[Let me answer u in a few days' time...cos I placed a order liao...heheh..

quote=Palary]

Palary...did you go through the paypal application??? A bit complicated laay!!! I am now waiting for the paypal password.

You become successful the moment you start moving toward a worthwhile goal.

• Replies 12.6k

• Custom

• SiLvErGhOsT

• mctan

• Heyrul77

??? don't think u have to wait for the paypal password. When u check out, they ask u for all your details. Then the paypal got extra services for you asking u to log in dun know where to activate to become a member. Which I ignored.

But the transaction with genmar should be completed. Becuase they send a email of a transaction receipt.

I also email Gnemar and this is their reply:-

From: "GenMar Manufacturing" | This is spam | Add to Address Book

To: "JohnT"

Subject: Re: Receipt for your Payment

Date: Fri, 20 Jun 2003 12:38:40 -0700

Hi John,

Your order has been shipped and it should take 5-7 days to arrive.

Thank you,

Scott-GenMar

Palary...did you go through the paypal application??? A bit complicated laay!!! I am now waiting for the paypal password.

i have a question for the divvy owners here, coz i'm thinking of getting it once i got my class 2. how's the riding posture as compared to super 4. would it be more upright and comfortable ? how abt comparing it to the ST 11 ? thanks :p

The riding posture is like a Superfour.

But if u get the handlebar raiser, it will definitely be like a ST11. Upright and comfortable.

i have a question for the divvy owners here, coz i'm thinking of getting it once i got my class 2. how's the riding posture as compared to super 4. would it be more upright and comfortable ? how abt comparing it to the ST 11 ? thanks :p

With the risers, it is of course more of a upright riding posture, no doubt at all. However, this is definitely not the reason for your decision. If i have not much of commitment to my family, plenty of cash to spend with no worry for my saving account if during raining day, where i can spend the extra for my owe pub & if i am a bachelor, i will select either ST1300 or FJR1300.

As a divvy owner myself, i considered the XJ a budget tourer means practicality & realisticality for everyday usage whether it is rain or shine, whether it is "WORK TO RIDE, RIDE TO WORK" + "LIVE TO RIDE, RIDE TO LIVE", for a person like me who can only afford a bike & not a TOY that provides low in maintenence in terms of $$$$$$$ & TIME. If u whish to owe a bike that is resonablely powerful yet u dont blast your bike at 180km/hr everyday, neither do i want to mention at a speed of some crazy fuckers ride at 280 km/hr to DIG THEIR OWE GRAVEYARD.

The XJ allows u to ride to Thailand comfortably as long as u are willing to name it anywhere, anytime, anyhow. This is also a bike that can last u for the next 5 or 8 years with not much problem as compare to a H2O cool bike like the Blackbird, Goldwing etc. coz after years of riding a H2O cool bike u need to change the rubber horse coz it have all blotted or stiffen. I would say u should experience to belief these words of wisdom or u can even consider me bull-shitting & full of LIES!!!!! :confused:

CHEERS TO ALL THE DIVVY'S OWNERS :cheers:

"WORK TO RIDE, RIDE TO WORK" + "LIVE TO RIDE, RIDE TO LIVE"

Very good quotation Kevin, guess this is very true for myself n many guys i noe as well.....

Anyway after 3 weeks n 2000km later, i gradually gotten used to the riding posture which offers a different kinda riding comfort as compared to a cruiser. I'm a frequent cyclist so the 'numbness in the palms of hands after a long ride' is something that i can still live with yet still. The recent postings of the handlebar risers are tempting as an upright position is indeed more comgy but guess it'll have to wait when my piggy bank is more full.

Also with a more powerful bike(BUT an even more powerful butt width), my ridding style has evolved to an almost sorta 'car' type of mentality, keeping within lanes n perhaps the ocassional stint between the lane.

Petrol consumption(while on 10w-40 mineral still) is averages ard 18.5km/L so i guess it isnt that bad with the lowest of 17km/l n highest of 20km/l(w/o side boxes).....Almost finished my run in phase n will be looking to go Melaka with u guys for my first 'long' trip up.

Palary, u still on??? Others?? HOw about a sat morn?? 2 weeks from now....

:confused: yo bro....it is on monday.we 're talking about week end!love to ride along :nono: mr palary.oh yes jleo...no worries about your phases 1 or 2...coz u can rev up to @ 5850rpm after your 2nd interval.i went up 2 port dickson with me wife (one bike) n hit the 20km straight highway, yes it is a highway till you reach a junction.there u just ride at your own speed till u reach a "T" junction and you'll find out it is better than melaka.mind you that i've been there many time since the sepang gp opened.it takes only @ 22km to reach sepang circuit.why don't we try this year motogp and you can sleep :sleep: at any hotel along PD. :bounce:

GENTLEMAN..........there will be a 3 Nation Charity Ride on the 19 to 22 Sept. 03 to Trang, 150 km away from Hatyai. Details for the trip will be reveal very soon.

i hope i could go, but can only confirm from my boss 2 weeks before. as for the trip to melaka/port dick i need to plan my staff's roaster first. will let u guys know.

CHEERS

.......sepang gp opened.it takes only @ 22km to reach sepang circuit.why don't we try this year motogp and you can sleep :sleep: at any hotel along PD. :bounce:

MOTOGP at sepang.......wow...... sound interesting, am a big fan of motogp & sbk. I have been following every single race sine kevin swatze era in the early 90's. as i just shifted to a new estate, the underground cables for cable vision is not ready, thus i have missed all the races this year.

can anybody tell me where can i watch it in public eg. pub????? i wanted to watch it live through the website, but too expensive. Any suggestion boys????????

Saturday? no problem la. But start out early, unless u want to reach just to warm the kopi tiam seats and then rush back. I also itching to try out the handlebar raiser on a long distance ride.

Very good quotation Kevin, guess this is very true for myself n many guys i noe as well.....

Anyway after 3 weeks n 2000km later, i gradually gotten used to the riding posture which offers a different kinda riding comfort as compared to a cruiser. I'm a frequent cyclist so the 'numbness in the palms of hands after a long ride' is something that i can still live with yet still. The recent postings of the handlebar risers are tempting as an upright position is indeed more comgy but guess it'll have to wait when my piggy bank is more full.

Also with a more powerful bike(BUT an even more powerful butt width), my ridding style has evolved to an almost sorta 'car' type of mentality, keeping within lanes n perhaps the ocassional stint between the lane.

Petrol consumption(while on 10w-40 mineral still) is averages ard 18.5km/L so i guess it isnt that bad with the lowest of 17km/l n highest of 20km/l(w/o side boxes).....Almost finished my run in phase n will be looking to go Melaka with u guys for my first 'long' trip up.

Palary, u still on??? Others?? HOw about a sat morn?? 2 weeks from now....

Steady la...... One posting n all so ON about it........Anyway i need someone to guide me ard(1st time ard there) so lao jiaos pls suggest away.......

Port Dickson or Melaka or anywhere thats within a day's ride up n down, i'm fine with that....

July 4th, this date fine with everyone?? Since Palary suggest early, We meet up b4 lunch say 10am at GP Esso, if u guys need to work make it slightly later say 1pm? How?

Also pls cruise ard 120 can, balls still small la....... :lol: :lol:

10 am also can la, just to drop in on (2 hrs journey) Melaka or Port Dickson, but I haven't been to Port Dickson, sure like to give a try there.

Steady la...... One posting n all so ON about it........Anyway i need someone to guide me ard(1st time ard there) so lao jiaos pls suggest away.......

Port Dickson or Melaka or anywhere thats within a day's ride up n down, i'm fine with that....

July 4th, this date fine with everyone?? Since Palary suggest early, We meet up b4 lunch say 10am at GP Esso, if u guys need to work make it slightly later say 1pm? How?

i am only available from 13th to 20th july.

CHEERS GENTLEMAN CHEERS :cheers:

??? don't think u have to wait for the paypal password. When u check out, they ask u for all your details. Then the paypal got extra services for you asking u to log in dun know where to activate to become a member. Which I ignored.

But the transaction with genmar should be completed. Becuase they send a email of a transaction receipt.

I also email Gnemar and this is their reply:-

From: "GenMar Manufacturing" | This is spam | Add to Address Book

To: "JohnT"

Subject: Re: Receipt for your Payment

Date: Fri, 20 Jun 2003 12:38:40 -0700

Hi John,

Your order has been shipped and it should take 5-7 days to arrive.

Thank you,

Scott-GenMar

Palary...cannot get through not without e password lar... looks like gota wait liao.

BTW I have got a 1st hand Black Susuki 1300cc (air & oil cool engine) looking for taker at 13k neg (1 year & 6 mth old only) bought at 17k coz owner posting China soon.

view to appreciate.

U may e-mail or fax your details & preference to GenMar. it will speed the process gradually. I in fact e-mailed my details for the purchased.

CHEERS GENTLEMAN

Since kevin got review liao , then I oso write one haha...

Personal Review:

General:

"Cheap, wallowy, old thing" is the phrase used by most bike mags.

True enough this bike is not your >140bhp track bike nor your luxurious full blown tourer nor your slim and light city commuter.

But it does very well in all these areas. It has an upright handlebar and comfortable, huge seats, both for the rider and pillion. It needs minimal maintenance because of its ancient inline-4 air-cooled design topped with a shaft drive. No extra complex electrical or mechanical "modern" gadgets on it.

General Maintenance

It works hard for the money you put into it, rather than juz being dry day toys. Here's how much you need to maintain it:

1) Engine oil : 3.2/3.6L

2) Spark plugs : 4 (these ancient size plugs costs just $3.50 from denso)

3) Shaft oil : 0.2L for 20000km (a bottle of motorex 1L costs $10 to use 5 times)

No chain and sprockets ($200+) and no coolant to mess around.

DIY

The bike is also designed for DIY I must say. The plugs can be taken on and off the bike without taking off anything, even with my lower fairings on it. The inlet manifolds and trottle sync screws for carb balancing are so easily reached I got myself a carbtune II to do it myself. And the list goes on...

Power/Handling:

It is a very torquey machine with power well distributed especially at the mid range. Top speed is 220km/hr (of cos nothing compared to sports bikes) as mentioned in the msn diversion forums which is enough for everything except if you're the type who "play". Handling is very good for its weight, except most complain about the front dive which can be easily solved by using a 15 fork oil or higher.

Touring:

So similarly during touring , you would have much lesser stuff to worry about and just enjoy the ride. No chain or coolant to worry about. Comfortable seats and posture. Wind protection is excellent (with my higher screen cos of my height). It can carry as much luggage as you can mount onto the bike and still maintain the same torquey pull as you rev it.

Commuting:

The stock krauser (hepco & becker sister company) boxes are slim enough to filter traffic with much ease. Fuel consumption in the city is about 18-19km/L and the max range I've gotten is 440km. With this bike there is totally no neccessity to get a 2nd small bike to commute around like many other big bikers do, because the divvy just keeps you riding on and on everyday, rain or shine, it doesn't hurt your pocket nor your backbone for that matter :).

Ending note:

The divvy has proven itself in european countries as mile eating monsters to couriers and makes you worry free about maintenance problems. Basically most of your money and time will be spent worrying about what accessories to get for this baby.

Basically if you do not constantly tour above speeds > 200, love your licenses, have a budget, often go for two-up tours and actually do think about your pillion's comfort, then this budget tourer is for you.

Since kevin got review liao , then I oso write one haha...

Personal Review:

Commuting:

Fuel consumption in the city is about 18-19km/L and the max range I've gotten is 440km. With this bike there is totally no neccessity to get a 2nd small bike to commute around like many other big bikers do, because the divvy just keeps you riding on and on everyday, rain or shine, it doesn't hurt your pocket nor your backbone for that matter :).

How come my max range is still 240miles / 384km, just touching the red reserve portion, urs issit uptill reserve portion fully utilised? That's extra 56km more to go for reserve portion.

I wld still like to get a smaller bike for convenience sake, cos Diverted abit difficult to find parking like cubs and scooters can, and its too big to take cover for illegal parking in some places, cannot find a tree big enuff to hide leh, either front or back sure show one!!! :D

How come my max range is still 240miles / 384km, just touching the red reserve portion, urs issit uptill reserve portion fully utilised? That's extra 56km more to go for reserve portion.

I wld still like to get a smaller bike for convenience sake, cos Diverted abit difficult to find parking like cubs and scooters can, and its too big to take cover for illegal parking in some places, cannot find a tree big enuff to hide leh, either front or back sure show one!!! :D

of cos is including reserve lah! haha

on the subject of fuel economy, for normal returns(18-19km/l), when does the reserve light usually comes on........Usually pump way b4 that as one time top up fill from reserve real wallet wrecking......

Mr Boliao, i have a job offer for u. Would u care to be a motor-journalist for "Wheelers-Two" magazine, a reputable & establish firm back by the locals MP at the down-town of Singapore. The editor of the company love your write-up and review of the divvy, he mentioned that u truely & sincerely, & full of passion for every words u used for the article. He would like to meet u for an interview, if u are not interested to be a motor-journalist, he is willing to buy your review of the divvy article & publish it world wide for any $$$ u offer.

CHEERS GENTLEMAN CHEERS TO THE DIVVY.

on the subject of fuel economy, for normal returns(18-19km/l), when does the reserve light usually comes on........Usually pump way b4 that as one time top up fill from reserve real wallet wrecking......

usually between 205 to 210 miles, i assume appx. 18.5 litres where the reserve light will comes on.

CHEERS