Hihi I have a question which suddenly popped up while i was riding my bike.

So my question is. Is it okay to mix petrol?What i mean is that lets say u have 10% left of petrol X in ur tank and for some reason you want to refuel your bike with petrol Y, will it be 'bad' for the engine?

I'm a new rider and fears like suddenly running out of petrol kinda kick in sometimes.

hope u guys can enlighten me!! cheers! =)

• Replies 14

Open up ya bike manual. Read up on the allowed minimum petrol quality (aka RON).

As long as ya stay away from anything below your bike's recommended RON, then ya fine to mix em.

By the way, moddies -- maybe you could help this dude by moving this thread elsewhere. It's in the wrong subforum.

It's fine, as long as the petrol meets the minimum RON requirements of your bike.

My XR has taken SG Shell, M'sia Esso, and M'sia "dunno-wat-brand-from-rusty-drum" petrol in a single day (quite a few times) without the slightest hic-up.

With a low compression ratio, it is far less picky about petrol quality than other high performance bikes out there.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

can mix lah, esso RON 98 n 95, shell 95 n 98 n Vpower, caltex, SPC all can mix together, bike only need petrol to run

just mix and mix... no problem.... as long as its petrol-petrol mix.. lifes great..

if its petrol-somethingelse... then lifes turns sour...

as advised earlier... dun get a petrol grade below the reccomended.

if you accidentedly pump 92 when your bike needs 95... then pump 98 in to equal out...

modern engines usually work with 95 and above.... however, thats just a speculation... check with fellow KRR riders...

Surprise surprise... the Super4 uses RON 91 and above.. But then.. maybe its not so modern leh... :angel:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

aiya, it's not abt modern or not. usually economical bike should be able to accept low RON, because they are not demanding in power than the performance bikes which requires high compression ratio to squeeze out max output.

Using 98 when the minimum requirement is a 92 will not have a boost effect on the bike. Its in fact, a placebo effect.

For even more added boost, u might want to consider mixing ur petrol with diesel in the ratio 10:1, that is 10 units of petrol to 1 unit of diesel.

mix how and watever petrol u want !

Better still tell me what brand petrol mix to get the "best petrol" haha

40% V-power + 30% petronas + 30% caltex platinum...hahahha

hahaha.. i tot of tat once.. go to the various petrol stations n pump their best petrol.. so in the end get the best cocktail petrol there is.. lolz :D

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

If ya were to ask me, I wouldn't mind using the expensive (eg) V-Power for its cleaning properties, as advertised. But it'll be done once every 2 or 3 mid-grade petrol pumps.

RON is just a scientific number...

The petrol guys just know howta make $$ from it.

Need to be an expert in engine compression to appreciate the use of higher octane-grade fuels, IMO

It's like an athlete needing more water than that of a person not running; the latter would not benefit that much from it.