Originally posted by Roadster@Apr 19 2005, 09:46 AM

I need some technical advice.

I can't start my RS250. When i switch the key in the ignition, the LCD display is dead. The lights, horn all don't work. Tried kick starting and push starting but to no avail.

Could it be (i) the battery is dead, (ii) the ignition is dead, or (iii) both or (iv) some other cause?

I last rode it (very hard) a week ago and and gave it a good wash on Sunday.

Feel like taking the battery down to Ideal to see if the battery's flat.

Any advice?

if u can't push start ... then its more than a flat battery.

Signature too big, please resize

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-6284_toobig.jpg

1995-1996 Yamaha RD 125

1996-1997 Suzuki GSXR(K) model

1997-1998 Honda Super4 Ver S

1998-1999 Honda Civic 1.5(M) EK

1999-2001 Hyundai H100 2.5(M) Van

2001-2002 Honda Civic SI 1.6(M) EF

2002-2003 Toyota Corona 1.6(M) AT190

2003-2006 Hyundai Accent 1.5(M) LC2

2002-2006 Honda Super4 Spec 2

2006-2006 Suzuki TL1000R

2006-???? Hyundai Sonata 2.0(A) NF

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by eyz@Apr 19 2005, 12:20 AM

what kind are ya looking for??

newer or old ones??

got a fren wish to let go his less than 2 year RS250 for 11k..

I'm looking at the older ones, there's a few on sale at the moment and i'll be making appointments to view the bikes next week.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

Originally posted by Roadster@Apr 19 2005, 09:46 AM

I need some technical advice.

I can't start my RS250. When i switch the key in the ignition, the LCD display is dead. The lights, horn all don't work. Tried kick starting and push starting but to no avail.

Could it be (i) the battery is dead, (ii) the ignition is dead, or (iii) both or (iv) some other cause?

I last rode it (very hard) a week ago and and gave it a good wash on Sunday.

Feel like taking the battery down to Ideal to see if the battery's flat.

Any advice?

hmm.. mayb like what i encountered.. the ignition contact is faulty??

which is why no power at all.. if there's no batt.. you should still be able to push

start... check on this 2 first..

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg
Originally posted by myxilplix@Apr 19 2005, 10:52 AM

I'm looking at the older ones, there's a few on sale at the moment and i'll be making appointments to view the bikes next week.

dude.. take the newer 1 lah...

they are much more mean!! haha..

i was contemplating getting a 250 too.. but then again...

it's going to extinct soon... parts will be more difficult to find and more expensive...

Originally posted by eyz@Apr 19 2005, 01:24 PM

hmm.. mayb like what i encountered.. the ignition contact is faulty??

which is why no power at all.. if there's no batt.. you should still be able to push

start... check on this 2 first..

Thanks eyz for that.

Will try to see if the ignition contact requires cleaning up.

Originally posted by eyz@Apr 19 2005, 12:18 AM

hey seriously...

i'm still confused..

i looked at the map.. and can't figure how is CISCO on ya right side..

check this map out

Map

no matter which side of PIE (coming from Changi Airport or CTE)

how did the CISCO land on ya right hand side??

unless ya on the opposite side of the road

so there's traffic behind the yellow box?? that means there are also vehicles

in front of the yellow box?? if that's the case.. settle privately.. cos ya at fault..

:lol: sorry, i'm the confused, maybe brain gana hit badly ...i meant u r rite, Cisco is on my left when i exit the PIE...

in front of the yellow box got no cars insight, behind the yellow box got cars blocked by the cisco van due to the accident in the yellow box...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=13389&dateline=1217487583&type=profile

Dec 04 - Apr 07 : APRILIA EXTREMA RS125 FN 3690 T

Sept 05 - 07 : VESPA ET8 125 FQ 1422Z

Oct 05 - CURRENT : CAGIVA MITO EVO II 125 FS----R

Apr 07 - Stolen in JB on Sept 09 : GILERA RUNNER VXR 200 FX 8573 M

Originally posted by Roadster@Apr 19 2005, 02:39 PM

Thanks eyz for that.

Will try to see if the ignition contact requires cleaning up.

Update: I am now able to kick start my temperamental bike. (Hugh sigh of relief!)

So can I conclude it is the battery and not the ignition?

Originally posted by denis@Apr 19 2005, 04:45 PM

:lol: sorry, i'm the confused, maybe brain gana hit badly ...i meant u r rite, Cisco is on my left when i exit the PIE...

in front of the yellow box got no cars insight, behind the yellow box got cars blocked by the cisco van due to the accident in the yellow box...

if that's the case...

the CISCO is definitely in the wrong...

ya on the main road, ya haf the right of way...

ask him how much is he willing to pay??

ask for all damages and get a compensation from him if he wants to settle privately..

no need to be nice to him.. be nice to yaself 1st...

if he can't afford to compensate everything.. just lodge with IDAC...

with that, ya can claim all ya damages.. thou the CISCO officer's coming june bonus will be held.. but heck care it lah..

Hi, any of your friend interested in getting a new rs125 @ S$7,600

All original without accident. Ride by a female rider.

Plate: FW 4791 G

Color: RED & BLACK

Mileage: 29 000

Last Service of bike: Either Dec 04 / Jan 05

Contact Number: 9040 5336 Normala

Welcome to the world of acidsburn

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1352/5363911/10807466/155946595.jpg

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Apr 19 2005, 12:17 AM

When being hit by a company or Gahment vehicle, call the organization straight away. It's not being cruel to the driver or wat... but you have to cover yourself first and foremost.

If he plays punk and twists the story around, you're on the losing end immediately.

Cover ass is correct... but other ppl also trying to earn a living? If can settle privately... settle it that way lor. Anything that need to change... just let him know first. If he is not willing to pay... then report him lor. Remember to ask IDEAL to take lots of pics and access the damage in black and white.

Originally posted by lightbolt75@Apr 20 2005, 02:12 AM

Cover ass is correct... but other ppl also trying to earn a living? If can settle privately... settle it that way lor. Anything that need to change... just let him know first. If he is not willing to pay... then report him lor. Remember to ask IDEAL to take lots of pics and access the damage in black and white.

There is a problem.

U both agree to settle privately. Later when you try to find him again, he play punk... made police report saying that the accident is your fault.. etc etc.

Ultimately, it doesn't matter abt making a living or what. We all have to bear our responsibilities. You cannot trust a stranger. A few of my friends have learnt the hard way... trusting "pitiful" or "friendly" strangers who offer to settle privately, then later stab them in the back.

So for me... no more "friendly" way. Straightaway talk about insurance claim. No private settlement. Make police report immediately after leaving the scene.

Going thru the proper channel is always the most risk free way. Hit Gahmen registere vehicle, you have to make police report. That is actually STATED in the LAW.

THIS MESSAGE IS FOR JUDE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-

"Small World hor...... Right time Right Place..... I'm surprised that you regconise me in my Office Wear....... Sorry that I couldn't chat with you much.... But lots of chance for us to catch up from May onwards!"

SafetyCar aka Guan

Bro, never hear of PM before ah? Heh heh heh ;p Wait Lacrimosae complain again leh...

Wah, somebody look so smart in shirt and tie! But your giant frame and the way you walk hor, from 1km away also can recognise! haha ;p And your wife very pretty! hahahaha Congrats on your new job! Soon you better jio me go lunch!

====================================================

OKie.... Apologise to Lacrimosae... I'm sorry.. I can't sem to get my PM to work.. Will find out the reason ASAP. Sorry.. Don't mean to....

And Jude.. thanks for your compliment. Wait for me... I see you there soon... Cheers!!!!

"If you Drink, Don't Drive.......

Drink finish, then Drive ....!!!" - SafetyCar

VaraStormer> Does that FW plate RS125 come with the legal arrow pipe fitted or is it the milo kong type?

It's originally registered March 2003 right?

My ride for 2012 - Yamaha WR250X 2008

Previous rides:

ROAD/FUN: Honda Sonic, VTR250, Kawa Z1000 & Kawa KSR110, Suzuki Savage

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Pics @ http://www.bikepics.com/members/axxis/

Denis,

At least you can still move about? Lucky boy...

I'm confined at home most of the time and I have to use crutches to move about. I've regained better use of my left leg, but my right leg still refuses to recover any more than it was from the accident....

Projected duration of immobility is indefinite. :sian:

Cant ride, cant cycle, cant run, cant swim, most probably cant join the OSIM triathlon.

