[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Originally posted by thcheong@Apr 19 2006, 11:19 AM

wahhhh.. all the den den den.... u really become eeyore liao....:sweat:

:offtopic: but why all the "den den den" den is become like Eeyore leh ... ? :confused:

THE ONLY EASY DAY WAS YESTERDAY

• Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by gohkm@Apr 19 2006, 10:29 AM

so only suffer in performace right?? but will it affect our phantom engine, what i scare is that the engine cannot take in 92 petrol and overtime, need to overhaul the engine...

i dunno what's the significant change other than drop in performance

all petrol engines can take 92 but maybe can expect a sooner overhaul due??

Originally posted by icewolf@Apr 19 2006, 10:50 AM

I also wish to ask... any advise wat tyre to get??

Metzeler or Pirelli, or Dunlop or any other brand.

I ask this shop.. they tell me whole set(front and back) for $140.

if that exp??

I personally have use Metzeler and Dunlop before. I strongly recommend Metzeler, value for money.

$140 does it include installation....Then very good price for Metzeler....Remember to ask for non-skid....can't remember the model liao.....I change almost 9 months ago....before that was Dunlop....when rain, slippery like hell.....:sian:

Nonetheless, once rain, any tyre also can't do much.....My advice is to ride slowly and stay on the left lane during and after rain.....:thumb:

Looks like you stay in the central.....if you are kin to change, there are a few of us wanted to change tyre as well....lets do it together than we can get better price. If kin, PM me, I will organise a tyre change session.

DISCLAIMER

The comments made here are my own personal opinions and experiences.

It is entirely dependent on the readers' discrepancy and understanding of the information posted.

南无阿弥托佛

Originally posted by lunloon@Apr 19 2006, 01:19 PM

all petrol engines can take 92 but maybe can expect a sooner overhaul due??

hmm ...... care to share ????? :confused:

wat made you say the above ???

STOC#6175

29-03-2010 nouvo lc ......

29-10-2010 CBX 250 ......... 10-03-2012

10-03-2012 Tmax ...

01-04-2014 stx1300

so only suffer in performace right?? but will it affect our phantom engine, what i scare is that the engine cannot take in 92 petrol and overtime, need to overhaul the engine...

It all depends lah......So far I don't face any problem uses Shell 92....I have sold away my Phantom....The buyer even call me up lately telling me that I have really taken good care of my bike and he is very happy that he bought my bike.

In fact, he just took over the bike and ride without doing anything at all. I have kept records of my services and changes made to the bike. Therefore, the buyer is very clear what is to be done next.

I can only share with you what I have done....My Phantom is FX plate, 3 years old this April 2006. Got it 2nd hand and kept it for a year.

Uses Shell 98 for the 1st month thinking that better petrol better performance....but found that it is too expensive to up keep.

Therefore change to Shell 95 for the next 3 months. Find no difference in performance, but friendlier to my wallet.

Then subsequently, change to Shell 92, bec cash tight. Also find no difference. So continue to use 92 until I sold my bike.

Never did overhaul before. But service the bike at Ah Koon $25 every 5000km. Change Full sync EO every 2000~2500km. Change Spark Plug & Air filter every 2 EO change.

That's all I did for the pass 1 year. Done nothing, bike good, battery at stock, change Dunlop to Metelzer tyre. Only thing is signal light blow on the 9th month. Realise it during fixing of hazard light.

You have to judge yourself liao.....:smile:

DISCLAIMER

It is entirely dependent on the readers' discrepancy and understanding of the information posted.

南无阿弥托佛

Hi all, anyone knows other than sparkplug is for starting the bike, wat else is it used for? like after the bike started, is the sparkplug still in use?

wats the benefit of having a bike with twin sparkplugs?

Hi Mr DBing.

Combustion = Air + Petrol + Spark in order to ignite.

If you have purely air + petrol. without spark, it will never be possible to ignite.

For every cycle in a 4 stroke engine combustion, it will ignite once.

Thus wheneva you twist your throttle, more petrol flow into the carb to mix with lean air and combust when a spark ignited.

In short, your plug are firing constantly when your engine is on.

even when idling.

Refer to PK owner Directory, Theres a reference on how does 4 stroke engine works.

Twin spark plug - Not for Phantom.

That will depend on your engine block type and structure itself.

Most cruiser , which runs on vtwin uses 2 sparkplug.

But not for phantom which runs on a single cylinder.

But there are also bikes that are single cylinder but uses 2 splug as well

Originally posted by gohkm@Apr 19 2006, 08:08 AM

wanna ask whether phantom can pump petrol 92 or not....

I think one can only feel the diff if they compare with V-power... really damn POWER!

But beli costly... :sweat:

Be a master of your habits, or they will master you...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

Don't be a show off when you drive, drive with safety and arrive...

God Bless all riders...

Guest Inked 2 Skin

Hi!!! Any of u guys know at auntie's shop how much they're selling the screws and washer?

Anywhere cheaper?

Originally posted by Inked 2 Skin@Apr 20 2006, 01:50 AM

Hi!!! Any of u guys know at auntie's shop how much they're selling the screws and washer?

Anywhere cheaper?

Don't visit auntie shop, u will regret as alexander used to visit it. Expensive and arrogant attitude towards customers. :nono: Go to Ubi Road 1 Opposite cum beside Traffic Police HQ .The first shop @ the Cross junction one. If i'm not wrong, the blk is BLOCK 3005. THCheong Brought me there once. :thumb:

My formula for living is quite simple. I get up in the morning and I go to bed at night. In between, I occupy myself as best I can.

Originally posted by chinu@Apr 19 2006, 02:33 PM

hmm ...... care to share ????? :confused:

wat made you say the above ???

Starting i pump 98, after a couple of more pumps went to try 92, felt the engine become noisier, then wan to overtake but tua the throttle the bike never move faster, found it quite hard to maintain 100km/h, so after a couple more pumps i switch back to 98. Not an engine mechanic so I dunno why got more noise, but definitely more noise is not as good as less noise. Octane level lower = no as power as higher octane level? thus require more zua? more zua to provide more power = not good for engine?

DISCLAIMER

Before this get commented, this is my own bike and my own opinion.

The rest of the stuff i commented in the previous posts i left them as question marks to denote that i am not sure.

Wah Loon, such a big DISCLAIMER.....

Don't worry, we can understand. All bikes perform differently because different riders have different riding style.

To a certain extend, I do agree that V92 don't have a high octan level and lesser compression ratio, but nonetheless, it is so much cheaper as compare with V98.

We are here to share our experience. The reader will need to justify for themselves.......

Thanks For Sharing.......:thumb:

DISCLAIMER

南无阿弥托佛

adhlk,

bo bian, must put disclaimer first to put my stand, else someone might pick stuff from my posts to start fights (as in previous many many cases)

Originally posted by lunloon@Apr 20 2006, 09:01 AM

Starting i pump 98, after a couple of more pumps went to try 92, felt the engine become noisier, then wan to overtake but tua the throttle the bike never move faster, found it quite hard to maintain 100km/h, so after a couple more pumps i switch back to 98. Not an engine mechanic so I dunno why got more noise, but definitely more noise is not as good as less noise. Octane level lower = no as power as higher octane level? thus require more zua? more zua to provide more power = not good for engine?

DISCLAIMER

Before this get commented, this is my own bike and my own opinion.

The rest of the stuff i commented in the previous posts i left them as question marks to denote that i am not sure.

oh i see . i used 92 for my ta b4 too , but didnt find much problem staying at 100km/h . somemore the rider is 100kg with 2 X e41 side box . :sweat:

STOC#6175

10-03-2012 Tmax ...

01-04-2014 stx1300

Originally posted by lunloon@Apr 20 2006, 09:18 AM

adhlk,

bo bian, must put disclaimer first to put my stand, else someone might pick stuff from my posts to start fights (as in previous many many cases)

hahaaha. if you find that i am trying to pick on your post (if you dont like me to ask you qns , i can ask others . ). you can drop me a pm to tell me not to quote ur post . no worries it can be done . :smile: :smile: :smile:

STOC#6175

10-03-2012 Tmax ...

01-04-2014 stx1300

Originally posted by adhlk@Apr 20 2006, 09:11 AM

To a certain extend, I do agree that V92 don't have a high octan level and lesser compression ratio, but nonetheless, it is so much cheaper as compare with V98.

Petrol grade have nothing to do with compression ratio.

Its the bike that give the exact compression ratio.

Originally posted by chinu@Apr 20 2006, 11:52 AM

oh i see . i used 92 for my ta b4 too , but didnt find much problem staying at 100km/h . somemore the rider is 100kg with 2 X e41 side box . :sweat:

No prob for me as well.

a heavy classification phantom rider with 2 x 45 Sidebox and a 40litre rearbox.

it was never a issue for me when i was riding one

Originally posted by Vuitton@Apr 20 2006, 03:54 AM

Don't visit auntie shop, u will regret as alexander used to visit it. Expensive and arrogant attitude towards customers. :nono: Go to Ubi Road 1 Opposite cum beside Traffic Police HQ .The first shop @ the Cross junction one. If i'm not wrong, the blk is BLOCK 3005. THCheong Brought me there once. :thumb:

it not beside lor.. its far behind...

The cleanliness & quality of the petrol are different. Combustion different too.

But it dont mean low octane dont give performance. It varies on Bike type. :thumb:

If your bike is used to using 95, then by sudden change to 98 or V power, you wont really feel the immediate result as your bike is used to 95 & you will need a few more full tank to see the differents. Same goes to lower grade but within your bike sugguested grading. :thumb:

looks like our ex ta were problem free from drinking 92. :lol: :lol:

STOC#6175

10-03-2012 Tmax ...

01-04-2014 stx1300

Originally posted by arjen@Apr 20 2006, 01:50 PM

guess its more on combustion & not compression right? No combustion, how to get compression :D ?

Originally posted by arjen@Apr 20 2006, 01:52 PM

No prob for me as well.

a heavy classification phantom rider with 2 x 45 Sidebox and a 40litre rearbox.

it was never a issue for me when i was riding one

If TA can move our super heavy duty nunu, shld not be a problem right kekekekeke :cheeky: :p

thank you broken arm to share your precious knowledge and even explained to me face to face when i'm in a mess. haha..

have a good day,

Originally posted by arjen@Apr 20 2006, 01:50 PM

I am referring to the ability of the gasoline's to burn without knocking.

Please refer to documents at http://chemed.chem.purdue.edu/genchem/topi...ganic/coal.html

DISCLAIMER

南无阿弥托佛