hey ive got this problem, my front brakes are really noisy when i start braking especially during hot weather, ive sent the bike for repair-he changed the break pads and the problem still persists, help anyone?

• Replies 20

hey ive got this problem, my front brakes are really noisy when i start braking especially during hot weather, ive sent the bike for repair-he changed the break pads and the problem still persists, help anyone?

is it because u brake too hard?

what bike u riding now?

maybe brake fluid no more liao?

rxz. hehss. no ar i brake ok2 . brake fluid? wads dat ? haha soory i newbie just bought 3 weeks agoo.

brake fluid are actually pneumatic fluid and its require in order for your bike braking system to works.

there are two reservoirs ( containers ) on your bike. 1 located on the right side of the handle bar ( for front brake) and the other 1 will be located right side of the bike body frame ( some where under rider seat).

the reservoir have marking low and high. straighten your bike and ensure the fluid is in between the 2 marking. if too low, top up, if too high, take some fluid out. for checking the reservoir for rear brake, maybe can ask a friend help to straighten the bike for you.

if no confidence to do, then send the bike to workshop to do for you, stand beside and see the mech doing your bike and learn some knowledge and will help you later on. anyway, its good to know more things.

need to change or flush the fluid once every 2 years ( some will change every year, depend on individual) recommended to use brake fluid with DOT4, but refer to manual as some bike can use DOT3 and i not sure for RXZ.

more inform

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=156558

A second of precaution is an hour of safety. It never hurts to ask.

䏿‡‚å°±è¦é—®ï¼Œé—®æ˜¯ä¸ç”¨é’±çš„!

"Life is Neither Fair or Just"

i also ride rxz last time, this problem will have, cos brake pads still new and will make alot of noisy when u brake, try not to brake to hard.

then rxz only got one brake fluid one reservoir ( container ) on your bike, located on the right side of the handle bar ( for front brake) , rear brake uses drum so not so noisy lah.

if not enough brake fluid also will cause noisy braking sound as no fluid is there to lubricate the brake pads

i also ride rxz last time, this problem will have, cos brake pads still new and will make alot of noisy when u brake, try not to brake to hard.

then rxz only got one brake fluid one reservoir ( container ) on your bike, located on the right side of the handle bar ( for front brake) , rear brake uses drum so not so noisy lah.

if not enough brake fluid also will cause noisy braking sound as no fluid is there to lubricate the brake pads

do u know what ur'e talking ?

Now then i know brake oil is for lubricating brake pads....

Why dont you try pour some engine oil on your brake pads....

Stop giving people advices when you dont even know what brake oil are used for???Hai.....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

brake fluid are actually pneumatic fluid and its require in order for your bike braking system to works.
Aren't brake fluid hydraulics instead of pneumatics?

Brake fluid to lubricate brake pads? That reminded me of a time I was at a bicycle shop and the mech told one guy that if he doesn't want his brakes to screech its best he apply some grease on the sides of his rims..:cheeky:

can i suggest to the mods to give stern warning to ppl who give crap advices
Cool it..I think SparkerS1 knows what the brake fluid is for..Its just that he's not good with explainin about it in words..

this statement abit type wrongly, cos sleepy when posting, sorry for the confusion

Cool it..I think SparkerS1 knows what the brake fluid is for..Its just that he's not good with explainin about it in words..

brake fluid is used to transfer force under pressure from the brake lever through hydraulic lines to the braking mechanism near the wheels.

i really bad with explaination, thats y need more ppl to help me explain.

lubricate brake pads?? thats way off man ..ok la let him say watever he wants ...freedom of speech ...

can someone help the threadstarter?

or you could clean them the lazy way, spray into the calipers with a water jet, it dislodges some dirt and makes it less squeaky for a week or 2.. creaking brakes could mean warped brake discs too so get them checked just to be safe..

hey, i realized my disc break is a bit bent. cos everytime on mainstand, i turn the wheel with my hand, it will always stop at the exact same place. confirm the disc bent right. is this whats it called disc break warped?

niway, i suspect this is the thing that make the breaking noisy and squeaky. so, if i just use the bent disc break, will there be any implication? cos if nor prob then no need change disc right.. just tahan the squeaky noise lor.. :cheeky:

signature.gileraFXR180.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.hyusongCometGT125.signature.

signature.gileraDNA180.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.signature.gileraRunnerVXR200.

hey, i realized my disc break is a bit bent. cos everytime on mainstand, i turn the wheel with my hand, it will always stop at the exact same place. confirm the disc bent right. is this whats it called disc break warped?

niway, i suspect this is the thing that make the breaking noisy and squeaky. so, if i just use the bent disc break, will there be any implication? cos if nor prob then no need change disc right.. just tahan the squeaky noise lor.. :cheeky:

Bro... its not a matter of sound or tahan the noise. You are talking about your front brakes here.

75% of the power for stopping your bike at speeds is from your front brakes.

Yes you are right... what you have is a case of a warped front disc.

The frequent heating and cooling (read as expanding and contracting of the metal) of the disc from application of the front brakes will cause the disc to distort and warp over time, some more than others due to the materials used to make the brake discs.

A warped brake disc, depending on the severity of the warp, can cause noise during braking accompanied by feedback pulsations felt in the lever, in minor cases to as extreme as front shuddering or wobbling in higher speeds. Uneven tyre wear in the form of 'cupping wear' will also occur.

Bro... you may be risking your life by adopting the just 'tahan' the sound attitude.

My advice to you is to have that front brake disc replaced. Certain things on a bike I just not worth saving on.

given the age of this bike, the rotor is probably reached its minimal thickness limit. That could be the main cause for warped rotor.

How much does the RXK rotor cost ?

It's proper and good advice to replace the rotor immediately, however for whatever reasons that you won't be doing it soon, do ride slow so the pads do not heat up the rotor excessively.

Bro... its not a matter of sound or tahan the noise. You are talking about your front brakes here.

75% of the power for stopping your bike at speeds is from your front brakes.

Yes you are right... what you have is a case of a warped front disc.

The frequent heating and cooling (read as expanding and contracting of the metal) of the disc from application of the front brakes will cause the disc to distort and warp over time, some more than others due to the materials used to make the brake discs.

A warped brake disc, depending on the severity of the warp, can cause noise during braking accompanied by feedback pulsations felt in the lever, in minor cases to as extreme as front shuddering or wobbling in higher speeds. Uneven tyre wear in the form of 'cupping wear' will also occur.

Bro... you may be risking your life by adopting the just 'tahan' the sound attitude.

My advice to you is to have that front brake disc replaced. Certain things on a bike I just not worth saving on.

bro, not to confuse with TS. mine is rear disc .. im just 'borrowing' TS's thread cos i didnt wan to open a new thread regarding another case of noisy break..

niway, if thats the case, the disc i guess should be changed ASAP huh.. btw, the bike used for ard 2 yrs old nia.. normal i guess? hmm, to tell u the truth, i do feel funny when breaking and stopping. like the break engage and disengage like jerking but very minimal feeling..

hmm.. learn something new today. thanks guys.. off to the bike shop!

do ride slow so the pads do not heat up the rotor excessively.

dont know if ur referring to me but ya.. i ride slow now.. the days of my dare devil speeding are gone .. u know why? i kena 6 points for speed..

sh*t~ safety rider on the move.. no speeding pls.. :cheeky: