Hunter just a question heh that daz u spray black colour on ur eng ritz? Come to think about it thought have to use high temp spray then can ritz :cheeky: ? Cause im thinking of also spray black lol u mind posting ur pic again heh esp with ur big tank together tks

He told me using High temp spray 1000cc kind to spray black. Looks quite gd when i saw him spraying hehehe.

I am oso keen on that :cheeky:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v135/forkie/gif/cbike.gif αll oveR Ür toWή
  • Replies 111

wow silent, your bike looks damn nice and clean !

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

Hi Guys, here are some pictures of My Bikes with the Big Tank.

And a close up Pic of the cooling fins sprayed Black.

i remb ah chong telling you the other day not to spray it black cos it will contain the heat more and cause some problems..

but looks ok to me...

http://i33.tinypic.com/2h3ok5w.jpg
wow silent, your bike looks damn nice and clean !

Actually quite dirty, can see grains of brown sand sticking to the cooling fins in the close up shot.

Have to repolish the crash bars too, getting small spots of rust due to rain.

i remb ah chong telling you the other day not to spray it black cos it will contain the heat more and cause some problems..

but looks ok to me...

Yes, but the First Law of Thermodynamics says that heat travels from an area of higher temperature to an area of lower temperature.

Next, Black is a better radiator of heat, but also absorb heat faster.

And since heat travels from area of higher temperature to lower temperature, the heat should be more easily absorbed by the Blacken fins and Radiated off to the cooler air around it faster.

Or so that's the theory.

Only problem I foresee is that if the paint is a good insulator like rubber, then I got a problem... :cheeky:

Just came back from JB after pumping full tank.

Qus: How much can the tank hold?

Ans: A disappointing 18 L exactly. :dozed:

Anything above 18 L is spilled.

Hmmm where did the petrol spilled ?

From the fuel cap area ? Or leak from other place ? :confused:

Hmmm where did the petrol spilled ?

From the fuel cap area ? Or leak from other place ? :confused:

Too full so overspilled, until all over the fuel tank and onto my leg. :sian:

hi DIYers,

anyone know what is the size of the spanner

for opening the engine oil sump plug? i tried

16 too small, 17 too big. (mm, of course.) is

there such a thing as 0.5 mm steps?

ys

Silent... abt yr fins sprayed black i dun think its a good idea... esp if yr paint is not conducting the heat at a rate faster then the rate of convection of the moving air around it. Yes the black surface of the paint may radiate heat away quickly but if the heat is trapped between the metal and the paint due to poor conduction, you are screwed. Its like wearing a big black fur coat to keep you cool.

Plus convection itself is more effective than conduction. Info Here. By painting your metal surfaces, you are making the heat jump through a few more hoops to before being gotten rid off. Instead of: Metal Conduct -> Surface Radiation, Convection and Conduction. Become: Metal Conduct -> Paint Conduct -> Surface Radiation, Convection and Conduction. And its that "Paint Conduct" part which is questionable. Convection through the air is also much better at cooling a radiator than light radiation is. Unless you are in space where convection cannot take place. Guess you will only know if yr engine starts overheating on the really hot days we are getting these few weeks...

There was a debate somewhere over this if i can recall.. True blackness and just surface paint colour blackness... to really achieve what you want. You will have to laser pit the surface of the cooling fins on yr engine. Then it will not reflect any light and truely be black; allowing the improved radiation of heat .

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

Hee Hee Hee!!! Hey Snapel, look on the bright side, at least in the morning no need to warm up so long for the temperature to reach the optimum temperature! :lol:

Anyway I will keep an eye out for abnormal reactions these couple of weeks, just in case. ;)

Guess you will only know if yr engine starts overheating on the really hot days we are getting these few weeks...

btw, our phantom TA200 has no engine thermometer,

how do you know when the engine has overheated?

Loss of power, abnormal vibrations from the engine, able to feel the heat from the engine strongly from under the pant leg of yr jeans? Not sure nv kanna before but i guess these may be a few symptoms.

it is a japanese bike so i am assuming it

should be in mm.

what do you mean inches and mm?

i mean maybe its in inches NOT mm... : ) u never know its make in thailand lol

RIDE SAFE TODAY, FOR YOU CAN RIDE AGAIN TOMORROW.

i thought there is a meter within the speedometer to show the engine temperature.. anyway i brought a attachment from Koons motor which help to cool engine .. my temperature never pass the mid marking before .. : )

RIDE SAFE TODAY, FOR YOU CAN RIDE AGAIN TOMORROW.

i mean maybe its in inches NOT mm... : ) u never know its make in thailand lol

oh ya it is made in thailand...

i thought there is a meter within the speedometer to show the engine temperature.. anyway i brought a attachment from Koons motor which help to cool engine .. my temperature never pass the mid marking before .. : )

i think that meter only exists for TA150.

it measures the temperature of the water

in the radiator.

ya i've seen that attachment from Koons before.

does it really help? the shape, size, etc looks like

less effective for heat transfer than the engine

block itself.

what i think we really need to supplement the

engine is a proper oil filter.

Yes i agree... what the TA-200 really needs is an oil filter... den can fill it up with fully synthetic and change EO much less often.

Phantom Knight DIY SESSION

Things to DIY are HAZARD LIGHT and HORN.

DATE: 14th Sept (SUNDAY)

TIME: 12 noon

VENUE: MADMAN BASE CAMP @ 476 Pasir Ris Dr 6 (near downtown east)

Members are encourage to bring along some basic toolkit like screw driver, wire striper, allen key for the DIY, some tools will be provided on the actual day also

Pricing for ITEMS needed for the DIY will be update here soon !!

Interested member pls post your name below.

Example: Fusionzone/Andy/97914098/TA150/Hazard light

1. St_gtti/Steve/96501229/TA200/Hazard Light n horn - confirm

2. LawBah/Lawrence/91558805/TA200/See see look look - confirm

3. madman / 98586442/TA150/ Rewire my bike - confirm

4. trickerphantom / 81284144 / TA200 / Hazard Light

5. Silent Hunter/ 90492378/ TA200 / Tank that is 20-21 litres

6. allankoh11/ allan/ 90405995/ TA200/ Hazard light

7. vincekam / 91066XXX / ?? / Not telling you - confirm

8. tangys / 91039743 / TA200 / instrument panel light bulb

9. KnightDragon / 98245531 / TA20 / See look See look

As promise there will be a DIFY session also pls sms me to confirm your attendance

Andy Tan

hehe, just fixed up Hazard light .... thanks Andy!!

1996-1997 : LC kia

1997-1998 : Skipper

1998-1999 : TZR

2000-2003 : Skipper again

2003-2005 : Honda Wave + Lancer

2005-2013 : Phantom

2011 - : EX Lancer

2013 - : FJR1300

hehe, wah carb and change the choke cable... so far so gd..

bike didnt die at traffic light... haha

hazard light... of course... no problem... working fine

1996-1997 : LC kia

1997-1998 : Skipper

1998-1999 : TZR

2000-2003 : Skipper again

2003-2005 : Honda Wave + Lancer

2005-2013 : Phantom

2011 - : EX Lancer

2013 - : FJR1300

Hi Silent Hunter,

I'm GLim, check with you about the fuel tank mod, Do you need to modified the tank two button holder on the main frame?

Thank-you

GLim

Hi Silent Hunter,

I'm GLim, check with you about the fuel tank mod, Do you need to modified the tank two button holder on the main frame?

Thank-you

GLim

Huh? You mean the rod sticking out of the chassis with the 2 rubber pieces for supporting the tank or the groove on the bottom of the Big Tank?

Actually I didn't have to modify either of them, since the 2 rubber pieces fit exactly into the groove on the bottom of the Big Tank.

The only thing to take note is that the metal washer under the seat will not fit into the Big Tank, so you will have to screw it without the washer.

Huh? You mean the rod sticking out of the chassis with the 2 rubber pieces for supporting the tank or the groove on the bottom of the Big Tank?

Actually I didn't have to modify either of them, since the 2 rubber pieces fit exactly into the groove on the bottom of the Big Tank.

The only thing to take note is that the metal washer under the seat will not fit into the Big Tank, so you will have to screw it without the washer.

Bro, hows ur ride nowdays ? :cheeky:

I oso keen to get the tank from madman, maybe yr end see bonus can ornot 1st lol.