Which brake hose are you using?  

87 members have voted

1. 1. Which brake hose are you using?

• Replies 371

yup... they r having this promo. i bought just b4 they launch this promo so no bian, squeeze balls. then installation n bleeding done somewhere else about $30 so total spent is $210...

i change front n back. :smile:

spiegler front only is at $110 including installation and bleeding and the even change the brake fluid for me......tks guys from bikelab.

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y227/WingZer0/Interceptor/TailLight-1.jpg

K&T 190 For Hel Brake Hose Any Color + Bleeding :cheer:

December 2004 - June 2006 - NSR SP150 - FU2267C

June 2006 - January 2009 - S4 Spec III - FBA5351A

January 2009 - **** - FZ1s - F*2323*

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y243/xiaojoo/IMG_0307.jpg

IMHO, all the aftermarket brakelines are more or less the same in terms of material used and way of constructions...

have tried several different brand of brakelines on different bikes... feel that none of them is clearly superior...

the difference is in the branding only (which is also a difference in price) ...

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

juz changed to HEL brake hoses DIY...feels alot better den stock ones

--- A twist of the wrist ---

Originally posted by JoOs7eR@Aug 31 2006, 03:38 AM

K&T 190 For Hel Brake Hose Any Color + Bleeding :cheer:

change frontnback??

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o3/d3an_cain/FZ-1S/385677_10150750269527550_501922549_9854539_2138314152_n-1.jpg

http://images.redop2.multiply.com/image/b8SD0QJnMUnxGv+Dp320mg/photos/1M/300x300/2590/RedopII-logo.jpg?et=kJJjj8slm46j7tujy58%2Byg&nmid=0

[/center]

think diff brake lines or pumps suit diff ppl as well os it's dependent on ur riding style. am using both hel and venhill on diff bikes and e feeling is diff - nothing good or bad abt it.

Gd day Super-fourians and Riders,

Am considering to change to better brake hoses for front n rear.Any particular brand to recommend,the price and location to install..?

Does the BikeLab promo brake hose,Spiedler brand,provide gd braking efficiency..?Thks.. :cheer:

using spiegler hoses. so far so good. braking is good.

bikelabs promo ended already......actually it does not matter if its Spiegler or Hel.....its the hands who does the bleeding that matters most....

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y227/WingZer0/Interceptor/TailLight-1.jpg
Originally posted by WingZer0@Oct 30 2006, 02:41 PM

bikelabs promo ended already......actually it does not matter if its Spiegler or Hel.....its the hands who does the bleeding that matters most....

agree. the brand matters but it's the bleeding. some shop in kaki bukit doing at $170. hel brake hose. but i see the person doing, like 1 hr done?

some shop do bleeding by leaving the bike overnite for the "leftover" bubbles to surface. ya.

|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^| ||

|...BEER TRUCK..........| ||'|";, ___.

|_..._..._______===|=||_|__|..., ] -

"(@)'(@)"""''"**|(@)(@)*****''(@

Gd day Carrotz,

As i have nev install branded brake hose be4 on any of my 4 bikes previously,can you explain to me what is the xact meaning of bleeding for the leftover bubbles.

Rdgs. :sweat:

have to c the skill of the mechanic liao when it comes to bleeding.

can bleed thru the nipple at the calliper n at the same time, pump the master pump to force the air out to the reservoir.

no lah. where got... me oso abit idiot when it comes to bikes. i oso c how the mech do then i describe only...

so u choose ur own lines n enjoy the new braking feeling...

SB,Dun like tat say leh.nice of u 2reply lah.I think i will install spiegler brand one.hv a gd feeling and feedback abt tis brand.saferiding bro.. White Spec 3-Whitey3,haha.. :cheer:

Guest imported_Ah_Ben

Some reputable brands for u to chooose from. please add on if u know.

1) hel

2) spiegler

3) speed brakes

4) venhill

Please note other then the hose, the brake fluid used also does makes a difference.

If u changing, please remind mechanic to cover ur meter with a cloth. The brake fluid will damage the glass surface, causing a white residue.

1) hel

2) spiegler

3) speed brakes

4) venhill

5) swage

6) goodridge

Please note other then the hose, the brake fluid used also does makes a difference.

If u changing, please remind mechanic to cover ur meter with a cloth. The brake fluid will damage the glass surface, causing a white residue.

Galfer :thumb:

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0120-1.jpg http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/P1040229.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0128.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/Signature01.jpg
Originally posted by skateboy@Oct 31 2006, 12:24 PM

1) hel

2) spiegler

3) speed brakes

4) venhill

5) swage

6) goodridge

yar. and make sure they clean off the brake fluid if they get onto other areas, if not like me kanna the brake fluid while riding!!

i love dividends.

Originally posted by Whitey3@Oct 31 2006, 11:56 AM

Gd day Carrotz,

As i have nev install branded brake hose be4 on any of my 4 bikes previously,can you explain to me what is the xact meaning of bleeding for the leftover bubbles.

Rdgs. :sweat:

gd day to u too!

some info on bleeding can be found here. as well as how to bleed?

Here

My little understanding on bleedings.

Bleeding brakes is something that should be done every two years or so to remove contaminated or "stale" brake fluid. DOT 3 or DOT 4 brake fluid should be hygroscopic(absorbing moisture), that is, it absorbs water. The brake lines, master and slave cylinders and fittings on your brake system are made of steel. These will rust in time if exposed to water, and u know lah, rain and stuff, will cause the brakes to mulfunction. Water will also boil if the brake cylinder gets hot enough, causing brake loss just when you most need the brakes.

and i think bleeding shouldn't be judge by hrs need to do that. let me reactify my previous post. from what i understand, bleeding is to get excess bubbles out so that when u depress the brake levers, it get maximum effect of braking rather than some "gu lu gu lu" bubbles in the mixture. hee. lay man terms bah. and if a mech is gd in bleeding, or knowledgable, 15 mins would be done. i tried bleeding for 4 to 5 hrs and the bubbles keep appearing and no effect on the brakes. bring to reputable mech and let them do it. afterall, tires and brakes are the most essential in riding.

my 3.5 cents worth? :cheeky:

|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^| ||

|...BEER TRUCK..........| ||'|";, ___.

|_..._..._______===|=||_|__|..., ] -

"(@)'(@)"""''"**|(@)(@)*****''(@