[Archive] DRZ SM 2005-2010

Guest rookie517

Originally posted by rookie517@Jul 6 2005, 05:14 PM

err, lets see

it's about 11am+

think its not be me....that timing i shldnt be anywhere near six ave....

Hmm....who else riding the black DRZ with box....:confused:

2004-2005 - Yamaha TW200;

2005-2007 - Suzuki DRZ400SM;

2007-20?? - Honda Airwave;

http://img185.echo.cx/img185/9140/05drzsmblack7ct.gif

• Replies 7.7k

Originally posted by Ronin@Jul 7 2005, 10:34 AM

Hi guys, i have just booked a '05SM and will be collecting my bike in a few days time :smile:

After going through the thread, seems like that's 2 things that need to be done once the bike is out

1) regreasing the bike

2) removing the safety kickstand switch & clutch switch (where do can this?)

any others advice that i need to take note :confused:

appreciate you advice or comments as this is my first 'scrambler' bike as i have been riding scooter all this while

Hope to meet all your guys up soon :smile:

same as me!

welcome to the dark side!

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a158/ronnyz/img4632dd74849fe.jpg

Originally posted by bugo@Jul 7 2005, 01:35 AM

can share share where you get your acerbis tailight with people what... aiyo.. selfish leh ronnie... dun wanna accompany me go refuel also... end up i pump in sg again.. damn sian... is that how you treat a newbie... muahahahahha! :D

ermm.. my rear lite is not frm acerbis leh~ :D

Hi guys, i have just booked a '05SM and will be collecting my bike in a few days time :smile:

After going through the thread, seems like that's 2 things that need to be done once the bike is out

1) regreasing the bike

appreciate you advice or comments as this is my first 'scrambler' bike as i have been riding scooter all this while

what is the concern about the safety kickstand and clutch switch ? :cool:

anyone "tong" the original exhaust for the 400SM ??

wondering if it can be done anot :?

Originally posted by kex@Jul 7 2005, 12:31 PM

what is the concern about the safety kickstand and clutch switch ? :cool:

anyone "tong" the original exhaust for the 400SM ??

wondering if it can be done anot :?

One option for you only Kex.

A full system Yoshimura Exhaust. http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/deal.gif http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/ylsuper.gif http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/ricky.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by GSGabes@Jul 7 2005, 12:51 PM

One option for you only Kex.

A full system Yoshimura Exhaust. http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/deal.gif http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/ylsuper.gif http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/ricky.gif

Originally posted by ronnieeee@Jul 7 2005, 12:22 PM

ermm.. my rear lite is not frm acerbis leh~ :D

ok your mudflap was right... whatever lar... lol

kex> i don't know whether anyone "tong" before the exhaust.. and seriously, if wanna "tong", might as well get an aftermarket.. a few other DRZ riders and me myself have taken out the exhaust before and not worth "tonging" lar... really.. it's too heavy... might as well get a street legal for daily use and a non-street legal for track... unless, no money then go try lor... FYI, "tonging" this pipe is tricky, firstly, the end cap is welded on if you noticed... so must cut then reweld, i don't know whether got expert can do it until no one can notice the difference.

the kickstand and clutch switch.. clutch switch i think it's bound to cause engine to sieze if i didn't remember wrongly, for kickstand that one.. if you take a jump and the kick stand drop a little, your engine will be killed before u land.. so it's quite dangerous if you don't clutch in in time and it will cause you to skid due to your wheels are locked as gears is engaged. so instead of safety, it will cause you to taste asphalt instead in another manner. it might happen if you go over humps at high speeds also... not sure though but i can tell you it just take very little movement from the kickstand to activate the engine kill, probably just 1 cm of movement or lesser. so imagine engine died while that happens and you never clutch in...

lastly, new batch of DRZ SM is here, expect lots and lots of black... i still prefer yellow though, although it makes the bike looks a little like a toy. it's a fun bike anyway...

Guest rookie517
Originally posted by jonydebt@Jul 7 2005, 11:06 AM

think its not be me....that timing i shldnt be anywhere near six ave....

Hmm....who else riding the black DRZ with box....:confused:

then maybe not u liao

hmm, y black drz sm riders like to put box ah?

hehee

Originally posted by kex@Jul 7 2005, 05:24 PM

hi bugo,

thanks for taking the time to explain it so clearly.

what is a clutch switch ??where issit located ?

paisay paisay..new to motard..

I think he is talking about the side stand switch. :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by kex@Jul 7 2005, 05:24 PM

hi bugo,

thanks for taking the time to explain it so clearly.

what is a clutch switch ??where issit located ?

paisay paisay..new to motard..

you see this plastic light greyish colour thing connecting to your clutch lever that is like an insulated wires for the rest of your wirings.. that one is the clutch switch... this is the thing that cause you to depress your clutch lever when you are starting your engine.

1) regreasing the bike

You are not alone, Ronny and Ryan both were scooterians before their SM as well! :thumb:

Originally posted by GSGabes@Jul 7 2005, 05:28 PM

I think he is talking about the side stand switch. :smile:

Ryan was talking abt both the side stand safety switch as well as the clutch safety switch. Removing both will enable the rider to not require clutching in and side stand can be down to start their bikes. Also will not cause any "accidental" cutting off of the engine as Ryan mentioned. :D

ohohh yea... i was a scooterian back in a place where they roam like nobody's business... ever see scooter kup corner like any other sports bike? they were able to do that... taiwan has it all! welcome to taiwan! :lol: i try to get a picture of it to show it to you guys what is the safety feature...

anyway i realised one of my cable ties for my clutch side wirings have been cutted and it dropped out yesterday... hmm... becareful guys, i might be skeptical but i think people are starting to have intention to steal the new SM in woodlands area now...

Originally posted by rookie517@Jul 8 2005, 09:50 AM

better install alarm system

scram part are easily stun...

play safe than sorry man..

wic parts r easily target?

Originally posted by bugo+Jul 8 2005, 09:01 AM-->
QUOTE (bugo @ Jul 8 2005, 09:01 AM)
becareful guys, i might be skeptical but i think people are starting to have intention to steal the new SM in woodlands area now...[/b]

You can park it @ my house! Its safer! At the same time add me as a subrider... :D WAHAHAHA!

Originally posted by R.C.@Jul 8 2005, 01:58 PM

You can park it @ my house! Its safer! At the same time add me as a subrider... :D WAHAHAHA!

Well there's plenty actually. But I'm not gonna list them out on a public forum...

hmmm..... it'll be a deal if you agree to transfer your FCR onto my bike plus your bottom gasket, your hotcams, your header, your F4, your SS brakelines, hmm.. still got what ar... the rest not really compatible yet.. i think for the time being that's all lar... deal? then you can be my sub rider... almost forgot.. maybe your triple clamp as well and the handle bar...

anyone got instruction on how to remove or jump the clutch and side stand sensor?

thinking of DIY

http://photos-d.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-snc1/v313/251/70/563403338/n563403338_974923_6695.jpg

My present rides:

Honda CBR600RR8 (Black)

Yamaha FZ1N (Blue)

--------------------------------------------------

Originally posted by Edwin@Jul 8 2005, 07:11 PM

anyone got instruction on how to remove or jump the clutch and side stand sensor?

thinking of DIY

the clutch thing is quite easy, saw ah seng did it w/o much hassle

gotta remove the headlight as the wire lead to the bundle of wires above the headlamp

clutch..easy...just trace the clutch switch wire from ur clutch perch to ur wire harness behind ur headlight, pluck it and loop back the circuit...as i vividly recalled la..easy...DO a search at TT also can..5min job onli..side stand me dunno..drz e dun have dat 1

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/nebulaz/KTM-Pink-1.jpg

HUA Hua hua....WADEVER..AR you STOOPID OR WAD? HUA hua hua version 2.....

side stand one also easy.. everything easy lar... rookie517 the DRZ guru can guide you! anyway erm... i think you need something to seal off the point on your clutch lever when you take out the wire...

Originally posted by StarWarsII™@Jul 9 2005, 11:20 AM

OK guys!

Time for the MCCT!

Who's in? We share the shipping.

count me in....:smile: