Will be getting my Version S from a bike shop in about a week later.

Other than the headlight, signal, horn, what else do i have to check before riding off the bike?

During the 1 month warranty, is there any thing that i will have to look out for?

Should i just wack engine to see if the engine is good?

• Replies 18.1k

Will be getting my Version S from a bike shop in about a week later.

Other than the headlight, signal, horn, what else do i have to check before riding off the bike?

During the 1 month warranty, is there any thing that i will have to look out for?

Should i just wack engine to see if the engine is good?

Yah..go wack..listen to abnormal sound in engine..see how the bike handdle and behave..and check tyre life and coolant colour and level. Make sure ur meter is working as it shud be.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

I just bought a version S from a nice gentleman that was laid up for 4 months. i would like to ask for advice for a couple of things:

Are there things that i must do immediately since the bike was hardly used for the past few months, such as change engine oil etc. (my first bike and i have absolutely no idea)? and Should i bring the bike for servicing?

The bike has been performing well but there are some noises disturbing me. First there is screeching coming from the brakes. Then when i depress the brake handle there is tapping noise. Anyone know how i can resolve these?

Thanks pple in advance!

Yah..go wack..listen to abnormal sound in engine..see how the bike handdle and behave..and check tyre life and coolant colour and level. Make sure ur meter is working as it shud be.

How do i check the tyre life?

I only know to look out for tread wear.

If the tyre has not been use for a long time, it will also spoil right?

How do i check for coolant?

What colour should it be and at what level?

I just bought a version S from a nice gentleman that was laid up for 4 months. i would like to ask for advice for a couple of things:

Are there things that i must do immediately since the bike was hardly used for the past few months, such as change engine oil etc. (my first bike and i have absolutely no idea)? and Should i bring the bike for servicing?

The bike has been performing well but there are some noises disturbing me. First there is screeching coming from the brakes. Then when i depress the brake handle there is tapping noise. Anyone know how i can resolve these?

Thanks pple in advance!

Suggest u have the brake caliper and brake system service in a reputable bike shop. Probably its brake dust harden over a period of time and got trapped in the piston and pads area and the sound comes when its wet.

How do i check the tyre life?

I only know to look out for tread wear.

If the tyre has not been use for a long time, it will also spoil right?

How do i check for coolant?

What colour should it be and at what level?

Tyre tread is tyre wear and tear life. Look for crack etc..means the tyre rubeer compound is harden. For coolant..below the seat on the right hand side panel cover. Have to open both up and see the plastic reserve tank..make sure its not rusty brown or very clear. Coolant comes in green..red, pink etc..but not Milo colours. Squeeze all the coolant rubber hoses and make sure they are not hard and have "cracking" feel..if it does..its rust inside and the radiator is bad.

I have the same issue, my problem is my chain. Some part of my chain has harden. I replaced it and all those sound is gone.

Went to my mechanic and its the chain. Tension no equal so some parts tight, some loose, so need to change it.

Thanks again for your help.

2010 CB 400 Spec II

hi, i just bought a version s. seems my bike dies off sometimes at the traffic light. and when i went to my mechanic he say the engine is not good. pipe below the tank there comes out white smoke and my pipe too. can anyone help me with this? i need advice.

"..pipe below the tank :..cold be the header gasket is gone. If there is white smoke..likely the piston oil ring gone liao. If change..better to change the set of rings for each piston.

sori. its not the pipe below the tank. below the tank i mean. then what i shud do? my mechanic suggest he open up my caburetor and check the needles to see whats wrong. he also the header like rabak.

Hmm ok..he's giving u the BS!..what carbs's needle has to do wif dat???...its just your engine block head tubing (eo vapour grease bleeder) not properly plug into its outlet..supposingly to airbox I think. The tube may been cut for spare part useage. Saw one one like dat b4. U can find another tube and plug it or just plugged up the tube hole end with anything. I believe there aretwoof this tube. Take off ur tank and see where the other one is link to.

Btw..nothinh to do with ur bike dying off sometimes. "Sometimes" is not a problem yet..if "everytime"..then something has to be done.

i dont really know how to do it. cos i'm new. could u help me with this pek? or maybe i could meet u and u cuold check my bike condition?

Can..no problem..free only tomorrow morning at about 10.30am.

now not free ah?

U free I'm of course not.

Suggest u have the brake caliper and brake system service in a reputable bike shop. Probably its brake dust harden over a period of time and got trapped in the piston and pads area and the sound comes when its wet.

Thanks Ah pek! i'll probably do that. Would you know how much it is likely to cost and should i service other things as well since i'm there?

Hmm ok..he's giving u the BS!..what carbs's needle has to do wif dat???...its just your engine block head tubing (eo vapour grease bleeder) not properly plug into its outlet..supposingly to airbox I think. The tube may been cut for spare part useage. Saw one one like dat b4. U can find another tube and plug it or just plugged up the tube hole end with anything. I believe there aretwoof this tube. Take off ur tank and see where the other one is link to.

Btw..nothinh to do with ur bike dying off sometimes. "Sometimes" is not a problem yet..if "everytime"..then something has to be done.

i had this problem too.. its the hose tat link to ur airbox, it for greasing the filter i guess.. mine cant even plug in and torn.. fjt or chong aik doesnt keep spares.. maybe boon siew.. dun how much will it cost.. btw wats the main purpose? very important or not?

Aiyoh!...why you wanna do such thing?...TP hear oso boe_tong..guarantee your pocket oso kenna tong by TP! You want lough..told u guys b4..go fix a power amp with mic near the exhaust and hide loud speaker under your seat..got volume control and can switch off when see tP on the road or when go VICOM inspection. ;0)

Super idea for those love loud exhaust sound:)

i had this problem too.. its the hose tat link to ur airbox, it for greasing the filter i guess.. mine cant even plug in and torn.. fjt or chong aik doesnt keep spares.. maybe boon siew.. dun how much will it cost.. btw wats the main purpose? very important or not?

Can just buy from any car spare park shop..just a tube and sell at minimum 1 meter or less. Few $s only. The tube is just for "venting" out engine and crank case eo vapour..just like a chimney and ur airbox is a "collector"..there is a hole for u to remove excessive eo from ur airbox. Just leave the tube unplug is oso okay lah.

hi, just want to ask for some help to identify the model of my bike. i am not too sure if its version s, r or pb1. owner told me that it was pb1. but its does not have a chrome header nor the flat end exhuast. its the normal version s or r one. it also do not have brembo front brakes. not sure if it was changed or what. its manufacture in 1995 but registered in 1996. any advise? thanks in advance.

Can't tell bekuz there are ppl who change their PB1 stainless steel full 4-1 system to end can type. There is another way of looking at it is by the carbs unless it has been replace before. There is a black small bax like unit attcahed to it on the right side..made of plastic and a pair of wires running towards the main wiring hardness. If you have that..its Version "S".

hi thanks for the reply.the exhuast is a 4-2-1. the speedo have a analoge fuel guage in the center.i wil try take a look at it. one more other question. my bike when cold will always die off if i dont open the throttle slightly. when warn it idle at about 1.3-1.5k rpm.if i adjust my idling, my bike will proberly be at 1.8k-2k rpm. which would be high. is there any other things i can do? and where is the idling control? must i really remove the tank to to it?

Ur description of the meter setup is of those Ver S and PB1. Version usually don't have fuel gauge but temperature gauge instead.

Wif regards to idling..its probably carbs issue. Check if ur air filter is clean and not clogged with grits etc. Starting as per ur description..its normal for old bikes (even some new when idling is adjust too low)..buit its the 1.-2k that is of concern. The idling screw is in between the centre inner carbs hanging upside down. Its like a 'flower' castle like big screw head. Looking upwards clockwise increase idle..lowering is the other way round. No..don't have to take off tank. For non Vtec..the hand can reach.