Yup, I agree with Merboy that the technology for both bikes is different. But of course all bikes can go for touring. It is up to individual. For me, I dont recommend CBF for touring usage is just based on my own point of view. Maybe I am getting old liao and thus balls also shrink size liao... haha. Becoming very timid and dont really dare to venture.

I think the repsol paintwork will cost about $500-$600 depending on individual bikeshops. So far, I am still ok with my black CBF. My only complaint is that my current box is too small. Maybe need to get a bigger box so that can put more stuff.

I am using SPC petrol grade 95 for fuel and castrol activ for engine oil.

• Replies 4.2k

I think light touring up to Kuala Lumpur should be fine lah, so far every one of my bikes have seen KL so I think it shouldn't be a problem for CBF too. Of course can't expect to go that fast ...

wad bikes have u brought up to KL n back in one peice? hehe

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

"Riding a slow bike fast is always more fun than riding a fast bike slow."

Sorry to off topic a bit.

Khaitronic, my place here got one RG rider.

wow!! i dunno wad a RG is.. but it seems like an exotic bike.. hehe.. yeoman, when i go see ur bike, can show me the RG as well? hehe

hmm noted thats y i said i not sure if it is fair to compare it with the vara...but this cbf seem to have a lot of potential upgrades...hmm...i saw one pic which look like wat i want to do to it if i ever own one...:p

http://img516.imageshack.us/img516/4646/cbf150yanantaqa1.jpg

this with the red white theme...and few more accessory...wow!...look like touring bike liao...

btw my z i sold off liao...

this CBF150 like quite nice leh.. hehe.. anyway guys, can i ask, if i buy a CBF150, can i change the head (from the signal light onwards)?

wow!! i dunno wad a RG is.. but it seems like an exotic bike.. hehe.. yeoman, when i go see ur bike, can show me the RG as well? hehe

nice meeting u yeoman.. haha.. too bad didn't get the see RG.. but sure got chance one.. hehe

Hi man, welcome. Hope that the meet up session let you have a better idea about what kind of bike you wanna get after you pass your license. Wish you all the best. Hehe.. :p

Thanks to all CBF riders for keeping this track alive. Keeping close watch for the progress updates of CBF150. Ever since CBF150 and Bajaj came to S'pore, I've been keeping a close watch to understand which is a better bike. Right now, CBF150 is on the top of my list:D. I've dropped Bajaj as it looks like the bike numerous bike issues are turning up and with spare parts issue as well many other factors.

Looks like wanting all the latest digital/LCD meters and what not is not reliable for bikes as they're prone to wet weather damage; the modern scooter also hve the same problems....base on what I've from the feedback frm scooterists...........

Let's see more writeups on the progress of ur bikes.......though there might be little to write about if there is little/no problems:D. Anyway, I'm riding a Honda phantom150 for the past 7yrs with no problems except wear and tear....like brake cable, brakes, rectifier, etc.

Thanks to all CBF riders for keeping this track alive. Keeping close watch for the progress updates of CBF150. Ever since CBF150 and Bajaj came to S'pore, I've been keeping a close watch to understand which is a better bike. Right now, CBF150 is on the top of my list:D. I've dropped Bajaj as it looks like the bike numerous bike issues are turning up and with spare parts issue as well many other factors.

Looks like wanting all the latest digital/LCD meters and what not is not reliable for bikes as they're prone to wet weather damage; the modern scooter also hve the same problems....base on what I've from the feedback frm scooterists...........

Let's see more writeups on the progress of ur bikes.......though there might be little to write about if there is little/no problems:D. Anyway, I'm riding a Honda phantom150 for the past 7yrs with no problems except wear and tear....like brake cable, brakes, rectifier, etc.

Hi Streetwise,

You are welcome. Yes, you are right in saying that CBF wont be facing issues such as spare parts shortage and electronic problem. I guess that CBF is similiar to Phantom and wont have much problems in years to come. But of course if you are comparing CBF with Phantom, I would say that Phantom is a better bike as its performance has been proven by many riders out there. Also, Phantom comes with lots of compatible aftermarket parts and accessories. This is not the case yet for CBF as it is still quite new in the market. Even to replace the stock tire, we are having problem in finding a suitable one. On the positive side is that dealers are massively bringing in and selling this bike, parts and accessories will be available soon although we still dont know exactly when. Lets wait awhile for feedbacks from other CBF riders. :p

Someone just bought a cbf at my area...finally got to see upclose with the bike...really nice bike i shall say...is quite thin though... but really look elegant...i believe with parts and aftermarket part become readily available...this bike will become more popular...

i still like the red white theme colour though...which i dont think have in sg...that with a side box...nice nice..hee...

ah yeah rg really exotic bike which will be extinct in 5 year time or so...not only that...perhap all the 2 stroke bike too....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v625/khairul/siggy%20editor/Yishundam.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE - http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

Hi Streetwise,

You are welcome. Yes, you are right in saying that CBF wont be facing issues such as spare parts shortage and electronic problem. I guess that CBF is similiar to Phantom and wont have much problems in years to come. But of course if you are comparing CBF with Phantom, I would say that Phantom is a better bike as its performance has been proven by many riders out there. Also, Phantom comes with lots of compatible aftermarket parts and accessories. This is not the case yet for CBF as it is still quite new in the market. Even to replace the stock tire, we are having problem in finding a suitable one. On the positive side is that dealers are massively bringing in and selling this bike, parts and accessories will be available soon although we still dont know exactly when. Lets wait awhile for feedbacks from other CBF riders. :p

Yes, Honda TA150 is a great bike.....but a two stroker with high fuel consumption:( . Right now, the CBF150 do not seem to hve competitors....except TA200 but it's not as reliable as TA150 and looking at the CBF150 so far, it seems to be the better bike except for the looks.....the Bajaj and TA hve better looks:smile: but then again this is subjective...to ea his own:D

Erm... CBF has quite a number of competitors like Bajaj Pulsar, Yamaha YBR125, Hyosung Comet and Daelim Roadwin... etc. Every bike has its own pro and cons. Shouldnt compare CBF with TA as the two bikes belongs to different category. TA is more towards chopper while CBF is a road bike and definitely there will be some differences. Also for engine wise, it is true that 2 stroke engines are petrol drinkers but its power delivery is much better than a 4 stroke engine. For luxury wise, TA better. For economical wise, CBF better. Looks wise, like u have mentioned, it is rather subjective. But I do agree that it is not so good looking at first sight. Its beauty will reveal slowly once u start owning the bike and eventually you will know how to appreciate its looks. IMHO.

maybe for a start, should try gather and have a 'short' trip to malacca. but no this raining month.. u guys should organise it.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg
maybe for a start, should try gather and have a 'short' trip to malacca. but no this raining month.. u guys should organise it.

That's a good suggestion. However, organising a trip requires lots of experience. Although there is a few experienced CBF riders around but to plan for a trip is not possible yet. CBF rider group is still in its infancy stage with only a few riders. Hoping that more CBF riders can join this thread discussion. Meanwhile, we are trying to organise a first CBF gathering session for us to get to know each other. Afterwhich the group can slowly proceed to decide on whether should organise a CBF trip up north or not.

Anyway, are you a CBF rider as well?

Erm... CBF has quite a number of competitors like Bajaj Pulsar, Yamaha YBR125, Hyosung Comet and Daelim Roadwin... etc. Every bike has its own pro and cons. Shouldnt compare CBF with TA as the two bikes belongs to different category. TA is more towards chopper while CBF is a road bike and definitely there will be some differences. Also for engine wise, it is true that 2 stroke engines are petrol drinkers but its power delivery is much better than a 4 stroke engine. For luxury wise, TA better. For economical wise, CBF better. Looks wise, like u have mentioned, it is rather subjective. But I do agree that it is not so good looking at first sight. Its beauty will reveal slowly once u start owning the bike and eventually you will know how to appreciate its looks. IMHO.

Well, for me, I'm looking for:

1) Reliability

2) Minimum maintenance req'ment

3) Reasonable power

4) Fuel Economy

5) Comfortable ride

6) Price

My experience is very limited as I don't change bikes often; only rode a Yahama and now a Honda. Most of what I know is base on reviews written by fellow riders. Bajaj was one of the few bikes that impressed me but subsequent feedback from riders show that the maintenance is much higher than I expect.....maybe bec I'm spoilt by my TA150:D. Thus, for a 4stroke bike, I see the CBF150 as hving an edge over most bikes in most depts.

good to see the thread well and alive. I was in HK for the past week, expected to see CBFs there but was disappointed, never get to see even one leh... Piaggios on the other hand, seems to be extremely popular there. Haven't get to start my bike for 6 days already, hopefully it won't give me any problem tomorrow hehe :p (don't think will lah)

Well, for me, I'm looking for:

1) Reliability

2) Minimum maintenance req'ment

3) Reasonable power

4) Fuel Economy

5) Comfortable ride

6) Price

My experience is very limited as I don't change bikes often; only rode a Yahama and now a Honda. Most of what I know is base on reviews written by fellow riders. Bajaj was one of the few bikes that impressed me but subsequent feedback from riders show that the maintenance is much higher than I expect.....maybe bec I'm spoilt by my TA150:D. Thus, for a 4stroke bike, I see the CBF150 as hving an edge over most bikes in most depts.

CBF is currently still quite new in the market. You have to wait for a while to see more feedbacks from riders. Usually the bike's flaws will come in about 1-2 years time. That is when the wear and tear parts starts to fail. So far, I find that the cold start is the only problem with CBF has. Have to start a few times and play around with the throttle till the idling stablises.

Among all the factors which you have listed out, CBF's upright riding posture may not be comfortable if you are used to TA relaxed lean back riding posture. Rider seat for CBF is also stiffer and narrower as compared to TA. I rode a TA before and know how it feels like to ride on TA. Maybe you may want to consider in getting the TA 4stroke version.

good to see the thread well and alive. I was in HK for the past week, expected to see CBFs there but was disappointed, never get to see even one leh... Piaggios on the other hand, seems to be extremely popular there. Haven't get to start my bike for 6 days already, hopefully it won't give me any problem tomorrow hehe :p (don't think will lah)

Yo dude, no wonder never see you posting. Nice to see you back. Hope you have enjoyed your holidays. You went there to hunt for the meter unit ar? :p

can someone intro a good mech to adjust the best air/petrol ratio? it will really save more pretol

Most mechs will know how to adjust air fuel ratio. But to get the perfect ratio is something experimental. Even the best mech also have to trial and error to get the ratio right. Too much adjustments may caused improper combustion and lead to engine defects. Please take note.

I did my air fuel adjustments myself... wonder will that affect my engine?!

Anyway bringing bike down to Boon Siew for 2000km oil change. Will ask them to check.

But their tuning is on the high side leh.

------------------------------------------

1996-1999 Hurricane 400cc

2000-2007 CB400 Vtec 1

2007- CB400 Vtec 1 / CBF 150

Yo dude, no wonder never see you posting. Nice to see you back. Hope you have enjoyed your holidays. You went there to hunt for the meter unit ar? :p

Yo quite enjoyable lah. Sorry guys I didn't source for the meter as I didn't manage to visit any bikeshops cos they are too out of the way and I'm using public transport. But I did visit a couple of riding apparal shops (very small leh, nothing much really), their prices are a little on the high side (popular brands like Shoei, Arai, Moto Fizz etc are there) but they do have items which we can't find in Singapore (their variety is not wider, its just different from what we have here). My observation is that Hong Kongers mostly take public transport and only a small group are riders. Think China will be a better bet if we are sourcing stuff for our bikes.

I did my air fuel adjustments myself... wonder will that affect my engine?!

Anyway bringing bike down to Boon Siew for 2000km oil change. Will ask them to check.

But their tuning is on the high side leh.

Yeah I agree that their tuning is a bit on the high side, for example my bike starts easily now but FC has fallen to about 35-37km/L after tuning by Boon Siew.

Yeoman mentioned that improper tuning of cab can cause engine damage, just to add on: settings which are too 'lean' (i.e. more air than required) will result in engine overheating which damages the engine over time while too 'rich' (high fuel to air ratio) settings usually do not damage your engine but your FC will suffer. My opinion is that if I can't get it right, I rather have my settings too rich than too lean as it seems to be a safer choice.

Btw I'm going to Boon Siew for my 2k servicing too, probably on 5th Jan - if you happen to be going on that day, lets see if we can go together yeah?

That's a good suggestion. However, organising a trip requires lots of experience. Although there is a few experienced CBF riders around but to plan for a trip is not possible yet. CBF rider group is still in its infancy stage with only a few riders. Hoping that more CBF riders can join this thread discussion. Meanwhile, we are trying to organise a first CBF gathering session for us to get to know each other. Afterwhich the group can slowly proceed to decide on whether should organise a CBF trip up north or not.

Anyway, are you a CBF rider as well?

i'm not a CBF rider. i'm helping my fren getting sources here and there before help him get a CBF150. may i know any recommended shop to purschase this bike. i know about Boon Siew promotion of 3 free engine oil servicing.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg
i'm not a CBF rider. i'm helping my fren getting sources here and there before help him get a CBF150. may i know any recommended shop to purschase this bike. i know about Boon Siew promotion of 3 free engine oil servicing.

If I'm not wrong Bike Productions at Serangoon Road and Ban Hon at AMK are one of the cheapest places to get the bike (they are related). Depending on how you can click with the bosses, they may come across as being unfriendly, but hey you will not get ripped off price-wise and that's what matters most in getting a brand new bike (who cares about customer service :p)

btw the Boon Siew promo ends in 2007 according to their website