[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Guest @h_püi™

as above question....

kana caught parking without parking coupon displayed... and the auntie under remark put "No roadtax disp"

wonder is it a must to fix the roadtax on the bike? cos i remember reading that roadtax can no need display but must keep in the bike or with you while riding...

and she also wrote something but couldn;t read her "doctor" writing...

she think her write so nice that everyone can read..

so pls advice.. thanks

• Replies 7.2k

fuel tank dent in? there are DIY methods that is like heating up your tank(when its empty i think) then cooling it asap to make the dent pop back up..sth like this..or you seek for professional help..think i read before they mentioned an old man at the kallang there near LAB workshop doing the dents..maybe need to respray? no idea..

yr scratch some may tell you to use waxing to try covering it up..

my 15 jB cents

as above question....

kana caught parking without parking coupon displayed... and the auntie under remark put "No roadtax disp"

wonder is it a must to fix the roadtax on the bike? cos i remember reading that roadtax can no need display but must keep in the bike or with you while riding...

and she also wrote something but couldn;t read her "doctor" writing...

she think her write so nice that everyone can read..

so pls advice.. thanks

I believe you notice many like to carry roadtax holder attached to their keys right? appeal man..how much was the summon? 8? if 8 and you got coupon then if you wanna save that 8 buucks bring your coupon and head down to HDB and complain that auntie also..so she'll learn a lesson about anyhow summon others.

Guest @h_püi™
I believe you notice many like to carry roadtax holder attached to their keys right? appeal man..how much was the summon? 8? if 8 and you got coupon then if you wanna save that 8 buucks bring your coupon and head down to HDB and complain that auntie also..so she'll learn a lesson about anyhow summon others.

haha i didn;t put coupon.. the $8 is ok.. i dun mind paying..

but what make me feel funny is that..

she can't find coupon how come she search for my roadtax? and whether i got display or not? anyway i do have the season parking disc but that time of summon i was at another places.. not my house...

hi..i want to ask if i modified my ta200 exhaust pipe to what they call "empty" exhaust pipe..will there be any diferernce in the speed, acceleration, sound or any other things??please advice..thanks..

u can simply drill holes in exhaust for louder sound..

for speed and acceleration, wont be much different, TA200 is slow bike.

or u can get "screaming chicken" from one of forumer "small machine"

confirm best sound u can get on TA200.

Hi fellow PKs,

This morning i found a dent the size of a pingpong ball on my fuel tank, to the right of the speedo, do you guys know where or how to fix it? and also when i took over this bike that time got one very light and long scratch on the fuel tank abt 20cm, anyway to remedy it also? pls advise, thanks :)

*heart bleeding*

how come ur bike got dent out of nowhere? some killer litter thrown from upstairs?

u can send for respray. check out paint job threads for better pricing.

or get tank cover from madman, he got tank bra, tank bikini, all kinds have.

i dont put road tax in holder too,

for parking cupon, now following replay's mothod, :D

(jB told me where replay put parking cupon, so i follow.. and so far :goodluck:)

how come ur bike got dent out of nowhere? some killer litter thrown from upstairs?

u can send for respray. check out paint job threads for better pricing.

or get tank cover from madman, he got tank bra, tank bikini, all kinds have.

think its last night some of my hall ppl having softball training in the carpark then the ball kena my fuel tank :(

thanks anyway for your advice

Work to ride and ride to work :dot:

Guest @h_püi™
:offtopic: hall ppl? you study NTU?

Hi Im a newbie failed my prac 2 twice le the low speed control can anyone give some tips ? cos my engine keep stalling at gear 1... when i clutch in turn throtter the bike start to move le hor ? then wat would u all do ? release full clutch 1st or turn throtter 1st ? please advice

http://moviesmedia.ign.com/movies/image/object/034/034107/ghostrider_object.jpg
haha i didn;t put coupon.. the $8 is ok.. i dun mind paying..

but what make me feel funny is that..

she can't find coupon how come she search for my roadtax? and whether i got display or not? anyway i do have the season parking disc but that time of summon i was at another places.. not my house...

hmm how much was the summon? maybe you're in season parking lot for bikes? but I got no idea wth would she find your roadtax..APPEAL and get her Sorry butttocks back!

i dont put road tax in holder too,

for parking cupon, now following replay's mothod, :D

(jB told me where replay put parking cupon, so i follow.. and so far :goodluck:)

hmm I think I showed some people where I put my coupon but I got many tricks up my sleeve :D if you see me wearing sth with sleeves that is (look below(my wheeler no need coupon)

think its last night some of my hall ppl having softball training in the carpark then the ball kena my fuel tank :(

thanks anyway for your advice

if you don't wanna fix the dent can get an add-on tank cover to make the tank look bigger and wider..pm madman for queiries..

Hi Im a newbie failed my prac 2 twice le the low speed control can anyone give some tips ? cos my engine keep stalling at gear 1... when i clutch in turn throtter the bike start to move le hor ? then wat would u all do ? release full clutch 1st or turn throtter 1st ? please advice

you do pay your school fees at driving centres do you? ask the instructor there when you have doubts dude, they are paid to teach you. :cool:

yas, u keep rubber ring in drawers for this??

j/k bro... just making u laugh.. :)

Hahahhh you know i was at work when i opened that link.

Bloody hell, next time tag it NSFW (not safe for work) can?

Hi fellow PKs,

This morning i found a dent the size of a pingpong ball on my fuel tank, to the right of the speedo, do you guys know where or how to fix it? and also when i took over this bike that time got one very light and long scratch on the fuel tank abt 20cm, anyway to remedy it also? pls advise, thanks :)

*heart bleeding*

That's the calmest kind of comment i can ever read from someone who's had something like that happened. It's like, "Oh my, a dent. Forum can help..". lol!

If you intend to cover the imperfections, Madman can bring in Tank Covers, which are bigger than the stock, and if you want it in painted finish, pay a bit more. If you want to settle the problem though, or if you want to conserve the stock look of the tank, then knocking back of the tank must be followed with a paintjob, unless you dont mind the ugly colour difference. Knocking back to shape of tank is best done by a professional. A paintjob can be DIY-ed. If you're good, it'll be nice. If not, headache. Even if youre good, the paint finish will be great and everything, but after a long while the paint may crack or wrinkle, etc coz spray cans are.. well, just spray cans.

Pl*a*et Motors are currently offering the cheapest paintjobs with no downtime (they'll replace the tank and fenders for you to be able to ride while they paint). Dont know about what kind of paint they use though, but seeing some people like Paradoxicalz's bike, it's rather value-for-money.

I have the best signature.

Hi just got my bike 1 month ago, the seat is begining to tear apart at the thread joint. Its a 5 yrs old bike guess i am just too heavy... anyone had gonna such experience? is there any service that will sew up the joint or must I change the whole seat? how $$$?

Torn seat, not thorn seat.

Just go re-wrap it. The shop beside LAB and AuntieShop at Kelantan Lane does such service. You'll see seats of different bikes there, hard to miss. Cost is about $30-$60 depending on the material used or any additional cushion/design.

Hi all, a newbie question im failed my prac 1.03 twice le at low speed control when i clutch in release clutch till bike move le hor i should turn more throtter then release clutch right ? do u all release abit only or release full or maintaint 1/2 clutch ? then when stopping at gear 1 bike very unstable always let my right leg touch floor(which is not really allowed)

Anyone has any tips that they can share or tution me ?

is there a way to tune my valve to open earlier or later??..

btw, i checked the opening of my valve, it opens up rather uneven. it turns in clock-wise motion i suppose.

i revved it quite a few times, well alot of times to see the valve opening and close...

it opens quite easy in about coming full throttle. i really can't go into details as we lack the tachometer. hrmmm.

but anyways to sum it all up, to make it open up much more even or smooth, is it time to clean the valves??.

the mech qoute me about 65 SGD to clean the valves and seal (not sure what seal).

btw, any of you have any knowledge regarding tuning of valve?.

:dot: help?

For every 7 pounds you lose, you gain one horsepower.

JacobLow: Maintain half, dont release full.

Before stopping, try to lean the bike more to the left so you can balance the bike nicely to land your left foot. During TP test, placing 2 feet on the floor is immediate failure i think.

BTW, i suggest maybe try these kind of queries in other threads, maybe trainee or SSDC or BBDC threads.

slutgarden: I dont know. But i did get my old 150's valves cleaned off the carbon and crap for $25, worked wonders in terms of the feel of the bike, but FC remained the same, if not improved very minimally.

Torn seat, not thorn seat.