Dammit.

I dont hate accidents. I just hate the down time.

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

lac> what happened exactly? sounds really bad. Hope you are able to recover soon.

My ride for 2012 - Yamaha WR250X 2008

Previous rides:

ROAD/FUN: Honda Sonic, VTR250, Kawa Z1000 & Kawa KSR110, Suzuki Savage

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Pics @ http://www.bikepics.com/members/axxis/

Originally posted by Blur Rider+-->
QUOTE (Blur Rider)
Can I join in as previously riding a RS125.[/b]

Anyone with an interest in Aprilias is welcome to join in discussions here, not to mention ex-owners :cheeky: You're riding an R1 now?

Originally posted by myxilplix@Apr 19 2005, 10:52 AM

wats ur burget for your 250~~

Hi everyone,

I'm back. Just got myself a new toy to surf the cyber wakes of SBF, thanks to Chris and Ben who helped a slightly disabled man to carry his stuff home. As some of you may already have known, I was recently involved in an accident which left me a little inconvenienced in the mobility department. Nothing broken, but the impact between my femur and the pelvic bone has made any sort of pressure on my right leg unbearable. Wont be able to move nor stand on my right leg yet, but I'm just glad I'm alive.

To those who hate me, tough luck.

Will update you guys on the accident soon. Dont touch that dial!

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

Originally posted by lacrimosae@Apr 20 2005, 07:21 PM

...thanks to Chris and Ben who helped a slightly disabled man to carry his stuff home.

More like a disabled man who has delusions of sprightliness. Lawrence, stay home ah. And everyone, if Lawrence even suggests going out with you, whack him on the head and tell him to be sensible and rest. Don't worry, he's in no condition to fight back.

To all Lawrence haters, don't worry, I've already teased and insulted him enough for everyone :cheeky:

Originally posted by lacrimosae@Apr 20 2005, 02:09 PM

Denis,

At least you can still move about? Lucky boy...

I'm confined at home most of the time and I have to use crutches to move about. I've regained better use of my left leg, but my right leg still refuses to recover any more than it was from the accident....

Projected duration of immobility is indefinite. :sian:

Cant ride, cant cycle, cant run, cant swim, most probably cant join the OSIM triathlon.

Dammit.

I dont hate accidents. I just hate the down time.

ya... i stil can walk, just risk my wound tear, but i guess i'm indeed more lucky, mobility at home is not a problem, but no bike for at least 2-3 weeks, so outdoor mobility is limited to public transport... haiz... well at least got ppl pay for my medical bills and bike repairs... should count myself lucky, didn't die too... gana hit by a anti-hijack cisco van is really no joke... the cisco guy was still telling me how come his van got no scratches at all.... :faint: they are indeed built to last.. :lol:

u got ur bike intact huh? but cannot ride due to immobility. i can ride but got no bike....why dun u lend me your bike for this 2-3 weeks while i help u with all your errands outside, lacr? great idea huh? :eek:

u are damn active, so pls count me out for your OSIM triathlon, spare this old man, this is one errands dat i can't run... :nono:

and dun keep thinking got ppl wish u are died lah, nobody ever said dat before, huh? dun scrap your self worth, before your maker scrap u...

For me, i dun mind dying in an accident, if its not 'cos of other reckless drivers...

and if i am ever dat reckless driver, i hope i never kill anyone 'cos of my reckless riding...

and accident by myself or resultant of others, i hate them, regardless...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=13389&dateline=1217487583&type=profile

Dec 04 - Apr 07 : APRILIA EXTREMA RS125 FN 3690 T

Sept 05 - 07 : VESPA ET8 125 FQ 1422Z

Oct 05 - CURRENT : CAGIVA MITO EVO II 125 FS----R

Apr 07 - Stolen in JB on Sept 09 : GILERA RUNNER VXR 200 FX 8573 M

Originally posted by Axxis@Apr 20 2005, 11:30 AM

VaraStormer> Does that FW plate RS125 come with the legal arrow pipe fitted or is it the milo kong type?

It's originally registered March 2003 right?

yes it come wif legal arrow pipe. yep it's registered that year. are you interested?

Welcome to the world of acidsburn

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1352/5363911/10807466/155946595.jpg