Originally posted by shoei@Mar 24 2004, 08:08 PM

i wonder how is it....we share bike one mahz.... i miss my TLr....since many weeks haven rode it and i would say i still pefer the twin engine..

how??wanna u wanna come for the outing??

http://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif

>>>>http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gifNo offence guyz.juz for the laughterhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gif<<<<

• Replies 5.6k

Originally posted by zx4@Mar 24 2004, 08:14 PM

how??wanna u wanna come for the outing??

when??friday ar??i got some friends gg second link on friday ard 9+pm.meeting at GP esso.hows?

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by shoei@Mar 24 2004, 08:16 PM

when??friday ar??i got some friends gg second link on friday ard 9+pm.meeting at GP esso.hows?

Yoz...fellow Tillers.....wanna meet for kopi this Fri(26/03) or Sat(27/03)???

Can meet and check out each others bike...Xchange pointers too..

Place: Jln kayu or the prata shop near NUS:hungry: ..or anyone has gotta better place..

time: 2130

All are welcome to suggest time and place...then i will confirm it tonite..

http://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif

>>>>http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gifNo offence guyz.juz for the laughterhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gif<<<<

Originally posted by zx4@Mar 24 2004, 08:33 PM

Yoz...fellow Tillers.....wanna meet for kopi this Fri(26/03) or Sat(27/03)???

Can meet and check out each others bike...Xchange pointers too..

Place: Jln kayu or the prata shop near NUS:hungry: ..or anyone has gotta better place..

time: 2130

All are welcome to suggest time and place...then i will confirm it tonite..

Sunday nite, I onz.

I'll be werking at IMH ( Buangkok View) which is like 10 mins away from JK.

BUT.....

I'm gonna be on my backup TA150. So sorry on this one. :sweat:

Gimme a call on 94376964.

Oh, yeah, I'm back!!!!

2 days in Malacca and I'm already homesick. So decided to cut short the holiday and come back.

Guys, I understand for TL, fixing sliders mean cutting a hole into the fairing.

Somebody came up with an interesting alternative on the TLPlanet forum...

http://www.gwfweb.com/cycles/pages/rhencull.htm

Some pics:

http://www.gwfweb.com/cycles/rhencull/rhen-04.jpg

http://www.gwfweb.com/cycles/rhencull/rhen-12.jpg

BUT....

Its very ex. 119 British pounds. That's abt 300++ before shipping.

So, I was wondering... is it possible to fabricate a good pair brackets similar to those shown in the pic and get a pair of Motovation sliders to use on them? Good quality sliders without having to cut the fairing....

How much is the estimated price to get Seng Kwang to fabricate such a bracket?

maybe print the pic out and go seng kwang check it out...by the looks of it shouldn't be that expensive lah...to me its simply reinforced metal with its corners further enforced with metal and two holes drilled on top of it...:smile: :smile:

but i dunnoe maybe intensive workmanship is required...

how about the specifications??isit provided?

:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

yo...kish...u free to come??

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by zx4@Mar 24 2004, 07:19 PM

i couldn't find silicone but i found a kinda sealant also gas n oil resistant from D.I.Y shop....The RTV silicone that u said isit a brand called RTV ??

RTV silicone is the product, Brand is Loctite.

Eh, can make the pic in your sig smaller or not leh... makes the whole thread damn long and hard to see leh...

Guest Reddevil76

Guys, please surf around more at TLplanet. Gary Foreman who set up the site which Wildcard found the pics, has sold his TLR and moved on. TLplanet is more updated.

There are two types of no-cut sliders for the TLR. Bike Design and Motostyle.

The ones you see are Bike Design ones.

A number of TLR owners have used and report the brackets snapping off at the slightest impact. The last straw came when Doug (a very active member on TLplanet) reported the brackets developing cracks itself from the vibrations of the bike. It doesn't even need a fall to break!

As for Motostyle ones, they are tried and test. I've a spill on it before. The bracket bent, but didn't break. It won't save your fairing, but saves your frame, radiator, and everything else. Which is what frame sliders are suppose to do anyway.

Only drawback is that the material they use for the sliders is light and plasticky, like our local Mototech sliders. If you decide to go this route, I suggest buying the set, then replacing the sliders with Motovation ones, which I highly recommend as the materials they use are indeed of high standards.

Mototstyle sliders can be ordered from SmokenTLR on TLplanet for US$100 a set.

I've also fixed Motovation sliders on day 1 of my owner ship, then decided to patch up the holes and switched to Motostyle. The motovation one cost half of what I paid for the Motostyles, and some more include installation at Unity.

Thinking back, I really don't think it's really that big a deal to cut two miserable holes. With value of the TLR dropping so rapidly, two holes or not would not make any difference to your resale value anyway. So just cut it.

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Mar 25 2004, 09:45 AM

Guys, please surf around more at TLplanet. Gary Foreman who set up the site which Wildcard found the pics, has sold his TLR and moved on. TLplanet is more updated.

There are two types of no-cut sliders for the TLR. Bike Design and Motostyle.

The ones you see are Bike Design ones.

A number of TLR owners have used and report the brackets snapping off at the slightest impact. The last straw came when Doug (a very active member on TLplanet) reported the brackets developing cracks itself from the vibrations of the bike. It doesn't even need a fall to break!

As for Motostyle ones, they are tried and test. I've a spill on it before. The bracket bent, but didn't break. It won't save your fairing, but saves your frame, radiator, and everything else. Which is what frame sliders are suppose to do anyway.

Only drawback is that the material they use for the sliders is light and plasticky, like our local Mototech sliders. If you decide to go this route, I suggest buying the set, then replacing the sliders with Motovation ones, which I highly recommend as the materials they use are indeed of high standards.

Mototstyle sliders can be ordered from SmokenTLR on TLplanet for US$100 a set.

I've also fixed Motovation sliders on day 1 of my owner ship, then decided to patch up the holes and switched to Motostyle. The motovation one cost half of what I paid for the Motostyles, and some more include installation at Unity.

Thinking back, I really don't think it's really that big a deal to cut two miserable holes. With value of the TLR dropping so rapidly, two holes or not would not make any difference to your resale value anyway. So just cut it.

Good pointer there.

But for curiousity's sake, is fabricating a bracket here any better?

I understand that most of the impact is on the bracket itself. It has to be quite strong to be able to withstand an impact. As you've said, bent but not totally break off.

Still thinking of a fabricated pair with Motovation sliders.....

Juz read from Tlplanet.com about using Loctite....guyz that posted their comments used the blue loctite almost anyway....

But isit the Red loctite better than the blue..read in the forum that the blue is better as in recommended...i myself got a red one but i read the info on the packaging and it says that the red ones are high strength and the blue ones is the medium strength...

So which is actually better the Blue or the red?

i had motivation sliders on my bike too...just drill the damn fairings...wont cost much

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

i am int but more in the malysia pump pet. if the TL all can be present n knows the way then should be good.

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by WildCard@Mar 24 2004, 11:20 PM

Some pics:

BUT....

So, I was wondering... is it possible to fabricate a good pair brackets similar to those shown in the pic and get a pair of Motovation sliders to use on them? Good quality sliders without having to cut the fairing....

I work in a factory similer to sengkwang .....

trust me that bracker WILL break off in an impact ....

even break off when the bike topples over ...

i have study that pic .....

that slider is very strong ....

but the bracket is not ...

they even use the wrong material for that bracket.....:goodluck:

that kind of material they use is easy for them to make but not very strong

WORSE the 2 ALU spacer will even snap off

wait till i get my TLR and i will fabricate my own brackets and trust me it WILL be very strong :cheeky:

i can't do it for u guys coz i don't know the position of the holes on the frame:cheeky:

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by zx4@Mar 25 2004, 04:32 PM

Juz read from Tlplanet.com about using Loctite....guyz that posted their comments used the blue loctite almost anyway....

But isit the Red loctite better than the blue..read in the forum that the blue is better as in recommended...i myself got a red one but i read the info on the packaging and it says that the red ones are high strength and the blue ones is the medium strength...

So which is actually better the Blue or the red?

Bro, Loctite threadlocker is threadlocker. Rtv silicone is Rtv silicone.

When you say blue and red, I very scared you actually bought the threadlocker. Loctite is the company, but they got alot of products.

You sure it's silicone that you bought? If yes, then go ahead and use it lor. If still leak, then change to blue. Cured silicone can be peeled off easily.

Originally posted by WildCard@Mar 24 2004, 11:20 PM

Some pics:

BUT....

PLS don't :gun: :gun: :gun: me

i jus trying to say what i know if u all think i'm bluffing u all pls skip this ...

ok if they say the brackets is strong ....then how they bend the brackets ....:confused:

i can even tell u where is the weakest point on the bracket ..

it is between the screw and the first triangle ...the second and the tird triangle is strong ...

the material they use , claim to be alu

but alu that can be bended is not very strong ( grade 5052 and below )

if it can be bended , what makes u think that it will not bend when the bike falls ....

but if the material they use is steel ....

steel is strong but after welding the 2 triangles on , the steel is getting soft ....

( that y they use SPOT WELD on cars )

but if they use CAST ALU it should be very strong ..(some bikes frame use cast alu ) but cast alu is very ex to make ..

i'm not trying to show off here but just shareing will u all what i know ...

i make more brackets then u see bikes on the road .......( just joking ):sweat: :sweat: :sweat: :sweat:

Aiyah, bro,

think we all know tat when Red pointed out the product had some bad reviews overseas.

Hehehhe.....

still my questions goes unanswered...

Any ideas if making a more stronger bracket locally is more feasible? The typical costs?

hey Mr Wild card ur phatom????

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Yo Reds..dont worry man...i know that Rtv silicone is for the fuel pump thing and Threadlock is the stuff u apply when u screw a nut into something to increase it tightness and to prevent it from loosening by itself due to vibrations...hehehe:smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :thumb:

need a clarification..

RTV silicone is a product by Loctite?? :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile:

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by zx4@Mar 27 2004, 05:01 PM

need a clarification..

RTV silicone is a product by Loctite?? :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile:

There are different brands, but the one I used was from Loctite.

wah lau saw so many TLR at motor sales. pity looks lonely. needs some doing up.

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by kish_garfield@Mar 27 2004, 09:04 PM

wah lau saw so many TLR at motor sales. pity looks lonely. needs some doing up.

ya man..that time went there, tried to ask them to sell me the muffler heat shields..but they dun wan...

but the condition of the TL as in appearence seems quite dirty..although performance and engine condition is the main thing..

Quite a turn off...