http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,176794,00.html?

S'pore bikes easy targets for M'sian thieves

Just locking handlebar won't deter JB gang from stealing $10,000 Super Four bikes

By Zaihan Mohamed Yusof

September 16, 2008

LOVE the way your Honda Super Four motorcycle looks and performs? So do bike thieves in Johor Baru.

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2008-09-15/NP_IMAGES_ZYBIKE.jpg

--PHOTO ILLUSTRATION: ZAIHAN MOHAMED YUSOF

A Malaysian bike-theft gang has apparently been going to the parking lots of some popular shopping malls there to look for two-wheelers of Singaporeans.

In just the last two months, at least three Singaporeans had reported that their bikes had vanished after they left them at parking lots to go shopping.

In all three cases, the owners lost 400cc Super Fours, which cost about $10,000 each, in the vicinity of the Plaza Kota Raya shopping mall.

Cars and motorcyles from Singapore command higher resale values because they are usually newer.

A detective from the Malaysian police told The New Paper that Singapore bikers also made easier targets because they did not take enough precautions to protect their motorcycles.

'Some Singapore bikers even leave the engines on when they park their bikes along the roadside to go to the moneychanger,' he said.

'They assume nothing will happen because they are close by. How can they do this? Logic tells you that you should take the key out from the ignition.'

The detective, who estimated that 15 to 20 Super Fours are reported missing each month, urged Singapore riders to re-look their parking habits.

While not all of these cases involved Singaporeans, he said 'a substantial number' did.

'Sometimes we receive 20 reports of missing Super Fours. Other months, maybe only two or three go missing,' he said, adding that the recent Singapore cases all happened within days of each other.

All too often bikers rely only on their bikes' handlebar locks, but this alone will not prevent the bikes from being stolen, he said.

The CCTV footage of bike thefts at Kota Raya showed one thief behaving as though he was the owner of the bike.

Police believe the culprit could have used a master key or even a tool such as a screwdriver to tamper with the ignition keyhole to start the engine.

He said: 'The camera angle did not allow us to see what the thief had done to the ignition. But he managed to get the bike started.

'Not only that, he was very confident and had a helmet on. He didn't panic or look out of place.'

He noted that if owners had installed additional locks on their wheels, the thieves would have a harder time.

'If there are locks on the front and rear wheels, thieves may not bother because it will take time to break the locks.'

So why is the Super Four a favourite among thieves?

According to Honda distributor Boon Siew Singapore, it is because the Super Four is the 'perfect bike'.

Said general manager Sim Kheng Chin: 'It is popular because it's reliable and handles well due to good suspension and brakes. Unfortunately, these are the same qualities that thieves look for.'

If they can tamper with the ignition, the whole bike will be sold. But if the bikes come with immobilisers, which prevent engines from being started without special keys, the parts will be stripped and sold separately.

The Super Fours are usually stolen for their Showa suspension and Italian Brembo brakes, which are standard on some models.

Some of the stolen parts are exported to Thailand.

Said the officer: 'These days, we even catch delinquents who sell the bike parts or use them on their own bikes. Early-model Super Fours often get stolen, not the new ones.'

The Malaysian police now stop 'modified' bikes at road blocks.

Riders who can't produce documents for the modified parts will be taken to the police station for questioning.

Investigations revealed two types of bike thieves.

One type strikes at random, hitting those who carelessly leave the keys in their bikes at petrol stations or secure them poorly at carparks.

The other strikes at night, stealing the bikes from homes.

Said the officer: 'We have had cases of Singapore-registered Super Fours owned by Malaysians working in Singapore being stolen at their homes in Johor.

'This type of thief is more determined. He is willing to break into the compound of homes at night to steal the Super Fours.'

Johor residents sometimes alert the police when they find Super Four 'remains' in drains and dense vegetation, said the source.

At a police impound in Tampoi, more than 20 Singapore motorcycles sit idle, collecting dust - their disc brakes, suspensions and other valuable parts have all been carted away by thieves.

TOP 4 S'PORE BIKES STOLEN IN JOHOR

1 HONDA SUPER FOUR

Prized for its Showa Suspension and Brembo brakes (on some Super Four models).

2 YAMAHA RXZ

Its engine parts and rims can be retrofited to Yamaha motorcycles used in Malaysia.

3 HONDA WAVE

This commuter-type four-stroke bike has parts which are interchangeable with Waves made in Malaysia. Singapore-registered Waves are made in Thailand.

4 YAMAHA YBR

Thieves target the 125cc motorcycle's original rims and fit them onto their bikes.

Expensive to insure

NTUC Income, the biggest insurer of motorcycles in Singapore, said about 300 Singapore-registered motorcycles were stolen last year, costing it about $2 million in claims.

Said an NTUC Income spokesman: 'Honda Super Four category bikes contributed more than 50 per cent of the total theft claims. Most of the motorcycles were stolen in Malaysia.'

As a result, it is costly to insure a Super Four.

If you are single and in your late 20s, the premium for a Super Four is $1,754 a year for comprehensive coverage, while third party coverage is $538.

The Honda Super Four and the Yamaha RXZ, a two-stroke 135cc motorcycle, are often targeted by thieves, said the spokesman.

NTUC Income has advised riders to always lock their motorcycles and park in well-lit areas, and not to leave the ignition keys on the machines even for short periods.

S'pore bike thieves

TERRIBLE TEENS

Mohamed Sharifuddin and Titus Wibowo, both below 18, stole Showa suspensions from Super Four motorcycles in 2004 and sold them in Malaysia.

They were believed to have stolen from at least 20 Super Four motorbikes worth about $5,000.

ONLINE STOLEN ORDERS

Teo Aik Siong stole 48 Italian-made Brembo brake calipers from Super Fours and scooters in 2006. He received orders via the Internet from a foreigner known only as Akront.

SUPERBIKE GANG

Police bust a superbike theft ring in January 2007 which targeted sportsbikes in HDB multi-storey carparks.

The syndicate stole more than 28 motorcycles estimated to be worth $560,000. They would strip the superbikes and ship them overseas.

Bikes I have rode and riding...

KTM125, KTM400EGS, KTM620EXC, KTM640 Adventure, Sfera80, Skipper125 , Fly one 150 , Wave110, Wave125R, Wave125X, GL1500SE, GL1800SE, HAYABUSA K1, Blackbird , Sonic125, dash125 , CB400 Project Big1, CB400 Ver S, CB400 spec1 , BMW RT1100 , BMW F650 , cb750 , cb1000 , cb1300 , X4 , Y125Z , Jupiter MX135

• Replies 27

maybe NTUC should give a pair of bike disc locks as a gift to all bikers who are renewing their insurance... :confused:

anyone working in NTUC income? :cheeky: my 2 cents... :shades:

items tat can deter thiefs...:shades:

-disc locks

-pad locks

-chain locks

-alarm systems

-starter motor override switch

Electric-shock given to any unauthorise ppl when touching my baby. :sian:

u have tis installed to ur bike? :giddy:

no :cheeky:

but if got i do wanna put thou. not only deter theif... will deter aunty mary also.. hehehe :D

and this will not happen on ur bike too... :angel:

http://i294.photobucket.com/albums/mm106/xiaobai2098/12092008018.jpg

(picture courtesy of Xiao^bai)

Upz for u BCL for sharing this! I always fear for my ex-bike's safety when I go across the Causeway. Usually I go with a group of cousins around 5 bikes with our spouses. If stop to shop, there's always 2 of us guys who stayed behind to jaga while others go shop. If we need to makan, we make sure that our bikes can be seen at our dining area. Got once I topped up petrol alone. Very nervous when I was at the Esso. But lucky got a couple of Singaporeans riders there topping up. I quickly paid & left...

VODKA Rain

If your latest plan seems absent of me... There is nothing I can do...

Upz for u BCL for sharing this! I always fear for my ex-bike's safety when I go across the Causeway. Usually I go with a group of cousins around 5 bikes with our spouses. If stop to shop, there's always 2 of us guys who stayed behind to jaga while others go shop. If we need to makan, we make sure that our bikes can be seen at our dining area. Got once I topped up petrol alone. Very nervous when I was at the Esso. But lucky got a couple of Singaporeans riders there topping up. I quickly paid & left...

good tat u practice the "makan and lookout bike" thingy... this is something where many ppl dun practice... :giddy:

very nervous and fear? no fear. jus be more extra alert and u'll be safe. :thumb:

Super 4 is good that's why ppl steal..lolx...but in JB always keep ur bike in sight regardless wad bike u riding.:)

wonder if their own crime rate for missing bike is high? or they only target foreign bike e.g spore bike...:(

and this will not happen on ur bike too... :angel:

http://i294.photobucket.com/albums/mm106/xiaobai2098/12092008018.jpg

(picture courtesy of Xiao^bai)

Sia lah!!!! so surprised to see this pic here..... :lol:

I miss my voom voom.....

Gonna hit the road back real soon with my dream "Xiao^Bai"..... :cool: heh heh.... hopefully....:)

Sia lah!!!! so surprised to see this pic here..... :lol:

lolx...go apply copyright for this picture....:cheeky:

anw d detective gave comments abt sg riders left their bikes running while changin money../quote]

detective? from?

anw d detective gave comments abt sg riders left their bikes running while changin money../quote]

detective? from?

our neighbourin country of coz.. its in d article...

"A detective from the Malaysian police told The New Paper that Singapore bikers also made easier targets because they did not take enough precautions to protect their motorcycles.

'Some Singapore bikers even leave the engines on when they park their bikes along the roadside to go to the moneychanger,' he said.

'They assume nothing will happen because they are close by. How can they do this? Logic tells you that you should take the key out from the ignition.'

The detective, who estimated that 15 to 20 Super Fours are reported missing each month, urged Singapore riders to re-look their parking habits."

diz is the link below dude

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/st...76794,00.html?

anw d detective gave comments abt sg riders left their bikes running while changin money.. I nvr see dat act bfore dudes.. hv u? haha

I tink i nv see before lehz...who will be so stupid to leave the engine running for ppl to ride and run away ? lolx...:cheeky: Warm it up for the thieves ? Nah....

come on man leave engine running when changing money is as good as putting the bike there for give-away only never tie a ribbon on the it.

petrol cheap also not like tat.

ayio, reporters job is to exaggerate things mah...

u all duno meh? :cheeky:

I tell ya...these guys do thieving job are damn experts.

I recall 1 incident with my friend PB1, he brought 3 damn large locks and lock his front dics,rear & even his Chain. Ironically, we parked our bike just 100meter away from us and we even have a good eye view at the bikes parking lot. We even position our seat to the have a direct view of the bike. AND WE EVEN CHECK THE BIKE EVERY TIME!

Then when we finish eating and coming back to the bike...wat i saw really surprise me! His bike have been tampered already. All his 3 LARGE LOCK is GONE. and his ignition (apparently the thief doesnt have any master key) have been mingle with till he took 2 hr just for his key to properly inserted and on the engine. sheesh. they are like ghost man....serious shitz

Honda Rebel 125 (Rebeliah) 2004-2006

Super 4 Ver S (Sephia) 2006-

Mersing(Air papan), Desaru,Tanjung Balau,Tanjung Piai,Pahang/Rompin,Penyabong,bekok waterfalls,Sepang/KL, Penang/KL,Melacca/Gunung Ledang,Pahang Endau Rompin Jungle. more to come~

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d23/salleh_/S4MHondaman.jpg

I tell ya...these guys do thieving job are damn experts.

I recall 1 incident with my friend PB1, he brought 3 damn large locks and lock his front dics,rear & even his Chain. Ironically, we parked our bike just 100meter away from us and we even have a good eye view at the bikes parking lot. We even position our seat to the have a direct view of the bike. AND WE EVEN CHECK THE BIKE EVERY TIME!

Then when we finish eating and coming back to the bike...wat i saw really surprise me! His bike have been tampered already. All his 3 LARGE LOCK is GONE. and his ignition (apparently the thief doesnt have any master key) have been mingle with till he took 2 hr just for his key to properly inserted and on the engine. sheesh. they are like ghost man....serious shitz

Thieves with great skills,the last time i saw a person like that was the locksmith beside regina(but he's not a thieve kah). Looks like locking ur bike is just buying time,thefore i think its better tu get "barang" (jinn,ghouls or anything) just to protect your 2 wheeler. :thumb:

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

"A detective from the Malaysian police told The New Paper that Singapore bikers also made easier targets because they did not take enough precautions to protect their motorcycles.

The detective, who estimated that 15 to 20 Super Fours are reported missing each month, urged Singapore riders to re-look their parking habits."

diz is the link below dude

Sound more like he does not know his job or a typical idiot spouting words without basis about his job. Yah...who to believe Sinaporean rider are that stupid to leave engine running on while...blah..x3! He estimated 15 to 20 cases a month..all left engine running on meh? I can only tell that this guy is a real A_H and does not know his job but when interviewed about the subject...talk like a pro behind a desk all day and knows nothing about bike security...REALLY A NO BRAINER!

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

U never know...there few idiots who can spoiled everything.....

Honda Rebel 125 (Rebeliah) 2004-2006

Super 4 Ver S (Sephia) 2006-

Mersing(Air papan), Desaru,Tanjung Balau,Tanjung Piai,Pahang/Rompin,Penyabong,bekok waterfalls,Sepang/KL, Penang/KL,Melacca/Gunung Ledang,Pahang Endau Rompin Jungle. more to come~

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d23/salleh_/S4MHondaman.jpg

Ok guys here's some tips on how i secure my bike while in KL or other places except for Johor Bahru or Gelang Patah in which i will never leave my bike out of sight for any amount of time.

1.Park in a well lit area that have lots of people passing by.Bonus if there is any security guard booth in the carpark.Park nearst to the booth instead.

2.Engage gear (sometimes i use 5 or 6),disc lock the brake rotors(in my case i use one rear and one front) and dont forget to handle lock.

3.Canvas the bike,tie up the excess. I use rift knot so can buy abit of time incase the theif wants to undo.

4. If you have alarm then use it.

If there is a security guard,i just inform him to take care of my bike. Move off come back with afew minutes later(just to check) with hot coffee or tea and give him. The rest must depend on luck.

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg