[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Hi PKs,

Update on my engine start.

Manage to ask my neighbour for help, and he started the engine by push-start, and said my batt was low and gotta run a few rounds around to charge the batt. Weird, but the motordiam assured me batt is ok. Will call to confront them tomorrow.

Thanks everyone for the advice.!

• Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by crysallisa@Jan 2 2006, 11:38 PM

Hi PKs,

Manage to ask my neighbour for help, and he started the engine by push-start, and said my batt was low and gotta run a few rounds around to charge the batt. Weird, but the motordiam assured me batt is ok. Will call to confront them tomorrow.

Go run on the expressway for a while.. let the battery re-charge.

then check the following when u come back to the carpark.

on the headlight, on high beam and signal at the same time (either side, note: the purpose is to use more power of the battery)..

does the backlight of the meter flicker anot? (sometimes brighter, sometimes not so bright)

if the flickering occurs.. ur battery not holding the charge very well liaozz..

for ta200.. better change a new battery soon.. ta150 can continue to start, no problem~ hehe

if it does not flicker, but the following morning, u cannot start again and the voltage also drop to 10+ or 11.. the battery also cannot hold the charge le..

change a new battery also..

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11337/tri_daytona675.jpg

counting down again to the final class of license..

riding.. freedom.. it comes together..

Hi PKs,

sound like water slip into ur wire connection..... kana once cos i wash my bike like its on fire :p

p.s how you wash the bike ?

STOC#6175

29-03-2010 nouvo lc ......

29-10-2010 CBX 250 ......... 10-03-2012

10-03-2012 Tmax ...

01-04-2014 stx1300

Originally posted by Keenguy@Jan 2 2006, 10:58 PM

So how? Easy to replace rite? :sweat:

shud be easy to replace.... but the bolt and pin all super rusty liao... couldn't take it out... so end up the pin broke but the bolt couldn't be taken out cos still got a small bit of pin left inside... :sian:

tml go planet motor see ah chong can help me fix or not... then shun bian change the bolt n pin if not maybe change the whole plate....

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Phantom TA200 Dec'05 - June'08

if i put e33 sidebox, will it be very very very fat???

Originally posted by lunloon@Jan 3 2006, 02:24 AM

if i put e33 sidebox, will it be very very very fat???

alright lah..

just slightly wider than ur handlebar maybe..

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 3 2006, 12:52 AM

shud be easy to replace.... but the bolt and pin all super rusty liao... couldn't take it out... so end up the pin broke but the bolt couldn't be taken out cos still got a small bit of pin left inside... :sian:

tml go planet motor see ah chong can help me fix or not... then shun bian change the bolt n pin if not maybe change the whole plate....

That's what I've already told you about... go to your bike shop, they definately got the parts to replace for you, dun need to change the whole plate... :smile:

Be a master of your habits, or they will master you...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

Don't be a show off when you drive, drive with safety and arrive...

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by Keenguy@Jan 3 2006, 03:10 AM

That's what I've already told you about... go to your bike shop, they definately got the parts to replace for you, dun need to change the whole plate... :smile:

changed my footrest to eagle footrest le....

but like a bit loose like tat....

is it normal???

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 3 2006, 07:59 PM

changed my footrest to eagle footrest le....

but like a bit loose like tat....

is it normal???

Its not loose, just that that's not stock footrest, so doesn't fit exactly... as long as its secured, you're safe! :thumb:

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by Keenguy@Jan 3 2006, 10:31 PM

Its not loose, just that that's not stock footrest, so doesn't fit exactly... as long as its secured, you're safe! :thumb:

oh okie...

btw... is it a must to change the fork when oil is coming out from it ??? :confused:

asked ah chong he say fork spoiled le but can don change just that it will feel soft...

is it ok if i never change it ???

