very interesting deus

thanks for the infomation

happened to me over the weekend as well. was somewhere in tuas industrial area when the traffic light was red. Traffic was only me and one FT on a bike.

waited for nearly 5 minutes when the light went 1 cycle red-green-yellow-then red again

Realized that its not going to turn green in my favour and just too lazy to get off the bike. I looked at the FT and the FT looked at me.

Check for traffic (and TP) at all directions and moved on when the lights are still red.

If i didnt move off, i think i will still be stuck there waiting liao...haha

It aint me officer...The bike is POSSESSED!!:lol:

• Replies 45

same here. but the amusing part is we were just going home from rounding. imagine 6 bikes on top of the strips. The traffic light still red. We spent more than 10 minutes there before my friend went to press the traffic light button.

I think they don't sense the weight. I think its some electro magnetic waves.

Check this out.

Current ride:

http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/4882/img0016c.jpg

2009: Kawasaki KRR 150 FV7809B

2009: Gilera DNA 180 FY4851G

2009: Honda NSR SP150 :cheeky:

No wonder.. That time at my frenz place around 2am, i got trapped at the traffic light for 10mins.. And i'm riding a super four..

Guest nuimos

hi

it is very happy to see this .

to the mostly bike there r used halogen bulbs and other high voltage bulbs.

the bulb is safe and dangerous .

it will be awesome.

keep posting to us daily .

thank you .

nuimos.

halogen bulbs

What the hell are you talking about, Nuimos? Are you in the right thread?

Just an update, I've dismantled 4 hard disk and extract 6 neodymium magnets. They're really strong, put them together, it takes some effort to prises them apart.

Will try sticking to the bottom of the bike and test later.. haha.

Knowing where's the sensors loops will help as well. My bike is mainly plastic less engine, rims and stands.

Edited by shunoski

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

hi

it is very happy to see this .

to the mostly bike there r used halogen bulbs and other high voltage bulbs.

the bulb is safe and dangerous .

it will be awesome.

keep posting to us daily .

thank you .

nuimos.

halogen bulbs

Advertising Spam Fail

What the hell are you talking about, Nuimos? Are you in the right thread?

Just an update, I've dismantled 4 hard disk and extract 6 neodymium magnets. They're really strong, put them together, it takes some effort to prises them apart.

Will try sticking to the bottom of the bike and test later.. haha.

Knowing where's the sensors loops will help as well. My bike is mainly plastic less engine, rims and stands.

how come 4 hdd you get 6 magnets? wouldn't it be like 4 or 8 magnets? interesting. gotta show me!

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

stop your bike exactly on top of the left or right black(or sensor) lines. do not stop on the middle lines.

:clap:
Guest speedy69
Alamak, like that I also have problem. My leg too short to reach for the main stand, too far back. Side stand will cut off my engine, safety feature... :shy:

Try to get a bike which suit ur height. if not e length on ur shorty legs.

To be specific, it's actually called a loop sensor. U see those square outlines in the road. The outlines are actually sealants covering a groove that they cut in the road. They squeezed a twisted pair of wires in that groove that runs around and leads back to a metal detector in the traffic light control box.

You don't have to be in the middle of the box, or on the outlines. Best place to be is near the outlines and with your side stand down.... or any ferrous metal part (iron, steel based). Aluminium and the such are non-ferrous and will not disrupt the magnetic field enough to trigger the sensor.

Bikes with fairings may have difficulties being detected.

You'll be surprised that sometimes those Army 5-tonners also have trouble being detected as they're high off the ground (if the driver don't position the rims near the loop)

Yes! I recall vividly last time when I was a army driver, couldn't get the light to change in my favor and running to press the pedestrian crossing button would not be a good idea since by the time I press and climbed back into the tonner I believe the light would have changed back, haha.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2671/4050024477_774d601ff9_b.jpg
I had somewhat the similar experience but I am not sure if it is because of bike weight that the traffic light didnt turn green in my case.

This was what happened in detail.

I stayed back in school late one day and left school at about 9.30pm i guessed. Was from woodlands and wanted to head home to Bishan. Went up SLE and I exited at Lentor Avenue Exit 3.(decided to go by there because I wanna grab a bite at AMK).

Then the first traffic light after the exit. Red light so i Stopped. I was the only one waiting at the traffic light at first. Then came an AH pek with his Honda Wave beside me, later a Toyota Wish joined on the lane beside me followed by a taxi behind me and followed by a Suzuki B-king.(not burger king uh. haha) I waited for like 10-15 mins waiting for the red light to turn green. I check my temperature meter and it is almost 3 quarter and my balls were already burning sia... managed to talk to that Ah pek saying " whoa so long sia uncle".My hand was already tired of holding the clutch so I put to neutral.

Then the toyota Wish inched out and eventually beat the red light.The B-King followed. The taxi behind me horn to tell me to beat the light.Ah pek beat the red light before me already. Inched out and beat the red light. THE first ever red light I beat since passing my 2B 3 months ago.I had no choice.

What confuse me is that, How come the traffic light didnt turn green even after 5 mins.The Suzuki B-King and the Toyota wish is heavy enough to activate the sensor? The sensor will definitely be in another lane not just the lane me and that ah pek wave only right? So in this case If my bike and your bike is too light to activate the sensor, does that mean it wont activate the RED LIGHT CAMERA sensors?

Interesting ay?

i kenna the same thing also at lentor exit traffic light, when i was working at amk. and it was peak period somore. imagine the long que. lol.

a man with a pen is a man with a plan.

Passed Class 2B (May 09)

Passed Class 3 (Feb 11)

Passed 2A (May 12)

Yamaha X-1 (July 09 - April 11)

Yamaha Nouvo 135 (May 11 - Aug 11)

Yamaha RXZ (Sept 11 - Apr 13)

Yamaha FZ16ST (Apr 13 - ???)

anyway, lazy to read above posts.. our traffic light sensors are triggered by magnetic field.. not the weight of ur vehicle. So attach a few pieces of super strong magnets underneath ur vehicle will solve the problem.. E.g. those taken out from spoilt HDD. not those toy magnet u put on the fridge.

:cheeky::cheeky:
anyway, lazy to read above posts.. our traffic light sensors are triggered by magnetic field.. not the weight of ur vehicle. So attach a few pieces of super strong magnets underneath ur vehicle will solve the problem.. E.g. those taken out from spoilt HDD. not those toy magnet u put on the fridge.

No need so difficult lah, just stop your bike exactly on top of those black line. The metal rim should be able to trigger the sensor, unless your rim is made from plastic.

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

i had this experience the day before yst at punggol area there. had to wait and wait so long before deciding to go press the pedestrian crossing button and soon green lights appear.

"We all have ability. The difference is how we use it."

if u guys wanna put a strong magnet at ur engine, y not put it at ur oil filter, the magnet will 'clean' ur engine oil by attracting fine metal particles to it... jus a suggestion.

1 small thing like an unwanted hdd magnet can do 2 wonders at the same time

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg

try the traffic junction at hill view exit the one below the KTM trail bridge..

& do a timing how long it takes to turn right lolz.. i waiting there for soooo long some time ago that i decided to make a left turn then u-turn & i passed that junction the lights are still in my favour.

2002-2003 -->aprilia Rs125

2002-2005 -->honda Ta200

2003-2008 -->aprilia Rs250

2006-2008 -->honda ta150

15 jan2008 - 5 Apr 2012 --> x8 400ie

5 Apr 2012 - now --> busa the falcon..

Just want to share this amusing experience, but it's not funny when you were me at that point of time.

It was midnight and I was out riding to familiarise with my bike, an automatic cub kia, Suzuki Hayate. I reached a T-junction and stopped behind the Stop line and in middle of the lane.

I saw the lights opposite turned amber and green arrow soon blinks and I know I would be on my way soon.

To my horror, the lights opposite turn green again and this goes on for about 10 minutes as I sit there blur blur.

After 3-4 cycles, I realised something was wrong and looked down. I was on top of the sensor location, and probably my light 105kg bike with a petite and slim me are not heavy enough for the sensor to sense anything worthwhile to stop traffic!

Bo bian, I put down my side stand in middle of the road, (it was midnight, and in a neighbourhood road, no cars on my side of road), went to press traffic light button for pedestrian and sure enough, I got the green light to move on!

BTW, those who wondered why I never beat the lights, the road for oncoming traffic do have cars and my view was blocked by LRT tracks. Sengkang West Avenue.... hehe.

Damn...... :dozed:

Anyone with similar experience?

I had this exp b4. Same thing, put side stand and press the traffic light button. lol

same here same here.. at taman jurong there i also tio before. i waited for 15 mins. till one cab came beside me, then less than 5mins the traffic light changed.. Zzz...

lol. yah. true true.

To be specific, it's actually called a loop sensor. U see those square outlines in the road. The outlines are actually sealants covering a groove that they cut in the road. They squeezed a twisted pair of wires in that groove that runs around and leads back to a metal detector in the traffic light control box.

You don't have to be in the middle of the box, or on the outlines. Best place to be is near the outlines and with your side stand down.... or any ferrous metal part (iron, steel based). Aluminium and the such are non-ferrous and will not disrupt the magnetic field enough to trigger the sensor.

Bikes with fairings may have difficulties being detected.

You'll be surprised that sometimes those Army 5-tonners also have trouble being detected as they're high off the ground (if the driver don't position the rims near the loop)

:thumb::thumb:

Ride Safe.

Does Red Light Camera Uses The Same Metal Detection System??

Like That If You Put Magnets, Higher Chances Of You Being Caught For Beating Red Light!! Am I Right To Say That?