Not lousy lah. I also fishtailed recently in the MSCP (1st time in a few years) even though already very careful.

Guess somebody must have changed the config of the Diablo. Need to try the Metzeler Feelfree and see see.

acm ah chong recommend michellin 2city leh... metzeler feelfree better??? i all using diablo now though

• Replies 22.2k

regarding metz feelfree vs pir diablo, feedbacks we heard generally says feelfree is softer/grips better but less durable. SW9000 has tried both so maybe you wanna ask him for first hand review. i'm interested to try the metz feelfree wintec but not available in SG.

no doubt mich makes good tyres for cars & bikes (my car's running on mich's PS3), their scooter tyres wasn't as popular and we've heard many talks, mainly negative on their pilot sport scooter series. maybe not as suitable for SW as it is much longer and heavier?

haven't heard anything about the mich city since it's new and none of our kakis has tried it.

based on its tread pattern, it may be able to disperse water better than the diablo as there are relatively more "long kangs", but low speed grip... hmmm.

imo, the magic to good grip still falls on tyre compound (the tread), which is subject to the grip vs durability trade off.

having more tread pattern may not necessary mean better grip, especially for low speed incidences of slipping at wet car parks, down slopes, or when approaching car park gantries. such incidences occur when bike is travelling at very slow speed (for logical riders) so hydroplaning (also called aquaplaning) should not occur.

in other words, the tread is what that grips the floor and how well it grip depends on the compound.

... just my 2cts views

added: i can't find the recommended tyre size at michelin's webby for the new city grip.

nearest is 120/70-14 (instead of 120/80-14) for front, 140/60-13 or 130/70-13 (instead of 150/70 13) for rear :(

according to unique's price list (as at 26/07/14)...

Michelin City Grip 120/70-14 140/60-13 $190.00 (UP: $245)

what the numbers mean: see Tyre Markings

* front 14" wheel => tyre same width but profile is shorter by approx 12mm (10%)

. . . circumference drop by approx 75mm (1 round)

* rear 13" wheel => tyre width is 10mm smaller and profile is shorter by approx 21mm (150x70% vs 140x60%)

. . . circumference drop by approx 132mm (1 round)

effect ... lower SW, circumference of tyres smaller (maybe better pickup but higher rpm at higher speeds), road handling may become different

for all we know, city riders may love this config as SW may become more zippy on pickup with smaller tyres. however, FC calculation will become distorted as the distance actually travelled will become less than the odometer readings (calibration issue).

http://image.rakuten.co.jp/tomas/cabinet/01003213/img57454666.jpg?_ex=128x128http://i692.photobucket.com/albums/vv287/josephsbs/Silverwing/TyreDiabloScooter.jpg

some manufacturers came out with dual compound tyres, mostly using harder compounds at centre (for durability) and softer compounds at the sides to provide better grip (but less durable) when cornering at high speeds. below are some examples of mich's dual compound tyres.

http://motorcyclesafetynews.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/2011-MICHELIN-Motorcycle-Sport-Tire-Comparison-Chart.jpg

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

I lousy skill .. need ABS and Traction to survive.

Both my SW600 and 400 .. I fell due to wet cement floor ...

SW600 - TradeHub down slope approach gantry on a rainy day ... When I squeeze, front wheel lockup .. I fell

SW400 - My office building, wet cement patch. Didnt notice the water spot after building washing. Rear wheel spin, lost balance, fell

I ok, but bike bruises ... ...

Not very sure if traction control monitors e front wheel speed also and I would like to believe ABS will kick in at such low speed. In both cases instinctively releasing and reapplying would help, NOT easy though.

Hydroplaning doesnt applys here, as hydroplaning occurs when e tyre threads is unable to expel water effectively thereby lifting e tyre off the road surface onto the layer of water in-between. What he experienced is a loss of traction due to wet surface.

On ABS: http:// http://www.motorcyclemonthly.co.uk/news/tech-watch-abs-explained-stopping-power

AN650L3 (current): All mod transferred.

SW-T400 (till oct 13): voltmeter, safety features disabled. coocase v36+remote. Adjustable, folding Brake levers. Givi AF318 windshield. on-off switch(pilot light, head light, hazard light), electrical seat unlatch,Dr pulley.

AN400K6 (apr07-dec11): side deflectors, J Costa variator, Dr pulley slider + HiT clutch.

YP250, RVF400/RS250, NSF125.

According to what I go read on X10 ASR .. it is a german term .. Antriebsschlupfregelung. Basically traction control.

Front and rear wheel sensor to determine should ASR be activated.

And just only ..

Went check ...

. X10 350cc vs X10 125cc - less then 300$ diff ..

. Burgman 200 ABS still not approved yet, thus unknown when .. but should have an answer within 1 week. Bike catalogue available, but I dont have .. :-) ...

According to wiki ...

ASR is activated when throttle input and engine torque are mismatched to road surface conditions

Edited ... Found another explaination for ASR - Anti-slip regulation, ABS appplies brakes to spinning wheel(s) and engine limits throttle if needed to maintain traction under throttle.