Just go re-wrap it. The shop beside LAB and AuntieShop at Kelantan Lane does such service. You'll see seats of different bikes there, hard to miss. Cost is about $30-$60 depending on the material used or any additional cushion/design.

wooh ... amazed by the quick responde from PK! Thanks Yas.

But maintain 1/2 hor then i turn the throttle the engine sound damn loud sia so noisy when is a good time to fully release the clutch ? or should i always maintain half clutch ? cos when the engine sound damn loud i fully release the throttle the bike suddenly jerks forward like suddenly increase speed, is this good or bad ?

JacobLow: Maintain half, dont release full.

Before stopping, try to lean the bike more to the left so you can balance the bike nicely to land your left foot. During TP test, placing 2 feet on the floor is immediate failure i think.

BTW, i suggest maybe try these kind of queries in other threads, maybe trainee or SSDC or BBDC threads.

slutgarden: I dont know. But i did get my old 150's valves cleaned off the carbon and crap for $25, worked wonders in terms of the feel of the bike, but FC remained the same, if not improved very minimally.

Hi just got my bike 1 month ago, the seat is begining to tear apart at the thread joint. Its a 5 yrs old bike guess i am just too heavy... anyone had gonna such experience? is there any service that will sew up the joint or must I change the whole seat? how $$$?

I always recommend others to do their seat cover at 72 Desker road..very near to LAB. Ah boy recommend me there himself. ;)

mine was changed at 20 or 25 bucks i forgot..till now everybody who sat on my bike says its much comfy than their phantom..take note I said less than 30 meaning I didn't add cushion or whatsoever..

Hi all, a newbie question im failed my prac 1.03 twice le at low speed control when i clutch in release clutch till bike move le hor i should turn more throtter then release clutch right ? do u all release abit only or release full or maintaint 1/2 clutch ? then when stopping at gear 1 bike very unstable always let my right leg touch floor(which is not really allowed)

Anyone has any tips that they can share or tution me ?

open throttle then let go clutch slowly till you feel the bike moving(biting point met) then open throttle abit more together with clutch abit more too..LIKE I SAID BEFORE, BEST TO ASK THE INSTRUCTOR THERE WHO'S PAID TO TEACH. anyway you can throttle lots to the max even, and let go abit of clutch and it moves a lil..its clutch control also mate ;)

But maintain 1/2 hor then i turn the throttle the engine sound damn loud sia so noisy when is a good time to fully release the clutch ? or should i always maintain half clutch ? cos when the engine sound damn loud i fully release the throttle the bike suddenly jerks forward like suddenly increase speed, is this good or bad ?

ASK THE INSTRUCTOR THERE WHO'S PAID TO TEACH

now for my own question. I left my passport in my jeans and it got washed real good, now I see it saggy all over. How much for replacement? any fines? or is it possible to go thru customs with it in this condition?

JACOB: get the 'biting point'. didn't the instructor teach you how to?.

engage in 1st gear, fully clutch in.step yer right foot on the rear prade pedal while you throttle a little. much lesse than 1/2 clutch. release clutch. listen . twist a little bit more and release a little bit of clutch. at this point, you are around the biting point area.

further release clutch and rear brake to get the bike moving.

this technique is how you achieve biting point and get the bike moving w/o stalling i hope. but i do not know if this is the RIGHT technique. do ask your intstructor if you do not know how.

gear 1 unstable?. maybe you are going too slow, and are not looking far enough. your eye point is important for balance and grip yer tighs on the tank.

again, clarify yer doubts to yer instructors. they are there to coach you, you paid for them. make full use of yer money buddy.

now for my own question. I left my passport in my jeans and it got washed real good, now I see it saggy all over. How much for replacement? any fines? or is it possible to go thru customs with it in this condition?

whoa, you actually said what i wanted to say to jacob, haha. i seriously did not realise you post that about 10 minutes ago.

well anyways, you can get it replaced at lavendar, for a fee that i do not know.

We are now in an almost same situation.....my passport now got green moss on it....lol

http://i28.tinypic.com/5kokk3.jpg
whoa, you actually said what i wanted to say to jacob, haha. i seriously did not realise you post that about 10 minutes ago.

well anyways, you can get it replaced at lavendar, for a fee that i do not know.

the price I quoted him already..quite low for what I know..haha your CC not as big as mine..my pickup faster :p

We are now in an almost same situation.....my passport now got green moss on it....lol

oldy goldy mouldy mate..you ought to be at leng kee in 30mins from now..get outta camp man!!