[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

aiya..

ask girlfriend push bike..

u lube chain.

simple.. HAHA

yea... getting her more acquainted with the bike might slowly get her interested to get her own bike too! :cheeky:

but since I dun have one I'm stuck with the option of jacking up my exhaust pipe with the kerb and engaging gear 1... :cry:

• Replies 7.2k

The kerb? Eh...I personally wouldn't do that...

Anyway a much easier option for those without a gf (Vidak) is to bring your lube when you go meet friends or when there's a PK meetup, just ask someone to push the bike for you...

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg
The kerb? Eh...I personally wouldn't do that...

Anyway a much easier option for those without a gf (Vidak) is to bring your lube when you go meet friends or when there's a PK meetup, just ask someone to push the bike for you...

you're right... but getting my hands coated with some "absolutely will not be washed off" substance is a no-no at outings... :dozed:

quite smart to use a kerb but if got scratches my heart pain.

you're right... but getting my hands coated with some "absolutely will not be washed off" substance is a no-no at outings... :dozed:

Wear disposable plastic gloves lor.

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg

haha my exhaust wasn't perfect to begin with...

Wear disposable plastic gloves lor.

$$$!! :cry:

Just to share, learnt a skill of lubing the chain. Left hand hold handle bar, shoulder on seat, right hand hold the chrome guard for the chain and lube the chain while pushing.

hmm.. how u do it? must be sweating like mad soon after?

yea... getting her more acquainted with the bike might slowly get her interested to get her own bike too! :cheeky:

but since I dun have one I'm stuck with the option of jacking up my exhaust pipe with the kerb and engaging gear 1... :cry:

how you do that???? meaning right side of bike u jack up and the left on the kerb? *side stand on kerb

just use a cloth to wrapped up the pipe first ;-)

hmm.. how u do it? must be sweating like mad soon after?

how you do that???? meaning right side of bike u jack up and the left on the kerb? *side stand on kerb

just use a cloth to wrapped up the pipe first ;-)

no need... just only right side on kerb...

wahhh... you knew my secret... :weep:

normally I go to Planet only for all my bike problems, they very good at solving problems.

But I don't think they do these sort of non-repair, just "maintenance" jobs:

can someone recommend me where i can get these services done at reasonable rates ?

- Clean carburetor

- lube clutch/accelerator cables

- Clean carbon (from exhaust )

- drain/change brake fluids.

I'm the type who don't like to DIY one... too lazy...

normally I go to Planet only for all my bike problems, they very good at solving problems.

can someone recommend me where i can get these services done at reasonable rates ?

- Clean carburetor

err... clean carb? unless it is absolutely necessary... don't do it... if you have to, do it at planet.

just spray chain lube in the clutch and throttle cables....

ok I haven't heard of cleaning carbon...

planet can bleed fluids! since you don't like to diy... they charge about $10

no need... just only right side on kerb...

wahhh... you knew my secret... :weep:

right side on kerb??? how? jack on kerb?

i blur blur now

err... clean carb? unless it is absolutely necessary... don't do it... if you have to, do it at planet.

how to spray on brake cable??? its well insulated by plactic already ma... teach me lezz.

right side on kerb??? how? jack on kerb?

i blur blur now

yea... sort of like jack on the kerb... but I don't really do that anymore...

how to spray on brake cable??? its well insulated by plactic already ma... teach me lezz.

he only said clutch and throttle cables ma... those are real cables...

as for brakes... they are hoses... you can't lube them...

Thanks for the info, VidaK. But I thought cleaning carb is a maintenance thing that must do every 1 year? (saw someone mention in forum)

Also know that planet don't recommend cleaning the carb.

Any idea How come ? I tot generally keeping parts clean = better ?

As for clutch/throttle cable, really got no shop that can do the lubing ? I don't have the equipment to get the lube under the plastic coverings...

A shop name/address would be nice.

Thanks for the info, VidaK. But I thought cleaning carb is a maintenance thing that must do every 1 year? (saw someone mention in forum)

Also know that planet don't recommend cleaning the carb.

Any idea How come ? I tot generally keeping parts clean = better ?

As for clutch/throttle cable, really got no shop that can do the lubing ? I don't have the equipment to get the lube under the plastic coverings...

A shop name/address would be nice.

well... the carb is hard to reassemble and retune... it might end up worse than before...

get a chain lube with the tube to lube small spaces... well... other than diy I don't think there are shops that lube clutch and throttle cables... if your's are stiff because of rust you can just change them instead... planet sells spares...

cleaning carb???

the easiest DIY..is get yourself a carb cleaner additive that can be added to your petrol...available at most petrol station.

you should feel that the bik will perform better...after using a whole bottle and several petrol top up...if it didnt work maybe a trip to wash carb is the wise thing to do..

off course at the current moment u have to figure out is the carb giving u

high FC and power issues in the first place...

the best motto is if it aint broken dont fix it.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

btw found out today that Ubi Autobacs sells this cheaper...

thanks for sharing bro but i think since it come out 0.8-0.9 from e box, this is not necessary.

- Clean carburetor

Carbs no need clean. At most, just look for the overflow drain screw under the carb, unscrew, let all the petrol out, then screw back will do. Takes you less than 5 minutes. You lazy to the bike, the bike will end up lazy to you dun wan move when you need it to lol

Cable lubing use those singer oil kind of bottle drip a bit in, pump clutch cable a few times can liao. Less than 1 minute.

You riding 2stroke or 4stroke? 4 stroke no need clear carbon la.

Last one u can do at planet since u trust them.

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

decarbonise for 4 stroke??

i do..

most of the time do it together during top overhaul...where the valves and seats are cleaned and its cleareances reset. at the same clean up all the carbon accumulated on the piston head and where ever u find in the cylinder.

those who do not do these ...over time the valve / seat will be screwed up..

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

yes its the same sprocket if im not wrong stock is F13 R41

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan