super4 spec3 VS GSR400  

563 members have voted

1. 1. super4 spec3 VS GSR400

yes. vtec model, DOHC, each cylinder got 4 valves, 2 inlet 2 exhaust. so b4 vtec kick in, its 2 valves operation, 1 in n 1 out. vtec kick in, its 4 valves operation, 2 in n 2 out. thats y its DOHC 16V inline 4. this one i know.

the one i dunno is the SDTV (Suzuki Dual Throttle Valve). which i got mixed up with vtec theory, thinking its both about the same, n end up giving a wrong explaination. :sweat:

funny, but i am taught that VTEC only affects the exhuast valve...

so its constant for the intake valve to be constantly open...

• Replies 276

S4 vtec series, 16V DOHC inline 4. so from there u shd roughly know. but confirm 2 in 2 out. :D

funny, but i am taught that VTEC only affects the exhuast valve...

so its constant for the intake valve to be constantly open...

Its intake valve thats affected.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VTEC

VTEC in motorcycles

Apart from the Japanese market-only Honda CBR400F Super Four HYPER VTEC[5], introduced in 1983, the first worldwide implementation of VTEC technology in a motorcycle occurred with the introduction of Honda's VFR800 sportbike in 2002. Similar to the SOHC VTEC-E style, one intake valve remains closed until a threshold of 7000 rpm is reached, then the second valve is opened by an oil-pressure actuated pin. The dwell of the valves remains unchanged, as in the automobile VTEC-E, and little extra power is produced but with a smoothing-out of the torque curve. Critics maintain that VTEC adds little to the VFR experience while increasing the engine's complexity. Drivability is a concern for some who are wary of the fact that the VTEC may activate in the middle of an aggressive corner, potentially upsetting the stability and throttle response of the bike.

Would be logical.

Restricting the intake valve controls the amount of combustible A/F in the chamber. Lesser operating valves = lesser A/F. More operating valves = more A/F.

It would be illogical to do it on the exhaust valves. It would just slow escaping exhaust and affect the A/F in the chamber. Lesser exhaust valves means lesser flow. Exhaust and unburnt gases will get trapped in the chamber.

Our GSR SDTV works in a similar but better & simpler way.

No need for complex variable lift components on the camshaft or valve control.

Fuel mixture is controlled by the injectors. Air can be controlled by both primary throttle (your wrist) as well as the secondary valve it to auto-regulate the amount of reaching the chamber.

So you get a smooth A/F ratio throughout the acceleration curve instead of a sudden bump midway.

hi guys, have been looking around and reading here n there about these 2 bikes. and now i'm wondering how very different are these two bikes in terms of:

-handling

-fuel consumption

-weight

-and reliability

would like to hear all opinions!

Jεήgσ™ : |l|l|ll| With great power comes great responsibilities.Think safe, ride safe |ll|l|l|

hi guys, have been looking around and reading here n there about these 2 bikes. and now i'm wondering how very different are these two bikes in terms of:

-handling

-fuel consumption

-weight

-and reliability

would like to hear all opinions!

hi guys, i am the TS himself and i have settled down for a SpecIII. personally gsr design are cool but specIII are not bad either. bikes are still bikes, even got price diff also a few thousand dollars nia! or just arnd $50 more in your monthly installments.

the below are the reasons for me getting a SpecIII, hope it may help some others to make a better decision.

1. i foresee it will end up in a bike with low resale value.

2. looks chio, but then maintainence leh? u are paying a class 2 bike maintainence for a 400cc. no pt. and 600cc, i rather get a fazer

3. i wanted it for looks initially and gian the underseat exhaust, however, back seat too hot for my babe to seat on it.

4. its looks decent with a top box and the underseat storage allows u to store a canvas

5. EFI model, say no need to clean carb, but cleaning carb will only cost me $10 nia.. wah lan, these money is only 1 packet of viceroy nia.

6. EFI again, the electronics kee chia gonna cost more than 500bucks to repair.

7 spare parts and aftermarket accessories, enough said, no explanation needed. CB400SF FTW~

8. performance. no doubt gsr has better performance in low end power as it as no VTEC and 4 valve running but it has a higher fuel consumption. VTEC series opens up 2 valves which aids in fuel consumption saving and the top end for SpecIII smokes gsr400 (both in stock condition and rider are of same weight)

9. look at it this way. i am using the extra 1k to zhng the bike leh! currently gsr400 is $800 more ex than SpecIII

10. super4 is tested and proven to be reliable, no horse run. whereas gsr will be outdated as suzuki is good at churning out new models every now and then. guess wad happen to your resale value. to add on, since 1988 CB400sf model has been in the market and there are minimal changes to the basic design.

Aug 06 - Sep 07 Daelim Daystar VL125 (FR 7xxxL)

Sep 07 - DEC 08 Honda CB400 SpecIII

Dec 10 - Now 2005 Zx-6R

hi guys, i am the TS himself and i have settled down for a SpecIII. personally gsr design are cool but specIII are not bad either. bikes are still bikes, even got price diff also a few thousand dollars nia! or just arnd $50 more in your monthly installments.

the below are the reasons for me getting a SpecIII, hope it may help some others to make a better decision.

2. looks chio, but then maintainence leh? u are paying a class 2 bike maintainence for a 400cc. no pt. and 600cc, i rather get a fazer

3. i wanted it for looks initially and gian the underseat exhaust, however, back seat too hot for my babe to seat on it.

4. its looks decent with a top box and the underseat storage allows u to store a canvas

5. EFI model, say no need to clean carb, but cleaning carb will only cost me $10 nia.. wah lan, these money is only 1 packet of viceroy nia.

7 spare parts and aftermarket accessories, enough said, no explanation needed. CB400SF FTW~

8. performance. no doubt gsr has better performance in low end power as it as no VTEC and 4 valve running but it has a higher fuel consumption. VTEC series opens up 2 valves which aids in fuel consumption saving and the top end for SpecIII smokes gsr400 (both in stock condition and rider are of same weight)

9. look at it this way. i am using the extra 1k to zhng the bike leh! currently gsr400 is $800 more ex than SpecIII

10. super4 is tested and proven to be reliable, no horse run. whereas gsr will be outdated as suzuki is good at churning out new models every now and then. guess wad happen to your resale value. to add on, since 1988 CB400sf model has been in the market and there are minimal changes to the basic design.

congrats in ur new spec 3. sure u'll enjoy ur ride. but from the 10 points given, i feel that comments sides on the S4. i would like to give my part of comment cos i had rode both S4 n GSR.

1. S4 had a higher resale value is bcos previously, S4 dominates a higher percentage of the market with no strong competitor. (comparing naked bikes like bandit4, XJR4, monster4) now with GSR in the market, its hard to predict the resale value in 2 to 3 years time. mayb the demand for S4 drops over time? who knows rite? but of cos, honda definitely have a higher resale value compare to suzuki.

2. S4 oso has maintenance of a class 2 bike. if u really did ur homework, certain class 2 bikes is cheaper in maintenance then S4. the only advantage is the 160 rear tyre where class 2 bikes mostly is 180 to 190. n if u put FC into this catogory, of cos a 400cc saves fuel compared to 600cc.

3. not all underseat exhaust will burn the pillion's backside. so far so good, no comments in pillion's backside feeling warm on a GSR.

4. this i agree that GSR dun looks as good in a topcase.

5. fyi, servicing of carb for S4 will b ard $80. if servicing of S4's carb is only $10, i would have gotten a spec 3 as well. n EFI got no carb.

6. this point i agree. electrical parts r a pain if anything were to happen.

7. S4 is in the market for 10+ years comparing with GSR that is 1+ year? spares n accessories is everywhere that they like to take a walk sometimes.

8. S4 n GSR runs in 2 different technology. do refer to wildcards explaination between VTEC n SDTV above. FC, both almost the same but i feel S4 had a higher FC due to the vtec. y? cos i rode both n compare. GSR gives u a smooth acceleration thru out all gears n rpm whereas for S4, vtec kick in n gives u a boost on the power curve n start drinking petrol. for topend, both almost the same. a stock GSR can hit 195km/h. almost the same as stock S4. if u r talking abt installing redrev, full sys, dynojet, of cos S4 faster.

