[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Originally posted by Andy Pang@Dec 6 2005, 09:33 AM

Dear JJBuBBle,

Please be patience with me please...

I think might be the "air-piss" because doesn't sound like metal squeak.

ARH . . . . . . :giddy: , Relax Relax, that was not wat I meant :X :sweat: Chiam . . . Wrong expression liao :faint:

Air Piss. . . sound is normal dude & I like your polite style :lol: :thumb: Keep it up.

• Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by genie@Dec 6 2005, 02:48 PM

Thanks! That was reassuring. :smile:

U are most welcome :thumb:

need some advise on side boxes, i search most of the previous thread but most mentioned those side boxes are those small wan tat cant fit helmet .

i seeking help from those bros who had side boxes that can stores helmet , does it affect yr pillon to sit? and wat brand and model is yr side box?

lastly with the opening of the boxes abit weird , will it be difficult to place item in it ?

Originally posted by nivleK1985@Dec 6 2005, 05:24 PM

i'll see if i can make 1 on weekend anot :)

hehe ya i prefer more chin cai :p

kaka

alright man, chin chai ya...

well, can make this coming weekend good sia (10 or 11), I think I may not be doing reservist (5 days work already ma, though not sure for reservist le).

I got many questions relating to my problematic bike.

no oblige though, just see if u can help lor.

thank...you yor

Hi all got a Qns to ask about Ta150 , how high your speed can go when on gear 3 , 4 and 5 ? because sometimes i drag my gear at 4 to 80 km/h dun know is it ok ? :cheeky:

Hey knights, what is the difference between a 150cc and a 200cc phantom? And also, when buying a 2nd hand phantom, what to look out for? :help:

Live life a quarter mile at a time

Please spend sometime to look through this link

Phantom Knights Directory, Technical issue, FAQ & Hse Rules

edit1: Woah, unseen forces at work.

• What is "mineral engine oil"?
  • Is there any particular brand(s) of mineral EO? Name some, please?
  • Would there be a label on the bottle tagging it as "mineral engine oil"?

I am going for the very first EO change for my bike. Not too sure if my regular motor shop carries the mineral EO. :confused:

hello genie

mineral engine oil is one of the lowest grades of engine oil

the base stock for mineral eo is petroleum, ie from the earth

the next higher wld be semi-synthetic, which is about maybe 80% synthetic oil?

the highest grade wld be fully-synthetic oil, of which you have either polyalphaolefins (pao) or ester base stock. there are some fully syn oils which have petroleum base stock as well but these have been so modified that they're considered synthetic.

needless to say, fully-synthetic oils offer the best engine protection, and last longer between oil changes than the rest.

anyway, Esso POWER is one brand of mineral oil, probably the most common one ard. rating 20W50. you can buy it at esso petrol stations. Esso PACE is semi-syn, Esso GOLD is fully-syn.

there's no label for mineral oil, from what i know, but there're definitely labels for semi-syn and fully syn on most brands, therefore i'd think that any bottle which doesn't say fully-syn or semi-syn should be mineral oil. mineral oils should mostly be rated 20W50.

i've used the honda original EO from thailand as well, rating SAE 40... bought that from ASPhoon.

think planet motors has another brand of mineral oil, SAE 30...

but semi and fully syn are by far the most common.

well, you could try buying your own mineral oil and asking the shop to change for you... after all Esso stations are easy to find :p less than $8 per botle

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v495/niqyap/drift5bn.gif

Thank you so very much, niqyap! That answered everything very well! :lovestruck:

I am wondering how important is it for the first EO change to be using the mineral oil. Would it be detrimental to my bike if I don't use the mineral EO? :confused:

Originally posted by nivleK1985@Dec 6 2005, 05:24 PM

i'll see if i can make 1 on weekend anot :)

hehe ya i prefer more chin cai :p

kaka

finally I'm back from reservist!

quite tired though, have to report quite early.by the time I reported, some of you might be still sleeping z.. z...

ok...maybe can try kopi session already...

aNDY

Hi I am Iris and got my 2b licence yesterday.

Today I got my Phantom :cheer:

Now I have an absolute newbie question (and I couldn´t read all the earlier topics - the search function didn´t really help...):

I want to buy a fullface helmet and some good clothing. Can somebody recommend me what to buy and where?

I know, this question must have benn asked often already...

Iris :smile:

iris: Try LAB & Regina at Kelantan Lane, or 219 at Lavender St. All have helmets n riding apparel. Btw it seems tat 219 only sells MHR helmets. =)

sky_vinz

MHR is a brand, like Arai, Shoei, Nolan, Zeus, OGK.

Originally posted by iris@Dec 23 2005, 11:09 AM

thank you :sweat:

another silly question: is that true, that i can´t get a first party insurance for a second hand bike??

i think it's not true, probably expensive to get but i never heard 2nd hand cannot get 1st party.

Originally posted by lunloon@Dec 23 2005, 01:10 PM

i think it's not true, probably expensive to get but i never heard 2nd hand cannot get 1st party.

I am also really wondering...

Thanks for your answer! I´ll try to find it out...

Originally posted by iris@Dec 23 2005, 06:24 PM

I am also really wondering...

Thanks for your answer! I´ll try to find it out...

sure can buy la, cos my 2nd hand ride on 1st party insurance now.

STOC#6175

29-03-2010 nouvo lc ......

29-10-2010 CBX 250 ......... 10-03-2012

10-03-2012 Tmax ...

01-04-2014 stx1300

Originally posted by chinu@Dec 26 2005, 01:16 PM

sure can buy la, cos my 2nd hand ride on 1st party insurance now.

Thanks chinu!

welcome :D

STOC#6175

29-03-2010 nouvo lc ......

29-10-2010 CBX 250 ......... 10-03-2012

10-03-2012 Tmax ...

01-04-2014 stx1300

so... I called the insurance company and they already converted my insurance to a first party - I only had to pay the difference!

I could :box: that sales guy.... but now I got what I wanted...

Thanks!!

Originally posted by iris@Dec 22 2005, 08:31 PM

I want to buy a fullface helmet and some good clothing. Can somebody recommend me what to buy and where?

I got a pretty good deal for a Shark full face helmet some months back from Motoworld... website: Motoworld I quite like it although I hard use it.

As for jackets, check out Regina and Motoworld.

It's good habit to wear full face helmet and jacket and jeans when you ride.

I just gave away my air mesh jacket to my sister, thinking of getting another one. We can go shopping together if you want. PM me.

http://home2.pacific.net.sg/~hwee_li/avatar/vespa.gif
Originally posted by rehdeer@Dec 27 2005, 04:47 PM

I got a pretty good deal for a Shark full face helmet some months back from Motoworld... website: Motoworld I quite like it although I hard use it.

As for jackets, check out Regina and Motoworld.

It's good habit to wear full face helmet and jacket and jeans when you ride.

I just gave away my air mesh jacket to my sister, thinking of getting another one. We can go shopping together if you want. PM me.

Thanks for offering!

I´ll check this homepage out!