Wanted to go for a ride but only available on Weekends (Sat to Sun).

Also, don't know where to go.

Cameron Highlands... a bit far for a 1 night trip.

Kuantan... thunder storms at this time of year.

KL Chinatown... Hmm...

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

• Replies 22.2k

Port Dickson

Been here Sekinchan ? Cheap seafood, fruits, hotel, good scenery.... etc... [ATTACH]315223[/ATTACH]

Hmm... between KL and Ipoh?

Sorry ahhh.

Most Swingers switched to other better bikes liao and new scooterists got so many bike options...

And also year ending, no more rides due to wet weather. Very quiet.

Difficult to maintain at the top.

Anyway, Meeting Tomorrow as Usual.... unless super heavy rain.

off late very busy with work and big-n-small boy boy... plus dunno whether its the weather or what, have been contributing to the doctors pockets regularly these days.

now resting at home on 3 days mc :weep:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Reminder (last 2nd)

9D Koh Samui (Songkran)/Krabi Ride, Apr 2015

Date: 11 to 19 Apr 2015 *Possibly to leave on 10 Apr night.

Days of Leave Required: 5 days

Approx Cost (room only): $255 (share room) or $335 (single in Koh Samui)

Closing Date: 31 Dec 14

Interested please PM me.

I need to account for the rooms.

Link: http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

just another very important tip for you, especially if you're a 1st time scooter rider...

be extra careful when making tight turns at crawling speeds (high speed is of course asking for trouble), e.g. making u turn, negotiating small gaps/bends at parking lots, etc. if you turn the handlebar too much and bike tilts to a "point of no return" angle, it's going to go down like the titanic. well, unless your muscles are able to lift the falling 250kg mass.

most of us (including me) have experience a drop or two, including those who have owned 3 SW. it's a heart pain experience we hope to avoid :pity:

SW is a massive scooter unlike those lightweight and zippy fino or runner, it requires more care and tack when handling it :smile:

painzzzz... i know how u feel, cos i also drop my bike before :giddy:

funny thing is, i rode up-n-down genting n cameron also no problem.

but drop bike in MSCP few days after returning :slapforehead:

painzzz sibei beri beri very painzz... hand touching the scratches, heart is painzz daoooo... :sian: .. touch 1 time, heart pain 1 time... :(

consolation for you is that you drop bike only after few weeks. we have a bro dropped his bike within hours from collecting his brand new bike... that's what i call heartbroken :pity:

Back from Malacca, Labis Hot Spring and Reborn safely... but I had my virgin SW-T drop.

While very slowly navigating through traffic jams near JB custom, did a detour to avoid a hole.

The front went round it but not the rear. Slipped into the hole and bike dropped left onto curb.

On inspection, lucky only some minor paint work chipped at front and back (near key hole for trunk).

Gonna buy paint to cover it liao.

Left leg injured... now bike also left side scratches. Hmm...

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

hi guys, hav been riding a 05 swing for 2 years and been loving it since. COE for my bikes left with 10 mths.. i was in a dilemma to

1)extend COE (worth extending? condition of bike was in good shape, but fairing and plastics hav broken tab and scratches which i hate to see)

2)change to SW-T400.

i wld stil prefer the looks of the old swing.. i had this crazy idea of changing the main plastics for the bike.. any1 did it b4 or hav any idea how bout doin it?

Wait next year. . See the 3 alphabets got drop or not. .

see my comments in blue ...

hi guys, hav been riding a 05 swing for 2 years and been loving it since. COE for my bikes left with 10 mths.. i was in a dilemma to

1)extend COE (worth extending? condition of bike was in good shape, but fairing and plastics hav broken tab and scratches which i hate to see)

if your bike's chassis, engine and electrical/electronics are in good shape, and don't mind riding the same bike for another few more years, may be a good idea to renew COE.

no need to rush in now, cos still got 10 months for you to go temple and pray... that COE drop back to 2k plus :p

2)change to SW-T400.

i wld stil prefer the looks of the old swing.. i had this crazy idea of changing the main plastics for the bike.. any1 did it b4 or hav any idea how bout doin it?

personally, i prefer the FJS over SWT too :thumb:

changing existing worn tupperwares with brand new ones is not a crazy idea... we've done that :smile:

depending on how many parts you change, the makeover could set you back by $1k~$3k, gotta consider labor and spray painting costs too. it is also possible to DIY.

hey, can also consider changing to another stock color :)

note: remember to notify LTA of change in color (free online update)

Change of Vehicle Colour/Fixtures

How to go about doing it?

a summary...

(a) decide whether to DIY or get your trusted mech to do it

~ if ask mech to do, can ask mech to check/order the parts for you

~ if DIY, remember to arrange for storage space when parts arrive, while waiting for spray painting (if required) and installations

(b) download the FSC600 parts catalogue from Tech Corner

SW Parts Catalogue

© print the relevant pages and mark the parts you want to change (part nos. for FJS400 and FSC600 are likely different). do consider ordering some screws and panel clips (some may break during dismantling), else use generic ones (workshops may have)

~ consider if you want to change to another color, cos can order the parts in the new stock color you want

~ no need to change those parts that are scratched but not broken, a new paint job will do the magic

(d) go down to Boon Siew Parts Centre, or FJT Parts & Assessories (or Ever Success) with the printouts, ask them to check the FJS400 catalogue for correct part nos. and quote you the prices

~ if asking mech to do makeover, let him do this part of work

~ mechs probably get better prices than us (they'll claim otherwise though), see how much margin they want to charge you lo

(e) if prices adds up to be acceptable, place order (shipping takes about 3 months)

~ other than the black colored plastics (e.g. inner box), make sure all the parts you order are of same color, highlight/remind the shop when ordering; else need to spend extra $$ to spray to same color if the parts come in different colors

(f) wait and wait and wait... for parts to arrive

~ meantime, look for a desired spray paint shop (if required)

(g) arrange to collect the items when the parts arrive... if DIY

~ check every item, for correct part and color during collection before leaving

~ if getting mech to do makeover, mech will settle collection/delivery for you

(h) now with the parts... its makeover time

~ for parts that are not change, arrange for spray painting. suggest provide a sample of new part so that shop can use for reference to get the nearest color/tone

(i) whoala... enjoy your makeover bike

p/s: if want convenient, just pay and get your trusted mech to do the whole makeover :cheeky:

~

Trips:

TMR I got event in Camp till 10pm.

Won't be going for drinks at Rail Mall.

You guys enjoy the bicycle ride there.

my concerns is the missing screws lol.. quite a number of them are missing.. haha

the original screws are rather expensive...

90106-KCZ-000 SCREW, SPECIAL (6MM) = $3.00

93903-24580 SCREW, TAPPING (4X20) . = $1.00

93903-34480 SCREW, TAPPING (4X16) . = $ 1.00

imo, these are cut-throat prices. there're a few shops behind the Kelantan Rd MSCP next to LAB that sells many kinds of screws, can check them out.

alternatively, can consider those generic stainless steel screws available from normal hardware or provision shops, i'm using those.

~

Trips:

Omg.

Then I must go down personally and order liao.

Arboh later mis-comms.

I will need a tire change around end Dec 14...

End Dec stock should be in liao. Just called Motoworld today and was told should be coming in 2 weeks' time. Really is whole Sg no stock for Pirelli 150/70-13.

Do you guys recommend pirelli?

Haha. This time round might just wanna try again Metezler Feelfree (after many years) but always no stock.

I guess distributor don't bring in enough as most SW riders go for Pirelli Diablo, which is cheaper by about $40-$50 per set...

the original screws are rather expensive...

90106-KCZ-000 SCREW, SPECIAL (6MM) = $3.00

93903-24580 SCREW, TAPPING (4X20) . = $1.00

93903-34480 SCREW, TAPPING (4X16) . = $ 1.00

imo, these are cut-throat prices. there're a few shops behind the Kelantan Rd MSCP next to LAB that sells many kinds of screws, can check them out.

alternatively, can consider those generic stainless steel screws available from normal hardware or provision shops, i'm using those.

does those screw fit? as long as the size is correct, e kind of head (allen key head, + head, - head, round head) doenst matter right?

Anyone for Betong, 16 to 18 Jan 15?

No special occasion... just wanna ride somewhere.

does those screw fit? as long as the size is correct, e kind of head (allen key head, + head, - head, round head) doenst matter right?

yes, as long as size is correct, any head also can but must make sure the screw head can fit into the recess (some areas).

most of the screws for my SW's head cowl have been changed to phillips head (+) stainless steel ones.

would love to change to alloy/aluminium screws as SS screws tends to rust after a few months, but didn't cos they're much much cheaper, even when if we change them every 6 months :p

~

Trips: