He didn't change his front spocket. Just the rear, its nice. His 5th gear can go up to 90 without harsh vibrations. Love it. =) His pick up is not badly sacrificed too. As for torque, to increase it, i believe u've to increase the amount of teeth at the rear, but its not worth it. Good pick up but no speed.

Hi kitten, long time no see. =) Btw, i've just overhauled my engine, running in at the moment. Power of my engine is bad. =( unlike last time.

As for the fuel tank question, i believe its better to fill it up. I've seen the internals of the fuel tank rusting, very ugly.

Hi CJP, nice to see you're still riding around :)

Torque wise basically I did my own carb tuning. You notice if you set the air correction screw to give a richer mixture, your acceleration is improved but less peak horsepower. So just set the correction screw to a balance of performance and economy.

Note that on TA200, its recommend to run -slightly rich- because lean settings may give you some horsepower and fuel efficiency boost but engine will reach its heat capacity very fast and then you lose power after about 1/2 hour of riding.

Basically I got this little tip from fuel injected ECU maps. They are programmed to enrich the mixture when you accelerate, and lean down the mixture when coasting. In the world of Phantom, this is done manually to suit riding conditions lol.

Also agree that the tank should always be kept full, which will minimise rusting. If you have an old bike with rusty tank get a mech to install an inline fuel filter. Cheap and prevents debris getting into the carb (bad).

Please note TA200 front sprocket cannot be changed unless you have metalworking experience. The sprocket housing needs to be slightly cut away to allow use of a bigger front sprocket (17,19, etc). So there is only one rear sprocket to choose from other than the stock 41 (which gives short gearing and is optimised for start stop city riding). Just order from Ah Chong next time you change the chain.

Now, for CJP power issue:

Just overhaul of course no power one. The piston rings need to hone to the cylinder bore before attaining maximum compression. There is some period of break in required.

Mine was broken in last year mototune USA style, so I'm not surprised you could go full power on my bike all year and no mechanical problems.

Gentle break in (the one recommended in most non-race bike manuals) will give a smoother engine that dealers like but won't have the same quick accelerating characteristics as a mototune broken in one.

Preference is up to the end user and of course use of the bike. Who uses Phantom to race Malaysian cubs? :3

Edited by Pandora's Kitten :3
  • Replies 3.6k

Four days not a problem. Warming up of bike also not necessary.

aye, thanks Hydher. Thanks to pandora and civic for your comments as well ! :)

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

Richlum, Just use autosol. You will have to polish your chrome parts regularly, esp after rain or if you go on wet road. Dirt will stick to your bike and water will be trapped with the dirt causing the rust.

Suzuki RG125 Gamma, Suzuki GN125, Suzuki GSX400FW, Suzuki GSXR 400'J', Honda CBX400F, Kawasaki EN400,Suzuki Intruder 750, Yamaha FZX750 Baby VMAX, Daihatsu Charade, Fiat X19 Bertone, Mitsubishi Lancer, Yamaha RXS 115, Honda TA200

Would like to ask. I hav a fault cash card with $7+ inside. Is there anyway I can transfer that amount to my new cash card?

Thx in adcance

cannot la...u jus deregister ur faulty card usin an atm machine n e balance plus ur deposit will be put into ur bank acc

I ride at 70km/hr only...please please dont blow2 at me or overtake me dangerously....wait i change into Incredible Hulk n dont know why my little baby bike will always be ahead of u if u do that

cannot la...u jus deregister ur faulty card usin an atm machine n e balance plus ur deposit will be put into ur bank acc

ic ic,

ty for the info.

was worried $7++ gone liao. :p

Hi guys.

I really need help man. I just change some parts of my bike at unique kaki bukit and now my bike very hard to start when cold and stall very easily. It will have very bad knocking sound when starting the bike if it's cold.

The parts I changed was slide neeedle, diaphragm and the carb joint.

Is there anyone who can help? Cuz it's really very bad to keep stalling at junctions.

sounds like the problem i had. dont touch the carburettor.

bring it to ah chong. planet motorcycle. ask him troubleshoot.

its probably the jetting that got screwed. happened to me also.

how did they solve your problem? does it cost a bomb? cuz i just changed the slide needle, diaphram and carb joint for my bike which cost 165. after that this problem start sia.

maybe the tuning wasnt good... just go down to planet, dont think about e money yet cause if u wait and prolong the problem, the money u gonna spend might be even more... if u faster go and get it check, for all u know, he turn this knob n that knob and in e end, no need to pay anything... :)

hi guys i have a question on heat wrap. does it work on phantom? and what exactly does it do for the bike.

actually my main concern is that i want the exhaust to not be so hot because already a ton of people kenna bike burns from the freaking exhaust from trying to get off from the right side.

how much will it be and where can i get them?

if heat wrap doesnt work im gonna get side boxes and the eagle footrest to prevent innocent legs from suffering. (will that work?????)

hmm, i got burned on the exhaust twice. and thats because i removed the rear passenger footpegs. so yeah, putting the eagle footpegs will help.

can get from koon, LAB or auntie shop.

the purpose of the heat wrap to quote Pandora's Kitten, is to acclerate the exhaust gas flow out. the hotter the exhaust gas, the faster it goes out, leading to a cooler engine and a hotter exhaust.

side boxes will help also, but you pay so much just to prevent getting burned, abit bo hua leh. maybe looking into putting or fabricating heatshield or heat guard la. a piece of metal to block.

i take being burned by exhaust as both my carelessness and part of owning a bike. you know, the whole bike branding owner thing.

i mean for guys thats okay. but i think a total of at least 5 girls kenna already. dont want it to happen again leh. so will the heat wrap prevent heat from travelling out? a.k.a will the exhuast be too hot?

hi guys i have a question on heat wrap. does it work on phantom? and what exactly does it do for the bike.

actually my main concern is that i want the exhaust to not be so hot because already a ton of people kenna bike burns from the freaking exhaust from trying to get off from the right side.

if heat wrap doesnt work im gonna get side boxes and the eagle footrest to prevent innocent legs from suffering. (will that work?????)

educate them to get down frm the left which they should in the 1st place... get a side box if u sun bian need the xtra storage.... most of the time exhaust wrap on phantom only at the head not the end, so dun tink it helps

the exhaust wraps the header...the pipe that attached to the cylinder head/exhaust port of the engine..up to the muffler- the big part of your exhaust pipe where bikers/pillion gets burn when alighting on the wrong side.

it is also possible..but not so nice looking..

call me if you need any assistance with the wrap..

the cost from $6 to $12/m

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer:

i mean for guys thats okay. but i think a total of at least 5 girls kenna already. dont want it to happen again leh. so will the heat wrap prevent heat from travelling out? a.k.a will the exhuast be too hot?

Kmjoe is correct. Always get up and get down from left side. Rider and passenger also. I never got burnt from my own bike but another bike because parked too close and my leg kana the other bike's exhaust while squeezing out. Turns out other bike also a phantom.

Suzuki RG125 Gamma, Suzuki GN125, Suzuki GSX400FW, Suzuki GSXR 400'J', Honda CBX400F, Kawasaki EN400,Suzuki Intruder 750, Yamaha FZX750 Baby VMAX, Daihatsu Charade, Fiat X19 Bertone, Mitsubishi Lancer, Yamaha RXS 115, Honda TA200

well... phantom's exhaust (especially the endcan) is extremely hot... but I myself got used to going up my bike from both sides as a rider or passenger... :thirsty:

Ya have to be reli careful, I haven gt burnt b4 but my gf did..sian.. :(

My gf is Vietnamese so very expert in siam exhaust. Go up and down bike also expert. If i ask her she probably can ride my bike as well.

how did you get so many girls to sit on your bike? can teach me?