• Replies 99

i change my air filter a few months back tot it wld b b damn dirty but it turn out to b quite clean after 2yrs of riding :cheeky:

http://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_kanan.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_katagiri.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_ringo.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_yuukisan.gif

i tot no need to change so much one?

my mech say just take out, use the spray air gun to spray off the sh*t inside can liao?

MERGED THREAD

Topic : Air Filter

Description : Nil

Anyone here change air filter already? now reaching 20k km so tot of changing? how much does it cost in spore n jb??

i juz changed same time with my stebel magnum horn. According to manual it should be changed every 12K. Ori cost $15 but no stock so bought local(not bad) $10. DIY done by RxzDelux

Linux User #463727

2007/06 - 2009/01:Suzuki GSR400

2009/01 - 2013/12:BMW F800ST

2013/12 - Current:Yamaha FJR1300A

We don't stop riding because we get old, we get old because we stop riding.

Originally posted by realdean@Apr 13 2006, 04:08 PM

i juz changed same time with my stebel magnum horn. According to manual it should be changed every 12K. Ori cost $15 but no stock so bought local(not bad) $10. DIY done by RxzDelux

Oit! Realdeanz? Promote air filter ke promote aku nie? Leh pengsanz. :faint:

:cheeky: I modify the orignal filter by removing all the "air cannot pass through filter" papers and stuff in filters bought from aquarium shop that use for filtering water.

The results: less fuel consumption more power. And the filter is washable save money.

Originally posted by SmallCC@Apr 18 2006, 07:49 PM

:cheeky: I modify the orignal filter by removing all the "air cannot pass through filter" papers and stuff in filters bought from aquarium shop that use for filtering water.

The results: less fuel consumption more power. And the filter is washable save money.

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b12/Ah_Hia00/Thai/MaeSod.jpg

My Bike Outside The Immigration Checkpoint of Mae Sod(Thai Mynmar Border), Mae Sod, Thailand

25th Dec 2005 to 9th Jan 2006

Singapore - Malaysia - Thailand

Total Distance Covered ~ 7000+ km

MERGED THREAD

Topic : airbox

Description : Nil

would opening or modifying the airbox add power to the wave ?

An open airbox would necessary cool down the 4 stroke engine better ?

anyone has done or thought bout it ?

:cheeky: Sorry, i am a noob. May i know wat is an airbox?

I thought our wave engine are all air cooled, meaning the wind blow the engine as you move. Is there a fan in a box that cool the engine????

Originally posted by SmallCC@May 3 2006, 07:45 PM

May i know wat is an airbox?

Air box is used to filter the air with a filter medium before supplying air to the carb.

Cheers !

My Bike Outside The Immigration Checkpoint of Mae Sod(Thai Mynmar Border), Mae Sod, Thailand

:cheeky: Oh i see , so the so called 'airbox' is the air cleaner box. I have modify the original paper filter to a more free flow washable filter.(See picture).

Result in more power and less fuel consumption. But i didn't notice that open pod filter can cool down the engine.

Originally posted by SmallCC@May 4 2006, 07:58 PM

:cheeky: Oh i see , so the so called 'airbox' is the air cleaner box. I have modify the original paper filter to a more free flow washable filter.(See picture).

Result in more power and less fuel consumption. But i didn't notice that open pod filter can cool down the engine.

air filters are not for cooling down the engine lah bro.

It's to filter air that is being supplied to the carb.

Originally posted by SmallCC@May 4 2006, 07:58 PM

change le will have better FC and abit more power ?? can enlighten me a bit bro ? :cheeky: :cheeky:

http://photos-249.friendster.com/e1/photos/94/28/3938249/1_393640418l.jpg

miss my busa.

:smile: Less fuel consumption because with more air flowing thru the carb., the engine now run leaner with lesser fuel and fast acceleration with much better throttle response.
Originally posted by SmallCC@Jun 2 2006, 08:28 PM

:smile: Less fuel consumption because with more air flowing thru the carb., the engine now run leaner with lesser fuel and fast acceleration with much better throttle response.

oh upz upz.... :thumb: where do you change that airbox thingy ar ? maybe i wanna change also... :cheeky: :cheeky:

miss my busa.

Wah power power !!!!! teach me how leh !!! lol... i want to do it but i don't know how sial... hahha.... :cheeky: :cheeky:

miss my busa.

drill holes into it , or just take out de air box , and put air k&n air filter , or just take out de whole air box , and put a metal lining there to cover up de gaps so de dirt cant enter so much into ur carb .

doing any of the above will have better respone for ur bike . (but not recommended taking out ur whole airbox , if u really wanna take it out put and air filter there)

Whatever you do , just remember that singapore will always have rain. The airbox not only to hold the filter , but also prevent rain water from getting into the carb.