[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

hi!

Can someone answer me? lol

Cannot go above 70km/hr? Durring running in?

Gilera Runner 06` 04/07 - 11/07

Toyota Axio- 11/07 - 02/08

Mitsubishi Lancer Ex - Current to ??/??

Honda Cb400 Vtec 1 06/08 - 02/09

CBR600RR '08 12/09 to ????

• Replies 7.2k

kan_jason,

i bought my bike at Bike Production too.. e skinny guy in charge over there die die don't giv me any warrenty.. only say if need repair, they will provide free labour, but i hav to pay for e parts.. did he told u tis too??

found it v hard to bargain with him as he sold me e phantom at lower price than other shops, plus his super firm attitude, felt v difficult to communicate with him..

yeah, how to know if it has got new piston?.

mileage?. (will the odometer be reset if new piston is set in?. or only engine overhaul?)

v.dirty EO? (serious black EO in a short time)

loads of vibrations? (compared to other phantom)

odometer and engine overhaul has no correlation. many pp use odo mileage as a rough gauge of engine's "running age". assuming that lifespan is abt 200k kms, a bikes resale value would be lower when the mileage is higher or nearer to 200k kms. but if this idea is used blindly, you may actually get tricked:

a) phantoms odo has only 5 digits and it starts from 0 after completing 99,999 kms (also called 1 round). odo may show 33k kms when actual mileage is 132k kms

b) odo can be changed (e.g. defective or broken after accident). if bike's odo is changed at 60k kms, then actual mileage could be 93k kms when odo shows 33k kms.

c) pp say it is possible to run the odo "backwards" using a gadget that runs the con-cable in the reverse direction.

apart from physically inspecting the new piston, you can ask the mechanic to show you the old/replaced piston (provided you can recognize it lah). otherwise, you would have to feel for it. an engine with a new piston (piston rings are usually changed together) would feel very different from before the overhaul. it should be more responsive, gives more torque and less noisy (some described it as knocking sound). its about relative feeling which may sometimes be subjective. well, lab tests could be done to confirm improved performance but that cost $$$.

it is true that EO is usually more dirty during the run-in. blackish particles are the metallic minerals resulting from the "rubbing" of metal parts getting seasoned. however, excessive wear and tear of engine parts from rough handling could also result in dirty EO.

vibrations in a bike may result from many sources, not only engine. even from the engine itself, all the moving parts cause vibrations. but generally, a loose piston/rings would cause more vibrations than a fitting piston/ring setup.

hi!

Can someone answer me? lol

Cannot go above 70km/hr? Durring running in?

i would not recommend going above 70km/h. nevertheless, it is usually ok to have short bursts of 80-90km/h but only for short stretches. prolong it and you may get your new piston heating up and expanding so much that it gets jammed in the "tight fitting" cylinder. then jia-lat liow. if lucky, you fishtail with a "rear wheel lock", better still if you clutch in fast enough to avoid that and glide forward. if unlucky, skid, then buang and then pray for the best that nothing bad happens next. after that, start thinking about the damage to the engine :giddy:

may all be well and happy

wow.

thanks for that coverage of my questions. Really appreciate.

So running in i 500km then change eo then 500km then change semi then i happy liao lol. Cannot ride above 70km/h?

Oh yeah jB. Did they give you 1 month warranty for the bike?

1 month, 1 month is not alot for your info, but the thing is the bikes there amongst shops are quite fairly priced..most say that is..read below for your running in info

you can go up to 80-90kmh , but, do not drag and high rev.

this is a good point. Most newbies hear from others cannot go 80-90 which is crap. The thing is, don't go beyond a certain RPM level or some say don't maintain above that level..as phantom has no RPM level, thats why most say ride slow cuz I don't believe any of our ears can tell the RPM level.

kan_jason,

i bought my bike at Bike Production too.. e skinny guy in charge over there die die don't giv me any warrenty.. only say if need repair, they will provide free labour, but i hav to pay for e parts.. did he told u tis too??

found it v hard to bargain with him as he sold me e phantom at lower price than other shops, plus his super firm attitude, felt v difficult to communicate with him..

his name is ah swee for your info, he is firm because he has confidence in his sales and doesn't like wishy washy customers can't you tell? but w/out warranty? hmm I don't know about that..still I'd rather buy online from other owners..mine's going soon anybody wants???

Most newbies hear from others cannot go 80-90 which is crap. The thing is, don't go beyond a certain RPM level or some say don't maintain above that level..as phantom has no RPM level, thats why most say ride slow cuz I don't believe any of our ears can tell the RPM level.

yes, our phantom is not fitted with a tachometer, but that does not deny the fact that we need higher engine revs and corresponding gear ratios to achieve higher speeds. i may use 5th gear to cruise at 80km/h (actual speed likely slower due to speed calibration) while others may be using 4th gear (at higher revs). similarly, 5th gear to others could be for 100km/h instead of 80km/h, by running their engines at higher revs.

becos there is no tacho, pp use speed as the closest proxy to estimate engine revolutions (without dragging). TA200 generates a max torque of about 16.3 Nm @6,500 rpm. taking reference to similar to small bikes, we may guess that a comfortable cruising rpm could be around the region of 4k-6.5k rpm, with red zone around 8k-9k rpm and max at 10k rpm on a tacho. depending on chosen gear, 4k-6.5k rpm would produce different speeds due different gear ratios.

with that in mind, running-in with speed restrictions is still a logical advise... i wouldn't call it crap, especially when we don't have a tacho to guide us. important thing is, don't put excessive stress or load on the engine by dragging or extended high revs (speed) till the run-in is complete.

with so much info joseph provided, I think his answer answers the question best ;) anyway I wonder how's thatone1's bike..wait for monday and for him to post.

I am a newbie here :dot: ... I try to go to Ah Koon today at Lengkok Bahru however I can't see the shop anywhere..

Any kind soul let me know the exact address of Ah Koon? Thanks in advance.

Ah K**n is closed today..MOST bike shops are closed on sundays dude.. try searching www.streetdirectory.com and find Hoy Fatt road and find a block 61. actually if you can't find, try going to PLANET at ubi #1 ;)

hope i'm not flooding the thread with too much so called "technical" crap :cheeky:

was just trying to help

hope i'm not flooding the thread with too much so called "technical" crap :cheeky:

was just trying to help

I like it though, its knowledgable! two thumbs up for ya :thumb: :thumb:

appear double again leh... my comp ki siow liow :slapforehead:

its the online thing, happens to me sometimes..

UBI is abit far for me .. :giddy:

really?? where do you stay? KL? or johor? :confused:

or would you like to have your sprocket changed like me and get your bike towed back because it came out on the highway??? or your steering cone changed then let other mechanics conclude its not well done & with you having problems handling the bike like our innocent friend?

Ps: not to flame or be sarcastic to anyone, riders who've been there + done that knows why I mentioned important points for new and ignorant riders.

Hi, I would like to ask what is the size of the carb for TA150 and TA200.

the inlet mm and outlet mm.

does anyone knows the diff btw TA150 carb and TA200 carb?

use a TA150 carb on a TA200 carb can anot?

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

after reading many many recommendations from fellow phantomians, i went to Dr k**n too, bought some gadgets n fixed by him but had one removed recently.

but after reading what happed to thatone1, i can't help but to wonder... Dr k**n "koon ki liow si bo"? how could he make such a big mistake?

人有失手,马有失蹄... mechanic 失手,biker 失蹄:faint:

k**n & old man both very friendly... i like

k**n & old man share job servicing my bike... i don't like

location near central & mrt... i like

waiting time long... i don't like

guess every motortiam got good n bad lor http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Angels_and_Demons/angel-and-devil-playing-0085.gif

guys... just now riding in rain and bike dies at idelling or low rpm...

have to rev up to keep it alive at traffic lights..

when i enter multistory carpark, had to rev it high for upslope then when it comes to parking lot... idelling speed seems back to normal.. :giddy:

could be water leak in spark plug ? or any other cause ?

hi fellow PKs,

usually are air filters cleaned during servicing (change EO & spark plug) ? or are they changed once they are found to be dirty?

Work to ride and ride to work :dot:

after reading many many recommendations from fellow phantomians, i went to Dr k**n too, bought some gadgets n fixed by him but had one removed recently.

but after reading what happed to thatone1, i can't help but to wonder... Dr k**n "koon ki liow si bo"? how could he make such a big mistake?

人有失手,马有失蹄... mechanic 失手,biker 失蹄:faint:

k**n & old man both very friendly... i like

k**n & old man share job servicing my bike... i don't like

location near central & mrt... i like

waiting time long... i don't like

guess every motortiam got good n bad lor http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Angels_and_Demons/angel-and-devil-playing-0085.gif

hmmm mistakes are pardonable, but if the mech doesn't admit his mistake and tries to shove it off with other reasons..thats unforgivable.. :angry:

guys... just now riding in rain and bike dies at idelling or low rpm...

have to rev up to keep it alive at traffic lights..

when i enter multistory carpark, had to rev it high for upslope then when it comes to parking lot... idelling speed seems back to normal.. :giddy:

could be water leak in spark plug ? or any other cause ?

maybe, some said using jet to wash bike would wet the plug..try increase your idling by a wee bit??

hi fellow PKs,

usually are air filters cleaned during servicing (change EO & spark plug) ? or are they changed once they are found to be dirty?

some said 2x EO change, air filter change x1.. up to you.. :D

i check filter at 2 EO change... if filter still ok, i put back and use till next EO change. i.e. between 2-3 EO change 1 filter. i change EO around 2k kms, so 3 EO change is not too much i guess :shades:

hi fellow PKs,

phantom airfilter is cardboard type, cant be cleaned. need to change.

last change, i ride about 10k, about 3 EO change... fuel consumption got higher, and bike doesnt run smooth..

unless u get KNN airfilter... :thumb: worht investment, if u want to ride long term.

maybe, some said using jet to wash bike would wet the plug..try increase your idling by a wee bit??

this morning, caught in heavy rain... so, that could be the reason..

btw... does any of u guys changed gear-shift-pedal ? i feel like mine is abit loose... or difficult to go gear 1.

or could it be symptom of clutch plate wear out ??

this morning, caught in heavy rain... so, that could be the reason..

btw... does any of u guys changed gear-shift-pedal ? i feel like mine is abit loose... or difficult to go gear 1.

or could it be symptom of clutch plate wear out ??

could it be engine oil? or clutch plate? hmm or worse case like our friend's case, gear box? or maybe a common syndrome?? :confused:

phantom airfilter is cardboard type, cant be cleaned. need to change.

last change, i ride about 10k, about 3 EO change... fuel consumption got higher, and bike doesnt run smooth..

unless u get KNN airfilter... :thumb: worht investment, if u want to ride long term.

thanks jb & kmax

Conclusion 1: phantom airfilter can't be cleaned, can only be changed.

Conclusion 2: lifespan of airfilter is abt 3 EO change ~ 6K km to 10K km.

Work to ride and ride to work :dot:

thanks jb & kmax

Conclusion 1: phantom airfilter can't be cleaned, can only be changed.

Conclusion 2: lifespan of airfilter is abt 3 EO change ~ 6K km to 10K km.

air filter can be blown free of some dirts or dust, not totally clean

wanna compare my air filter wif a 10k air filter???i would say mine would look more cleaner and newer, to me it doesn't add up e monetary reward dat warrents a new set of air filter juz aft 10k...the amt u yield from better FC only add to at most few dollars, but how much does a new air filter cost???, but den again if ur looking always at best FC den changing air filter and loss of a few dollars u dun mind den go ahead....

anyway taking a look at ur air filter at every 5000km is a good way to clear of some debris that u think won't get stuck there, so far i've got a piece of leave and bird feather....dat kind of things will juz drag ur FC down a wee bit....

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

could it be engine oil? or clutch plate? hmm or worse case like our friend's case, gear box? or maybe a common syndrome?? :confused:

could be... coz last EO change, i chose FUCHS sikolene.. and gear changing was abit strange.. and more noisy.. sounds like "clunk".. not like honda, but more towards yamaha sound :D..

(yamaha bikes gear engage sound is louder than honda, that i heard)

abit paranoid.. after reading Replay and superking's bike problems..