-----

Based on PiaggioX10 Press release

ASR - Acceleration Slip Regulation

In the version with ABS and ASR, each wheel is equipped with a speed detection system

– a sensor and a tone wheel – which instantaneously measures its velocity and deceleration compared to that of the scooter. The sensors communicate with a 3-channel hydraulic control unit

that activates the ABS system (the most advanced in the category) if one of the two wheels decelerates sharply with respect to the scooter, preventing locking of the wheels and ensuring stable and efficient braking of the scooter even on surfaces with a low friction coefficient.

Piaggio X10 is the only scooter in its category with a rear wheel traction control system: the

ASR system also uses the electronics and ABS sensors to compare the rotation speed of

the two wheels. When the sensors sense an excessive speed of the rear wheel, the control unit intervenes (first on the advance and then, if needed, also on the injection) to prevent skidding and avoid losing control of the scooter.

Edited by Jupiter9002

To Give away: SHAD 33 Box with base bracket.

ABS

http://www.motorcyclemonthly.co.uk/news/tech-watch-abs-explained-stopping-power

Statistics confirm this: a major German study of motorcycle accidents concluded that of the ones where ABS was not fitted but it was relevant to the kind of accident, 26% could have been avoided altogether if ABS had been present, and a further 31% would have occurred at a lower speed.

The state-of-the-art is now represented by the Bosch ninth generation ABS, fitted to such diverse machines as the Ducati Diavel, Kawasaki ZX-10R and KTM 990 SM-T ABS. These are two channel ABS systems, meaning they gather information from the two wheels alone, but the latest Honda Dual-CBS system is also Bosch ninth generation, called ABS 9 enhanced, a three channel system that also compares and corrects the balance between front and rear brakes.

To Give away: SHAD 33 Box with base bracket.

acm ah chong recommend michellin 2city leh... metzeler feelfree better??? i all using diablo now though

Do take note the load index. Don't think 2 city can

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

Tmr meeting as usual.

Some guys got their new SW-T liao.

Hope can molest. haha.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

The new batch of SW-T from Bike Pro just got in and collected.

Should have a few who might just be reading this thread.

Bukit Indah got bike parking lot with security guard.

There is a small section that SG bikes normally park, just next to the security post.

KSL.... not sure. Never been there.

I don't like JG town center.

Bukit Indah got bike parking lot with security guard.

There is a small section that SG bikes normally park, just next to the security post.

KSL.... not sure. Never been there.

I don't like JG town center.

Need to buy any chain to lock up both wheels? Feel like go ksl catch midnight show also humji...

I park in ksl 2 years ago. I remember it was free. But definitely must lock discs or wheel. Cause after i park, security guard came up to me n said "boss, u no lock? Must lock boss. They come, break handlebar lock and steal bike very fast." So i went to the supermarket n bought 2 big padlocks n locked lor.

Just noted that every step of the original rear shock's pre-load is only 3.5mm.

Currently setting at 5.

If add 1 cm spacer.... then can reduce setting to number 3.

But... not much clearance to add spacer.

Spacer required = diameter 60mm (outside) and 45mm (inside).

Hmm... where to custom make this spacer? Or cut out from a cheap Chopping Board?

Edited by SW9000

Hi Seniors and bros,

Been riding a SW for the passed 3 weeks and I noticed the bike will only move off @ 3200rpm. According to previous owner, everythink also stock. Is it normal? Any kind bro can direct me to any link that I can get more info..Thank you so much.

Standard should be around 2.5 to 2.8.

Moving off at higher rpm:

1. Load too heavy... bike needs more power to move off.

2. Tire pressure not enough. Usually I have 200 front and 250 back.

3. Rollers too light. Older SW use 22123-MEF-000. SW-T use the lighter 22123-MEF-D00.

4. Variator Drive plates (in/out) or Clutch-side Driven plates (in/out) surface worn off. Wear and tear after 50k++.

5. Belt worn. Thickness reduced. Wear and tear after 30k.

hmm... did I missed anything?

Hi Seniors and bros,

Been riding a SW for the passed 3 weeks and I noticed the bike will only move off @ 3200rpm. According to previous owner, everythink also stock. Is it normal? Any kind bro can direct me to any link that I can get more info..Thank you so much.

I highly suspect the previous owner replace the clutch spring to after market clutch springs hence resulted in a higher biting point. I personally experienced it before.

Sent from my LG-P875 using Tapatalk

Glad to have u in my life : ) Always love one another!

Thank you for all the advice. According to ex owner, he changed belt and roller last month. Maybe should go ac motor to ask him open up to see if got after market parts.

Are u guys still on e hagon rear shock n hyper pro fork spring? Hows e review?

--------------------------------------

Never argue with an idiot. He brings you

down to his level, then beats you on experience...

Are u guys still on e hagon rear shock n hyper pro fork spring? Hows e review?

Good good. Better handling which eliminate bouncy effect. especially during cornering.

Sent from my LG-P875 using Tapatalk

Glad to have u in my life : ) Always love one another!