• Replies 11.9k

• Wildswans

• -ResiDue-

• Sharpey

• machine k

fluffpuff>> haha it's like that lah, if the injury is not that serious, u'll be more concerned about the bike cos it means spending $$.

if injury is serious.... i doubt anyone will care about the bike.

bottomline is... safe can le~:thumb:

Originally posted by fluffpuff@January 14, 2007 11:22 pm

machine_k - yep was a painful yet invaluable experience haha weird thing is i felt more heartache for my bike then than i did physical pain :lol:

that must have hurt...both scoots and rider....

at least you can boast that you fell while doing a wheelie....

during my army days....just before bookout and at the carpark....did a Wheelie with my good friend as pillion...then the next thing i know....he was of the floor....so pai say.....

Note: do not try wheelies with your scoots....they can definitely wheelie but scoots aint build for such tricks....

1995-1996: Yamaha TZR125

1996-1997: Kawasaki KIPS150

1997-present: Vespa Sprint Veloce

2001-2003: Honda CBR400RL

2005-2005: Honda CB400Vtec2

2005-2007: Honda CBR1100XX Blackbird

2007-2011: Yamaha RXK135

2013-2014: Harley Davidson Nightster

2014-present: Harley Davidson Fatboy

haha i felt so stupid loh, falling while doing a wheelie at a traffic light haha so darn paisei. and yup, i was let off lightly la, very minor scarring also. look like a cigarette burn :sian:

Originally posted by machine k@January 14, 2007 11:27 pm

gweester, i thought u already doing the paintwork?

paint work???

nah....not done yet....was just scootering around with my scoots to test out my gears and carb/main jet setting.....

my FULL restoration will be only be done after the chinese new year....cos i will be away from early feb to mid feb.....

gweester - i do wheelies all the time!! haha not becos i want to be funny or try stunts on my bike. sometimes, it just happens cos.. hmm i dunno.. poor clutch control and acceleration?

Originally posted by fluffpuff@January 14, 2007 11:38 pm

haha i felt so stupid loh, falling while doing a wheelie at a traffic light haha so darn paisei. and yup, i was let off lightly la, very minor scarring also. look like a cigarette burn :sian:

scoots scratch can fix....only heart pain and pocket burn...

main thing is you are fine....

Originally posted by fluffpuff@January 14, 2007 11:43 pm

gweester - i do wheelies all the time!! haha not becos i want to be funny or try stunts on my bike. sometimes, it just happens cos.. hmm i dunno.. poor clutch control and acceleration?

yeah...it is the clutch and throttle control that you probably need to work on....

with slight opening / rev of the throttle, SLOWLY release your clutch lever till you find the biting power before you turn more on the throttle....

guess you are pretty new to riding your scoots....you will get it as you ride it more...

the main thing to note is to never throw your clutch lever when in high rev...this results in a wheelie....

haha i do it a lot less often now. when i first got my bike, i did it a couple of times each time i rode :lol: heard from the more experienced riders who test rode my bike (and who auto kena wheelie) that it's becos my bike's engine is very powerful. but with familarity, i can keep my scoot under control most of the time now.

i posted this in the ajscooters thread but no one answered my questions so i'm posting them here - my bike backfired twice while kickstarting it today. prior to today, i didn't kickstart it for close to two weeks. does anyone know what's the cause of this? is it really bad for my bike? it gave me a scare - thought my bike was going bust.

and does anyone know where to get vespa miniatures apart from tong aik? am kinda addicted to collecting them now :lol:

fluffpuff, what the model of your bike?

is it on 12V CDI? or those 6V contact?

did you check the spark plugs?

it's a 1977 sprint. i don't know if it's on 12V or 6V and i have never had the spark plugs checked. haha :sweat: i don't think many ladies will care much about the technical aspects of bikes. :lol: just worried my bike may already be damaged and i don't even know. do you know what's the cause for the repeated backfire? should i even be worrying about it?

haha u guys damn active seh.. must be the wheather. spark plugs are easy to change once u know how to. but then again tts the only thing i noe how to change. hahaha must go learn alot from u guys.. so whens the postponed meetup??

-=fire gives life but to also take them away=-

haha buy from AJ when u go down again..or buy from LAB..

it's perhaps the easiest thing to change by yourself, as long as u have that spark-plug-remover tool. Its the T-tool. or whatever you guys call it. haha.

If really unsure how to do it... pay attention when u ask the mech to change it =)

i ride a 1978 sprint too....

some possibilities....

you are most likely on the 6V contact point....and not on the 12V CDI...

the above refers to the electrical system running in your scoots...

i had this problem in the past while on these 6V thingy...but have since changed in to the 12V CDI....

my guess you backfire is caused by either your plugs or some "open circuit in your scoots (like the bulbs, rear light, front light....pls check them)...

since you do your scoots at AJ, you might wanna ask him on how your bianca is run electrically.....contact point or CDI...in the long run, it is definitely worth the investment on changing to CDI....

btw, the postponed meetup...change to this coming Friday 19th Jan. Everybody ok with it?

let's pray no rain...

gweester>> yeah, thats the problem with the 6v system..not so stable =( more money to be spent...

itsonfire>> scary right? didn't look at the thread for like 1day and you have plenty to catch up on :giddy:

and again... you are riding 1977 sprint!!!! was looking for it many years back but instead got a 1978 one....1977....same age as me mah....

so if your dad is gonna smashed it up....you could let me take care of it or you could sell it to me!!! heeehehee.....

btw how much did you pay for your bianca?

Originally posted by fluffpuff@January 15, 2007 12:50 am

haha yar think i need to go learn. else if my bike konks out, i'll be like a hapless damsel in distress :smile:

oh yes.....classics needs heaps more TLC than modern scoots.....

you might wanna check your bulbs if any has blown....and also change a spark plug....if you need help...just let the pple here know...we could help....

:giddy: no gweester, my dad is not gonna smash up my bike simply because i am not going to bring her home any time soon haha. and i did think of selling my bike just recently cos of all the trouble hiding and all, but thought about it carefully and realised i would most probably regret it a lot if i were to sell off my bike. it's been just 4 months (5 if you factor in the time taken to do up my bike), but already got quite a lot of feelings for my baby. hha bought her for $3800. the auntie at TA keeps telling me it's expensive and most probably comes with lousy wirings and engine :mad: :box: