my tp is on july hoping to pass ^^

hi guys. im a singaporean living in malaysia...looking for a 4 stroke bike cruising bike...

lets say its around 15km ride from custom to my house..and im working around changi area..and im going to pillion my dad to work too

1)is it avisable to get phantom ta 200? i really like the looks

2)how about the monthly maintenance and fuel consumption ? is it cheap?

3)how about the parts ?is it still available ? New sits , mirror , breaks , tyre etc etc...

4)how is the controlling in jam's with and without a pillion ? (custom)

5)should i do a overhault and a full service when i buy this bike ?

6)do malaysia workshop reconize this bike ? (servicing ,changing of parts etc etc)

sorry for asking too much just a little curious :)

• Replies 3.6k

hi guys. im a singaporean living in malaysia...looking for a 4 stroke bike cruising bike...

lets say its around 15km ride from custom to my house..and im working around changi area..and im going to pillion my dad to work too

3)how about the parts ?is it still available ? New sits , mirror , breaks , tyre etc etc...

6)do malaysia workshop reconize this bike ? (servicing ,changing of parts etc etc)

Never ride phantom before but just my opinions.

1) if u like it, it will be ok!! Phantom is ok as commuter bike. Most 2b bikes r ok as commuter though sports r not in my opinion.

2) most 2b bikes r cheap in terms of fc, service and parts. E more popular/common e bike e cheaper. Phantom is roughly in e middle i guess.

3) not sure but i think so.

4) this would depend on personal preference. Some riders would not be bothered by wat bike they ride through custom but due to e high traffic volume, logic dictates tat small bikes will ve a easier time.

Phantom size is mid for 2b and e posture is cruiser style. Thus paddling (pushing bike along using legs) is harder than street or sports bike.

But if u can time ur entry and exit then this would not be a problem. If u ve to join e jam very single day then I'm afraid this may be a major issue.

Or u could just leave engine on all e way.

With pillon things just become harder. Unless u always take left lane and get ur pillon to walk.

5) depend on how old and whether previous owner ve already done it.

6) not sure but likely yes?

Asking is good. Forum is to share and discuss. :) u may also wish to post ur questions in e phantom forum. They should be able to give even more detailed opinions. But u may ve already done tat.

hi bro, i have a property @ iskandar area "horizon" & travel over with my phantom on weekends or when there's available leaisure time.

1) as we all know phantom is a crusier bike hence lond distance travelling gives it an edge.

2) monthly maintenance would be engine oil & as fuel consumptions (base on my experience) can last about 4 days to n fro (exclusive other touring destinations)

3) bike parts not an issue, a matter of u want original or etc

4) menouver in congested area may not be an issue, needs a bit more strength to move an inch as compared to other bike. Afterall phantom is a cruiser hence riders seat much lower to provide comfortability. Im standing @ 1.81m & still manageable.

5) before considering to / not to overhaul, look @ the mileage before purchase or get opinion from trusted bike shop (as for me my technician Dr. Ah koon).

6) honestly, i dont quite trust malaysian bike shop (prior to some bad exp) hence been engaging Dr. Ah koon for any mods, servicing etc. He gives u the pros n cons, troubleshoot any phantom prob well n my overall rating 9 out of 10.

P.S based on my situation n exp, may vary in certain ways w/yours. Hope it'll helps

Yap. Been riding one for the last 5 years. :)

Very cheap. Only need to worry about the engine oil and air filter. Every other year replace the brakes and tyres.

Yes. Parts still available even though the Phantom is not in production anymore because the Honda Tiger is using the same engine parts. :)

Seats have to get 2nd hand ones, but can get new leather covers for it easily. Mirrors, I get the black plastics ones for kups from malaysia Ah Gua Lane! :lol: Brakes, tyres Singapore got, Malaysia can check if the ones for the Jaguar crusier fits the PHantom's rims.

Without pillion no problem. Only thing is if you got crash bars and side boxes like me it can get blocked by the footpegs of other bikes.

With pillion depends on pillion.

Really depends on the condition of the bike. Most are ok one.

Depends on the bikes shop. Simple things like changing engine oil, change blown signal light. no problem.

Now got alot of Phantoms scraping or COE ending soon. Can buy one now then later when COE finished convert to Malaysia plate keep there. :)

Hi, anyone encounter this and repair before?

How much does it cost and where to repair at a trust worthy workshop?

http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z87/stevenlai78/honda_z7no2572.gif

should be around $70-80 for the pair of forks. recommended Planet. Unique oso quite okay.

next tym please read around in the other threads first before creating a new thread. with a little of effort, u shud be able to find ur answers.

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

should be around $70-80 for the pair of forks. recommended Planet. Unique oso quite okay.

next tym please read around in the other threads first before creating a new thread. with a little of effort, u shud be able to find ur answers.

Wah! dont think its so expensive lah, I remember my friend's phantom had the same issue, he went to Lim Ah Boy and got it done for 15$. I guess need to change the fork oil seal and drain out and refill the fork oil.

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

Noted.

Hey, mine had the same problem when I bought it. Went to Lim Ah Boy to change oil seal, the mech told me that the front fork were broken (just rusty, that should be the cause of the damage of the oil seal), then I had all of them replaced there at about 80*2(front fork tube)+40(oil seal), can check should I still have the receipt.

Edit: I think it's a damn expensive replacement...

Hey, mine had the same problem when I bought it. Went to Lim Ah Boy to change oil seal, the mech told me that the front fork were broken (just rusty, that should be the cause of the damage of the oil seal), then I had all of them replaced there at about 80*2(front fork tube)+40(oil seal), can check should I still have the receipt.

Edit: I think it's a damn expensive replacement...

Thanks for the info bro.

But repair at LAB good or not?

Anyone encounter the chain roller guide making noise while riding?

How much does it cost to replace with a new one?

Anyone encounter the chain roller guide making noise while riding?

How much does it cost to replace with a new one?

DIY $5 only. i got mine from Eversuccess at Lembu Rd. are u sure its the roller? not ur chain? try lubing properly 1st.

hi bro, u mean you got the chain roller rubber guide for $5 only? I am sure if the roller cos i used a screw to knock on it and i can feel it was loose and the noise is the same knocking noise i heard while riding.

Will normal bike workshop also sell around the same price?

hi bro, u mean you got the chain roller rubber guide for $5 only? I am sure if the roller cos i used a screw to knock on it and i can feel it was loose and the noise is the same knocking noise i heard while riding.

Will normal bike workshop also sell around the same price?

yah thats the price of the part. nt too sure abt shops. u decide for urself if the price is too high lar. i tink in the region of $10-15 shud be reasonable.

Went to tighten my chain today. Noise reduced by a lot, almost nil. I was wondering could it be the metal portion in the roller guide loosed, that's why my chain rested on it for quite a while and resulted to have the noise.

make sure its not too tight. too tight might have little noise but ur chain n sprocket can wear very quickly and unevenly. the chain shud rest on the roller.

Oh is it? I think the mech shld have adjusted to the correct position. Hope he does a gd job.

dear all PKs, i face a scenario & need your advice.

i replaced DID X-ring chain & HONDA sprockets (new rubber roller as well) in PL_N_T bike shop due to irritating noise (comment from the boss ah ch_ng), thereafter the driving system is really become amazingly silent:cool:

but unfortunately just within 3 days, the chain noise immediately surface.:cry:

went back to bike shop, adjust chain tension, still the noise is there.:sian:

i tried dry teflon chain lube, only last for 1 ride, that's all.

P/S: free rolling (clutch in, close throttle) i can hear noise from chain, sound even louder when riding (just normal riding, no speeding...)

hmm... i wonder which type/brand of chain lube can eliminate the chain noise effectively?

pls advise...

thank you very much!! :)

I use d teflon one as well. I agree it seems to quieten down for awhile only before d noise comes back. Initially was quite becux of d grease dat came wif d chain. Last tym i used maxima chain wax. Seems to last a little longer but be warned of build-up.