Today nearly lost control of my bike. Before i explain wat happened, i need to first describe some other stuff so tat easier to understand later on.

U noe, when we ride, commonly we ve a comfy posture where our back, arms, wrists and hands is in a position/angle where our throttle control is control. Twist a bit to spd up, twist a bit to engine brake. Often, our back, arm, wrist, hands wont move much.

Now base on e above, imagine ur bike falls into pit hole (exaggerated), wat happens. Becoz our posture is quite constant, e instant tat ur front wheel dips, ur wrist and hands still in e same position and while ur bike dips, u r actually pulling more throttle.

Now i describe at happened really.

Was taking a smooth right turn, no vehicles in front of me. Near completion of e turn as i was straghtening my bike, i kanna a small dunno wat, hole, crack, w/e. But it was large, deep enough to cause my bike to dip.

And my description above happened, unintentionally i pull on my throttle. So my rear wheel still on e ground right? So my bike jerk due to e extra throttle. All these happened in a instant and luckily i only felt like i almosy lose control.

So... Ah gong tell story over. Hope fellow riders can be careful when making right turns. Usually when we r on a straight or simple bends, we will watch e front for holes or obstacles. But do we do tat when we r making right turns? I found out today tat i didnt. I was more focus on e oncoming traffic.

Do u?

I think especially so on bikes where the wrist takes some weight of the body. I ride SM, sometimes on jerky roads also will feel my throttle open close open close cos of the vibration through the road to the bike.

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

• Replies 25.1k

I think especially so on bikes where the wrist takes some weight of the body. I ride SM, sometimes on jerky roads also will feel my throttle open close open close cos of the vibration through the road to the bike.

iirc, daniel is riding big fazer, right? Your SM is DR-Z or other? so are both similar position? have only owned 2b bikes due to budget constrains but i believe the concepts are similar except for big bikes are heavier & perhaps even more stable...

my small 2b bikes i owned over the years are far less stable, even more vibration & instability & wobbling but they are also lighter & thus easier to control...so i dunno if there is any difference...i only suggest the way i usually do...i don't force but relax & let the bike stabilise itself...without me using too much effort...no hold throttle or bike too tightly...

dunno if that will work on big bikes though...

Raptor: ( quote )

"As one gains more experience on a bike... one's perceptions and views on how a bike should be ridden will change over time.. just live and let live for now." :thumb:

iirc, daniel is riding big fazer, right? Your SM is DR-Z or other? so are both similar position? have only owned 2b bikes due to budget constrains but i believe the concepts are similar except for big bikes are heavier & perhaps even more stable...

my small 2b bikes i owned over the years are far less stable, even more vibration & instability & wobbling but they are also lighter & thus easier to control...so i dunno if there is any difference...i only suggest the way i usually do...i don't force but relax & let the bike stabilise itself...without me using too much effort...no hold throttle or bike too tightly...

I think drz more upright than Fazer although its still quite upright. Lol. Understand ar?

They are perfectly within their rights to be there, I think road users just need to learn how to share a little more.

Two abreast is also perfectly legal - 3 abreast is not (unless you are overtaking).

Generally bikes are allowed in the left lane as long as they follow the same rules as everyone else, except for expressways of course, or if there is a cycle lane - in which case the bikes must use the cycle lane not the road.

Thanks for the clarification.

But any article or black and white that you can show so that ppl will be more convinced? - Two abreast is also perfectly legal - 3 abreast is not (unless you are overtaking).

I fee that that if we motorcyclist also look down on smaller class vehicles, we will also be deserved to get discriminated by other bigger sized vehicles. Cannot la.. Must understand and give way to cyclists as they are more vulnerable mah. Dont practice big eat small thinking, its selfish.

Aik bro ticks, how many times wanna repeat lah dei hehe...

Bro daniel, glad to hear dat ur awrite... :)

Tink bottomline here is to take corner at not so fast speed so if anything happen can have time to react ? :)

"Shut Up n Ride"

topic of the weekend:

giving way to ambulance with blinker and siren on

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

Yuh e bike wasnt e issue. Most cls2 bike i think stability is good. I riding big fazer so my posture is upright. Elbow slight bend.

The situation today caught me by surprise becoz i use this right turn every morning. Guess was complacent maybe but fact is until today, i didnt realise tat i seldom check e right side road condition (i mean e floor not e traffic) when i making a right turn. Usually our attention is on e incoming traffic, y? Becoz we wan to catch e timing swee swee and quickly make e right turn. :)

I usually dun grip my throttle hard, but it was enough force such tat when e handlebar dip downward, my grip twisted e throttle causing e sudden power/jerk. It could also be becoz i reflex grab e habdlebar. Cant say exactly which is it.

