According to this link:

http://www.ssdcl.com.sg/courses/class2B_practicalTest.asp

"On the average, a student has to attend 15 sessions of practical lesson for the circuit training and 6 sessions of practical lesson for the on road training."

So that makes a total of 21 lessons as opposed to the minimum of 7. I am wondering why bother to structure the syllabus as 7 lessons when in reality it's 21.

For their motorcar course, they do not specifically breakdown the content into 'lessons', so any idea why it's done for motorcycle?

• Replies 29

To simplify things, the 7 lessons they are referring to are actually 7 modules. 5 modules for circuit training and the other 2(3) for road training.

What they are trying to say is that the average beginner with no prior experience will take about 15 lessons/sessions to clear the circuit modules, and about 6 lessons/sessions to clear the road modules.

Motorbike "modules" are structured for a group of students, so in one session the subject matter is fixed., everyone in the group will cover the same thing. Unlike the motorcar course where it's one-on-one with the student and the instructor has more flexibility in deciding how many subjects he/she wants to cover with the student.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

Can't help feeling they're fuzzing up the lesson thingy. Their motorcar syllabus has what's referred to as stages. All in all, there are 4 stages for the course. So instead of using stages, they use 'lesson' for the motorcycle. Then again there those who can clear the course in just 7 sessions.

Actually even within the same group, I've seen them separate the experienced ones from the others, where the experienced ones are fast-tracked, which means not everyone covers the same thing.

they usually have 2 instructors to conduct the lessons.

this is my experience in cdc though. say you are taking lesson 4, after your 'morning exercises', they will call out the groups and ask if anyone have taken the lesson before. if yes, they will put you to the 'experienced' group unless requested by you.

i find it more productive this way.

"zai" as in ex-revoked case lah?

This does not apply to majority leh!!!

but it is stil achievable rite...

http://forum.geizhals.at/files/2455/Vfr_logo.jpg

Even ex-revoke case also sometimes need a few lessons to go through some of the courses. Esp figure 8.. lol.. Knew one ex-revoked guy during my lesson, failed his figure 8 third time.

bikes lesson is 1 or 2 instructors to mayb 8 students? car is one to one. so for bikes, they can only go by the practical lessons stage by stage rather then the car which go by subject. its bcos of the instructor n student ratio. so for bike, bo bian... if fail one subject, have to repeat the whole practical.

As what previous fellow forumers had said, car is a one to one thing and is taught at the pace of the trainee, its like a tuition session. Where else for motorcycles, its like a teacher teaching the class a common thing and those who meets the citeria get too pass and move on to a different lesson.

For your information, there are really people who pass the whole thing is just 8 lessons including the traffic police test. =)

Take your time learning. No point rushing throughtout. =)

Dec 2007 - Oct 2008 NSR 150 SP "The Ghost" Retired

Oct 2008 - Aug 2010 Yamaha Spark T135 "Sparky" Retired

Sep 2010 - Honda CB400 Spec 3 Tri Color Edition

correct...better take your time to pick up the correct skills to ride safely...

It only takes 1 mistake to take away your riding experience forever...

Pls Ride Safely.

-----------------

2003 Nov - 2004 Mar => FV Ta200

2004 Mar - 2008 Jan => Public Transport

2008 Jan onwards => FV Ta200 (Diff fr the one in 03)

SSDC lessons are now 120 mins, so it's changed to 7 instead of 8 lessons. Most likely to increase revenue for their move to Woodlands?

I see. Which prac did they remove? I am guessing the old prac 7?

aiyah dont listen to the flyers ALL BULLCRAP

now there are "7" lessons

1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6A , 6B , 7... damnnit right i learn half way and realise that they increase the price and even though it is 120 mins. The amount of content is the SAME per lesson as before when it was 100 mins. Just tryin to get money only. It was advertised that you would take less time to complete the lessons cause its 120 mins but the average lessons last time and now is still the same.. abt 21-24 and you pay 2 - 3 bucks more per lesson even more for road lessons now almost $40 for road !!!! Almost died

cannot fail road lesson la! sad sad sad

http://learn-to-drive.spf.gov.sg/services/Learn_To_Drive/passingrates/2Bto2.htm

SSDC has poor passing rate for 2B. Dunno why. It has nothing to do with having more students as the stats show BBDC has even more students yet has higher passing rate.

poor passing rate means they got higher standard, higher standard = less reckless riders on the road.. which i think is good for the road users but bad for the those ppl who take lessons frm SSDC..

PS: but i m a proud ex-SSDC students:angel:

http://forum.geizhals.at/files/2455/Vfr_logo.jpg
poor passing rate means they got higher standard, higher standard = less reckless riders on the road.. which i think is good for the road users but bad for the those ppl who take lessons frm SSDC..

PS: but i m a proud ex-SSDC students:angel:

From what I know, tp testers are rotated throughout the 3 driving schools. Why would they be extra strict on SSDC students?

Dun worry so much.....just do ur best...:thumb:

*** Signature Edited By Mod: sexist signature ***

wah axela i was trying VERY hard to read ur msg.. =)

hehe...

anywayz... ssdc also got ask u if u're first time or 2nd time... =)

overall i like ssdc.. =) cause i'm a student there ma.. ^^

---------------------------------------------------

2B - April 17th 2008

wah axela i was trying VERY hard to read ur msg.. =)

hehe...

anywayz... ssdc also got ask u if u're first time or 2nd time... =)

overall i like ssdc.. =) cause i'm a student there ma.. ^^

The test results are for 1st timers from all 3 schools.

I'm not saying I don't like SSDC but just wondering why just a big difference in passing rates. It's not as if it's easy to pass each stage of the lessons in SSDC either.

like no point toking about which sch have better passing rate or not leiz...not as if the intructor would read it...but y ssdc got such low pass rate when the instructor are alrdy to strict as to fail student at the slightest..ssdc intructor really faill student lessons at the slightest mistake lo...so donno y students cant pass tp in the end lo....

class 2B : 27 November 2007

class 2A : 21 April 2009

class 2 : 21 October 2010

class 3 : 21 August 2007

"Change is a decision u make and not a thought in your mind"

" there can only be transformation when you have change your thoughts"

like no point toking about which sch have better passing rate or not leiz...not as if the intructor would read it...but y ssdc got such low pass rate when the instructor are alrdy to strict as to fail student at the slightest..ssdc intructor really faill student lessons at the slightest mistake lo...so donno y students cant pass tp in the end lo....

Yeah it's strange isn't it? The other possibility is they were too lenient in the past so their students got to the tp test, didn't bother to do enough CR or RR on their own and so contribute to poor passing rate. We won't know as we don't have the staticstics. From what I've seen currently, the passing rate for their lessons is only 10-20%. So out of say 8 trainees per session, only 1-2 will make it to next round.

they don pass ppl lesson so ly that really makes me wonder if are they doin it on purpose jux to make more $$ out of us or r they really doin this cos they meant good for us...not really sure...but not ale to pass lesson really make me feel sian lo....imagine ppl who started later than u alrdy passtheir tp and u still taking lessons and haven even book tp date...wtf man...sure will forget how to pass when tp date is near...mayb they shld let us book for a date first when we reach final assessment or smth ma..

class 2B : 27 November 2007

class 2A : 21 April 2009

class 2 : 21 October 2010

class 3 : 21 August 2007

"Change is a decision u make and not a thought in your mind"

" there can only be transformation when you have change your thoughts"

they don pass ppl lesson so ly that really makes me wonder if are they doin it on purpose jux to make more $$ out of us or r they really doin this cos they meant good for us...not really sure...but not ale to pass lesson really make me feel sian lo....imagine ppl who started later than u alrdy passtheir tp and u still taking lessons and haven even book tp date...wtf man...sure will forget how to pass when tp date is near...mayb they shld let us book for a date first when we reach final assessment or smth ma..

I know what you mean. It can be really demoralising. So does that mean you're at lesson 7? If you are, then bear with it and you'll get to the tp test eventually since you're already close to the end. So these people who started before you, did they do it at SSDC too?