today, i had finally bought a Komine mesh jacket after waiting for so many months. and i realised that i bought it at $130 along with guards but it feels more comfortable after removing the guards. wanted to get the basic mesh jacket at $99 but no more stock. :(

Hey firefox, DON'T remove the guards! They are SO important! These guards will protect your elbows, shoulders and back in the event that you crash! :giddy:

Please put them back on, bro! :thumb:

Agree, Newton circle there very dangerous 1. Lucky I nvr met those funky drivers over there. I will always try my best not to use that route, unless cannot avoid liao then I use.

Yesterday while riding in heavy rain on Steven road towards PIE. Was gg slowly like 40kph at the most inner lane. B4 exiting to PIE there is this slight turn, as I turn I saw quite a deep water (maybe 2-3cm depth) so I brake all of sudden but very gently. B4 the turn, cannot see the water. As I turn, my bike like floating & I did very wide turn almost get into the next lane. I was fortunate there was no car using the next lane at that moment. I think the car behind me shock looking at me like that. Haha... When I felt my bike floating, I told myself, OMG Im gonna fall this time. :angel:

When I reach home, I sit down drink a glass of water, and tell myself next time i ride on heavy rain, I will slow down till 20kph b4 turning. I would say, that Steven rd turning is a failure planning. There shouldnt be any road that can collect water after a turn, no matter sharp or slight turn. Becareful guys when u pass that road on heavy rain.

After reading so many posts about the Newton Circus turn, I thought I should bring something to attention: Don't press on your front brakes when committing the turn at a bend. In fact, just drop gear and don't touch the brakes. That's my personal method to deal with roads like this.

If any of you have more tips on how to deal with roads like this, do share it with us! I'm learning everyday! :thumb: And there's so much for me to learn!

Edited by s4^dreamer

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

• Replies 25.1k

Don't press on your front brakes when committing the turn at a bend. In fact, just drop gear and don't touch the brakes.

tats y dun so so fast in the first place, brake before the bend, actually can tap the brakes, do it lightly while dropping gear

Hey firefox, DON'T remove the guards! They are SO important! These guards will protect your elbows, shoulders and back in the event that you crash! :giddy:

Please put them back on, bro! :thumb:

After reading so many posts about the Newton Circus turn, I thought I should bring something to attention: Don't press on your front brakes when committing the turn at a bend. In fact, just drop gear and don't touch the brakes. That's my personal method to deal with roads like this.

If any of you have more tips on how to deal with roads like this, do share it with us! I'm learning everyday! :thumb: And there's so much for me to learn!

oops!! cos i was thinking a mesh jacket is an upgrade from nothing. my mindset was never to prevent broken bones. i always hate the abrasions i had in my previous accidents. i thought a mesh jacket will definitely prevent that. so that's why.

anyway, hands up to those who initiate their front brakes while turning!! i admire you guys for having the balls to do that! i did that once before and ever since then, i never do that. for me, it's always tap on the front brake and then slowly squeeze hard on the front brakes BEFORE the turn and then to gradually accelerate while turning. the rear brake is only used when i need extra braking power cos i have this phobia of fishtailing while using rear brake. but, i prefer to drop gears before the turn to 'feel' the traction cos dropping gears while turning makes the bike wobbly, perhaps due to the difference in rpms.

that's my riding style for a gear bike. different bike teach me different techniques though. for an auto bike, even better! no need brakes, just make use of the throttling control. :angel:

i always hate the abrasions i had in my previous accidents. i thought a mesh jacket will definitely prevent that. so that's why.

a mesh jacket wifout the guards cannot prevent anything, its the same as wearing a raincoat or normal jacket.

the mesh jacket is only gd enough for one crash, cos the impact will tear the jacket thus exposing the guards. but of cos look at the bright side, ride safe in the first place.

a mesh jacket wifout the guards cannot prevent anything, its the same as wearing a raincoat or normal jacket.

the mesh jacket is only gd enough for one crash, cos the impact will tear the jacket thus exposing the guards. but of cos look at the bright side, ride safe in the first place.

hmm.. then i guess i was misinformed then. cos i was told even in a fall, it also depend on the angle of impact to tear off the jacket. and in that way, i can prevent direct abrasion. previously, i had most of the skin scraped off my knee even when i was wearing jeans. cos i was sliding with my knees down. i can't bear to imagine if i had worn a shorts instead. confirm A&E! and i was lucky my hands and body didn't have that same deep abrasions even though i was just wearing a pullover. and so i thought a mesh jacket would help a lot if something that unlucky arises. during that time, body and hand abrasion took me just a few days to heal but my knee's abrasion took me almost 2 months!!

anyone wanna buy a mesh jacket with guards? selling cheap cheap!! worn twice only!

Today while riding, i notice something about taxi driver.

When they lane change, they dont give signal for rider. But they do give signal for driver. Maybe becoz impact of accident for them is lot when involve with car than bike. Isnt that inconsiderate? :(

Guys, ride safely. Road is not for playing.

CBR150R :thumb: :shades:

today while riding on the small roads around ssdc, motorola. the roads there one just single lane. i was riding around 40-50kmh in the opposite direction of an oncoming class 3 learner driving a car, as usual it was moving quite slowly then suddenly a stupid aunty driving which i think its a nissan sunny came out from the ssdc car's back, eat into my lane, went against flow of traffic and sped towards me. WTF, i got a freaking shock of my life, want to overtake also make sure no oncoming vehicles then overtake right? wa lan.. really kayu aunty. i have to take quick evasive action by swerving to my left towards the kerb and i slowed down to take a good look at the kayu auntie... wa really shake head. :nono: :nono:

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

i slowed down to take a good look at the kayu auntie... wa really shake head. :nono: :nono:

these kinda driver, still got alot OTR, alot of weird nonsense from these drivers

Even after 18years of on the road riding experience, i still accidentally locked my handle bar while making a u-turned & my bike has to be slowly let go resting flat on the ground. Minor scratches on my 3 weeks old brand new FZ1S rear muffler & side pannier. JUST UNBELIEVABLE. Over confidence.

This happened infornt of Killiney road coffeeshop. When the bike is on the ground, thre were about 6 cars stopped right in front of me & also not even a single kind hearted soul in the coffeeshop even come forward to help me push my bike up. All just sat there using their eye power only. Until a paser-by Indian foreign worker helped me to push it up.

Thus, moral of my story is "Eye power" is going to be expected from the mass if anything happen to us bikers on the road. Dont even expect those pilots sittting inside their air-conditioned mobile bunkers to assist, they will just be thinking "watch the clown entertaining them".

SAD.....thats reality.....

turning radius too small?? i locked my handlebar and fall too when i first rode my ktm. dam paiseh, ever since that got a dam phobia on doing u turns

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif

how come u 2 use handle bar to u turn one??

Almost got swiped on the SLE by a lane-splitting SCOOTER! The uncle was travelling like +30km/h from the normal traffic flow :nono:

Class 2B

FW TA200

Safety above all

Not every time your partner want you to use your butt...

no i mean y turn ur handlebar until lock lol

Frigging Bangras.... run across roads like they were back in their homeland.

Nearly ran over one just now along Serangoon Road with my Husqvarna.

Should have popped a wheelie and land on top of him. Bloody idiot. o_O

Edited by Raptor

Should have popped a wheelie and land onto of him. Bloody idiot. o_O

yeah sometimes it justs gets on ur nerves when they do that. dun even know how to use the traffic lights to cross. my friends and i almost ran over one whole family in geylang during the ramadhan bazaar in october.

Guns don't kill people.Idiots with guns kill people.

yeah sometimes it justs gets on ur nerves when they do that. dun even know how to use the traffic lights to cross. my friends and i almost ran over one whole family in geylang during the ramadhan bazaar in october.

All I know is... he really gave me a shock and scared the crap outta me coz I had to swerve like crazy just to avoid hitting him.

At that point in time.. the red haze had gone over my eyes already and I really wanted to stop my bike and go over and beat the crap out of him.

Still feeling damn hot when typing this down.

Sorry if I offended anyone here with the post above... but I had to vent this out of my system.

sometimes when u riding near, they still run across, cos they believe SG ppl will not run them down and even endanger riders life, i experienced once this bangala run to n fro, dunno wtf he doing, practising shuttle run OTR??:sian:

All I know is... he really gave me a shock and scared the crap outta me coz I had to swerve like crazy just to avoid hitting him.

At that point in time.. the red haze had gone over my eyes already and I really wanted to stop my bike and go over and beat the crap out of him.

Still feeling damn hot when typing this down.

Sorry if I offended anyone here with the post above... but I had to vent this out of my system.

nah its alrite man. we all go thru this. :)

Guns don't kill people.Idiots with guns kill people.

Even though we might get angry we should never let our emotions get hold of us on the road. When your mind is clouded with these kinda thoughts, it would be hard to ride safely! Surely the safety of our ownselves is of utmost priority to us and our loved ones? :)

Class 2B

FW TA200

Safety above all

today while riding!!!

Was on a major road going towards x-junction. dez a car waiting at the filter lane; i expected it to simply cut out without any regards, and tada, he didn't! :lol: good to have such good drivers ard. :thumb::smile: that being said, continue to treat all of them as potential killers. :lol::sian::dozed:

Also, the t junction at holland ave - holland road is simply BAD. while waiting to turn into holland v, i saw abt half the amt of cars (that went straight towards orchard) straddling to other lanes, from lane 3 to lane 2, lane 2 to lane 1, lane 2 to lane 3, everywhere except their own lane. :faint: i.e. they were going too fast round the "bend", just before esso station. :sian::dozed:

hmm.. then i guess i was misinformed then. cos i was told even in a fall, it also depend on the angle of impact to tear off the jacket. and in that way, i can prevent direct abrasion. previously, i had most of the skin scraped off my knee even when i was wearing jeans. cos i was sliding with my knees down. i can't bear to imagine if i had worn a shorts instead. confirm A&E! and i was lucky my hands and body didn't have that same deep abrasions even though i was just wearing a pullover. and so i thought a mesh jacket would help a lot if something that unlucky arises. during that time, body and hand abrasion took me just a few days to heal but my knee's abrasion took me almost 2 months!!

anyone wanna buy a mesh jacket with guards? selling cheap cheap!! worn twice only!

As for the knees, I know that most riders in Singapore don't wear knee guards... but I really high recommend that! Most of the time when a rider falls off the bike, it's always the knees that will get hurt. It's not troublesome at all. Just strap over your pants or jeans and you are ready to go! :thumb:

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

Should have popped a wheelie and land on top of him. Bloody idiot. o_O

Its worse if they pop out from in between vehicles when lanesplitting... i lost a side mirror when i smacked into one such fellow.

Note to self: avoid serangoon road on sundays... enuff said. :cheeky: