Yo fellow forumers, any one of you here using MaxOnline 6500 or Ultimate but still experience considerably slow Internet access, snail-moving downloads @ speeds of 10kb and below?

I'm using MaxOnline 6500 but access to the Internet can be frustrating slow at times when you need to check for important informations/details. And when I tried to download Winamp player which is only about less than 6mb, it will take more than 15 mins and in the end, the download will "time out" or stall.... Anyone experience this? I'm staying in a HDB flat yet they are saying about this dedicated connection Fat Green Pipe stuff....

Oh by the way, anyone knows how to solve this problem? Used to had 2 PCs at home and I tried hooking it up to a broadband router unscucessfully. Later on one of the PC spoiled and I moved mine to the living room to direct connect to the Internet via the SCV modem. Problem is I can't do that without connecting a cable from the SCV modem to the router then connect a cable from the router to my PC in order for me to access the Net... Anyone knows how to solve this? Or anybody good in such stuff can provide setup? Will be paid for service...

Thanks! Great day to all... :smile:

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough
  • Replies 52

i'm using 6500 too.

i've emailed them a few times.

The speed is way to slow. maybe singnet better i guess.:confused:

Originally posted by Kutrax@Oct 29 2006, 04:26 PM

i'm using 6500 too.

Yup, don't you think the paying $80 a month doesn't justify the speed of the internet access? And my download speed is really hair-pulling frustrating.... Worse, the downloads sometimes doesn't complete at all.... :angry:

Recently newspaper got people complain about Singnet also... :sian:

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

well .. for starhub i think must see timing ...

cos the users share the "fat green pipe" if lesser den faster bah ...

haiZz .. sometimes during evening .. which i think is peak hours ...

d/loading time can be :nono: wait till :faint:

:help: :help:

THE ONLY EASY DAY WAS YESTERDAY

Originally posted by Kutrax@Oct 29 2006, 04:26 PM

i'm using 6500 too.

what good english! amazing!

Originally posted by newbie@Oct 30 2006, 12:09 AM

what good english! amazing!

a powder-full ang mo is not how u write, or rather i should say how u express it so tat e reader can understand.

here's silly-pore, we practise singlish.

ya maybe newbie english damn powdefull.

So now must type properly liao. if not teacher scold. :D

Originally posted by LollyPoP@Oct 30 2006, 12:44 AM

a powder-full ang mo is not how u write, or rather i should say how u express it so tat e reader can understand.

here's silly-pore, we practise singlish.

kutrax like to correct my english in other threads mah.. so i must do the same lor.

if im not wrong, starhub puts a cap on traffic like bittorrent, etc.

VTX 1800 R2 - My Red AXE

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1277/1364068165_c2c3d6b1e3.jpg

ENDLESS ROADS ~ TAKE THEM SLOW

Originally posted by Lion@Oct 29 2006, 01:10 PM

Oh by the way, anyone knows how to solve this problem? Used to had 2 PCs at home and I tried hooking it up to a broadband router unscucessfully. Later on one of the PC spoiled and I moved mine to the living room to direct connect to the Internet via the SCV modem. Problem is I can't do that without connecting a cable from the SCV modem to the router then connect a cable from the router to my PC in order for me to access the Net... Anyone knows how to solve this? Or anybody good in such stuff can provide setup? Will be paid for service...

Thanks! Great day to all... :smile:

After u connect yr modem directly to yr computer, u need to do some set up at yr "internet connection" after which, REBOOT yr modem. Should be ok now.

Nike - Just do it!

Originally posted by R3sistor@Oct 30 2006, 09:44 PM

After u connect yr modem directly to yr computer, u need to do some set up at yr "internet connection" after which, REBOOT yr modem. Should be ok now.

After my friend reconfigure the settings and such, internet access speed has improved...

But the goddamn downloads is still NOT! Wanna download one simple Winamp player also cannot!

well what the war btwn singnet vs starhub is still on fast speed in local WAN... overseas connection still dependent on the other party isnt it. im happy sticking to 512k for now :D

I am The Great Cornholio!

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

I using 4k starhub,so far mine is not lagging and the internet speed also quite good.But when they say upgrade frm 2k to 4k,that one like no diff,the speed is still same as 2k.MayB its only upgradtion for uploading speeds.Which is good for servers or home network types.

BTW i use a wifi card for internet.

threadstart:mayB ur area got alot of starhub internet users.So shared connection speed becomes low:giddy:

http://www.parrotparrot.com/stopcruelty/cruelty1.gif

try direct connection instead of wireless... does help a bit.. but still slow.... got kinda pissed with the speed for the amount paid.. downgraded to singnet 512kbps.. feels almost the same during peak hours...

'02~'13 ::: RXK, SP, Daystar, TA150, S4 VtecII, Nissan March, VtecIII, R6, Dr200SEY, VerS, F650GS, HayabusaY2K, Honda Fit, Gilera Runner180FXR, toyota vios, DR200SES, BlackMax

NOW ::: DR200SE, Versys, Mitsubishi Lancer

Originally posted by josean@Nov 1 2006, 01:13 AM

u can try qala

What's Qala? Care to share more about it? :smile:

i using 6500 also.. find that internet is slow.. damn.. not worth the $ i think.. starhub is 1 sv dedicated to each building.. unlike singnet/pacific it's 1 unit 1 dedicated..

Guys, if ya using your modem for quite a long time, its better to check your modem whether izzit the problem. I've requested a change of modem from Starhub and its much more better. Including downloads.... :smile:

Hahaha...dedicated to 1 unit for Singnet? Their marketing guys have done a good job in convincing. I was once a 3500 user on Singnet. The speed is crap to the core. StarHub 6500 is the plan I am on now.

Anyway, where are you downloading winamp? if you have the web address, do a tracert. Look at where the delays are and post back in this forum....

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_jsDmFPg_Qm8/TKHV3JmJX_I/AAAAAAAABQc/l3AA9IAbbtI/s1600/Scan_01_Biker%2520Mice%2520from%2520Mars_8x10_RGB_BG_TX%2520copy.gif