9. if u r the one who likes to mod here n there, S4 is the one of cos.

10. S4 is reliable due to its never change much technology. of cos, that enhance the reliability not technology.

congrats in ur new spec 3. sure u'll enjoy ur ride. but from the 10 points given, i feel that comments sides on the S4. i would like to give my part of comment cos i had rode both S4 n GSR.

1. S4 had a higher resale value is bcos previously, S4 dominates a higher percentage of the market with no strong competitor. (comparing naked bikes like bandit4, XJR4, monster4) now with GSR in the market, its hard to predict the resale value in 2 to 3 years time. mayb the demand for S4 drops over time? who knows rite? but of cos, honda definitely have a higher resale value compare to suzuki.

2. S4 oso has maintenance of a class 2 bike. if u really did ur homework, certain class 2 bikes is cheaper in maintenance then S4. the only advantage is the 160 rear tyre where class 2 bikes mostly is 180 to 190. n if u put FC into this catogory, of cos a 400cc saves fuel compared to 600cc.

3. not all underseat exhaust will burn the pillion's backside. so far so good, no comments in pillion's backside feeling warm on a GSR.

4. this i agree that GSR dun looks as good in a topcase.

5. fyi, servicing of carb for S4 will b ard $80. if servicing of S4's carb is only $10, i would have gotten a spec 3 as well. n EFI got no carb.

6. this point i agree. electrical parts r a pain if anything were to happen.

7. S4 is in the market for 10+ years comparing with GSR that is 1+ year? spares n accessories is everywhere that they like to take a walk sometimes.

8. S4 n GSR runs in 2 different technology. do refer to wildcards explaination between VTEC n SDTV above. FC, both almost the same but i feel S4 had a higher FC due to the vtec. y? cos i rode both n compare. GSR gives u a smooth acceleration thru out all gears n rpm whereas for S4, vtec kick in n gives u a boost on the power curve n start drinking petrol. for topend, both almost the same. a stock GSR can hit 195km/h. almost the same as stock S4. if u r talking abt installing redrev, full sys, dynojet, of cos S4 faster.

9. if u r the one who likes to mod here n there, S4 is the one of cos.

10. S4 is reliable due to its never change much technology. of cos, that enhance the reliability not technology.

haha.. best reply ever.

most imptly, just if u like the bike, u will just get it.

i am attracted to super4 in the end. haha..

Aug 06 - Sep 07 Daelim Daystar VL125 (FR 7xxxL)

Sep 07 - DEC 08 Honda CB400 SpecIII

Dec 10 - Now 2005 Zx-6R

haha.. best reply ever.

most imptly, just if u like the bike, u will just get it.

i am attracted to super4 in the end. haha..

to buy a bike, we need to know the characteristic of the bike. then choose the one that suits u n ur budget ie maintenance, FC rate n so on.

most impt is the bike must suit the budget n not u like it u buy. y? if parts go for a walk, r u able to buy the part without straining ur finance? think abt it.

top end s4 smokes GSR??? hmmm...

that is something alot of riders is wondering. S4 can smoke GSR at topend when S4 n GSR top can hit 200km/h with stock condition. funny rite?

compression ration for S4 is 11.3:1, GSR is 12.2:1.

bore n stroke for S4 is 55 x 42, GSR 54.6 x 42.5.

max power for S4 is 39KW(53PS)/11'000rpm, GSR is 39KW/11'000rpm.

max torque for S4 is 38Nm/9'500rpm, GSR is 37Nm/9'000rpm.

i dun c much difference in the specs of the bike. so how S4 can smoke GSR? please ask those who said that to explain to all. thanx.

hi guys, i am the TS himself and i have settled down for a SpecIII. personally gsr design are cool but specIII are not bad either. bikes are still bikes, even got price diff also a few thousand dollars nia! or just arnd $50 more in your monthly installments. Agreed 50 bucks nia

1. i foresee it will end up in a bike with low resale value.which bike n model price wont drop? all its the same

2. looks chio, but then maintainence leh? u are paying a class 2 bike maintainence for a 400cc. no pt. and 600cc, i rather get a fazeru mean Fazer 600? how u know its paying for a class 2 bike maintenance, hve u ever ride a class 2 b4?

3. i wanted it for looks initially and gian the underseat exhaust, however, back seat too hot for my babe to seat on it.Hot? u sure or u think? My gf never ever complaint it so far

4. its looks decent with a top box and the underseat storage allows u to store a canvasIf u don mind, wat bike also can put Top box.

5. EFI model, say no need to clean carb, but cleaning carb will only cost me $10 nia.. wah lan, these money is only 1 packet of viceroy nia.Which bikeshop charge u 10 bucks nia, can intro to me? i thnk alot other bikers will thank u as well

6. EFI again, the electronics kee chia gonna cost more than 500bucks to repair. Then might as well ride a Lao K, maintenace cheaper right?

7 spare parts and aftermarket accessories, enough said, no explanation needed. CB400SF FTW~ by GSR got alot of things which S4 don hav le, like gear indicator, digital meter n lots more, so alot of things don need add n mod

8. performance. no doubt gsr has better performance in low end power as it as no VTEC and 4 valve running but it has a higher fuel consumption. VTEC series opens up 2 valves which aids in fuel consumption saving and the top end for SpecIII smokes gsr400 (both in stock condition and rider are of same weight)Fuel comsumption is up to indivual rider

9. look at it this way. i am using the extra 1k to zhng the bike leh! currently gsr400 is $800 more ex than SpecIII Like wat i say in No.7, alot of things come with GSR liao... don need zhng so much

10. super4 is tested and proven to be reliable, no horse run. whereas gsr will be outdated as suzuki is good at churning out new models every now and then. guess wad happen to your resale value. to add on, since 1988 CB400sf model has been in the market and there are minimal changes to the basic design. If wan ride or drive, need to bother so much in price?

Hope u not offence in my reply, all r riders, like u say.. buy something u like. Don buy something that matter cost, if not rather don ride, take public transport. Cheers

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

i have been a s4 rider before.

and currently i had a friend riding gsr, comparing the usuage i felt theres not much difference.

It all depends on individual.

you were saying abt the EFI thing, well now bikes are coming up with more newer technologies, even tt a 400 have EFI, maybe sooner or later the hondas are coming up with EFI on the s4? shall we said tt the current s4 are outdated and maybe the value will drop. It all depends on the rider of his choice.

Choose wisely, within yr budget and enjoy riding! Every bike has/have their bad and good. Cheers!

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y123/puremilk84/top_600f4.jpg

one difference i'll put my $10 000 on is cornering ability.

S4 - 160 rear tires, dual shock

GSR - 180 rear tires, monoshock

not to mention the adjustable suspension, better CG,

=> GSR FTW

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

hi guys, im currently contemplating wit dis 2 bikes..suzuki gsr400 & honda s4...can anyone help me in like telling me their experience, pros n cons of these 2 bikes...eg maintenance, consumption, pickup, mods..n stuff like dat..n which bike wud u choose..All ur info would be greatly appreciated..thanks alot

'07-08 '04 Honda Wave R 125

'08-13 '98 Honda CBR 400RRR

'11-12 '84 Paijfa F150

'12-15 '99 Harley Davidson XL1200S (Sportster Sport)

'13-15 '07 Kawasaki ZX6R

'14-present '96 Harley Davidson FLSTF (Softail Fatboy)

'15-present '14 Kawasaki Z1000SX (Ninja 1000)

'16-present '72 Vespa Sprint VLB

there is already a similar thread leh...

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

care to pass me d link?

'11-12 '84 Paijfa F150

'13-15 '07 Kawasaki ZX6R

spec3 vs gsr4

gsr thread

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

thanks alot bro

'11-12 '84 Paijfa F150

'13-15 '07 Kawasaki ZX6R

den how About drz n spec3? which 1 beter in performance on e road?

drz n spec 3 is 2 different bike leh. how to compare? u like a bike that can do wheelie easily or a bike that roar with vtec?

den how About drz n spec3? which 1 beter in performance on e road?

sialla! how u compare drz n spec3 performance siot??!!

Jεήgσ™ : |l|l|ll| With great power comes great responsibilities.Think safe, ride safe |ll|l|l|

Jus to share my views...

possible but GSR haven't really test market yet still quite new n hardly any on sale yet...S4 retains gd resale value, higher insurance also but of them on the roads n hence higher no. of claims for S4. There was a time NTUC didn't use to insure S4.

I used to have a Fazer 1000 mainteinece cheaper than S4...so how u can u claim GSR 4 is more ex to maintein??

Used to ride a bandit V 400 also way way cheaper than S4 :)

Only thing is the rear tyre is 180/55 which is a typical Class 2 size. how much more wld u pay...$40? in my opionion thts value for $$ when we tok abt ground clearance on corners n a gd grip on road.

warmer...possible, burn hot ?? dun u think suzuki did enough RnD before designing the bike??

S4 efinatly has the most underseat storage i ever seen on anybike so far. Box...pretty much to yar own pereference... Steven Lim put a rear box on his ZXR400 L8 or L9 which ever he had. :lol:

Lemme check if u posted this reply on 1st Apr??

Cleaning Carbs which are not required all the way unlike 2 strokers cost 80 inculding syncronising.

EFI....KEE chia?? dude u know wats EFI??? some cars as old as 20yrs are still running ard without any FI probs.

S4 aft market stuff made by who ah??

acessories not much needed for GSR, cosmatic mods u get stuff designed by well reputable companies frm euro so on. Once we r tokking a bike tht not only runs regionally but runs in the global market u definaly will get quality stuff.

Are u gonna hit the track or someting?? the n how often u get to test yar top end??

Zheng??? pls dun anyhow drill holes here n there u will make the chasis weaker.

On a more serious note...do u really need to "zheng"?? for 800 more u r getting a more up to date bike. Mono shocks = better handling, Digital metre, Tokiko calipers on GSR, underseat exhaust, EFI... if u jus dun get it ...carb tend to give prob as they age unless mainteined very well.

Well jus because suzuki comes out with new models doesn't means the GSR will be outdated. But in my very personal opionion S4 is outdate cos honda has not come out with anything newer. S4 has been ard only since 95 n in sg probably 96.

jus my $0.02 worth...no offense to any S4. everyone have their own considerations theres no right or wrong. both are great bikes but they differ alot for sure.

Yamaha LC 125 03/02 - 04/03

Yamaha RXZ 03/03 - 04/05

Suzuki Bandit VV 04/05 - 02/06

Yamaha Fazer 1000 03/06 - 10/07

Honda Blackbird 10/07 - 08/08

Yamaha Fazer 600 10/08 - 02/10

Honda Blackbird 02/10 - 03/12

Another aspect some riders consider before getting a bike..

1. whether you want to ride something different and unique, and also score in the looks department

Or..

2. something which the whole world is riding.. and also looks good (if you do have good taste in choosing the colors in your mods...lol).

The best way to console a depressed girl: Offer your shoulder.

The best way to console a depressed guy: Suck Thumb la Brother.

1998 Suzuki GSX 400 Impulse - June'07 to ?

2001 Phantom TA200 - Aug'06 to June'07

Another aspect some riders consider before getting a bike..

1. whether you want to ride something different and unique, and also score in the looks department

Or..

2. something which the whole world is riding.. and also looks good (if you do have good taste in choosing the colors in your mods...lol).

u really speak like a role model eh?

already know he is gonna get a unique bike next june... :lol:

check out his signature if u r :confused: b4 he changes it ... :clap:

Yamaha LC 125 03/02 - 04/03

Yamaha RXZ 03/03 - 04/05

Suzuki Bandit VV 04/05 - 02/06

Yamaha Fazer 1000 03/06 - 10/07

Honda Blackbird 10/07 - 08/08

Yamaha Fazer 600 10/08 - 02/10

Honda Blackbird 02/10 - 03/12

u really speak like a role model eh?

already know he is gonna get a unique bike next june... :lol:

check out his signature if u r :confused: b4 he changes it ... :clap:

:dot: OFF TOPIC :dot:

The best way to console a depressed girl: Offer your shoulder.

The best way to console a depressed guy: Suck Thumb la Brother.

1998 Suzuki GSX 400 Impulse - June'07 to ?

2001 Phantom TA200 - Aug'06 to June'07