ok , now to compile the current list

Maintenance and troubleshooting list

1.) engine oil - change every 2k-3k/km (10w40 or 20w50) $12

2.) tyre pressure - constantly around 29-33 psi for the front, 33-36psi for the rear

3.) sparkplug - change every 10k-15k/km $6

4.) wash carburettor - 5k/km $8

5.) clear exhaust carbon - every 2 weeks

6.) change clutch plates - when clutch slips

7.) tighten chain - 20k/km

8.) piston change - 100k/km

9.) lube chain/sprocket - 1k/km

10.) engine overhaul - >100k/km

11.) bleed brake hose -

12.) rear brake pad - depress rear brake, if arrow at end of rear brake lever reaches indicator.

13.) rectifier -

those i've left blank, im not sure about the interval myself.

pls add on to the list, so we can keep our beloved bikes in tip-top condition

<u>Women drivers:</u>

Earth's dumbest category of drivers

any time, any car, any place,

worldwide.

• Replies 291

and guys, also read somewhere in this forum that if u change your engine oil too often, its not good for the bike.

worldwide.

Originally posted by z?May 18 2005@ 04:09 PM

and guys, also read somewhere in this forum that if u change your engine oil too often, its not good for the bike.

changing of the oil is a prcoess for the engine to clean the deposits and the carbon stuff that runs when ur engine combust..its best to let the oil sip through and fully intereact with the engine combustion b4 changing i e. every 3000 km like that...the oil will be sipped into the bike engine and therefore helping to prolong and promote better combustion ..............

Changing unneccesary/ Neber change will make the engine work double hard and long run hurts the engine.........

Accident Reported @ 17/12/05 9.15pm AMK ave 10

Storage List..........VACum PAcked....

2003-2004 HONDA SP

2004-2004 YAMAHA TZR

2004-???? Honda Wave R 125

Originally posted by sky_80@May 18 2005, 04:33 PM

changing of the oil is a prcoess for the engine to clean the deposits and the carbon stuff that runs when ur engine combust..its best to let the oil sip through and fully intereact with the engine combustion b4 changing i e. every 3000 km like that...the oil will be sipped into the bike engine and therefore helping to prolong and promote better combustion ..............

Changing unneccesary/ Neber change will make the engine work double hard and long run hurts the engine.........

since now the emphasis is on engine oil, i wanna add 1 more thing:

Never ever drain your oil while the engine is still hot. Its really detrimental. As for myself, i change my own oil. I wait 30-45mins after a ride to be on the safe side. If you go to any motortiam and they drain immediately after u arrive, its better to forget about going there again.

worldwide.

somethings no need to always change one lar

like brake pad or shoe, doesn't depend on the arrow

when you feel u cannot brake to the extend where u amost lock up your wheels den you change your brake pads

Originally posted by z?May 18 2005@ 05:37 PM

since now the emphasis is on engine oil, i wanna add 1 more thing:

Never ever drain your oil while the engine is still hot. Its really detrimental. As for myself, i change my own oil. I wait 30-45mins after a ride to be on the safe side. If you go to any motortiam and they drain immediately after u arrive, its better to forget about going there again.

that is correct.

but please do not change engine oil without proper disposal of oil

and be careful when you tighten your oil drain screw. dun screw in too tight

if not your thread will run off

save the enviroment!

How abt air filter element? Every how many km then have to change? Anybody here knows?

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@May 18 2005, 01:17 PM

U run 36F and 48R on your sports tyres??? Or previously on the tube tyres??? I run 34F and 36R on my Wave.....aka Diablo Corsa track pressure, ha ha.....

running that pressure current. if you intend to ride faster than 70km/h then it's better to drop the rear pressure. Using 48R psi I find that the bike glides better on free gear.

Items for sale

Ohlins rear shock spring 7.5 kg(mint)

Showa Fork w lower triple(used)

Stock FULL fairing 998s(used) w MS Prod Carbon Street Belly-pan

MS prod Carbon 998R tail fairing (used-DP#96938402B)

Bestem carbon belt (testastretta engine)

Ducati Corsa Screen-fabbri (new)

Oil Cooler (mint-#548.039.1A)

More parts than I can list here (mostly for 916 series)

(PM me for details)

Originally posted by red rocket@May 19 2005, 01:07 PM

running that pressure current. if you intend to ride faster than 70km/h then it's better to drop the rear pressure. Using 48R psi I find that the bike glides better on free gear.

wah i only put 30/30psi when cold leh! grips better at corners.

MERGED THREAD

Topic : engine overhaul

Description : a few questions

jus wanna ask what actually do the shops do to your bike if u go overhaul

i only know they will change piston right???

wat else do they do

can pls enlighten me?????????

Originally posted by dreamtcs@May 23 2005, 01:48 PM

they will bore the piston block, change your cam chain, change gasket, change engine oil, change bearings

wah

wat is gasket , cam chain,and wat is "bore piston block"

cheem ( @ least for a swaku like me)

what up cs kup???

Some interesting articles about motorcycle maintenance guide.

http://www.totalmotorcycle.com/maintenance...therreading.htm

MERGED THREAD

Topic : wave shop

Description : ........

hi...i just gt my wave...do u guy knoe any shop for wave???mi wanna buy accessory for my wave???A shop special for wave???thanx alot...

UpZZ for wave rider

2001 oct to 2004 Jan----->Nsr 150(Fu 399T)

2004 FEb to 2005 May----->Cbr 400L(FH 7604Z)

2005 June to 2007 Nov------>Wave R(FY 4305S)

2007 Nov to ??? ------>Toyota Vios

hmm.. don't think really got la in singapore.. except maybe LAB lor.. misc parts are all ard.. u can try riding in jalan besar lor..

For msia, jb LAB or ah gua lane lor.. better to go msia la, cheaper and more variety..

BEST, join pauche's 1800km/14hrs trip to Thailand, hometown of Wave. CONFIRM GOOD AND DAMN CHEAP.

good for running-in or ppl looking for full racing mod.

Ex-wives:

Honda Phantom TA200 // Yamaha WR200

Honda Wave 125 S // Piaggio Skipper 125

Piaggio Vespa Excel 150 // Yamaha X1

Gilera Runner VXR 200 // Honda Super4 Vtec2

Yamaha Spark135 LE // Bus, MRT, LRT and Taxi

Originally posted by racingdevil@Jun 7 2005, 11:09 PM

hi...i just gt my wave...do u guy knoe any shop for wave???mi wanna buy accessory for my wave???A shop special for wave???thanx alot...

UpZZ for wave rider

there are some but have to put effort to go ard man... at Yshun Ind. first shop that near to a field but I dont know tt name. another toward bendemeer but before MAH motor on e rite side near to a bridge quite a old shop... hope this little info may help u:smile: :smile: :cheeky: :cheeky: :goodluck: :goodluck:

Guest Chris1974

MERGED THREAD

Topic : Recommended Motor Shop

Description : Nil

Dear all

Just want to share with all of you my satisfied experience buying my 2nd-hand Honda Wave 125S from this motor shop called Meng Motor at Jalan Besar.

In my opinion, the owner was not only very straightforward in his dealings but he was also a reasonable seller. Although he was not willing to reduce his price offer for the bike, his price was fair and reasonable.

After agreeing to his price and the deal was done, I asked for a price quotation for a GIVI carriage and he willingly gave me a 2nd-hand one free. In addition, he sincerely offered me a new KISS helmet without any charge. Prior to handing over the bike to me on the same day itself, he even changed the 4T black oil for me without any charges. Since the deal was done, he can choose to charge me for all these miscellanous items but he decided to provide them free without any charges.

As you all know, the main objective of running a shop is to make profits and it is understandable and acceptable that the shop charges a certain amount for its products and services. However, there are shops which take advantage of every opportunity to maximise their profits from us by giving us a bad deal. This certainly deters us from going back to the shop again.

After using the bike for one week now, I am convinced that the engine is still in good condition and there are no major technical problems.

From this experience, I would definitely go back to his shop again in the near future for my motorcycle needs.

Please feel free to comment or share any of your previous similar good experience.

Chris

how is your bike now?

their servicing ok bo

Guest Chris1974

Dear Dafanshu

Thanks for your concern.

My bike is still in superb condition. Managed to send the bike down to Boon Siew for check-up and found engine was tip-top condition. However, the brake pads was very thin. As such, I was advised to replace a new one.

I am indeed happy to have bought this bike. Anyhow, it seems that I am tempted to upgrade to a heavier bike but budget is the main concern.

Chris

got bike ride can liao lor..

Ride within your budget... so that at least u can go out happily.. and of course you have more $ to spend

Originally posted by cs_kup_oh@May 23 2005, 01:05 PM

jus wanna ask what actually do the shops do to your bike if u go overhaul

i only know they will change piston right???

wat else do they do

can pls enlighten me?????????

any1 knows how muchh is an overhaul>

or just a piston change?

my wave piston jammed!!

wat luck...:cry:

hope i dun get chopped

Guest Chris1974

Ya, you are right, Dafanshu !

As you know, being human, we are never satisfied. I always envy those with Honda Phantom. It looks cool and more solid.

I hope to try on Phantom one day.

Chris

Originally posted by gucci@Jul 12 2005, 05:46 PM

any1 knows how muchh is an overhaul>

or just a piston change?

my wave piston jammed!!

wat luck...:cry:

hope i dun get chopped

How come can jamm? U never check or change engine oil is it? :confused: