[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Attached is a part of the phantom manual for simple inspaection and replace of worn parts. I stand for inspect and R for replacement. C is for clean. The numbers stand in thousand KM

Hope this help

enrichment ;) you should share the whole thing with the newcomers :thumb:

• Replies 7.2k

bro manduh

thanks for reference... butta ..

Fuel strainer screen ??

Crankcase breather ??

Valve clearance ??

Engine oil strainer screen ??

Engine oil centrifugal filter ??

bro manduh

Fuel strainer screen ??

Crankcase breather ?? It's a plastic pipe coming down - end below the engine. Got a small cap. Need to open and let go of the sludge (real dirty oil)

Valve clearance ??

Engine oil strainer screen ?? I believe is the mesh screen ( when diy oil change) is after the spring. Just clean would do

The rest I am a noob and confused too !

Let's wait for the 'Guru' @ metalfyre

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

Crankcase breather ?? It's a plastic pipe coming down - end below the engine. Got a small cap. Need to open and let go of the sludge (real dirty oil)

never heard of it! :faint:

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif

I cut and pasted the page from the manual about oil change

Hope this help

oil change.doc

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

never heard of it! :faint:

You might have not heard but could have read it in the manual. As I recall you emailed to many in the manual thread.

In case you did miss it, I have attached here.

Crankcase breather.doc

"They" still do URALS

bro manduh

Fuel strainer screen ??

no idea

don't think anyone bothers/knows it exists. even you go for motordiam EO change, they also never touch it.

Valve clearance ??

probably not valid for phantom

Engine oil strainer screen ?? I believe is the mesh screen ( when diy oil change) is after the spring. Just clean would do

never see motordiam cleaning it. usually just fix back right away.

no idea.

10 characters

den why change eo???dun change lor...use til burn up den pour in lor...no need to open the EO nut so leh chey.

Svcing is not meant for overhaul, its a measure to prevent ur bike from totally being unrideable. IE checking of brake pads, brake fluid, EO level, throttle freeplay and what nots.

there's a mixed up between svc and overhaul, both can mean the same things and might not. So look clearly and carefully.

bluesurfer has some issues with the top of the engine. i don't think he's confusing overhaul with service. To him slight loss of power is fine, so he's not gonna spend the money. Unlike others who have more serious issues but lack liquidity to fix them.

i'm just wondering how many opinions he wants regarding EO. he has been over curious about EO for some time.

When you buy Mobil EO, if there is no motorcycle picture, watch out for "energy saving". It cannot be used for motorcycle w wet clutch. Just 2 cts worth. never look for mobil EO before.

if you want cheap, go straight for LAB or Carrefour, if u want premium go straight for fully syn. our Phantom loves to destroy EO so Semi for 2k mileage is recommended. i see no point to get good grade Semi. IMO, anything above $10 and u r better off heading for affordable fully.

go read up on semi. i read somewhere that semi only contains max 30% of good stuff, whereas fully contains 100%. can't remember what mumbo Jumbo, but after trying fully:

i drag mileage a little, gears and accln feels much smoother even with extra mileage, and price is seriously comparable. In fact i doubt i will change the EO till it feels real hot (begins to perform like 15w25) or its really black. none has happened yet.

:lol: you typed so much lazy to read, how's my EO? used them? I'm going over to ubi workshops soon with a lady rider..in the mean time go planet let them see see my bike anything wrong or not ;)

dude, never travel enough yet. present fully still never show signs of expiry.

whoa, so opening declaring your LADY rider.

never mind lar, dun read. my posts are good for newbies, not useful for JB. go checkup don't come back and post that u need overhaul k? :angel:

bro manduh

Fuel strainer screen Assumption: some filter that allows fuel to pass through while trapping impurities. I dunno where tis is haha.

Valve clearance Normally done for bigger bikes, especially when the valves are jammed or stuck. Basically entails cleaning the valves and the pivot points with petrol to clear it of the gunk that's been jamming it. Of course some people choose to do it regularly rather than waiting till their valves get stuck. Not sure if Phantom needs though. I've never done it for mine, and after 6 years it still runs fine.

Engine oil centrifugal filter WILD Assumption: Some oil filter?? That makes use of the G-forces within the engine to clear the oil of impurities?!?!? WAHAHAHA

You think me too upz liao la dude....I'm not a bike encyclopedia leh...still got lots to learn and all these technical jargon is :giddy:

But since you see me so upz...i try try lah WAHAHAHAH. (The rest I assume is true. Bro Mumduh...you're damn pro man..! Upz la hahaha!)

anyhow pom oso can...who knows some ppl believe me, tot i'm damn zhai n also start to see me upz... :angel:

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

wah lady rider sia.....who ah:cheeky:

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment

You think me too upz liao la dude....I'm not a bike encyclopedia leh...still got lots to learn and all these technical jargon is :giddy:

But since you see me so upz...i try try lah WAHAHAHAH. (The rest I assume is true. Bro Mumduh...you're damn pro man..! Upz la hahaha!)

anyhow pom oso can...who knows some ppl believe me, tot i'm damn zhai n also start to see me upz... :angel:

Thanks Metalfyre. In case you wanna open bike academy I'll be your first student:thumb:

"They" still do URALS

hi may i know where are planet and ah koon shop located? Thinking of going there to change my pillion foot rest and handle bar grip? Or anybody has any places in mind where i can get them at a cheaper price.....can share with me? Thanks in advance....

Overhaul - $620

Things changed -

Gearbox,

Tensioner,

Piston,

'2 black things'(hei chai in chinese) supports engine or sth

gasket,

+ many mech terms which i can't really understand

because of my budget and gearbox problem, he change some with honda original parts, while other with 'pu tong'(normal) parts.

What i feel:

1 more gear avaliable, But it's still quite difficult to kick down gears, sometimes will 'tiao' there, have to kick many times before going to gear 1.

Engine quieter, no more 'tiang tiang tiang sound' when start engine.

Smoother ride.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d103/ylsonny/Image021.jpg