[Archive] DRZ SM 2005-2010

Guest rookie517

Originally posted by Papadum@Jul 16 2005, 10:55 AM

Hi Guys, what grips are you guys using? The stock grip gave me thunderous blisters after 2hrs of continuous riding last night.

The balancers seems to unscrew easily. Do you guys have yours removed? If so, wat do you do about the gaping hole at the end?

Just wondering if there are gel or much more comfy aftermarket seats made for our bikes? It's a real pain in the ass and it sucks the fun outta riding for me. :sian:

Which shop would you guys recommend if i wanna get accessories and stickers?

Papadum

I rode my bike on-off from 10.30am till 8pm on the long distance super moto yesterday, no problems with my hands or the seat. Bike felt very comfy

The weights in the bars are there to reduce the vibration. You remove those weights then the bars will vibrate. Maybe ok for 30 minutes here and there, But for 1 hour continuous riding, then you hands will buzz and tingle.

Current FAZER600-Naked

• Replies 7.7k

Originally posted by chris 525@Jul 18 2005, 10:29 PM

You put disc lock on, or padlock on sproket, remember the following

ALWAYS park bike with front facing the wall. That way you cannot just ride off, you need to back out and if you forget about the lock when backing out no damage will be done. The bike will stop moving when the lock hit the swingarm.

Get your sproket check, you may have warped it. A new sproket costs about $70

Hi chris 525, thanks for the great advice. I was out the whole of today running errands and stuff and i did not commit the same mistake again. Once bitten twice shy i guess but now i keep forgetting to open the fuel tap and ride off and when my bike runs outta gas, my rear wheel locks up and i almost fell off. :giddy:

Have bike will wheelie!

http://fapomatic.com/1030/papadum_bw.jpg

Originally posted by chris 525@Jul 18 2005, 10:32 PM

I rode my bike on-off from 10.30am till 8pm on the long distance super moto yesterday, no problems with my hands or the seat. Bike felt very comfy

The weights in the bars are there to reduce the vibration. You remove those weights then the bars will vibrate. Maybe ok for 30 minutes here and there, But for 1 hour continuous riding, then you hands will buzz and tingle.

Jesus! Maybe i just have girly hands and a really soft and easily brusied butt or you have hands and butts made of steel. :sweat:

Are there better build balancers available for our bikes as the stock ones comes off easily even after screwing it in real tight. Preferably those like sports bikes using allen key and not the stock rubber expander to hold it in place. o_O

Have bike will wheelie!

Originally posted by Papadum@Jul 18 2005, 10:40 PM

Hi chris 525, thanks for the great advice. I was out the whole of today running errands and stuff and i did not commit the same mistake again. Once bitten twice shy i guess but now i keep forgetting to open the fuel tap and ride off and when my bike runs outta gas, my rear wheel locks up and i almost fell off. :giddy:

If you use the bike daily, then just leave the fuel-on all the time.

You only need to turn it off if you park the bike for an extended time like 2-3 days like when you go on a holiday.

As for hand grips and counterweights I not much use there, so cannot advise, except get a nice pair of gloves to absorb all the vibes.

Current FAZER600-Naked

Originally posted by GSGabes@Jul 18 2005, 04:24 PM

Hi SpeedingBotak,

For Mods, pls contact & PM Kex. :thumb:

eh...

i also newbie lei..

learn alot from fellow bikers here like RC,bugo and many others :thumb:

ps: are u daniel ?

hehhe..

Originally posted by slackjiez@Jul 19 2005, 01:00 AM

hi all drz400sm owner.. wanna ask...

- did u pay full cash for ur bike?

- which shop u buy from?

- how much is it?

- wat goodies u have?

- will u scare ppl disturb ur bike*?

:help::bouncefire:

1. no unless you got say about 14k spare cash

2. GHC

3. 13k OTR with 1st party insurance

4. i only asked for a canvas, they offered a box though.

5. all the time....

Originally posted by kex@Jul 19 2005, 01:33 PM

eh...

i also newbie lei..

learn alot from fellow bikers here like RC,bugo and many others :thumb:

ps: are u daniel ?

hehhe..

i'm not lao jiao lar.. you're flattering me... i8'm just a boh liao young punk with too much time on the internet whereas i should spend that kind of time on track but then.. no money.. just plan plan see see lor.... lao jiao are those that R.C. mentioned... they are/were suzuki riders before i was even legal to get a licence so they're very experienced with the bike.

- which shop u buy from?

- how much is it?

- wat goodies u have?

No way Jose! Downed 3 grand and took a 3yr loan.

Looi. :thumb:

12.8K @ 4.5% Mitsui TPFT

Didn't ask for any but they gave me a bike canvas.

Hell yeah! Eventhough scrams are built to take all kinds of abuse, they make such easy targets for vandals and pilferers. So strong yet so vulnerable at the same time. :giddy:

Have bike will wheelie!

- which shop u buy from?

- how much is it?

- wat goodies u have?

- Yes

- MMW

- $8k (2nd owner)

- Pretty stock E model in yellow

- ?

i got mine from Loois motor as well

12.8k OTR with ERP unit on a nice bracket.

2k downpayment and 4.5% interest 4yrs

when i go and collect my bike,there is a free helmet and a standard warranty servicing package for the 1st 800,2000 and 3000km not inclusive of materials bundled there,no need to ask for it.

So far no vandals on my bike when i go out mostly at night.

Loois motor gets my vote if u ask me which shop is good.

Originally posted by kex@Jul 19 2005, 03:18 PM

i got mine from Loois motor as well

12.8k OTR with ERP unit on a nice bracket.

2k downpayment and 4.5% interest 4yrs

when i go and collect my bike,there is a free helmet and a standard warranty servicing package for the 1st 800,2000 and 3000km not inclusive of materials bundled there,no need to ask for it.

So far no vandals on my bike when i go out mostly at night.

Loois motor gets my vote if u ask me which shop is good.

wah.. loois so good.. give 3 free servining.. i only got 2 from GHC...

Originally posted by R.C.@Jul 19 2005, 03:20 PM

Yes of course! Mr Organiser, Ryan will be providing details. Wonder how many DRZs we can get.

hardrider is outta town, amazinboinz is outta town...

seen quite a number of DRZs zooming arnd

shudn't be a prob?

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a158/ronnyz/img4632dd74849fe.jpg

Originally posted by R.C.@Jul 19 2005, 03:20 PM

Yes of course! Mr Organiser, Ryan will be providing details. Wonder how many DRZs we can get.

hardrider is outta town, amazinboinz is outta town...

1 black SM here :smile:

2004-2005 - Yamaha TW200;

2005-2007 - Suzuki DRZ400SM;

2007-20?? - Honda Airwave;

http://img185.echo.cx/img185/9140/05drzsmblack7ct.gif

Originally posted by R.C.@Jul 19 2005, 04:01 PM

How was your track session last weekend? Wanna go on Thurs morning?

i went on last wed, beri fun.. :D

i'm on duty tis coming thurs, gotta miss tis one now..

Originally posted by bugo@Jul 19 2005, 03:40 PM

wah.. loois so good.. give 3 free servining.. i only got 2 from GHC...

In the manual it very clearly says,

1/ Change oil + filter at 1000km (1 month) + check all the nuts+ bolts tension on engine

2/ Change oil at 6000 km (5 months)

3/ Change oil + filters at 12000 km (12 months)

4/ Change oil at 18000km (or 18 months)

5/ etc, etc

Then need to check brake pad wear, etc etc etc.

It's all there black and white in the manual

So all this free service at 800, 1600, etc etc etc is Bull. Cos the manual written by Mr Suzuki says otherwise.

Even the agent who guarentee the f'king bike cannot tension the drive chain properly, and put 10W-50 instead of what is recommended by the manufacturer 10W-40l.

Sorry - but from time to time I think us bikers kena ripped off.

Current FAZER600-Naked

Chris, were u the one wif the KTM (i think its EVO) wif the number 15 @ Shell, JB on 17?

i was wif 2 runners..