I was just reading through the SMSA newsletter and it stated that its not legal to take part in non sanctioned races by FIM including events held at Nusajaya.

Does non sanctioned race means illegal racing? Meaning u can be arrested by police? Or banned/suspended if done so in closed compounds?

I recently learnt that MSSC conducted a dirt event some where in town of Singapore and also a Track Day/Competition in Nusajaya.

I hope both SMSA and MSSC spokesperson will reply for this. Apparently, I am not the only one in dilemma.

This thread is not about FLAMING or SHOOTING, but clarification.

• Replies 90

SMSA members holding competition licence are advise not to participate in any races not sanctioned by them. That means local/overseas race like Channel U Youth Challenge, SuperMotard races in Nusajaya, Enduro race in Sungei Tekah are examples of races not sanction by SMSA.You won't get arrested by police lah! Just ban from any SMSA races in future.

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m87/fruitcakepablohoney/DSC02554-1.jpg

why not encouraged? any reason behind?

business ... its all business ... monopoly of business ...

ok enuff ... i'll mind my own business ...

PS: I doubt MSSC spokeperson will reply here ... best if you can email or call them direct for Official reply ...

http://www.boysstuff.co.uk/Images/prod_center/kawasaki_cen_200_81110.jpg

Courtesy of Boys Stuff UK

or maybe they just wanna "hung"(scare) those who take participate cos they are also not taking any action...

aiya, all a huge load of BS!!!

saw some of the guys at GP esso on the 17th of July. Some say track day, some say racing. Some were MSS racers, Kallang Motard racers who belong to SMSA membership...........

Whats going on man???

all because of 1 thing.. conflict of interest.

So its not illegal la....only got problem with insurance claim....

then why the newsletter put until so fierce......seemed more like they dun want smsa members to participate in MSSC events....this is IMHO.

So its not illegal la....only got problem with insurance claim....

then why the newsletter put until so fierce......seemed more like they dun want smsa members to participate in MSSC events....this is IMHO.

SMSA can/will suspend a rider's SMSA race license if he is found participating in unsanctioned races.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

COOL....so lets see how efficient is SMSA this time. This will also show if favourism is taking place.

and to add, what will SMSA or FIM do to committee and clubs organising unsanctioned race?

As I understand it, it is in SMSA's interest to discipline riders who take part in non-sanctioned events. This is to protect both SMSA, and surprisingly - the rider as well. Remember that unsanctioned events can range from those that are professionally organised (such as those run by MSSC), to those that are downright unsafe, poorly organised and poorly funded, with little planning and effort put into safety for the riders and/or spectators. What do you think would happen if an SMSA member injures himself or ends up injuring the specators in an unsanctioned event? Will the SMSA be bound to assist him in any way? Or has he opened himself up to all sorts of litigation brought to bear by the injured party? Do you think the organisers of such events will rally around to protect his interests, or will they try to distance themselves from the rider (and even try blame HIM for his folly)? Who can the rider count on for assistance then?

This is not my imagination at work. Such scenarios have indeed taken place many times in the past. SMSA should come down hard to protect its interests and the interests of its members.

If SMSA want to ban any rider that participate in illegal race than they can always do it because there is so many license holder taking part in the monthly 5 lap race at Pasir Gudang. To my understanding the Monthly 5lap race at Pasir Gudang is illegal because it is not a sanctioned event. It supposed to be just a track day. Ive got friends from KL whose license was suspended by AAM because he participate in the same kind of track day 5 lap thingy at Shah Alam circuit years ago. He deserve it because he actually got 2 warnings from AAM then the 3rd time comes the suspension. Anyway i believe SMSA is always taking care of the rider as they know that riders get sandwitch between club event and sanctioned race. Here in singapore MSSC has always tell its member that their event is legal whereas they just wanna collect more entrance fee and make money out of it and dont care if any of the participant would be in trouble with SMSA or not. Just like the Lorong Halus Race that MSSC organise. They tell SMSA members that it is legal coz its a club event and all they need to do is join member then its legal. Sort of a members only event. At least 5-6 SMSA license holder paid to join the event and end up being given warning by SMSA. As ive said earlier, SMSA is doing a good job because they understand how its license holder got trapped in this dilema.:thumb:

Wahh... how to promote the motorcycling interest if everyone keeps on condemning one another.. Haiz.. :faint:

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y153/nocturnized/Sep2.jpg

"Me don't love fighting... but is better to die fighting for freedom than to be a prisoner all the days of your life." - Bob Marley

If SMSA want to ban any rider that participate in illegal race than they can always do it because there is so many license holder taking part in the monthly 5 lap race at Pasir Gudang. To my understanding the Monthly 5lap race at Pasir Gudang is illegal because it is not a sanctioned event. It supposed to be just a track day.

ermm, a little correction...

from my understanding it's PG 5-lap challenge. not 5-lap race. racers have never regarded it as a race either.

if you notice, they use red flag to finish the event, not chequered flag which would constitute it as a race.

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e250/cbr17/kiss.jpg

Precisely.. They can even use a towel to start/finish the race. As long as everyone on a starting grid and there is podium, it is a race eventho pg official call it a challenge not a race.. Its is unhealthy for long run because everyone will now look forward to track day as it offers a 5lap race or challenge. They dont need to have race license or insurance to participate in track day. Im sure there's a lot of rider out there who look forward to the monthly track day as it offers a 5lap at the end. Lots of my group of friends are like that. Why pay money for license and insurance? Why race in MSS which is 300km away? PG is only 40km away

Hi Slider,

Do not take this the wrong way:

Firstly as "Tortise" has mentioned,

PG has known about this for quite some time now and has stopped using a chequered flag, meaning that it is in fact, not a race. That is why no one gets into trouble for it.

It is now dubbed as a "challenge" and is perfectly legal. Think of it as a trackday whereby the limit is 5 laps and there is a starting grid instead of an open pit lane.

Also,

I know for a fact that MSSC made it VERY clear to all participants about the status of their event and that SMSA licence holders might get into trouble for participating.

It is a legal event. That is why they CAN and have been continuously holding these type of events.

They warned all SMSA licence holders of the repercussions of joining and never forced anyone, so it would be a little unfair to say that all they want is to collect entrance fees.

So,

It is clear to see that whichever SMSA licence holder that joined was KNOWINGLY getting himself into trouble as he/she would have ignored all the warnings and carried on anyway. I do not see how you can blame MSSC for that.

If you tell me it looks like **** & smells like **** and I still taste it to make sure, can I blame you?

Nope, I can only blame myself because I was aware of the consequences and ignored your warnings.

Peace bro. No offence intended.

hAnG lOoSe,

Hartholomew Mamola

The REV Club

For riders, by riders, NOT SOME GREEDY F*CK OUT TO MAKE A BUCK

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=23316&dateline=1271137474&type=profile

Yes i know there is no offence intended but if you are the motocross committee you will know better. As i said just like the Lorong Halus Race MSSC organised. Upon collecting membership and entrance fee, they say it is legal. When we were about to race during briefing time they say SMSA member better not participate. So wat happen to our money? I wast racing at lorong halus but few of my friends are. I was saying this because i was there both at Tampines office to make payment and at Lorong Halus during race day. Im wondering how they inform during the Nusanjaya Race. I wont be suprise its the same. But his time i wasnt there as i was at PG. And as for PG 5-lap, i think u guys better ask the SMSA president as to whether it is legal or illegal. Dont shoot me. I love the 5lap thing. Im only trying to say that SMSA is doing things almost the right way in handling all this issue. They know that riders are sandwitch between what is legal and illegal. They are not TRAFFIC cops where most likely riders will straight away be penelised without doubts. I personally think that once the local track is open, all this issue will be eliminated. Hopefully.

Do you know why they say SMSA members dun race better? Becos at that event at lorong Halus, the SMSA PRESIDENT and COMPERTITION SECERTARY was there to identify any SMSA members taking part.Thats why MSSC told they the situation. I'm quite surprise that since you were there you didn't know that. Or maybe they were hiding in the tree with a camera to catch all of them. I guess what alot of the SMSA guys wanna see is either Justice or something done to let members like myself participate in MSSC event without having to worry if SMSA has the Balls try and cut away my racing BALLS.

PGMIVNSR, as u can see here, its a chaos now. Not many here is sure whats right and wrong. I hope u can explain it to us.

Adding to that, I remember both Peter Tan and Charn telling me that, as long i am upgrading class or have 1 year race experience, I should be in Open/Expert Class, and I am doing that this year.

But DOC DOL has told many of us in the past how he use to race 2 strokes many years back. But why is he in novice this year? I still couldnt figure this out. Till today somebody asked me about it, I just remembered this issue.

PGMIVNSR, as u can see here, its a chaos now. Not many here is sure whats right and wrong. I hope u can explain it to us.

Adding to that, I remember both Peter Tan and Charn telling me that, as long i am upgrading class or have 1 year race experience, I should be in Open/Expert Class, and I am doing that this year.

But DOC DOL has told many of us in the past how he use to race 2 strokes many years back. But why is he in novice this year? I still couldnt figure this out. Till today somebody asked me about it, I just remembered this issue.

Haiz.. Amba.. Amba.. u really love to take note of others affair such as whose bike got wat, whose faster or slower, and now my biking history..

Well.. Dont need Jackson or Peter to explain bout my NOVICE status..

First of all SMSA dont run the MSS.. SIC run MSS.. If it involve a Singaporean, SMSA will only determine a rider a NOVICE when they never hold a license before or race in any sanctioned race before.. Even if SMSA certified a rider as NOVICE, the final say will always be SIC.. SIC will do a final check with SMSA and also Johor Circuit to determine the NOVICE Status.. Having said this, the final say will only be determine during Round 1 when the Malaysian Novice Riders agreed to have the foreign rider in the NOVICE class.. As long a there is 6riders than they can create a Novice Category.. And as for this year there is only 3 Malaysian Rider in both SBK and SS category.. So dat means they have no choice but to accept the foreign NOVICE to create a category or else everyone will be in open.. GO READ the SR.. The Novice is Open to Malaysian Only.. Usually in the past, when they already have 6 Malaysian in Novice, SIC will ask the Malaysian Novice to vote if they allow any foreign rider to compete in their Novice category.. And if a Foreign Rider receive less than 50% vote than they will compete in the Open Class. Just like last year SuperSport.. Massimo and Dhiraj supposed to be in Novice.. But there isnt enuf entry to create a NOVICE Class.. But do they care much?? THEY DONT.. They just SHUT UP and RACE.. During my 2yrs of track days at sepang and pg, and due to my popularity, im prepared to be voted out by them and ready for the Open class this year and was shock when there is only 3Malaysian in SBK Novice Class..

Well, maybe u and many others still cant believe how the hell a NOVICE rider can do a 1:10 at Sepang??? Well.. Im a 100% Novice by race experience but ive rode bike since i even dont have a legal license at the age of 15.. and dat was bout 20yrs ago.. U were still having a dolar pocket money heading to primary skool i guess.. or maybe kindergaten.. Those were the days when sg road are like racing circuit.. Ive raced in Marina South, Changi, etc.. U name it, i be there.. hehehe.. Those were the days when even on a 125 we fear no traffic cops.. Have u had any experience runing away from a traffic cops?? Hmmm.. ive done dat and get away with it plenty of times.. Those were the days even PG have illegal race almost every weekend when there is $$$, there will be race.. Almost anywhere, Almost anytime.. and guess wat i love those days.. Those were the days when traffic cops get down from thier bike shaking.. But now riders shaking eventho they get stopped for spot checks..

Of all this i was wondering, Im in SBK class and u in SS class.. Y do u bother bout my NOVICE status?? It doesnt affect u at all.. Y dont u question the NOVICE status of Safarin aka ReinJahat.. He is in your class.. U lost to him in Round 1 Race 1..

And on top of all this, y do u question a Novice Status of a Singaporen??? You shud feel happy a Singaporen bring glory in Foreign country.. Shudnt U?? After all the NOVICE Status doesnt really matter.. Novice or Open, they race in the same grid.. The Cheqered Flag is the most important thing.. Unless u worry the NOVICE takes the Chequered Flag ahead of u i guess..

Well my advise to u is just SHUT UP and RIDE... Ride hard.. Train Hard.. Coz DOCTOR DOL might be in SS anytime soon.. :thumb:

Now its time to worry.. :sian:

http://photos-519.friendster.com/e1/photos/91/53/29333519/29650247456167l.jpg