New Yamaha Moto GP Rider

News - Japan 25/07/2007

Yamaha MotoGP rider announcement

Yamaha Motor Co., Ltd announces that it has concluded a two-year

agreement with 250cc World Champion Jorge Lorenzo. The 20-year-old Spaniard

will make his MotoGP debut in 2008 aboard a YZR-M1, with direct Factory

support.

Lorenzo, who won the 250 title in 2006, is currently leading the

championship, after winning six out of the first ten races this season.

"Yamaha has been watching Jorge's career with interest for some time

and we are delighted that he will be joining our MotoGP line-up from next

season” - commented Lin Jarvis, Managing Director of Yamaha Motor

Racing. “We are sure that he will be a valuable asset for the future

and we look forward to the commencement of his MotoGP career with

Yamaha.”

The exact structure of Yamaha’s team and rider organization is still

under consideration at the present time. Further details, including

Lorenzo’s team structure, will be announced in due course.

• Replies 16

it says with direct Factory Support.

seems to me like aging Colin could be out. but lorenzo could be going anywhere. I dun think they will put him on trial team dunlop. or Factory Team Yamaha

So Colin's out?:confused:

it says with direct Factory Support.

seems to me like aging Colin could be out. but lorenzo could be going anywhere. I dun think they will put him on trial team dunlop. or Factory Team Yamaha

Nope....so far Lorenzo's team not firm. Could be a solo rider team, factory support, Fortuna sponsored team.

Colins should stays with VR to be the developing rider under Fiat Yama.

Interesting facts are that Rossi dun like Lorenzo, Lorenzo's manager dun like Dani's manager cuz they trying to produce Spain #1 rider. Hmmm....lots of heat. Lorenzo's ego is all full of hot air too, not too welcomed by the rest of the MotoGP guys.

2008, good lah!!!

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Lorenzo vs Casey Stoner vs Dani Pedrosa. That will be fun to watch!

John to Kawa also quite a formidable one, Marco on Duc can be quite scary too.

Dun rule out the Doc, as usual....

Wah, we joining the silly season so early also, lol...

2007 season has not ended, but i am hoping for 2008 already! Haha...

99-01 > Mito 125, NSR 150

01-03 > Honda VFR 400 NC30, Aprillia RS250

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

05-07 > '05 Suzuki 600 K5, Wave 125, Nuovo 110

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

08-10 > '07 T-MAX [5VU], '08 T-Max [4B5], 08 R6

05-10 > DUCATI 749 Dark Mono

10-11 > CBR 1100XX, 2010 Busa

13-14 > RC51 SP2

14-16 > Ninja 400R, Z1000SX, MT09 Tracer

looks like Yamaha is trying to seal one of the hottest prospects before anyone else makes a move. alot can be learnt from how Honda missed signing Chris Vermeulen (IMO that was a tragedy). these riders are like hotcakes....

it is rumoured that edwards may be going out....

i do wonder if it is rossi instead?

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e250/cbr17/kiss.jpg

Rossi had signed with Yamaha till the end of 2008 so it can't be him...

After that I think Rossi may be going to Ducati... pending on Jeremy Burgess, whether he is willing to go along

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

If Rossi goes to Ducati then it might be all over for everyone else.

Ducati has (ironically) the best electronic traction control, allowing them to run even firing order for max horsepower. (noneed to run big-bang firing order). That with Rossi and friend's ability to tune the handling....

Hope they take out traction control...like WSBK.

I still waiting to see a certain red bike red rider to crash in this 2007 season. Heeeee heeee.

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i179/vjjam/SBFpic3.jpg

Bikes Owned Previously : Aprilia RS125 / Suzuki GSX 400RR / Aprilia RS250 / Honda Phantom TA150 / Yamaha YZF-R1 2004 / Yamaha X1 2005

Bikes Owned Currently : Yamaha YZF-R6 2006

Sponsorship by : SPA TREASURES

I still waiting to see a certain red bike red rider to crash in this 2007 season. Heeeee heeee.

He already did! Free Practise and Warm ups, lol....

Ooi, dun because Rossi crash everyone must also crash hor... :lol:

I rather have Rossi on a Japanese bike because we know some of that GP technology will trickle down to bikes that we can afford. Most of us won't be able to enjoy the technology on a Ducati 1098 (or 1099 in future) anyway.

Anyway I am feeling that Yamaha wants to snag Jorge Lorenzo because it doesn't have a young gun to compete with Pedrosa, Stoner and Hopkins.

Rossi had signed with Yamaha till the end of 2008 so it can't be him...

After that I think Rossi may be going to Ducati... pending on Jeremy Burgess, whether he is willing to go along

Rossi will only go if Burgess goes along.. They have a long history there & I think each other's decision is crucial to which teams they go to after their contract ends