s750wp

i would check your throttle cable isnt holding the butterflies open and you are compensating with the mixture screws to lower the revs!

my jets are as std on one of my bikes and the other is jetted heavily!

Out of curiosity what filter are you running? standard or aftermarket (K&N)

http://ntlftp.webhop.org/Join_Us_smilies.gif

GSXR400 Aftermarket parts

Our Gixer which art in heaven

Hallowed be thy ride

Thy wheelies come.

These will be done on earth, as is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread.

And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.

And lead us not into temptation

but deliver us from honda, kawasaki and yamaha

For Gixer is the kingdom

and the power

and the glory

for ever.

Amen

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Originally posted by stripes1976@Feb 26 2006, 09:10 AM

s750wp

i would check your throttle cable isnt holding the butterflies open and you are compensating with the mixture screws to lower the revs!

my jets are as std on one of my bikes and the other is jetted heavily!

Out of curiosity what filter are you running? standard or aftermarket (K&N)

The throttle cable aint holding to the butterfly valve, the rpm stays even I turn the handle left or right.

The bike is running fine in fact it was very powerful as commented by some who came and test my bike. Fuel consumption is normal at 260km+ then hit reserve.

I believe I have a smaller pilot jet size than standard, if I up the pilot jet by one size I would be at 1.5 turns out.

I am running on standard air filter.

By the way heard there is restrictor at the headers for G4? Is it true??

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

yes the headers are very restrctive. The collector and the balance pipes restrict the flow. The standard headers are good for 68hp but not beyond that! :thumb:

Hallowed be thy ride

Thy wheelies come.

For Gixer is the kingdom

and the power

and the glory

for ever.

Amen

Originally posted by paiseh@Feb 25 2006, 08:31 PM

good choice.

http://img395.imageshack.us/img395/8848/4006wz.jpg

GSX 400 (Pic is RR model), click to find out more

But how do i know which is which year model.. I see those in SG all look the same... And some are selling at 1.5k/2k...

Hows the bike overall..?? Heard that it is a problem bike cos very old and need a lot of maintenance... Just dun wanna regret once i bought it..

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Siggy/CrossOver.jpg

|| YAMAHA || HONDA || YAMAHA || YAMAHA ||

Yamaha runs in the blood

mine is a 1990 rlsp! i regretted buying it so much i went and bought another to race!

the colours give you an idea of what age it is!

info on gsxr400 models

if you look on there it gives you the year and model.

the red and black above is a 1991 rm :thumb:

Hallowed be thy ride

Thy wheelies come.

For Gixer is the kingdom

and the power

and the glory

for ever.

Amen

Originally posted by stripes1976@Feb 26 2006, 03:31 PM

mine is a 1990 rlsp! i regretted buying it so much i went and bought another to race!

info on gsxr400 models

Singapore gsxr quite hard to see what model from the colour of the spray as most of our bike here are respray.....

Either see from the number plate or the log card.

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

nb.....mr emily never reply my sms.....me wait until very tired then fall alseep liao!!!!!!!:mad: :mad: :mad:

i mean the outing to yishun dam last night........

http://sp1.yt-thm-a02.yimg.com/image/25/f10/350922777
Originally posted by No_regret@Feb 24 2006, 05:30 PM

This is my ex wife, had similar problem even after less than a month of servicing from guan hoe. Leaking from the same spot. Third carb from the left. First thing Mr Han asked me was did i go malaysia for petrol. Then told me dirty fuel or some rust from the fuel tank might clog up the carb causing the carb to leak. Didnt have that problem after that. But he advise me to install fuel filter.

My first servicing there when i just bought the bike was $400+. Subsequent visits were $300+ when i did valve clearance, cam tensioner, cam chain replacement and some other stuffs. As for K&T i nv go b4, no comments.

hello bro, thanks for the information. i will try to solve the problem then i will post back the details. for now i cannot ride it to the shop cuz it starts to leak immediately after i start engine. gg to tow it in instead. :giddy: :giddy:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

Originally posted by smokingjoe@Feb 26 2006, 04:33 PM

nb.....mr emily never reply my sms.....me wait until very tired then fall alseep liao!!!!!!!:mad: :mad: :mad:

i mean the outing to yishun dam last night........

joe, i think u kana aeroplane by mr emily liao!!! :smile: :smile:

Originally posted by Arcfire@Feb 24 2006, 06:29 PM

Bro, no need so much de.... usually can juz change the one that is leaking.... unless all leaking lah.. den boh pian....

relax ah..... buying 2nd hand bike is lidat one... some lucky some not so lucky. But such wear n tear issues are sure to arise.

come out for kopi some nite den we can discuss more abt it. btw, how come your bike at hall 8 one?

ya man tmr i send it in to shop den see how lor. i understand that old bikes are liddat but then just a bit sian mah. i cannot stand taking bus and train wan.

oh i usually stay in hall 8 wan, i only go back to my room in hall 6 once in a while. :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

just to find out, how many of u guys are using fuel filter on ur GSX400s? how much does it cost? :confused: :confused:

Originally posted by Naz@Feb 25 2006, 10:11 PM

No, I have the filter on my bike bro.

But I wanna go stock. How much could i sell it off for? :confused:

Naz,

just something to note.

you may wanna hold on to yer K&N filter 1st while you try out the stock airfilter.

cos if the prev owner rejetted the carbs to suit the K&N, you may experience plug fouling whilst using the stock one. I experienced this...so switched back to K&N after using the stock filter cos was din wanna go thru the effort to rejet.

cheers,

donut

Originally posted by ozzarhomb@Feb 26 2006, 06:40 PM

just to find out, how many of u guys are using fuel filter on ur GSX400s? how much does it cost? :confused: :confused:

It's not necessary to put fuel filter as the fuel cork already has the filter inside the tank. Unless the fuel cork is leaking due to spoilt internal filter, otherwise juz leave it as it is.

Originally posted by humji07@Feb 26 2006, 08:53 PM

Help people!!! my CDI spoilt! sh*t! Which shops sell cheap new one and roughly how much? Thanx!

hey,

brand new CDIs don come cheap.

Last time I asked, KS was selling new units in the range of $300+ to $400.

Your best alternative is to source for a second hand one. Tink some of the lads here may have spares.

Good luck!

Originally posted by humji07@Feb 26 2006, 08:53 PM

Help people!!! my CDI spoilt! sh*t! Which shops sell cheap new one and roughly how much? Thanx!

try planet cycle at Ubi there. there got a couple of scrapped G4. 100+ - 160 like tt should b no problem. Brand new will cost u atd 400.

Originally posted by stripes1976@Feb 26 2006, 03:31 PM

info on gsxr400 models

Buy from forumers here better or buy from shop better ah???

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Siggy/CrossOver.jpg

|| YAMAHA || HONDA || YAMAHA || YAMAHA ||

Yamaha runs in the blood

Originally posted by CrossOver@Feb 26 2006, 09:55 PM

Buy from forumers here better or buy from shop better ah???

Buy from forum cheaper. Buy from shop will set u $2.5k to (carrot level) $3k.

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

Originally posted by paiseh@Feb 25 2006, 08:31 PM

http://img395.imageshack.us/img395/8848/4006wz.jpg

GSX 400 (Pic is RR model), click to find out more

My bike is looking like the one in the pic now with the remote reservoir at the side, very rare sight in sg, one rider was staring at my rear reservoir curiously just the other day.

Mine is P model, originally there wasn;t a remote rear shock, the shock was from the late katana750. I have to use plastic washer, sand down to the thickness I need, to fit in the shock nicely because the end of the shock is slightly wider than the original G4 shock.

Selling a red rear shock which fit G4 for $20, maybe from Aprillia 250 (there is some italian writing on the label), its very hard. Interested please msg me.

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by Addictive@Feb 26 2006, 08:58 PM

try planet cycle at Ubi there. there got a couple of scrapped G4. 100+ - 160 like tt should b no problem. Brand new will cost u atd 400.

Went planet 2 weeks ago, to look for a used rear brake reservoir, boss told me no more scrap gsxr400 ard. All are exported to indonesia.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by donutBoy@Feb 26 2006, 06:46 PM

Naz,

just something to note.

you may wanna hold on to yer K&N filter 1st while you try out the stock airfilter.

cos if the prev owner rejetted the carbs to suit the K&N, you may experience plug fouling whilst using the stock one. I experienced this...so switched back to K&N after using the stock filter cos was din wanna go thru the effort to rejet.

cheers,

donut

Hi Donut.

Thanks man. Yeap anticipating it. Planning to try change back to stock filter the when I service my carb soon, so at the same time can re-jet the boy back.

See how also, cos times are hard, $ seems invisible these days.

Furthermore, I just changed to a 15W-50 engine oil. Results in my bike has this sputtering sound, and mileage now before reserve is 180 instead of the usual 210. Crap man.. I hope things will be ok if i switch 10W-40.

Any of you experience this before?

And how do you know your sparkplugs need change? (other than touching the headers). Any tell tale signs?

Replies damn appreciated now.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

And how do you know your sparkplugs need change? (other than touching the headers). Any tell tale signs?

take the plugs out and check them. check the colour the gap and the electrode condition! :bouncefire:

Hallowed be thy ride

Thy wheelies come.

For Gixer is the kingdom

and the power

and the glory

for ever.

Amen

Originally posted by Shawn--@Feb 26 2006, 10:50 PM

Buy from forum cheaper. Buy from shop will set u $2.5k to (carrot level) $3k.

buy from shop sure more ex than private owners ma

cos shop will to pay for other operating costs as well. well jus need to make sure the 'operating costs' are not too much or its considered carrot liao...

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!