(Repost from blog site.)

Taking my motorcycle license was a response to a mid-life crisis call for some adventure. And a bike purchase came naturally and rather quickly after I’ve got my license. So I’ve just started riding since early this year, and each ride has not only increased my technical competence and confidence, but also taught me valuable lessons in life.

1. You are small. You are very small.

Inarguably, motorcycles are the amongst smallest motor-driven vehicles on the the road – notwithstanding the latest craze of powered bicycles and personal mobility devices. And just like riders are sharing the road with the larger vehicles, we as individual human beings, are sharing the world with other (often larger) animals too. So respect what Mother Nature has given us and learn to share the limited resources that are available to us all.

2. Focus on what’s ahead of you. No distractions.

I drive too. And when I do, I find myself occasionally distracted with many things – fiddling the radio to get the correct station playing your music, dialling the air-conditioning knob to get the correct temperature, talking to fellow passenger(s) in the car, or (gasp!) meddling with my mobile phone and answering text messages – okay, admittedly, at traffic light stops. But when I’m on my bike, it’s just me, my bike, and the road. No distractions. Just pure focus on the road ahead of me and looking out for any crazy drivers trying to knock me down. And I actually feel less sleepy on long rides than when I’m on long drives. And I think many of us should “ride the bike of life” than “drive the car of life”. We need to focus on what’s important. Focus on what’s ahead. And not let the smaller things in life (like radio and air-conditioning) distract us from our true goals in life.

3. What’s right may be wrong. What’s wrong, may actually be right.

I recently encountered a minor incident; I was losing concentration at a traffic light junction and by the time I noticed that the lights have turned yellow, I was very near the stop line. Nevertheless, I slammed on my brakes and came to a screeching stop – albeit over the line, but nevertheless still safe. But on reflection (and at the comments of many whom witnessed my stupid act that I captured on video), I should not have risked putting myself in that vulnerable position. What if I skidded and fell? What if a truck came ramming me from behind? As I pondered over the situation, I realised that my decision to come to a stop was to be right – not “beating” the red light. But by doing so, I put myself, and possibly others, at risk. I guess this also applies to many other things in life. Sometimes, we make stupid decisions thinking that we are “doing the right thing”. Yes, perhaps many decisions are indeed “right”. But sometimes, there is a “bigger right” that can only be achieved with a “wrong” – just like saving oneself by going through the junction instead of slamming the brakes and getting hit from behind. Of course, I’m NOT advocating beating red lights and then justifying the decision with saving skin. But there are times when following through with a bad decision (if it has already been made) is better than trying to correct a bad decision.

4. Put your ego aside. Life is too short for egos.

As many riders would have also similar experiences, I’ve had my fair share of idiot drivers. Drivers who think that their bigger vehicles have better entitlement to the road use than the puny motorcycles – perhaps because they pay more road tax, or maybe because they paid more for their cars. But being a (somewhat) middle-aged person, with a loving wife and a beautiful young child, my priorities are very different from my previously bashful youthful self. If an accident were to occur, it doesn’t matter as much if I were legally or technically correct, but the probability of me getting hurt is significantly higher than the cabin-caged driver. Yes, perhaps I’m kiasi (afraid to die). But saving skin is my higher priority now. I may have the right of way, but I now choose to give way. Because an a**h**e driver cutting into my lane without signalling may hurt my ego, but (if I can help it) I’ll never allow him to hurt my skin.

And I think we can achieve so much more peace of mind if we adopt more of this mentality. Sometimes, certain events frustrate me. But I’ve learnt to let such events hurt my ego, than to hurt me proper – emotionally, financially, physically or opportunistically. Because, it’s easy to repair an ego – especially if you WANT to. But not so easy for some other things in life.

5. What’s inconvenient may actually be very convenient.

Before I picked up riding, I had always thought that riding a motorcycle was a very inconvenient form of transport. It’s almost always either sunny or raining in Singapore – neither of which are ideal weather conditions for travelling without an air-conditioned cabin and roof over your head. Sweat in the sun? Yuck! Splashed by the rain? OMG!

Perhaps also because I’m a weekend / leisure rider. I ride in the mornings. I ride weekends. I ride in the cool evenings. But as I ride, I realised that I experienced many more “nice weather” days than “foul weather” days. And in my recently 360km trip up to Kuala Lumpur, I realised that I had the advantage of weaving through the snaking lines of cars caught in the infamous KL traffic jam, and arrive at my destination faster than if I had driven up instead.

Although Singapore has the reputation of having the most expensive cars in the world (over $100,000 for a 1.6L Toyota Altis??!), riding a motorcycle is often seen as a “lower” form of transport, or a “poor man’s” transport. The “rich” drive, and the “poor” ride. But I now appreciate riding a motorcycle to be a very efficient form of transport – in terms of cost (way cheaper than cars – in both purchase and running costs such as parking and ERP), resource (40km/l of petrol vs 8.5km/l on my car), and time (when stuck in traffic). It has it’s downsides, of course. But when properly applied, riding a bike can be a very useful solution to the transport problem. Is this for everyone? Definitely not. But I’m now thinking, “why didn’t I start riding earlier?” I suppose it’s the same in life – sometimes, the “lower” form solution may actually be the “better” solution in some way. Again, not for everything (everyone). But definitely worth considering.

A mid-lifer who started late on the motorised 2-wheeler game. Currently riding a 200NS - with a P-plate.

Randomly rants at www.sgBikerBoy.com

• Replies 21

Very well said. I came back riding after stopping for 19 years. And Im enjoying my touring trips in Malaysia n Thailand. Same mid-life crisis and came back to riding. Very true, riding long distance feels better than driving long distance.

While you've "re-started", I've just *started*.... hahaha. Can't wait to go for my 2A and subsequently 2. But meanwhile, I guess I'll have to wait and clock up some XP in the meantime.

A mid-lifer who started late on the motorised 2-wheeler game. Currently riding a 200NS - with a P-plate.

I will like to add mine.

1) Never pillion a busty gal who were used to pillion on Sports bikes, on a naked bike. Somewhere along the way, you will find yourself lying on the tank, and the side mirror kinda disappeared. The back massage was kinda totally wrong for me.

2) Riding a 400cc bike to a work carpark of kup kias, in high heels, office skirts and blouse, guarantees the next week, it will be packed with 1000cc bikes.

3) Riding a Kup Kia, in Thick Jeans, Riding Boots, Full face helmet and pink long sleeve shirts in Phuket Thailand, will have plenty of Thai Traffic Police following you. And if you are lost, you will always find yourself with people, that cannot speak english and they do not understand your Thai.

4) Everytime you stop to put on raincoat over your riding jacket. The rain will always stop. The road will be oily, muddy and slick and your anti slip sole boots will always slide beautifully when your foot is down.

5) And last but not least. Everytime I put on my armoured riding jacket. No slips, no falls, no accident. The day I put my armoured mesh riding jacket in the top box. Spectacular! Although the Armoured Knee Riding Pants is now a must because of such a lesson. No jacket.....still ok.....but no knee guard, you will be down for a year at least, no matter how you fall.

I just started riding just occasionally as I was driving most of the time instead. Started 2 wheels in my 30s.. where most already got class 2 etc.

Both driving and riding had its own pro and cons. However 1 thing I noticed that trucks, lorries like to tail gate you even if you are on the left most lane and abiding to speed limit...But yeah I am a scared die kiasee rider...that my speed is only 90 max..

One thing I like most of riding is lane splitting during traffic jam. Inconvenient will be raining and I will not ride at all. now old liao speeding, cornering also scared... Me too can't wait to start 2A soon..

I will like to add mine.

1) Never pillion a busty gal who were used to pillion on Sports bikes, on a naked bike. Somewhere along the way, you will find yourself lying on the tank, and the side mirror kinda disappeared. The back massage was kinda totally wrong for me.

2) Riding a 400cc bike to a work carpark of kup kias, in high heels, office skirts and blouse, guarantees the next week, it will be packed with 1000cc bikes.

3) Riding a Kup Kia, in Thick Jeans, Riding Boots, Full face helmet and pink long sleeve shirts in Phuket Thailand, will have plenty of Thai Traffic Police following you. And if you are lost, you will always find yourself with people, that cannot speak english and they do not understand your Thai.

4) Everytime you stop to put on raincoat over your riding jacket. The rain will always stop. The road will be oily, muddy and slick and your anti slip sole boots will always slide beautifully when your foot is down.

5) And last but not least. Everytime I put on my armoured riding jacket. No slips, no falls, no accident. The day I put my armoured mesh riding jacket in the top box. Spectacular! Although the Armoured Knee Riding Pants is now a must because of such a lesson. No jacket.....still ok.....but no knee guard, you will be down for a year at least, no matter how you fall.

Hmmph... I'm pretty sure I wouldn't mind the experience of (1) above, though... A back massage would be rather welcoming... *wink wink* =P

Everytime I wash and wax my ride to a sparkling shine it will always rain. And that space created for 'safe following distance' there will always be a driver forcing into it and then slow down in front of you and thus you will have to create another 'safe following distance'. And after some driver hit you be it hard or not will question you on how you ride. Its never their fault for not checking their blindspots. Learning how to brake and horn simultaneously. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Everytime I wash and wax my ride to a sparkling shine it will always rain.

Oh yes.... this one... =)

Hmmph... I'm pretty sure I wouldn't mind the experience of (1) above, though... A back massage would be rather welcoming... *wink wink* =P

Its kinda why......guys rides sports bike.......

Drats.... 1) Not a sports bike. 2) No busty gal wanna pillion. =(

Haiyo.....can rectify easily. Get a sports bike lah.

And busty gal is a matter of how you sian mah. Tip: If you see them skinny but busty....forget it. Chances are, it aint real. what you get is probably two fluffy fabric balls. The real meaty ones with the right kinda massaging firmness......belongs to the wider females.

Haiyo.....can rectify easily. Get a sports bike lah.

And busty gal is a matter of how you sian mah. Tip: If you see them skinny but busty....forget it. Chances are, it aint real. what you get is probably two fluffy fabric balls. The real meaty ones with the right kinda massaging firmness......belongs to the wider females.

Number (1) is probably easy to rectify..... still working on (2)... any additional tips - especially coming from a lady herself - would certainly be most useful... Hehehe...

Sure.

First, make sure your financial controller aka wife approved your Number one addition/change.

Two, make sure the wiffey aka financial controller is not aware of your number two activities. Or that you have the approval to do so.

Three, target the busty ones willing to be your pillion. Do not try to hide the fact that you have a wiffey. Introduce them if you have to. Thus the pillion will be more active in pillioning on your bike for long distance rides.

Four, always let your pillion knows, that for safety sake, for hers and yours. Its always necessary to hug the rider very close, to minimise wind as well as maintain a stable centre of gravity. ie. She needs to either hug you very tight, on a naked or endure bike, in rain and high speed. Or seriously be lying on your back, on your sports bike.

Truth be said, apart from the brief moment in BBDC, I have never pillion'ed anyone.... haha.. Wifey has declared that she will never ride pillion. So lucky me - I have the bike all to myself, for now at least. But unlucky me - I will never get to experience that back massage from Wifey. And yes - biking as it is, is already considered a "high risk" activity, so whoever is or will be on the pillion seat, better know about Wifey, lest it gets into "even higher risk" grounds. =P

Edited by lkm

Truth be said, apart from the brief moment in BBDC, I have never pillion'ed anyone.... haha.. Wifey has declared that she will never ride pillion. So lucky me - I have the bike all to myself, for now at least. But unlucky me - I will never get to experience that back massage from Wifey. And yes - biking as it is, is already considered a "high risk" activity, so whoever is or will be on the pillion seat, better know about Wifey, lest it gets into "even higher risk" grounds. =P

Also to add you want 'busty' pillion ensure your bike got enough power and good brakes. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Totally agreed with TS, I also started riding after driving.

I consider myself fortunate to have a chance to drive and ride, as I can see things in 2 perspective. I resonants with the TS this: I have never fallen asleep on a bike but many times in a car. Ooops.

Also have similar experience with Viciouskitty74 on raincoat, it seems that whenever after you put one on, the rain will stop, but if you think the rain will stop soon so didn't need to put on, heavy downpour will follow. Sign.

Sent from my SM-A800F using Tapatalk

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

Here is another rider in mid thirties (mature age), with 2B and P plate. Although I am riding for good years, It's been less than a month that I am riding in Singapore, and let me tell you, I am loving it. In terms of 5 lessons,

1. I felt like flying in two dimensions, when I am riding, especially on the big long turns :)

2. Riding is stressful yet stress free! I generally forget everything except my safety when I ride.

3. Even in less than a month, I have seen and experienced fair share of stupid drivers and riders. They fight for every inch on the road with risky maneuvering.

4. Riding or driving in Singapore does not make any operational or economical sense.

5. Last but not the least: riding when you love it is the best way to experience it!!!

Here is another rider in mid thirties (mature age), with 2B and P plate. Although I am riding for good years, It's been less than a month that I am riding in Singapore, and let me tell you, I am loving it. In terms of 5 lessons,

1. I felt like flying in two dimensions, when I am riding, especially on the big long turns :)

2. Riding is stressful yet stress free! I generally forget everything except my safety when I ride.

3. Even in less than a month, I have seen and experienced fair share of stupid drivers and riders. They fight for every inch on the road with risky maneuvering.

4. Riding or driving in Singapore does not make any operational or economical sense.

5. Last but not the least: riding when you love it is the best way to experience it!!!

Ride safe!

To point 4, I found that riding in Singapore actually makes alot more economical sense as compared to driving - (comparatively) cheap COE, low road tax, cheap parking. Will have to be at the mercy of the weather though.

Ride safe!

To point 4, I found that riding in Singapore actually makes alot more economical sense as compared to driving - (comparatively) cheap COE, low road tax, cheap parking. Will have to be at the mercy of the weather though.

its because of people like u who compare the price of a bike COE to a car COE, and deem it as cheap, that the price of bike COEs will never go back down.

humm lkm compare coe this way as cheap , not his fault

even compare parking is also cheaper

i bet u even comapre the price of jb petrol to be cheaper right

i have one to add.

1) always look ahead of you.

the reason - my bike slipped on an orange in the multistorey carpark while looking for bike slot. worst #fail ever in my riding history. now my eyes damn open when im in the carpark esepcially during chinese new year.