Hi bros,

i hav a prob with my bike. everytime i kick my gear, regardless from gear 2 till gear 5, it always hav a very loud sound from the plate inside. ive only just service my bike by chaing engine oil. i told my mech abt this prob,he say he will tighten n see how it goes. after he tighten it, e prob did not come back, but after awhile its back again.

recently i readup u all been discussing abt clutch plates and clutch houses? actually i m confused by it, can anyone enlighten me on it as i tink i got some problems with my clutch plates and clutch houses.

some ppl say have to change both clutch plates and clutch houses together, others say dont have to..so i m abit confused..please kindly enlighten me seniors :)

btw,another question: wats the air pressure that u all usually pump?

for my spec3 - front,36psi (250kpa), Rea,42psi (290kpa)....did pump correctly? or any better recommendations?

cheers to all!!! ride safe!!!

2003-2007 Phantom 200

2007-2008 Super4/Spec II

2008-2009 k2 Hayabusa

2009-2009 Wave 125

2009-2010 Super4/Spec II

2010-2012 Super4/Spec III

• Replies 7.7k

Actually the headers can be prevented at first when u buy by applying AMEROL onto the headers...

I use it almost everyday n guess wat i manage to maintain the headers black in colour to about 95% for almost 2 years plus oredi... :angel:

I don't mean to maintain the black paint on the original headers. But i've been told that you can sort of roughly gauge how the bike runs by telling from the part of the header where it joins to the block. I have noticed some S4s headers become more white than the usual from the heat and rust that forms in that region. Bikes with poorly tuned carbs can run very hot, hotter than it should. This I know for a fact, so I was wondering if anybody else heard of this before. And whether it was somewhat true/accurate.

I guess the needle theory isn't very accurate to use for judgement. But thank you anyway for the inputs.

I'm thinking of getting a FS plate Spec1 from a shop soon. Problem is, the rear shock looks like it came off a phantom/ rx-k. No air canister and totally chrome. Possible to source for used original Showa shocks? I'm on a tight budget, don't want to spend more than necessary on what I plan to use for transport. Still want it to look reasonably good. Heard that the GAZI shocks are crap. Maybe salvaged shocks would be the best idea.

Anyway, SGD 5,600 is what they're asking for it. I'll probably bargain a little off that. Newly renewed COE for 10 years. Not much accesories, I spotted some grounding done. Headers on that bike look brand new, in high-temp black with a very glossy finish.

Correct me if i'm wrong, but the headlight on the vtec models are black with chrome lining around the face, correct? similar to the meters. Black, with chrome accents. And it is on the earlier models that it is totally chrome.

Because this spec1 has a totally chrome headlight, am wondering if it is stock or perhaps it met into an accident before? Just looking at the things changed as a perspective as to get an idea of what the bike has been through. Handle bars were also changed.

I'm not fussy, but don't want to walk into a death trap and end up spending more money than I want to. Comments, feedback is much appreciated!

Hi bros,

i hav a prob with my bike. everytime i kick my gear, regardless from gear 2 till gear 5, it always hav a very loud sound from the plate inside.

i have the same problem too..

I don't mean to maintain the black paint on the original headers. But i've been told that you can sort of roughly gauge how the bike runs by telling from the part of the header where it joins to the block. I have noticed some S4s headers become more white than the usual from the heat and rust that forms in that region. Bikes with poorly tuned carbs can run very hot, hotter than it should. This I know for a fact, so I was wondering if anybody else heard of this before. And whether it was somewhat true/accurate.

I guess the needle theory isn't very accurate to use for judgement. But thank you anyway for the inputs.

I'm thinking of getting a FS plate Spec1 from a shop soon. Problem is, the rear shock looks like it came off a phantom/ rx-k. No air canister and totally chrome. Possible to source for used original Showa shocks? I'm on a tight budget, don't want to spend more than necessary on what I plan to use for transport. Still want it to look reasonably good. Heard that the GAZI shocks are crap. Maybe salvaged shocks would be the best idea.

Anyway, SGD 5,600 is what they're asking for it. I'll probably bargain a little off that. Newly renewed COE for 10 years. Not much accesories, I spotted some grounding done. Headers on that bike look brand new, in high-temp black with a very glossy finish.

Correct me if i'm wrong, but the headlight on the vtec models are black with chrome lining around the face, correct? similar to the meters. Black, with chrome accents. And it is on the earlier models that it is totally chrome.

Because this spec1 has a totally chrome headlight, am wondering if it is stock or perhaps it met into an accident before? Just looking at the things changed as a perspective as to get an idea of what the bike has been through. Handle bars were also changed.

I'm not fussy, but don't want to walk into a death trap and end up spending more money than I want to. Comments, feedback is much appreciated!

I think you better get those with showa shocks. I rebuilt my shocks so last year and its still in working condition. Other brands shocks I nvr use before so cannot comments.

Headers on that bike look brand new, in high-temp black with a very glossy finish.

They most properly sprayed the header to hide the condition. Normally its mat black high temp paint. Look closely and I can sure you can see the old rust marks

Yes, spec 1 and 2 its black housing with chrome face for headlights and the reflective plates are diff from spec 3.

YOu can try to find other spec 1 or 2. Second hand bikes always like that depends on luck. Good luck

i dun find 5.6k is reasonable for that bike, u gonna spend money to find showa shock which is not that cheap. u can find good condition s4 on forums with renewal coe for 4.5k-5k

Hi bros,

i hav a prob with my bike. everytime i kick my gear, regardless from gear 2 till gear 5, it always hav a very loud sound from the plate inside. ive only just service my bike by chaing engine oil. i told my mech abt this prob,he say he will tighten n see how it goes. after he tighten it, e prob did not come back, but after awhile its back again.

recently i readup u all been discussing abt clutch plates and clutch houses? actually i m confused by it, can anyone enlighten me on it as i tink i got some problems with my clutch plates and clutch houses.

some ppl say have to change both clutch plates and clutch houses together, others say dont have to..so i m abit confused..please kindly enlighten me seniors :)

for my spec3 - front,36psi (250kpa), Rea,42psi (290kpa)....did pump correctly? or any better recommendations?

recommend u 230 front and 270 back with pillion

i used to pump that pressure for my bike but is too over and it bounce too much,

after long period u might find crack on ur tyre

hmm it depend u need to change housing or not

if ur clutch plate worn off then change clutch plate will do

housing is not cheap also

the gear change sound i not very sure becus i not heard of it but when i change gear there is tick sound very loud which is normal i hear alot s4 also have this sound when change gear one

Hi bros,

i have the same problem too..

recommend u 230 front and 270 back with pillion

i used to pump that pressure for my bike but is too over and it bounce too much,

after long period u might find crack on ur tyre

hmm it depend u need to change housing or not

if ur clutch plate worn off then change clutch plate will do

housing is not cheap also

the gear change sound i not very sure becus i not heard of it but when i change gear there is tick sound very loud which is normal i hear alot s4 also have this sound when change gear one

I agree with what MrIce said. I sometimes also have this sound. Try to slow down first before dropping to lower gears (if you clutched in on 6th gear and lower the gears at a constant speed will have loud "tuck" sound and vice versa if I not fast enough when I kick to higher gears) You got check if your bitting point for clutch lever? Not adjusted properly anot? Maybe too near and after you fully pulled the lever but the clutch haven fully disengaged?

I pump F-225 and R-250

Hi bros,

yeah i have this problem too. something have something don have. been asking ard and the onli thing i got was i neber change the gear properly. not "smooth" enough though. so i reckon its pretty common for that.

anyway how do i noe wen its time to change clutch plate and housing. pls advise.

Misterdeelin, 5600 is a tad too ex..

I got a fs plate s4 wit

rebewed coe

spec 3 tail

fatbar

hugger and bellypan

spec3 headlite

led signal lights

new paintwerk

1mth warranty..

All for 5500 including insurance bro..

Good deal to me and they took in my xr400

fq plater for 5k..

Misterdeelin, 5600 is a tad too ex..

I got a fs plate s4 wit

rebewed coe

spec 3 tail

fatbar

hugger and bellypan

spec3 headlite

led signal lights

new paintwerk

1mth warranty..

All for 5500 including insurance bro..

Good deal to me and they took in my xr400

fq plater for 5k..

That definitely sounds like a good deal. The thing is for me, I don't have a lump sum to pay for a bike in full. So forum sales are kind of out of the question. I am ready to put down $1500 for installment and intend to pay the rest over 2 - 3 years.

The shop allows me to have Third Party insurance whilst having it under installments with them. I don't know if most other shops would. Anyone else has seen any of these bikes that fit my criteria? Or would recommend any other bike shop in particular? I stay in Yishun, I don't know if its a big deal or not to buy from a shop that is close to home. I guess its not a big deal.

I have not bought a bike from a shop before, both previous bikes were from forum owners. So I'd really appreciate some tips on dealing with these shops and make sure i don't get ripped off like a carrot on a chopping board.

Edited by misterdeelin

Hi there could anyone advise me as i am thinking of letting go my super4 spec3 for coi but i have not paid monthly installment since jan as i went prison and just released few days back and not working so i cant maintain my bike anymore.monthly coi is $263.5 per month. And am looking for about $1000 cash.And am wondering how to transfer name/ownership if i find a buyer.Could someone help me with the details or what i should do? Any help or advise will be much appreciated.

Bike payment details:

Overdue amount including june would be from jan: $1317.5

Monthly installment : $263.50

Months Left (excluding from jan -june) : $263.5x41=$10803.5

Road tax has expired few days back.

So i would really appreciate if someone could give me some advice on what i should do as i am not able to pay the amount as i am not working,thanks alot

Hi there could anyone advise me as i am thinking of letting go my super4 spec3 for coi but i have not paid monthly installment since jan as i went prison and just released few days back and not working so i cant maintain my bike anymore.monthly coi is $263.5 per month. And am looking for about $1000 cash.And am wondering how to transfer name/ownership if i find a buyer.Could someone help me with the details or what i should do? Any help or advise will be much appreciated.

Bike payment details:

So i would really appreciate if someone could give me some advice on what i should do as i am not able to pay the amount as i am not working,thanks alot

wa bro since jan didn't pay installment by right the bike shop should have tow back ur bike? if they did so they will be a hefty sum of fee to pay(tow fee,wadever the shop said) which will add up to alot including the interest occurred during this period,my friend 3 months didn't pay the stupid shop towed bike back and ask for 3k+ ,his monthly ard the same as urs too bro,think u got to check with the bike shop

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/ldslds_siggy-1.gif

BY GODSENDWORX=)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305185-ldslds-GARAGE-SALES!!

Bike payment details:

Waliao wey... Not to scare you but confirm it's gonna be a BOMB shop will charge. :faint:

http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu205/ainyan090407/LVInfernalWar.jpg

http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu205/ainyan090407/3583_photo.jpg

Btw just to confirm, Vtec III full tank 15L, and 3L reserve right? Meaning total our tank got 18L? Please clarify, I somehow forget liao. I remember someone got post before but I could'nt search for it. :angel:

Yo,any1 know how much is it to change a spec3 battery?Think mine dead liao.

Model YTZ10S at UM. Selling at $150... Great price for an original japanese Yuasa batt.

for the model,do it make a difference?cause i was quote $75 for a batt.dunno wat brand.

http://img600.imageshack.us/img600/2353/85571635.png
Btw just to confirm, Vtec III full tank 15L, and 3L reserve right? Meaning total our tank got 18L? Please clarify, I somehow forget liao. I remember someone got post before but I could'nt search for it. :angel:

yup its 18L bro, 15/3 , mine is 14/4 lol

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/ldslds_siggy-1.gif

BY GODSENDWORX=)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305185-ldslds-GARAGE-SALES!!

for the model,do it make a difference?cause i was quote $75 for a batt.dunno wat brand.

Its up to you. If you want cheap, thats gonna last you within a year and a half depending how often you ride. Been there, done that bro. If you want premium quality comes with premium price. But to me $150 is reasonable.

yup its 18L bro, 15/3 , mine is 14/4 lol

Yours revo diffrent lah wa liao .. Lol!!!

Its up to you. If you want cheap, thats gonna last you within a year and a half depending how often you ride. Been there, done that bro. If you want premium quality comes with premium price. But to me $150 is reasonable.

If can get YTZ 12S..its better. CCA (current load) rating is power pack at 200+ amperes. The $75 one is only 90 amperes..the 10S is 190 amperes. Pay one time but last for 4-5 yrs!..still better than $75 x 4 yrs!:sian:...somemore..more steady current delivery..but don't kenna buy old stock one..factory activated ones don't hold charge for long without charging.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

hey bros

just want to ask what are few things I should change and service just after buying a second hand super 4.

and what tyre pressure to normally pump bros, 230 front and 270 back correct?

hey bro.. im looking for any spray brand which has the same colour as the stock yellow an super 4 revo.. im not sure about the other spec but i noe revo yellow has the same yellow as spec 3.. anyone noe where to get the spray can?? is it rjays brand?? but got alot of different yellow.. someone enlighten me.. :)

Thanxs..

Ride safe

If can get YTZ 12S..its better. CCA (current load) rating is power pack at 200+ amperes. The $75 one is only 90 amperes..the 10S is 190 amperes. Pay one time but last for 4-5 yrs!..still better than $75 x 4 yrs!:sian:...somemore..more steady current delivery..but don't kenna buy old stock one..factory activated ones don't hold charge for long without charging.

so how much is the YTZ 12S cost?wat do u mena by dont buy old stock one?u mena dont buy the YTZ 10s?

http://img600.imageshack.us/img600/2353/85571635.png