[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Originally posted by sky_vinz@Mar 19 2006, 02:15 AM

oOxUeOo: Guess e model u saw was Daelim Daystar125. If I'm not wrong, it's a Korean brand. U might wan to check up more on bikes from Korea. ....

:offtopic: for new daystar all are 150cc liao, unless u talk about 2nd hand one!

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/21/54/21694512/16579895014593s.jpg
  • Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by willkhc@Mar 20 2006, 12:15 AM

how abt the handle bars?

custom 4 ones

Think it cost not more than $40. cant really rem cause when i was at koons place to do my servicing, a guy changed his original handle bar....and he told me it cost him ard $20 plus? ....but definitely lower than $40 bucks....a give u a guide. :cheeky:

Life is Precious , You Only Live Once

OCT 2003 - Dec 2005 >>>> Honda Wave S 125

Dec 2005 - Present >>>> Honda Phamton TA200

Its Project time

Originally posted by willkhc@Mar 20 2006, 12:15 AM

how abt the handle bars?

custom 4 ones

Think it cost not more than $40. cant really rem cause when i was at koons place to do my servicing, a guy changed his original handle bar....and he told me it cost him ard $20 plus? ....but definitely lower than $40 bucks....a give u a guide. :cheeky:

Its Project time

:sian: ytd n today bike died when in rain.... dono what's the cause.... keep cranking then can start a while but died after that.... any pk can advise? is it cos water kana spark plug??? last time super heavy rain also can ride as per normal leh.... :confused:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Phantom TA200 Dec'05 - June'08

Originally posted by Phantom Stephanie@Mar 20 2006, 11:13 PM

hmm... i've just change my tyres. Any one can advise how long must i run it in??

There is no logical reasons for you to run in tyres .... engine yes but not tyres!!

come to think of it....perhaps u can consdier "run in " as dn speed lor... :cheeky: :cheeky:

Its Project time

Originally posted by Phantom Stephanie@Mar 20 2006, 11:13 PM

hmm... i've just change my tyres. Any one can advise how long must i run it in??

Till the "hair" gone off lor... :cheeky:

Be a master of your habits, or they will master you...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

Don't be a show off when you drive, drive with safety and arrive...

God Bless all riders...

:sian: bike battery flat.... ended up have to push start it... :giddy:

btw... anyone of ur encounter a burning smell after your push start the bike??? wondering is it coming from the battery.... :confused:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by G_S_J@Mar 20 2006, 11:58 PM

There is no logical reasons for you to run in tyres .... engine yes but not tyres!!

come to think of it....perhaps u can consdier "run in " as dn speed lor...

:nono: You are wrong. Tyres DO need to be run in... Tyres are manufactured by moulding rubber. Silicone is often used as a mould release agent, so that the tyre can be easily removed from the moulds.

You MUST ride carefully when you have just changed tyres as the silicone/wax layer on the tyres will reduce the grip on tarmac. General rule of thumb is that the tyre need to be "run-in" until the "hairs" on the tyre are gone (Keenguy :thumb:)

Originally posted by Kel^83@Mar 20 2006, 08:39 PM

:sian: ytd n today bike died when in rain.... dono what's the cause.... keep cranking then can start a while but died after that.... any pk can advise? is it cos water kana spark plug??? last time super heavy rain also can ride as per normal leh.... :confused:

It does sound like water is getting on your plugs. Tighten your plug slighly to see if it would help. Else bring your bike to a mechanic to check :smile:

Originally posted by kiamh@Mar 21 2006, 05:58 AM

:nono: You are wrong. Tyres DO need to be run in... Tyres are manufactured by moulding rubber. Silicone is often used as a mould release agent, so that the tyre can be easily removed from the moulds.

You MUST ride carefully when you have just changed tyres as the silicone/wax layer on the tyres will reduce the grip on tarmac. General rule of thumb is that the tyre need to be "run-in" until the "hairs" on the tyre are gone (Keenguy :thumb:)

Umm... this logic was learnt when I was riding bicycle when I was a kid... :D

Be a master of your habits, or they will master you...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

Don't be a show off when you drive, drive with safety and arrive...

God Bless all riders...

kiamh : did thought about that... but seems weird that my water kana my plugs... cos few weeks ago... i was caught in a super heavy downpour but my bike didn't die on me.... so makes me wonder if that's the cause.... anyway.... my batt is dead.... had to pushstart it last nite to ride home so will be going to planet later.... but there's a burning smell when i'm riding home... wondering wat's the cause of it too... :sian:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by Kel^83@Mar 21 2006, 09:25 AM

but there's a burning smell when i'm riding home... wondering wat's the cause of it too... :sian:

I believe you got a electric burn (Short circuit).....I believe it is the heavy downpour that causes it. Usually it will take sometime to surface.......

In between, try not to ride the bike during heavy downpour. No good for the bike + unsafe.....

You will need to spend a bit for servicing liao......water get into spark plug.....:sian:

DISCLAIMER

The comments made here are my own personal opinions and experiences.

It is entirely dependent on the readers' discrepancy and understanding of the information posted.

南无阿弥托佛

went to planet just now.... ah chong change the cap for the spark plug for me.... and the burning smell should be casued by the cable connecting to the spark plug... hopefully everything runs fine now... :cheeky:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Just wanted to drop by and say hi.

Been riding a phantom for 4 yrs now and now finally manage to find resource to learn more abt my precious mode of transport.

Just need abit of help though. I cannot seem to access quite a few topics on the phontom knights directory.

All i get is an error message saying "You do not have permission to view this topic".

Help Pls?

Million thanks in advance! :)

Originally posted by bardatwork@Mar 21 2006, 06:10 PM

Just need abit of help though. I cannot seem to access quite a few topics on the phontom knights directory.

All i get is an error message saying "You do not have permission to view this topic".

It will be good if you can list down the topics so that we can help....most of us have no problem accessing to any of the thread.....:smile:

DISCLAIMER

It is entirely dependent on the readers' discrepancy and understanding of the information posted.

南无阿弥托佛

Originally posted by adhlk@Mar 21 2006, 06:15 PM

It will be good if you can list down the topics so that we can help....most of us have no problem accessing to any of the thread.....:smile:

An example you be the following:

What engine oil is best for TA200?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=50103

Izzit coz i still too noob to the board?

Originally posted by bardatwork@Mar 21 2006, 06:36 PM

An example you be the following:

What engine oil is best for TA200?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=50103

Izzit coz i still too noob to the board?

This thread no longer exist......

Some of the thread is too old and no longer exist....Will let the moderator update the information. :smile:

DISCLAIMER

南无阿弥托佛

Hmm.. Recently I tried a chainlube given to me by one of my friends.. He says just spray about once a week and so I did. When I sprayed the chainlube on my chain, there was some white substance.. I tot it was fine and so i continue to spray until my whole chain got mixture of grease and that white substance..

I told my friend about this white mixture and he said it is normal.. The next day, I rode my bike.. After i got off my bike, i checked my bike again.. True enough, the white substance was gone.. But my friend told me to spray the whole chain! The side of my chain is stained with this white substance.. Out of curiousity, i sprayed abit of the chainlube on the ground and i examined myself about what the white substance is all about.. When i sprayed out, it was a mixture of a colourless and white substance.. The colourless substance feels slippery.. I examined the white substance.. It feels sticky and finally i understood that this white substance is used to stick the lube on my chain.. It is very effective.. I rode in the rain, hoping that the rain will help to wash my chain.. Result is it does wash off abit but the bulk of tat substance is still on the sides of my chain!

Here comes the question: Am I using the correct method to lube my chain? Is this white sticky substance harmful to my chain? Always heard pple say must lube the whole chain.. Now i got myself into this mess.. Am I at fault, or izzit the lube at fault? Pls advice.. Thank you..

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

erm, im 181cm. 65kg only. im thin. do u think its weird to ride phantom? like im thin then bike is big? i have long legs too, will it effect ? anyone ?

Ken Ng

Past: 2006 - 2006 KTM EGS 200 (FP8910R)

Past: 2006 - 2007 Honda NSR150SP (FS5732S)

Current: MRT, BUS

erm, im 181cm. 65kg only. im thin. do u think its weird to ride phantom? like im thin then bike is big? i have long legs too, will it effect ? anyone ?

Ken Ng

Past: 2006 - 2006 KTM EGS 200 (FP8910R)

Past: 2006 - 2007 Honda NSR150SP (FS5732S)

Current: MRT, BUS

Originally posted by ngky7@Mar 21 2006, 10:42 PM

I am 162.. 47.

You say leh?

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/154/359269086_1fbcf935d0_m.jpg http://farm1.static.flickr.com/217/468188822_71baada5f4_m.jpg

.::faith.hope.love::.

Originally posted by ngky7@Mar 21 2006, 10:42 PM

i think the real question would be , do you like sitting on a phantom and do you like the comfort? do you like the sound? and do you like to ride it :)

A New Rider A New Bike A New Hope ~!

~~TA200 Phantom custom 4 ~ 2004 to 2006

A old Rider , A old Bike but still A New Hope~!

~~Dragstar 4TR custom 2006 to 2007

A forgotten Rider, An old legend, A returned Hope~!

~~VMax12 2007 to 2007

A returned Rider, Another legend, forever hope~!

~~Shadow400 2009 ...