Do you gear up when riding?  

206 members have voted

1. 1. Do you gear up when riding?

• Yes
    • No

good thread.. very informative..

im 3 months into class 2b.. been spending times looking at different bikes but not onto protective gears.. thats definately not the right things to do...

glad to come across this thread. reading thru the posting did make a mindset changed. thanks to all contributors.. : )

• Replies 586

The thing is it is easy decision if you do highway riding and long distance at a time. For example if you stay at Tampines and work at woodlands or Jurong, then I say big risk with so much riding everyday.

But if your workplace is like 5 kms away and no expressway and max speed you hit is 60 kms/hr and riding time is like 15 mins. Then its a very tough decision to justify Riding jacket, riding pants and FF helmet, gloves etc.

Its like you are using a bazooka to kill an ant. Imagine journey is 15 mins and you will take 10 mins to just wear all this stuff and then remove.

To me if I am riding at less than 60 km/hr and not expressways, then I just ride very carefully without making mistakes. I know people say that sometimes its not your fault but other party's fault.

But I believe that usually in accident case, both are fault. Even if one person is a bit more careful the accident can be avoided.

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

I don't think it's wrong not to put on anything than your street attire. But for me, whether, I ride the Vespa or the CBR I always put on gloves and riding shoes.

I wanted to put on a full face helmet but my ears hurt like hell everytime I put on or take off my RX7. I know the problem is not the helmet as all my mates swear by it being as comfy as a full face helmet goes.

Edited by runjoerun
Add last paragraph

At least a full face helmet, gloves, jeans n proper shoes. Had an accident recently on the expressway. thanks goodness i had all those on with a jacket.

The impact caused me to land on the chinbar and slided on the tarmac for a short while. Other than a slight fracture on wrist, everything else was fine. Just minor abrasions on e forearm.

Without e above gears it would have been far worst.

http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/8932/kipstoboldorhi8.jpg

----------------------------------------

Kawasaki Krr-150 KIPS 31 May 2004 – 27 Jun 2006

Honda Super Bol’dor 27 Jun 2006 – Present

----------------------------------------

Life is like the number 8, it goes on and on and has its turns.

Noticed recently on the road more riders are gearing up . It's a good sight

Sent from my cb400 smart riding message module using Tapatalk

speed and be home 5 mins early or 7 days late.

18228_10151173561993722_1949522943_n.jpg

After reading through this thread, and saw how someone i know recently got a roasted pork arm due to abrasions.. I decided to buy this komine jacket. :)

anyone know where to get a good pair of overpants? i am thinking of buying a overpants or knee guards... planning to go down to jurong west to have a look at knee guards.. anyone know where can i get overpants?

i wear FF with riding gloves. im riding a small cc bike 140cc. sometimes at traffic lights, those giant class 2 bikes stopped beside me and the rider sometimes look at me weirdly coz he's wearing bermudas, sleeveless shirt and slippers, non ff helmet. i just ignore them lor. then when traffic light turns green, they revvvvvv off loudly. LOL

i have never figured out how to ride in slippers or sandals.

i wear FF with riding gloves. im riding a small cc bike 140cc. sometimes at traffic lights, those giant class 2 bikes stopped beside me and the rider sometimes look at me weirdly coz he's wearing bermudas, sleeveless shirt and slippers, non ff helmet. i just ignore them lor. then when traffic light turns green, they revvvvvv off loudly. LOL

i have never figured out how to ride in slippers or sandals.

I feel you man. I ride a ybr 125 and i wear jacket, gloves, jeans, covered shoes and ff helmet. once at a traffic light, one R1 was beside me, he wore a t shirt, slippers, shorts and a open face helmet. but i dont really care about the eyes that are looking at me. Its my own life im trying to protect.

Why do you feel that he is feeling negative abt your outfit ? I'm sure everyone knew gearing up is for the fall ...not the ride... Just that some rider really don't feel the need ..but for those who are unsure ...gear it up.

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk 2

speed and be home 5 mins early or 7 days late.

i would at least wear covered shoes and long pants. better be safe than sorry :cool:

CLASS 2B - 2012 | CLASS 2A - 2014 | CLASS 2 - 2015

Past & Current Ride -

YAMAHA Y125Z - FBA 5025 S(2012-2016)

YAMAHA FZ16ST - FBK 218 H(2015-2017)

YAMAHA FZ1000S - FX 9676 T(2017-2017)

YAMAHA RXZ 135 - FQ 5622 L(2017-2017)

HONDA NC750X ABS - FBK X2XX E(2017-????)

Had an accident in my first 3 months riding. Some consoled me saying it's due to fatigue from night shift & overtime work. I replied the accident is due to my failure to gauge my alertness for riding.

No protection is better than Alertness & S.A.!!

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Tapatalk 2

Was in normal office attire so the ski left me tattered & torn shirt & pants, bloody legs and hands.

From there, I covered up with protection for next 3 months. Jacket, jeans, gloves, full face..on a small 2B bike.

Then after 3 months?? Too lazy to suit up for neighbourhood rides, then even 20min rides...eventually I sold off all my protection.

Scars ain't pretty. Aches ain't easy. Suiting up is no way cheesy.

Seen videos of vehicles beating red lights even after a good 5 sec of green man blinking... makes me check the sides of junction like in BBDC.

YEA...I'm suiting up again. I'm slowing down again at junctions.

Ride safe.. to ride again!

Yeah! Suit up suit up! Basic motorcycle safety and etiquette. That's how to differentiate a good rider and a poser. Good rider ride cheap bike will do safety checks, wear gloves and cover up skin. There's a certain kind of flair in the riding style too. controlled and balanced.

Posers will buy fast bikes wear slippers and cheap ass open face helmets and ride without a care. This kind I don't think will perform well on the track.

i only suit up if im going beyond my neighbourhood. when i go for makan a few streets away, i wear simple canvas shoes, berms, shirt, and my simple riding sch helmet. most impt, ride slowly. coz u be going theu zebras and humps.

Frankly, the riding apparels r more suitable for european countries where humidity is lower and less hot.

yup. i feel weird initially coz im like out of the norm on the roads. but. got used to it. its my skin

......Frankly, the riding apparels r more suitable for european countries where humidity is lower and less hot.

Well there's compromise, which u can find with mesh padded jacket. Better than tees alone.

I make sure I have my gloves and boots and jeans at the very least for rides especially involving expressways. I'm guilty of not using padded jackets all the time.

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

for those who own an armour pants

what to look out for when buying 1?

thx in advanze

a big majority of riders are not wearing sufficient protection at all =( and i believe that most local gatherings, nt much people are doing as well.

maybe someone here could form atgatt club (do we have one?) and do regular outings to get more exposure. most pp feel paiseh for wearing protection gears. maybe seeing more of us on the road, they might change. no idea how well will it works although

I totally agree with you. Infact i think at least 90% of riders in singapore are not wearing enough protective gear. When going for a group ride, why feel paiseh for wearing gear? You are bound to push your limits on a group ride, and more likely to crash. I myself crashed 3 times while on group rides, out of 4 times in my life, and was lucky that all 3 times i had protective gear. My personal bare minimum for a group ride now is riding specific gloves, riding boots, kevlar pants, armoured jacket and FF helmet, sometimes even a back protector inside. It might cost abit to get everything, but what is this compared to medical bills?

It is really up to you if you want to want to protect yourself; "it is not about IF you crash, but WHEN you crash", like they always say.

im looking for an armored riding pants. not one that i will walk around in but only when i ride. with knee guards, hip, tailbone protection. the pants will be worn over my jeans or any pants i am wearing. anyone got any recommendation? and where to buy them in sg?

for those who own an armour pants

what to look out for when buying 1?

thx in advanze

Since you asked this, i suppose you're getting pants for general/all-rounder/commute/spirited-ride purposes? So firstly, get one that is comfortable, not too hot in this weather, so that you WILL actually wear it as much as possible when riding. And where armour is concerned, make sure you try it before buying, that it sits nicely on the area which needs to be protected. Not just while youre standing, do try in on while on a riding stance, or even better if you could sit on your bike.

I think they do sell Draggin kevlar jeans, where you can put removable knee pads inside. They are basically jeans with an anti abrasive kevlar lining, which looks good, not bulky at all, and you can wear them as replacement of normal jeans. So have a look into them.