Originally posted by FireSpitter@Jun 13 2006, 02:24 PM

Modifications / Upgrading (Part 4 - What everybody hates to hear)

I've been approached countless times by enthusiasts who wants to increase power in the cars & bikes. 2 possible scenarios here. Firstly, this guy (Or gal) has surpassed his/her level in handling this vehicle with XXX BHP and the only way that he or she can improve on lap timings is by having a more powerful engine. In reality, I only know a very small amount of enthusiasts who meet this criteria and of course, they think otherwise.

Scenario 2 - There are so many other reasons these people give:-

1) My friends' bikes/cars are sooo much faster

2) I'm having a slow machine and my lap time is ridiculous. So by having a faster machine, my lap times will also drop

3) I just want to have a fast bike, faster than everybody else

4) To cover up the lack of skill with a bigger dose of power

While I'm no angel here and I'm guilty of all 4 before, I would stress before the direct question "How can I make my bike faster?", ask yourself these questions first:-

a) Do you have competant tires? (I've seen a guy at a bike shop buying and installing a race exhaust at a shop while his rear tire is already bald in the centre! His chain is dry, untightened & crooked at the same time!)

b) Do you have good brakes? Standard items here are better pads and high quality stainless steel hoses. Any stock brake system can be improved dramatically. If your stock brakes are not adequate, adding more power to the bike/car will bring you closer to the mortuary sooner.

c) Are my skills enough to handle my current ride? Can I ride it effectively at 95% limit under the most demanding situations? There is no replacement for practice and invest in good riding courses.

d) Is the suspension setup well? Suspension does play a very important part and I've seen too many times, stock engined bikes with good suspension setup overtake faster engined bikes on the track.

If the answer to these 4 questions are answered truthfully to yourself as YES, mod away!!!

wow firespittter...that knowledge was very useful for all of our kawa family..thanx man! if there is any further knowledge, share it!

mitsubishi van

KR proton

fiat panorama

wave R special edition

RXZ

125Z

TZM

Originally posted by FireSpitter@Jun 13 2006, 09:32 AM

A highly modded KRR can take out a CB400 easily even on a straight road, along with other varieting factors like condition of bikes, tires, chain (Just to name a few).

However if both bikes are totally original, the bigger cc bikes usually triumphs (Exclude small 4 strokers).

how do u define a highly MODDED KRR???

i very curious

small chain,tyre spokes rim???

alloy swing arm??

or a magnet with 1 pick up coil + race cdi---->and those good cdi cost few hundred dollars SGP ???

Agraphix customise sticker

------www.agraphix.com.sg-----

currently flowers sticker are 4 by 4 cm

if any ppl need any odd size plz pm me

ride safe thankshttp://sticker.eepz.org/bike-sponsor-sticker/flower

Guest FireSpitter

Just to mention a few things you can do:-

Blueprinted & balanced engine, con rod, piston, cylinder & head modifications, carb, cdi, coil, exhaust, gearbox, lightening, drive ratios.

Originally posted by FireSpitter@Jun 14 2006, 05:11 PM

Just to mention a few things you can do:-

Blueprinted & balanced engine, con rod, piston, cylinder & head modifications, carb, cdi, coil, exhuast, gearbox, lightening.

where can blue print and balance engine in spore ??

pipe easy

head just buy those ready made 1

gearbox also can get

carb also simple

lighttening change alloy arm and drill holes remove unnessary things

and coil which kind u refering ??

conrod n piston got wat kind better???

conrod for wat i knw they sent to thailand to do......

if racing cdi also wan!!

any 1 know where to get yoshi swing arm

CAGIVA MITO7 04-05 (FM2691C)TOP tested 200km/h (red,black,white)

KRR ZX150R 05-06 (FU2031R)TOP tested clear meter/rpm(red,black,white)

RVF 06-07 (FT3303) TOP tested 239km/h(red,black,white)

HondaAirwave (skyroof)

TO BE OLD & WISE, YOU HAVE TO BE YOUNG & STUPID FIRST

Thing's tat need to do:Ram Air System.Skimmed Heads, 13.5/1 Comp ratio.Close Ratio Gearbox.Weight Matched Rods and Pistons.Sprint 120mm steering damper & fork clamp.Lightend Bolt Kit.2 Bro header.HRC racing cdi.racing footrest.AFAM sprocket+DiD chain.Hyper Pro spring front&rear.rear hugger.EBC Prolite race discs & pads.Brembo front master cylinder with adjustable lever. brake pads (EBC Double H),HRC jet kit

Thing tat i've Done:SWAGE plot Brake sys.Digtal meter&rpm.

Red rev.Rev tec.NHK damper.K&N filter. rebuild rear sup,front & back hyperpro spring.6 point grounding.D.I.Y chain oiler.remote alarm wif start button,M3 tyre,D.I.Y angle eye,BREMBO master pump,ART CARBON FIBRE tank shield,Domino fast throttle,Racing rear rest

HELMET used to own:

hyperpro(open face)

INDEX batman

MHR areotech

OGK AREOBLADE

OGK rgx

Mfizz(open face)

ARAI super rapide

NOW LEFT WITH:

HJC HQ1 carbon fiber

http://www.shareaflick.net/14294-200-Pound...ong--Maria.html

Originally posted by myst@Jun 13 2006, 12:21 AM

heard that if slightly mod the bike can sure can out run 400cc but what exactly to mod? will it just be a temp thing? my friend mod his bike but he say almost every 6 mths have to go and do some more mod... isnt it suppose to last?

haha... mod must maintain more than normal bike lor... coz easier to spoil mahz... and also must see how u ride it mahz...

***only 1 image allowed in signature***

http://img382.imageshack.us/img382/408/stealthlogogs0.jpg

Bikes: Kawasaki Kr150 (Sold: 150509) ---- Class 2B : 11 Jul 2005

Honda CB400 Ver S ------------------- Class 2A : 01 Aug 2006

Kawasaki ZZR1400B ------------------ Class 2 : 09 Oct 2007

Suzuki GSXR1300RY (Sold: May 2010)

Team Kawasaki Johorâ„¢

Originally posted by arjen@Jun 12 2006, 06:29 PM

Yah, like CK_86.

actually outrun a busa before :D

can follow closely behind a 400cc but straining for the engine.

can easily makan the 400cc bike on track depend on rider :D

haha... dun kns lahz argen...

Team Kawasaki Johorâ„¢

ah pek and firespitter toking all chimilolegy leix...

haha... only catch 1/2 ball... not fully...

maybe i not so technical baz... only know how to ride... haha...

:smile: :giddy: :smile:

Team Kawasaki Johorâ„¢

Originally posted by krazyfist@Jun 14 2006, 12:42 AM

haha..cute are ugly but adorable..hehe!

lol... u 2 sibe er xin leix...

i referring to ah pek and krazyfist...

Team Kawasaki Johorâ„¢

Originally posted by CK_86@Jun 14 2006, 08:34 PM

haha... mod must maintain more than normal bike lor... coz easier to spoil mahz... and also must see how u ride it mahz...

just some questions..... when you say mod bikes must maintain more than normal bike what exactly do you mean? can you be more specific? and when you say must see how you ride.... what do you mean? is there a total different riding technique for mod bikes? i'm sure a newbie like me would like to know..... why is a mod bike easier to spoilt and what do you mean by spoilt?

Chill babe... :cheers:

i guess i'm also like CK.. only know how to ride but when in terms of reparation and bike mod.. way out of my league.. i don't even know where the sprocket is.. what does a gasket do or even where it is.. how to change to a steel braided hose.. where or wad the swing arm is..i only know the exterior of bikes..the footrest..the fairing..the wheels..the calipers.. other than that..i'm a nutty newb for bikes..

only when i have a close fren who comes down/go out together than show me where is what and what to change..only than i have the knowledge of what to change or do.. so as for now..i can only oogle at what you guys talk about..try to figure what exactly each part means and just imagining where it would be..

:sorry: ..but appreciate the info being shared around..its awesome.. :smile:

-- Kawasaki KRR Kips (150-1) -- 040506 --> 260608

-- Super 4 VTEC III (400-1) -- 260608 --> ???

Ride as much as you want; keep in mind there's a family back home who loves you.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g304/gendut18/26072008090.jpg

hmm.. myst..

maybe IMO.. it means that when you mod your bike..it doesn't mean making your bike look nice.. its more like tweaking the performance of the bike..and when you do that..it creates more power and reduces the stock mod effect..and when this comes into play..a rider must be able to handle its increased power..adapting to the bike after it has been modified..

skills when handling a more 'powerful' bike to what i feel is just the adaptation to its increased power..thats all..no need for new riding postures or new stunts unless your going into the circuit(Sepang?)..

and i too believe that once modded..it takes more time to understand and more energy to maintain it..u need to increase the usage of the bike and also to keep track of the performance..if not..i feel that the bike will be under-used and seems like a waste doing up the bike..more like you do it up swee swee just for the fun of it or to show off..no pun intended of coz..

i might be wrong but yup..that's just my 2cents worth.. :smile:

-- Kawasaki KRR Kips (150-1) -- 040506 --> 260608

-- Super 4 VTEC III (400-1) -- 260608 --> ???

Ride as much as you want; keep in mind there's a family back home who loves you.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g304/gendut18/26072008090.jpg

Guest FireSpitter
Originally posted by CK_86@Jun 14 2006, 08:34 PM

The keyword here is STICKING TO RECOMMENDED SERVICE INTERVALS. Mod or unmod, some riders I see do not ever service their bike on time.

Guest FireSpitter
Originally posted by AH^_^PEK^_^LAH@Jun 14 2006, 05:23 PM

where can blue print and balance engine in spore ??

pipe easy

head just buy those ready made 1

gearbox also can get

carb also simple

lighttening change alloy arm and drill holes remove unnessary things

and coil which kind u refering ??

conrod n piston got wat kind better???

conrod for wat i knw they sent to thailand to do......

I do not know anybody doing engine blueprinting commercially good enough to recommend. My engines are usually done overseas.

Coils from MSD or Jacob Electronics are good. Pistons and conrods from the factory (Genuine ones) are good but difficult to obtain (Please note that these are not the originals but custom designed pistons do the job similarly well. Con rods I usually recommend moly (For the budget constrained) or titanium (If money was never a problem).

Originally posted by gendut18+Jun 15 2006, 09:44 AM-->
QUOTE (gendut18 @ Jun 15 2006, 09:44 AM)

i guess i'm also like CK.. only know how to ride but when in terms of reparation and bike mod.. way out of my league.. i don't even know where the sprocket is.. what does a gasket do or even where it is.. how to change to a steel braided hose.. where or wad the swing arm is..i only know the exterior of bikes..the footrest..the fairing..the wheels..the calipers.. other than that..i'm a nutty newb for bikes..

only when i have a close fren who comes down/go out together than show me where is what and what to change..only than i have the knowledge of what to change or do.. so as for now..i can only oogle at what you guys talk about..try to figure what exactly each part means and just imagining where it would be..

:sorry: ..but appreciate the info being shared around..its awesome.. :smile:[/b]

I'm guilty just as you are..Luckily I'm mechanically/technically inclined I do know some of the parts..But as to when to change it..I guess when it feels weird then change..To help you out..The sprocket is the big gear at the back on your wheel..In front also got but cover by fairing..As for gasket I think it helps to keep it from leaking oil..At least thats what normally gaskets are for..

Hope it helps..Niwae take good care of your bike..Don't be like me..Yesterday at checkpoint want to kickstart then leg slip on the curb..Now left fairing scratch..Lucky abit only coz my foot/leg was under it..Leg pain heart also pain..Lucky haven't go for new paintwerk since I got my bike..

Originally posted by FireSpitter@Jun 15 2006, 10:08 AM

The keyword here is STICKING TO RECOMMENDED SERVICE INTERVALS. Mod or unmod, some riders I see do not ever service their bike on time.

It would be greatly appreciated if you could provide us with the recommended intervals for bike servicing..

Originally posted by FireSpitter@Jun 15 2006, 10:28 AM

I do not know anybody doing engine blueprinting commercially good enough to recommend. My engines are usually done overseas.

Coils from MSD or Jacob Electronics are good. Pistons and conrods from the factory (Genuine ones) are good but difficult to obtain (Please note that these are not the originals but custom designed pistons do the job similarly well. Con rods I usually recommend moly (For the budget constrained) or titanium (If money was never a problem).

ur kips engine done oversea ?

and do u knw if any ppl riding kips got custtom conrod those u mention..

piston wise dimension same onli material diff....

and coils u ever saw any ppl riding kips got put those coils u mention ...

Originally posted by gendut18@Jun 15 2006, 09:58 AM

hmm.. myst..

maybe IMO.. it means that when you mod your bike..it doesn't mean making your bike look nice.. its more like tweaking the performance of the bike..and when you do that..it creates more power and reduces the stock mod effect..and when this comes into play..a rider must be able to handle its increased power..adapting to the bike after it has been modified..

skills when handling a more 'powerful' bike to what i feel is just the adaptation to its increased power..thats all..no need for new riding postures or new stunts unless your going into the circuit(Sepang?)..

and i too believe that once modded..it takes more time to understand and more energy to maintain it..u need to increase the usage of the bike and also to keep track of the performance..if not..i feel that the bike will be under-used and seems like a waste doing up the bike..more like you do it up swee swee just for the fun of it or to show off..no pun intended of coz..

i might be wrong but yup..that's just my 2cents worth.. :smile:

getdut18,

thanks for the insight.... hahaha i know la mod means enhancing the performance of the bike.... hahaha...... so like i asked CK86... what to mod the bike.... stock means original izit? sorry very blurzzz on the whole thing. newbie...

CK86

I really hope you can enlighten me..... blurzzz lah....

FireSpitter,

like asked by compfused what is the recomended service interval?

thanks....

:sweat: :confused:

Chill babe... :cheers:

Guest FireSpitter
Originally posted by AH^_^PEK^_^LAH@Jun 15 2006, 11:13 AM

ur kips engine done oversea ?

and do u knw if any ppl riding kips got custtom conrod those u mention..

piston wise dimension same onli material diff....

and coils u ever saw any ppl riding kips got put those coils u mention ...

Piston - May not necessarily be only material difference, head designs & squish area plays a bigger part.

sorry guy's the chmber pipe cannot sell lo!!

coz i can't get the arrow pipe!!

sorry

CAGIVA MITO7 04-05 (FM2691C)TOP tested 200km/h (red,black,white)

KRR ZX150R 05-06 (FU2031R)TOP tested clear meter/rpm(red,black,white)

RVF 06-07 (FT3303) TOP tested 239km/h(red,black,white)

HondaAirwave (skyroof)

TO BE OLD & WISE, YOU HAVE TO BE YOUNG & STUPID FIRST

Thing's tat need to do:Ram Air System.Skimmed Heads, 13.5/1 Comp ratio.Close Ratio Gearbox.Weight Matched Rods and Pistons.Sprint 120mm steering damper & fork clamp.Lightend Bolt Kit.2 Bro header.HRC racing cdi.racing footrest.AFAM sprocket+DiD chain.Hyper Pro spring front&rear.rear hugger.EBC Prolite race discs & pads.Brembo front master cylinder with adjustable lever. brake pads (EBC Double H),HRC jet kit

Thing tat i've Done:SWAGE plot Brake sys.Digtal meter&rpm.

Red rev.Rev tec.NHK damper.K&N filter. rebuild rear sup,front & back hyperpro spring.6 point grounding.D.I.Y chain oiler.remote alarm wif start button,M3 tyre,D.I.Y angle eye,BREMBO master pump,ART CARBON FIBRE tank shield,Domino fast throttle,Racing rear rest

HELMET used to own:

hyperpro(open face)

INDEX batman

MHR areotech

OGK AREOBLADE

OGK rgx

Mfizz(open face)

ARAI super rapide

NOW LEFT WITH:

HJC HQ1 carbon fiber

http://www.shareaflick.net/14294-200-Pound...ong--Maria.html

Originally posted by FireSpitter@Jun 15 2006, 11:53 AM

Piston - May not necessarily be only material difference, head designs & squish area plays a bigger part.

u haven answer me the qn u kips done oversea ?

not as in malaysia or thailand :)

u sound like ur kips done alot i curious :)

Guest FireSpitter
Originally posted by AH^_^PEK^_^LAH@Jun 15 2006, 01:41 PM

u haven answer me the qn u kips done oversea ?

not as in malaysia or thailand :)

u sound like ur kips done alot i curious :)

Originally posted by FireSpitter@Jun 15 2006, 11:53 AM

those high com head are already in the market for long time already and dun cost mush :)

i think stock KRR is good enough liao... anyway nowadays u wanna find ppl to play also difficult... all dun dare to play like that de... -__-'' wat i think matter is the skills and balls bah... u got skills and balls, a stock bike will be good enough to play with others during traffics and corners bah... lol.... however, a good tyre and a good brake is very important...

Originally posted by KheeTia@Jun 15 2006, 04:45 PM

i think stock KRR is good enough liao... anyway nowadays u wanna find ppl to play also difficult... all dun dare to play like that de... -__-'' wat i think matter is the skills and balls bah... u got skills and balls, a stock bike will be good enough to play with others during traffics and corners bah... lol.... however, a good tyre and a good brake is very important...

i think its abit dumb to play in traffic light and corner unless u think ur points too much... or no police in singapore??

which is quite impossible hahahahahahahha