• Replies 33

your bike no longer maintain the same RPM for the same speed..

significant loss of power, high RPM/rev, but bike not moving..

these are just some of the signs and symptoms i heard from "lao jiaos" and my mechanic..

Just my 2 cents..

i kenna b4, it when very hard to kick up gear n after change EO also the same.

these r symptoms, sometimes it's not so bad u hv 2 change all the plate, maybe 1 or 2, the only sure method is to take them out n examine. the sides r black when burnt.

Accident can happen anytime, anywhere.

However ask yourself, do you want to fall at 120km/h or 60km/h?

Does anyone have any pics of it? Not sure how it looks like though...

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k290/jay_chow/2009-YZR-M1.jpg

Spark 135 LE 2006-2009

Super Four Spec 2 2009-2010

Spark 135 LE 2012-Current

i kenna b4, it when very hard to kick up gear n after change EO also the same.

these r symptoms, sometimes it's not so bad u hv 2 change all the plate, maybe 1 or 2, the only sure method is to take them out n examine. the sides r black when burnt.

Changing clutch plate is quite expensive. I was charged RM160 when i changed my plates in jb.

Anw, if already open the housing, might as well change all the plates. Cos the mechanic will definitely charege a high price for his labour.

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

Changing clutch plate is quite expensive. I was charged RM160 when i changed my plates in jb.

Anw, if already open the housing, might as well change all the plates. Cos the mechanic will definitely charege a high price for his labour.

yea, cost me S$100+ for the whole job. :giddy:

http://www.barnettclutches.com/images/product_18.jpg

something like this, but it might be diff from bike 2 bike.

teach u how 2 replace clutch http://www.motorcyclecruiser.com/tech/clutch_replacement/

Thx for the reply bro. Then does the clutch plate wear & tear easily? I'm riding a Spark 135 & the mileage is about 17000km.

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k290/jay_chow/2009-YZR-M1.jpg

Spark 135 LE 2006-2009

Super Four Spec 2 2009-2010

Spark 135 LE 2012-Current

Thx for the reply bro. Then does the clutch plate wear & tear easily? I'm riding a Spark 135 & the mileage is about 17000km.

not usually, they're very lasting depend on how u use ur cluth.

17000km only?? imo, no need to change lah..

Clutch plates should last very long.Maybe a few years?

Dun make the same mistake as me. I thought the plates were a problem, so I went to change. But when the mechanic open and remove the old ones, it didnt seem that there was any difference between the old and new plates (i.e disnt seem to have any wear n tear, etc). But since he open already, I couldnt say "no need to change lah, put back old ones"..

In short, I felt that I wasted quite a lot of money and time. Its better to check out other possibilites beforehand.

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

its affect alot frm yur riding method too

if u lyk to pop wheelie tat kinda power release clutch

etc

theres lot more to it but usually is normal wear and tear =)

Thanks arsonist

when u feel difficult to find neutral gear and the gears feel very hard and unsmooth everytime u change gears

Looking at the ride tells everything about the rider

when u feel difficult to find neutral gear and the gears feel very hard and unsmooth everytime u change gears

hey! my bike like that one when i ride leh.. the neutral like impossible to find.. then everytime i change gears, i feel like something funny.. like never engage properly..

dont know lar.. is it because i newbie or is it the bike clutch relly prob.. any way to really really check?

signature.gileraFXR180.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.hyusongCometGT125.signature.

signature.gileraDNA180.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.signature.gileraRunnerVXR200.

hey! my bike like that one when i ride leh.. the neutral like impossible to find.. then everytime i change gears, i feel like something funny.. like never engage properly..

dont know lar.. is it because i newbie or is it the bike clutch relly prob.. any way to really really check?

Adjusting the clutch free play.

Try it and you'll save yourself the money for the clutch plates.

Get ready "Kopi" money to treat me. :cheeky:

That's quite a reasonable price. One plate costs around SGD$10-$20. Plates combined, plus any service charges -- should set ya back around that price anyways.

Keep ya fingers crossed and hope it's just the clutch free play that's causing the problem. Good luck!

Get ready "Kopi" money to treat me. :cheeky:

adjust clutch freeplay? is it the thing at the handlebar part where u pull to engage clutch.. make it loose is it? that means the thing got a bit of allowance to move freely.. correct me if im wrong..

i just dont know the terms.. ahaha.. everything i say 'that thing'..:faint:

adjust clutch freeplay? is it the thing at the handlebar part where u pull to engage clutch.. make it loose is it? that means the thing got a bit of allowance to move freely.. correct me if im wrong..

i just dont know the terms.. ahaha.. everything i say 'that thing'..:faint:

Yup, that's "the thing" that you're talking about.

Something that you turn to loosen/tighten, just like a screw...you can feel the clutch cable being slackened/taut while you do.

Yup, that's "the thing" that you're talking about.

Something that you turn to loosen/tighten, just like a screw...you can feel the clutch cable being slackened/taut while you do.

actually, i adjusted that a few times.. my dad taught me.. everytime i adjusted, theres no change to the feeling of gear engaging improperly. something feels wrong about the gears engaging.

niway, if i go on a long slope, sometimes, the rpm does not increase at all. just maintain only. open more throttle, still the same.. another sign?

actually, i adjusted that a few times.. my dad taught me.. everytime i adjusted, theres no change to the feeling of gear engaging improperly. something feels wrong about the gears engaging.

niway, if i go on a long slope, sometimes, the rpm does not increase at all. just maintain only. open more throttle, still the same.. another sign?

might be the carborator, goto a mechanic n do a full checkup. the 'signs' u described dont seem to be gear plate faulty, just my guess. :cheeky:

If adjusting the clutch free play doesn't work, you might need to change the clutch cable. A new clutch cable probably can last about 2-3 years.

You should engage a lower gear if you want more power to overcome the slope.

might be the carborator, goto a mechanic n do a full checkup. the 'signs' u described dont seem to be gear plate faulty, just my guess. :cheeky:

hmm.. okok.. off to the workshop!

xie xie for all the advisesss..