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

lol trust chong la...

if u dun trust him then u tell him can change then u tell him u wan change he'll change for u :p

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 3 2006, 11:24 PM

oh okie...

btw... is it a must to change the fork when oil is coming out from it ??? :confused:

asked ah chong he say fork spoiled le but can don change just that it will feel soft...

Its ok to continue riding... suspension will be softer like what you mentioned. But since the oil seal is damaged, definately wanna get it changed rite? And if change the oil seal, definately will need to change the oil in it too... :thumb:

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 3 2006, 11:24 PM

oh okie...

ah chong say "fork spoil le" or "fork seal spoil le" ?

if "fork spoil le" then :faint:

if " fork seal spoil le" but just leaking a little bit still can wait a while more..

Originally posted by nivleK1985@Jan 4 2006, 01:25 AM

lol trust chong la...

if u dun trust him then u tell him can change then u tell him u wan change he'll change for u :p

no lar... i trust him...

just wanna noe wat effects will there be if i never change other then soft suspension....

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by Keenguy@Jan 4 2006, 02:12 AM

Its ok to continue riding... suspension will be softer like what you mentioned. But since the oil seal is damaged, definately wanna get it changed rite? And if change the oil seal, definately will need to change the oil in it too... :thumb:

what ah chong say is have to change the entire fork.... not the oil seal onli...

cos on budget so maybe not changing first.... so wanna noe what effects will it have and i will have to take note when riding....

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by hart@Jan 4 2006, 08:16 AM

ah chong say "fork spoil le" or "fork seal spoil le" ?

if "fork spoil le" then :faint:

if " fork seal spoil le" but just leaking a little bit still can wait a while more..

he said fork spoil le... have to change it....

how to determine if fork spoil or fork seal spoil? cos when i see my fork onli see oil on the fork... so dono is becos of the oil seal or entire fork....

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Your fork might not be balance anymore, and the seal is wearing. thus oil is leaking . resulting in unbalanced damping on either side of the fork which is highly dangerous when turning or even in corners.

dont save up on fork.

to determine if your fork is spoilt, firstly u check for any visual mark on the fork, if no then unscrew the bolts on the triple clamp, jack up your front wheel, remove the brakes and rim.

TURN the fork in circular motion.

by then u should be able to see if your fork is dent or out of shape.

lastly, I trust ah cheong of planet 100%, wateva he said need to change to me, i wouldnt hesistate to. :smile:

Hi PKs,

2b bike battery is small...so may have run out of battery due to a couple of reasons, may not be your motordiam's fault. Just follow hart's advice..ride the bike around for 20 mins or more to fully charge your battery. Make sure your rectifier is working; rev your engine and watch to see if your headlight gets brighter as you are doing so. If it does, then your battery is charging and your rectifier and alternator are working. Then leave the bike for the night and try again the next day.

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 4 2006, 12:10 PM

what ah chong say is have to change the entire fork.... not the oil seal onli...

cos on budget so maybe not changing first....  so wanna noe what effects will it have and i will have to take note when riding....

Change the whole fork? Serious bo... your fork rusty or dented? If not, shouldn't be changing the whole thing... that's quite ex...

My fork leak once >1yr back, changed the oil seal in it only. Or maybe you wanna try asking other shops... :thumb:

God Bless all riders...

per fork is about $100 - $120

including workmanship and oil

Originally posted by arjen@Jan 4 2006, 02:28 PM

per fork is about $100 - $120

including workmanship and oil

i see... so if change both sides is abt 200+ rite?

asked ah chong if is it a must to change not but he say can dont change just tat will feel soft....

tight on $ now cos just changed 1 rear tyre and havent get my NS pay...

so if still can use then i don change first.... if not have to go hunt for $ le...

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

hi, got a question to ask.

how often needed to change air filter?

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Originally posted by fleaz@Jan 4 2006, 10:45 PM

hi, got a question to ask.

how often needed to change air filter?

Not very often... once a yr shld be fine... at the same time, do take out and clean with air-brush(if you have) once every 3/4 months...

God Bless all riders...

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR