Hey Shaji!

Surprising hor, from a unknown bike, it ends up as one of the longest threads in this forum.

n then suddenly there r so many owners. :lol:

cheers :smile:

• Replies 12.6k

• Custom

• SiLvErGhOsT

• mctan

• Heyrul77

Update!

Palary confirm!

Jleo confirm!

oxygen confirm!

Custom? Can't go. now in China for 12wks (oversea station)

Mrboliao? should be ok lor

Rezd?

Panzerwerfer cant make it.

Cougar? confirm! Friday6/6 but not goin JB

Kevin? 70% possibility of going, need to apply leave!

Barracuda? 1030pm onwards

fundurof650 confirm!

meomeo?

You become successful the moment you start moving toward a worthwhile goal.

timing 7.30pm or 9.30pm? :confused:

i prefer earlier cos next day i hv to work, need to wake up as early as 5am!!! Hope to see how some of u all install ur top-box.

How about make it 8.30, not too early and not too late..

timing 7.30pm or 9.30pm? :confused:

i prefer earlier cos next day i hv to work, need to wake up as early as 5am!!! Hope to see how some of u all install ur top-box.

Guest Anonymous

Palary confirm!

Jleo confirm!

oxygen confirm!

Custom? Can't go. now in China for 12wks (oversea station)

Mrboliao? should be ok lor

Rezd? Can't go. Sorry...

Panzerwerfer cant make it.

Cougar? confirm! Friday6/6 but not goin JB

Kevin? 70% possibility of going, need to apply leave!

Barracuda? 1030pm onwards

fundurof650 confirm!

meomeo?

Very honoured that I'm invited. Sorry, but I can't go because... I don't have a Diversion yet. I guess I must have given the impression that I have one because I post a lot of question on this thread & my signature mentioned the Diversion too. Sorry guys. Planning to get it soon but I will keep you guys informed once I have it. Once again, thanks!

Not sure if this is it, but Palary i've modified ur map with a drawing of the shape of what i think is ur katong village, if that big carpark is not KV than must be the one after it rite? But the one after it looks like a KTV/pub leh.

Hey Rezd,

Really doesn't matter whether u are riding a cub kia or a moped, u are still welcome to join in.

Last time when I ride a scooter, I still sit with with the Storm-riders, this give me the opportunity to look at all their big-Bikes, and ultimately zoom in on the diversion.

U also can come in to take a look, c? maybe after this session, U are more sure that you WANT or DO NOT WANT A Diversion after all!

Palary confirm!

Very honoured that I'm invited. Sorry, but I can't go because... I don't have a Diversion yet. I guess I must have given the impression that I have one because I post a lot of question on this thread & my signature mentioned the Diversion too. Sorry guys. Planning to get it soon but I will keep you guys informed once I have it. Once again, thanks!

I also not so sure, the map is send by Oxygen ley...

We just park nere the Star there.

Not sure if this is it, but Palary i've modified ur map with a drawing of the shape of what i think is ur katong village, if that big carpark is not KV than must be the one after it rite? But the one after it looks like a KTV/pub leh.

sorry guys, i think this bike sucks...(it may have a thing to do with tho ya-ya ma-ma knn TP corporals who think their God). No offence, really! :)

Current rides: Ducati 999 and X9 500 SL

Guest lt_mike_powell
sorry guys, i think this bike sucks...(it may have a thing to do with tho ya-ya ma-ma knn TP corporals who think their God). No offence, really! :)

Hello obitrok! Hmmm, quite some post for a guy who just joined today. Although it doesn't really mean that you've just started riding today, no right? Anyway if you have a point to put across, do give some supporting statements. Not things like,

its the learner bike at comfort... Ohlins add a nice touch (esp on a 400) but it kinda looks low grade to me. havent tried riding one but im sure it beats standard showas anytime

what the hell, these small bikes, 2 stroke some more, goinbg at 240? at speeds above 160, prepare to pay lots to maintain it. even the best 2t, cannot lube the piston. surely jam, and ive seen a couple of nsr sps, aprilias with pistons jammed. i had an aprilia 125 a few yrs ago, knn problem bike. constain pain, from caburattion, to rear shock, to piston problems, ive had em all. also italian electrics suck. (heh, even tho ive booked my 999)

at 125, get a rx-z best. no complains. super low maintanece. cant beat wave tho :)

My point is, if you want to get your ranking high by spouting just about anything, don't. People here are respected for smart, quality statement not quantity statement. One last thing, I think everyone knows that you're getting a 999. Congrats... Oh ya, before I forget, no offence, really...

Collected my bike yesterday n for a first impression, this bike has a reassuring feel to its power....

Not too much such that throwing a clutch automatically means wheels up, yet more than enuf to accelerate off a red light GP.... Despite its heaft(or bec of it), i find it relatively easy to control n stable which negotiating a corner or bend.

Low rpm gives a funny rattling sound in the engine but it clears n smoothes out once the magical 4k rpm is reached.... Hard not to go fast on this bike...

Anyway this baby can really hold alot petrol, first time pump after taking from shop, pay $24 for a full tank.... No used to seeing such a figure when most of my time my previous bike fuel cost $14 bucks at most.

Anyway enjoying my time with her. Jus went Seng Kwang for the crash bar, refused to gimme anything lower than $240 though....Also met up another Divvy owner, name is Harun, will join us for the meet up...

Cya all then... ;)

Yo All, I just went recee recee, There is only 1 carpark entrance as shown by cougar. At the Entrance there 1 BIG NEON SIGN "KATONG VILLAGE"..So u can't miss it....The Carpark is surround by Makan stall , So once u enter the carpark...head for the MAkan/kopi tiam on the right.

powell, ok, guess, thats my view abt the diversion, ya, thats why i think. yea, it makes a budget tourer, and thats abt it, its boring, heavy. my view, not yours. lets keep it at that. im no person who intends to gain more popularity with more msgs ard. not my sort of thing. btw, if i jolly well want to put a thousand msgs on the day i join, i will. the thing abt 2 strokers, thats the kind of bikes they are, high maintanece, with lots of problems if u run em in the high all the time. just passing off some experience ive had. its quite obvious you've not had much experience with them. again its my view, its a forum isnt it? another thing, if i like to talk abt my bike (to be), the 999, like you like to talk abt your diversion, is it wrong? got a problem with that?

and for kevin, nah, not with your diversion.

no offence, my friends :)

ok, ive been taking a closer look at the posts. its a devoted divvy lovers forum, so maybe i got on the wrong foot of things, guess. its a matter of individual tastes, so i understand, afterall im a bike rider too. i like certain other bikes, like you like yours. btw, I like the Fazer, i think its a sweet bike. i expect some of you guys to like it, some not to.

Guest lt_mike_powell
powell, ok, guess, thats my view abt the diversion, ya, thats why i think. yea, it makes a budget tourer, and thats abt it, its boring, heavy. my view, not yours. lets keep it at that. im no person who intends to gain more popularity with more msgs ard. not my sort of thing. btw, if i jolly well want to put a thousand msgs on the day i join, i will. the thing abt 2 strokers, thats the kind of bikes they are, high maintanece, with lots of problems if u run em in the high all the time. just passing off some experience ive had. its quite obvious you've not had much experience with them. again its my view, its a forum isnt it? another thing, if i like to talk abt my bike (to be), the 999, like you like to talk abt your diversion, is it wrong? got a problem with that?

and for kevin, nah, not with your diversion.

no offence, my friends :)

Oh man, just ignore this guy. He's not worth it. Sorry for disturbing the peace in this thread. I don't want it to go :offtopic: now. Bye!

Hope you all enjoy the TRIP..... Will join you all next time...

Here's a PICTURE to CHEER you all,, HEHEHE!!!

GO DIVERSION GO !!!!

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/CrumpleronRevo-Tony.jpg

Panzerwerfer

Guest Anonymous

Found an old copy of Two Wheelers magazine at my workplace. Then, lo & behold! A review on the Yamaha XJ900S Diversion! It's almost like a divine intervention. Any way, here's the review.

BIKE REVIEW: YAMAHA XJ900S DIVERSION

If you are looking for a no nonsense sports touring bike that meets with the size of your wallet, this is the bike.

If you are looking for an inexpensive but powerful sports touring bike, the Yamaha XJ900S Diversion is the bike you need. It also comes with a custom-made pannier boxes and luggage carrier. It is a shaft-driven bike, which is a pre-requisite if it is to be classified as a sports touring bike. So you need not have to oil your chain all the time. Rider and passenger comfort is guaranteed and the bike's aerodynamic fairing protects the rider from the windblast at higher speed. At the same time the fairing allows good ventilation on the move. It comes with a 24 litre petrol tank for long-distance ride. It has a comprehensive instrument console with easy to read speedometer and tachometer. Comes in three colors: dark blue, deep purplish red, and deep purplish blue metallic.

Performance-wise the Yamaha XJ900S Diversion, is a powerful, smooth and versatile at corners. It is a value for money bike, and should be given a 5 star approval as a sports touring bike. In comparison to the Yamaha FJ 1200, the XJ900S is cheaper to maintain in terms of the road-tax, it is shaft-driven, which is the criteria needed to be classified as a touring bikes of its category. It's strong-selling point is it fits the size of the Asian motorcyclist.

Retail price: $15981.00 on the road without COE

TWO WHEELERS

VOL 9/2000 ISSUE NO. 4

[scroll:854642caad] :thumb: :clapping: [/scroll:854642caad]

From MCN >>>> motorcyclenews.com

[scroll:a6e97f5d7a]YOU KNOW IT MAKES SENSE[/scroll:a6e97f5d7a]

FOR some people, playing at being a racing god isn’t a priority. Knee-down’s a no-no, stoppies are stupid and the only wheelies they’re familiar with are the bins they put out on refuse collection day.

Sports bikes are all very well, but when and where can you use all that performance in today’s crowded world? Practicality is all, and for these riders, Yamaha produces the XJ900S Diversion.

Sensible as accountancy, the Divvie keeps bean-counters happy by dint of its budget price but all-round ability. This is a bike for commuting, touring or working but is composed enough to thrill when the temptation to play finally over-rides the work ethic.

Couriers flock to this bike like adolescent girls to a boy band. And there’s no wonder, since the Diversion is simplicity itself, being air-cooled and using hassle-free shaft drive along with decent weather protection and a low and comfortable seat.

It’s a bike for making friends with the controller, being quick on the lapel-mounted radio, getting the Goods On Board and putting some serious inter-city courier work under your wheels.

But it isn’t just those who regard bikes as workhorse tools who appreciate the 900 Diversion’s abilities. Forty-five thousand XJ900s, the model the Diversion supersedes, were sold over its 10 year lifespan while the Divvie’s smaller 600cc sibling clocked up an amazing 50,000 sales throughout Europe in a mere three years. See, not everyone is in to toe sliders and brolly dollies.

Whereas testosterone-soaked youth likes to bark its presence through anti-social illegal race cans, the more mature rider is likely to see combustion emissions and fuel consumption as plus points, and the Diversion doesn’t disappoint. Yamaha likes to promote the ‘social acceptability’ of the 900’s emission control system that injects fresh air just downstream of the exhaust valve to eliminate unburned hydrocarbons.

Other practicalities include scratch resistant plastic grab handles, excellent mirrors, plenty of bungee hooks set well clear of the bodywork, a rubber-mounted engine and optional 34 or 46-litre panniers and fitting kit.

Even the pillion pegs are set low to ensure the passenger isn’t cramped and is an example of the thought and planning throughout the design.

And that’s where the Diversion really scores: as a practical, sensible tourer with a social conscience and the low-maintenance upkeep of a holiday home in Tuscany. It’s motorcycling for the superannuated, and it’s none the worse for it.

Gentleman another one from motorcycle.com

[[scroll:93c25b8539]Bored? You Don't Need a Hobby, You Need a Diversion[/scroll:93c25b8539]

By Todd Canavan, Associate Editor

The prices of hardcore, cutting-edge sportbikes and luxo-tourers continue to rise, it seems like more and more the "regular guy" is getting squeezed out. And for those in the market for a standard-style motorcycle that is not a watered-down cruiser, there were few options until recently. With the growing trend towards bikes filling a niche market, there has been a resurgence in the popularity of do-everything standards. As the interest in affordable standards reached a frenzy, Suzuki launched the Bandit 600 and eager buyers responded. Rumors abound that big-bore naked bikes from several manufacturers will be joining the ranks of the GPz 1100 and Bandit 600 in '97.

Offered in Europe and most other places that get "too-cool-for-the-U.S." bikes, Yamaha's XJ 900 Diversion has become a contender in the big-bore naked bike class, a category whose growing popularity has drawn the attention of the buying public that needs one bike to do everything -- sport touring, commuting, and even some long-distance traveling.

Based on the same principles as the econo-class XJ600 Seca II, the Diversion (Seca IIs carry the name "Diversion" abroad) takes the popular budget-minded big grunt formula to a much more successful end than the Seca II ever has. (For a review of the Seca II, see our Valuebikes Shootout) Until now, the Diversion 900 has fallen into the "Ha Ha, you don't get one" category, as Yamaha decided not to import the bike to America's shores. So when famous seat maker Mike Corbin offered us a ride on his personal Diversion 900 we were obligated to ride it, for the benefit of you, the reader, of course.

The Corbin Diversion 900 is entirely stock, save for a few modifications. The mirrors were replaced with shorter units that don't stick out as far as the stockers and the Corbin squad made a prototype seat for the bike. Did you really expect them to leave the stock one on?

With two valves per cylinder and dual-overhead cams, the Diversion 900 has the same top-end layout as the Seca II 600. The valves control air-fuel mixtures delivered by a quartet of 34 millimeter Mikuni BDSR carburetors. A 10:1 compression ratio squeezes the mix and spent gasses exit through a dual muffler exhaust system.

Due to Europe's less-stringent emissions standards, the carburetion of the Diversion was much richer than the typical anemic California spec machine, and as such pulled much more cleanly through the powerband. Power starts down low and climbs until the tachometer needles closes towards redline, albeit never in a dramatic fashion, mind you. The powerband, while not overly impressive, was satisfying in its consistency and meaty feel. User-friendly midrange meant easy going in both congested traffic and on the open road.

Showing its european intent, the Diversion was equipped with a metric speedometer and euro switchgear. Something not found on American-spec bikes is the switch that gives the rider the option to leave the headlights in one of three positions: On, Running Lights Only and Off. A large tach, fuel gauge and passing light flasher round out dash accouterments.

The transmission shifted smoothly and had gear ratios cleverly matched to the motor for street use and commuting. The five speed gearbox relays the motor's power to a shaft drive in the rear. The big XJ's rear shock eliminates the shaft drive hop-up that we've encountered on other units we've ridden. Out back, a 150/70-17 Dunlop K505, designed for mileage over knee-dragging grip, and a similar 120/70-17 front skin are your contact to the road. The high-mileage stock tires let the bike down under hard braking, though, giving poor feedback and allowing the front tire to chatter and the rear to slide. Softer tires would definitely improve the feedback and feel of the machine.

The Diversion's cable pull clutch offered a light feel that was less fatiguing than one would expect from a near-liter class machine. The steering feel was quite pleasurable and lighter than we expected. Stability was maintained through corners and over straightaways. The overall feel of the XJ 900 was confidence-inspiring and quite agile for such a balanced, "regular joe" machine.

The brakes felt powerful and had good feedback, aided by the dual-hose front system. Out back the story was similar, with the rear brake easily capable of locking up the stock tread. The rear pedal was mounted on unique, semi-polished footpeg bracketry, which complimented the highly chromed finish of the dual exhaust system.

The styling of the 900 is similar to the Seca II, but simply on a larger scale. An economical quarter-fairing directs wind around the rider and is surprisingly effective. A small windscreen with built-in wind relief straightens out air that does skim the rider's body, lessening windblast and increasing comfort. Seating position with the Corbin saddle was comfortable and allowed the rider to move back in the seat during longer stints.

If Yamaha does the sensible thing and imports the Diversion 900 to the States, as Suzuki will be doing with their Bandit 1200 this coming year, there would surely be an interesting Big-Bore Standard Bike showdown possible. We can envision it now - XJ 900, CB 1000, GPz 1100 and Bandit 1200. . .

Is it normal to hear the 'click click' sound from the engine? Is it something loose within or wat? Also that sound getting real loud esp at ard 3k-3.5k or idling when i can really hear it clearly.

Also was thinking of getting a taller windscreen, somthing similar to Kevin's.... Any place to recommand? Price?

Is it normal to hear the 'click click' sound from the engine? Is it something loose within or wat? Also that sound getting real loud esp at ard 3k-3.5k or idling when i can really hear it clearly.

Also was thinking of getting a taller windscreen, somthing similar to Kevin's.... Any place to recommand? Price?

Did u have lots of explore & fun on your new bike???????

How can there be a "click" sound from the engine? how can there be a nut loose & dangling around the engine?

while i have encountered this before, whereby managed to trace it to the windscreen where one of the plastic screw used to secure the windscreen has broken into 2, the other broken half was in the hole. this is due to the plastic screw has been over-tighten. May be u like to check the screw & nuts on the fairing.

u may buy the skidmarx screen from biketech 21 ( recommended by Bolia ) located along dunlop street for $140. but probably need to wait for 2 months before u receive which happened to me. if u could afford i would suggest by mail order through the internet from overseas site, may be will receive withine 2 weeks & of course need to pay a bit more. an impatience person like me i do not mine. cos had encountered a bad salesperson at biketech. pls U must indicate "SUPER-FLIP SCREEN", 62cm high & the colour of the screen for the divvy, must be very specific on the invoice.

U may wish to check-out the message posted at msn. with regards to screen, cos everybody has their preference.

if u have more coins in your piggy bank u may wish to consider schurgersdesign.com

http://www.schurgersdesign.com/