Bottomline is, making right turn, do check right side road got hole or not. Dun just eyes on incoming traffic like wat i usually do. If fellow riders dun ve this bad habit then good for u! This goes out only to those who ve this similar bad habit. :)

topic of the weekend:

giving way to ambulance with blinker and siren on

After watching i saw there were 50+ likes and 16+ dislikes on this video. So i was thinking, should i like or dislike? Lol.

On more serious note. Ya problem. Saw many chances for e car to give way. Video not clear but i wonder if e car signaled? I can c in e video tat e car didnt try to keep left to change lane.

Also in e video e 1st rider was aware and wanted to change to lane 2/3 to LS, then a 2nd rider came and just wrnt ahead on lane 1/2. Note to fellow riders, do be careful as these ambulance r on an EMERGENCY. They might change lane suddenly. Dun let them stop to give u a lift. They may be in e wrong but wats e point right? I always say, dun try to save seconds (time)

Next thing is, wonder wat will e authorities do about it?

Aik bro ticks, how many times wanna repeat lah dei hehe...

Bro daniel, glad to hear dat ur awrite... :)

Tink bottomline here is to take corner at not so fast speed so if anything happen can have time to react ? :)

Sorry lei. Walao. When I checked it didn't come out. Sorry guys!! Edited!

Saturday night, decided to go for a spin since i've been cooped up at home for past few days due to having a bad flu. Planned to go to Changi Village near the SAF ferry terminal there carpark 4 to see planes take off, and see stars.

Turned out into PIE from TPY and rode at a comfortable pace of 80kmph (still running in engine). I missed the turn at Upper Changi Road East, and ended up going to Changi Airport instead. Was quite a sight as i haven't been to the airport for a long long time. Made a U-turn at Terminal 1, and went back to the planned route. Made the correct turn and reached changi beach carpark 4. Noticed my petrol was a bit low, and my battery was quite weak. Nonetheless, i had a good time watching planes takeoff, and the many families there fishing or camping, kids running about.

After a while, decided to go pump petrol and then head home. About 2 junctions away from the petrol kiosk, while braking for the traffic light, my engine died. Kicked to neutral, the neutral light also never light up. Siao liao... battery died. How can that be? I just changed magneto coil back in Dec when that last happened to me somemore! (although changed a secondhand one cos no budget) Had to push bike across the 2 junctions and park at the petrol kiosk.

Reached liao, realised there got no service center and cannot borrow thing to charge the battery. Nonetheless, i kept my faith, and went to pump petrol, cos i need to get home. After paying, i pushed my bike to one corner of the kiosk, and sat down beside it, laying hands to pray over the bike. A friend offered to bring down a spare battery that was fully charged, so i can at least go home first. I told him to wait.

Went to off my headlight switch, then keyed the ignition, and saw a very very faint neutral light on. Immediately kickstart the bike and throttle at same time and the bike sputtered to life. I did not release the throttle, keeping it at minimum 2k rpm. Use one hand to call friend and tell him no need liao, then put on my bag, helmet and gloves fast.

On the way home, everytime stop at traffic light is a risk.Had to on headlights cos it was at night, and long journey, so may encounter TP (i actually saw 2 pairs of TP bikes on the way home). I had to keep throttle on, clutch in, and use rear brake for stopping, as using front brakes will eat more electricity due to rear brake light lighting up. Sometimes when i brake, can see the front lights flickering and dim to almost nothing, then i panic and release front brake, clutch in, and open throttle, use rear brake to stop. By this method, i reached home safely.

Now my bike in the workshop. Hope the mech can find what's wrong with the bike. He suspect it's either battery or wiring. Tested the coil and rectifier, said they were working, although coil charging is on the low side. Battery also looks new, so he said he'll need some time to check the wiring. Hope he can find the problem and fix it. I yearn to ride around Singapore aimlessly at night more often. Quite many things and places to discover for someone who often confines to central Singapore.

RIDE.

2012 - 2015: Honda NSR150SP

2015 - current : Honda CBR600RR

Saturday night, decided to go for a spin since i've been cooped up at home for past few days due to having a bad flu. Planned to go to Changi Village near the SAF ferry terminal there carpark 4 to see planes take off, and see stars.

Turned out into PIE from TPY and rode at a comfortable pace of 80kmph (still running in engine). I missed the turn at Upper Changi Road East, and ended up going to Changi Airport instead. Was quite a sight as i haven't been to the airport for a long long time. Made a U-turn at Terminal 1, and went back to the planned route. Made the correct turn and reached changi beach carpark 4. Noticed my petrol was a bit low, and my battery was quite weak. Nonetheless, i had a good time watching planes takeoff, and the many families there fishing or camping, kids running about.

After a while, decided to go pump petrol and then head home. About 2 junctions away from the petrol kiosk, while braking for the traffic light, my engine died. Kicked to neutral, the neutral light also never light up. Siao liao... battery died. How can that be? I just changed magneto coil back in Dec when that last happened to me somemore! (although changed a secondhand one cos no budget) Had to push bike across the 2 junctions and park at the petrol kiosk.

Reached liao, realised there got no service center and cannot borrow thing to charge the battery. Nonetheless, i kept my faith, and went to pump petrol, cos i need to get home. After paying, i pushed my bike to one corner of the kiosk, and sat down beside it, laying hands to pray over the bike. A friend offered to bring down a spare battery that was fully charged, so i can at least go home first. I told him to wait.

Went to off my headlight switch, then keyed the ignition, and saw a very very faint neutral light on. Immediately kickstart the bike and throttle at same time and the bike sputtered to life. I did not release the throttle, keeping it at minimum 2k rpm. Use one hand to call friend and tell him no need liao, then put on my bag, helmet and gloves fast.

On the way home, everytime stop at traffic light is a risk.Had to on headlights cos it was at night, and long journey, so may encounter TP (i actually saw 2 pairs of TP bikes on the way home). I had to keep throttle on, clutch in, and use rear brake for stopping, as using front brakes will eat more electricity due to rear brake light lighting up. Sometimes when i brake, can see the front lights flickering and dim to almost nothing, then i panic and release front brake, clutch in, and open throttle, use rear brake to stop. By this method, i reached home safely.

Now my bike in the workshop. Hope the mech can find what's wrong with the bike. He suspect it's either battery or wiring. Tested the coil and rectifier, said they were working, although coil charging is on the low side. Battery also looks new, so he said he'll need some time to check the wiring. Hope he can find the problem and fix it. I yearn to ride around Singapore aimlessly at night more often. Quite many things and places to discover for someone who often confines to central Singapore.

Thats the heartpain and worrying part when you just got your bike. Nice to have you sharing your story.. I wish your bike a fast recovery. If u like riding aimlessly do count me in on your less solo rides.

Thanks for the clarification.

But any article or black and white that you can show so that ppl will be more convinced? - Two abreast is also perfectly legal - 3 abreast is not (unless you are overtaking).

I fee that that if we motorcyclist also look down on smaller class vehicles, we will also be deserved to get discriminated by other bigger sized vehicles. Cannot la.. Must understand and give way to cyclists as they are more vulnerable mah. Dont practice big eat small thinking, its selfish.

Agree with you completely. Here is a link:

http://www.ntu.edu.sg/ohs/safetyforeveryone/Documents/Singapore%20Laws%20on%20Cycling.pdf

No bicycle shall be ridden on the right of any two other bicycles

proceeding abreast in the same direction except when overtaking such

other bicycles or on parts of roads or paths set aside for the exclusive

use of bicycles.

I don't understand why some riders ride their bikes with their elbows 180 degrees from shoulder to wrist. I bend mine slightly because its more stable that way.

When I see a rider like that its almost always some young chinese dude on an RVF riding with damn straight elbows.

Its a non issue but I'm simply curious. Same thing with mats riding kapchais or Gileras with their head tilted up and resting either left or right.

That is what you call a flag pole on a sportsbike. Those who tried so hard looking cool without understand mechanics of the aerodynamics of sportbikes.

Not about tracking or anything, but relaxing your hand has darn more benefits than keeping it straight (Not sure if it looks cool or what, needs enlightenment).

Same thing la , the "seh bin" attitude of riders ? Be it riding one handed or anything, it's more of just "showing off" , though I don't see the point whats there to show off .. zzz (I do ride one hand sometimes, just to play around with intentional counter steering, when the road is pretty empty in the wee mornings)

Adventure.

Today while driving... What do u guys think? Acceptable road sharing?http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/03/16/gasamuja.jpg

Definitely acceptable road cycling as this is a multi-carriageway. By riding two-abreast it means cars must make a correct overtaking procedure instead of trying to squeeze past in the same lane and forcing the cyclist into the curb. Also it keeps the rider 'pack' shorter so less obstruction for those wanting to turn left into side roads.

I have past this group in the yellow/black on the road many times and they are probably the best/safest group pack that are cycling.

I don't understand why some riders ride their bikes with their elbows 180 degrees from shoulder to wrist. I bend mine slightly because its more stable that way.

When I see a rider like that its almost always some young chinese dude on an RVF riding with damn straight elbows.

Its a non issue but I'm simply curious. Same thing with mats riding kapchais or Gileras with their head tilted up and resting either left or right.

Tis kind of riding position i called it e mat/beng "cacat" (handicap) ... Hehe

Tink their elbow nuts too tight, not properly torque ar hehe..

"Shut Up n Ride"

How u 180 degree ur elbow when riding? Do u mean straighten elbow??