Is louder horn a need? Or juz to show off?

Do u feel that a louder horn are needed for bikes?  

152 members have voted

1. 1. Do u feel that a louder horn are needed for bikes?

Guest Desmond_Toh

Juz fix my Stebel magnum 2 horn on my bike today. it was loud!

And my friend tell me this : " Dun need so loud one la... the Driver also dun care about us one... "

but wat i feel is tat fixing a loud horn can sometime save my life! Wat do you guys think? :cheer:

• Replies 139

Yeah I think its important... Not juz for warning vehicles but also pedestrians... :thumb:

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c60/Ajimey/Mine3.jpg

In OtHer CoUnTrIeS PpL DiE oF StArVaTiOn,

In SiNgApOrE PpL CaN DiE oF OvErEaTiNg!

U cAn RiDe FaSt In ThE lEfT mOsT lAnE bUt

NoT rIdE sLoW iN tHe RiGhT mOsT lAnE!

i am using that horn for quite some time ... what ur fren said may be true to those who has their MUSIC blasted .... but , to others ... its WARNING ! if they still ignore the horn ... press on .. they will get notice =)

Its better to have loud then just a BEEP ..... right ? get NOTICED and FurK those pesdestrian who thinks they own the road ......

Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going.

I am Disciplined, BUT sometimes I have Wild sides

When i was riding a bit fast on expressway, i couldnt hear my horn sound when a car suddenly cut into my lane without having any signal.... i believe tat car also didnt hear it too

So i do think it is necessary...

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

I dont think those container truck drivers can hear the horn no matter how loud it is.It happened to me when i press my horn all the way at the driver when he cut into my lane.But he dont even knows. :gun: Me also using Stebel magnum horn.Mayb my horn spoilt or the driver is deaf. Defensive riding is the only way to protect us.

i think it is necessary to install loud horns.. some taxi are deaf, big trucks cannot see us, so at least we can actually warn them we are nearby them. Hi desmond, how much you fix the stebel horn? self DIY or bike shop? i looking one for it also.

----------------------

Honda CB399cc Ver ®

----------------------

whitewhite

----------------------

Muz use loud horn and loud end can. :cheer: :cheer:

Riding isn't my hobby.When i ride,i feel at one with my bike.It's a passion,a way of life. .

Unlike a car driver,a biker is exposed to the wind,rain,heat,flying insects and vehicle fumes,all which make the ride a total sensory experience.

The control and foucs needed on the road remove all cares from my mind,while negotiating sharp bends is the most exhilarating and exciting. . .

the poll results so far seems to agree that there is a need.

loud horn saves lives. so does a loud pipe. :lol:

anyway, loud horn is to make sure those partially deaf drivers get to hear us. between a aftermarket horn and a stock horn, my choice is obvious. louder is always better.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Louds horns might save your life someday.

Imagine that a car suddenly cut into your lane without checking, and you sound your horn. If your horn was as loud as a truck's, the immediate reaction of the car is to swerve to avoid being hit by the truck. It's an instinct.

Of course they will feel cheated that there is no truck but a tiny motorcycle, still your life is saved.

Sitting on my hands... Must... Not... Rebutt...!! ARGH~!@

good one :thumb:

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

100% must use... it u stock wan those cabby juz pretend that they nv hear at all...if with loud horn all the surrounding vehicle will oso notice... dun think he still dare to act blurr. at least can let the others kn wat kind of driver he is...

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

Originally posted by bobo_rider@Sep 30 2005, 09:46 AM

100% must use... it u stock wan those cabby juz pretend that they nv hear at all...if with loud horn all the surrounding vehicle will oso notice... dun think he still dare to act blurr. at least can let the others kn wat kind of driver he is...

Is it possible to install a BUS horn?

Or mayb those container class 5 horn...

Got 1 time i go JB kana horn by the bus..damn,i immediately wake up.Really make me jump up~ :giddy:

Riding isn't my hobby.When i ride,i feel at one with my bike.It's a passion,a way of life. .

Unlike a car driver,a biker is exposed to the wind,rain,heat,flying insects and vehicle fumes,all which make the ride a total sensory experience.

The control and foucs needed on the road remove all cares from my mind,while negotiating sharp bends is the most exhilarating and exciting. . .

Originally posted by ListenToTheRain@Sep 30 2005, 09:50 AM

Is it possible to install a BUS horn?

Or mayb those container class 5 horn...

Got 1 time i go JB kana horn by the bus..damn,i immediately wake up.Really make me jump up~ :giddy:

wah those horn damn power leh... i at australia oso kanna b4... that time go with NS... wah not oni wake up can jump up somemore...

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

Originally posted by bobo_rider@Sep 30 2005, 09:52 AM

wah those horn damn power leh... i at australia oso kanna b4... that time go with NS... wah not oni wake up can jump up somemore...

since install air horns also not approve...y not install those bus horn or containers'

But dun know our bike can support or not... :sian:

Skally horn 1 time,the battery all flat,can push bike liao . .

it is one my most useful and important bike accessory........

I'm a cantankerous lugubrious weirdo. Enraptured by stone walls. Demented by love. Disparaged by my own soul. Besieged by languor. Suffered from acute distress triggered by terminal boredom and elucidation of rhodonderons and deciduous seedlings. Searched for serenity amidst the chaos but failed miserably.

to add to that, it's also one of my favourite :lol:

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

I find it so necessary to install louder horn.

However, i dun think its too nice to use on pesdestrian. Its quite loud as its mentioned, dun wanna scare them. If its daylight try slowing down for them, just a few seconds delay. or rev throttle abit (at least not too loud), if its night time, high beam.

Louder horns really helps. In the past, when i sound my stock horns. No one noticed my exisitence, especially on the expressway. Now, i see the diff.

Use it when necessary, dun abuse it. :D

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b89/stefinix/bikes/10092006181.jpg
Originally posted by honam24@Sep 30 2005, 05:34 AM

When i was riding a bit fast on expressway, i couldnt hear my horn sound when a car suddenly cut into my lane without having any signal.... i believe tat car also didnt hear it too

So i do think it is necessary...

You using Stebe?l

i seldom use horn, even if use also a light tap onli.

But i finally convince to change to a louder 1 becos my old horn really cannot make it, not stabel though but some car horn.

Like Finix say: Use it when necessary, dun abuse it.:thumb:

Originally posted by ListenToTheRain@Sep 30 2005, 09:59 AM

since install air horns also not approve...y not install those bus horn or containers'

But dun know our bike can support or not... :sian:

Skally horn 1 time,the battery all flat,can push bike liao . .

Mine is air-horn and 2 of them, no implication during inspection except that I have to dis-connect 1 of them so as the sound of 1 is just nice for them to approve.

Definately helps, good early warning to jay walkers particulary during nite time. But dont think its effective in Little India............ : :slapforehead:

http://www.mvagusta.com.au/welcome/images/F4CC1.jpg

Hi guys/gals, just installed a pair of Stebel Magnum2 horns over at Kenny's though my initial intention was to get the cashcard reminder only. And boy do these horns WORK! :bow:

I can attest to the point mentioned earlier, that drivers who cut lanes w/o the least regard to riders' safety, will serve back out when they 1st hear these horns. Loud horns DO save lives! :cheer:

As always, use it at the right moment, with the right amount of control. :thumb:

When the Rich wage War, Its the Poor who Die...

Present: Honda PCX 125

Past: Yamaha FZ 150, Honda Super 4 VTEC CB400F, Italjet Formula 125LC, Yamaha YZF-R6, Gilera Runner 180SP, Honda Hornet CB250F, Vespa LX 150.

i was on the main road...and a lady driver was coming out of a minor road..

she didnt bother about me..she drove out...i gave her a good fright with my stebel horns...

she stopped & gestured to me...i didnt bother...

at the traffic light...she wound down her window & asked me why i horn so loud...i told her...cos you are from a minor road..you dont know you have to give way to the major road?

"still you dont need to horn so loud right? i got kids in my car! you will frighten them"

i told her " damn you. so what if you got kids in your car? does that make you have the right to drive recklessly? all the more you should drive safely!"

i scolded her right in front of her kids.

Originally posted by archenemy@Sep 30 2005, 01:26 PM

i was on the main road...and a lady driver was coming out of a minor road..

she didnt bother about me..she drove out...i gave her a good fright with my stebel horns...

she stopped & gestured to me...i didnt bother...

at the traffic light...she wound down her window & asked me why i horn so loud...i told her...cos you are from a minor road..you dont know you have to give way to the major road?

"still you dont need to horn so loud right? i got kids in my car! you will frighten them"

i told her " damn you. so what if you got kids in your car? does that make you have the right to drive recklessly? all the more you should drive safely!"

i scolded her right in front of her kids.

wa...

nasty leh u....

but u did the right ting....

especially the part where 'you got kids in your car? does that make you have the right to drive recklessly? all the more you should drive safely!'

Life is too short to be complianing............

1996 - Yamaha TW200

1999 - Suzuki DR350R

2003 - Honda XR400R

Now - Aprilia Atlantic 200

http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01008_0088.jpg http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01003_0088.jpg http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01004_0088.jpg http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01006_0088.jpg

Ask Aprilia a Question Here....

there was once when doing a right turn at a junction...

me on the right lane and a truck on the left...

when enter into the lane, the truck suddenly going more towards the right and abt 6 cars infront of it got a car with hazard lights on...

me horn at the truck, he quick quick get back into his lane...

loud horn really helps... :lovestruck: I luv them

Life is too short to be complianing............

1996 - Yamaha TW200

1999 - Suzuki DR350R

2003 - Honda XR400R

Now - Aprilia Atlantic 200

http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01008_0088.jpg http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01003_0088.jpg http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01004_0088.jpg http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01006_0088.jpg

Ask Aprilia a Question Here....