first 2000km. It only requires a push of the button to start it without even having to throttle.

http://www.motorcycledaily.com/070804middle.jpg

how bad is ur idling?? for example, mine, last time idles from 1200rpm-800rpm. once hit 800rpm, engine dies.difficult to re-start. everytime my bike slow downs, engine dies. about to stop traffic light, it dies. so dangerous when u are in the middle of the road. reasons: weak battery or carb.

please check

1 Oct 04 - 8 Dec 05 ____Phantom 200 FV 6644R -- LAURA

8 Dec 05 - 24 Jan 09 _______ Super 4 Vtec 1 FR 4602X--LANA

------- - --- _______________________________-- LENALEE

mine oso idling fluctuating. 1000 to 1300 rpm...

my colleagues, both vtec1, oso have fluctuating idling speed.

i think its manafactured like that... :weep: