Ah pek, if i wanna replace my handle bars, how much would 1 cost? Cos had an accident before and it's now dented and my side where they mount the stablizers are spoit. Thanks a lot.

• Replies 18.1k

  xiaobanz said:
Ah pek, if i wanna replace my handle bars, how much would 1 cost? Cos had an accident before and it's now dented and my side where they mount the stablizers are spoit. Thanks a lot.

The last time I replaces mine cost about $128 (parts only PB1)...labour I won't know coz I DIY.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

  tiku said:
ah pek can explain wats tank/fuel cock ?? need to drain out the fuel to carry out that? that time my first bike stall, the mech gt flip up the tank and remove the fuel filter and blow blow.. anything to do with that? go whr service better? ah fok?

thanks for the sharing bro.. may i know whr u service ur bike at? keep us update.. mine is spec2 btw... wats fuel petcock??

very long ago.. i think one pin 10 dollar??

Petcock is the thingy at the bottle of ur tank where fuel flows to the carbs. Yah...wash tank is what u described..any shop can do it..but its easy, can DIY. How much they charge I won't know.

hello guys..been riding my version s for close to 2 years now, all my oil change with ah pek and highly recommended!

just want to share something in case you guys kanna the same situation in future, got some reference..

My bike always have an idling problem..meaning in the morning, when i start it will nv idle, always dies off..been told its carb tuning prob but i choose not to believe..so look into other areas like spark plugs, etc.. all no help.. finally i also dono why i do it but went for carb wash and the mech also replaced the 4 pc of rubber "seal" kinda thingy..total for $130 inclusive of wash..

End result -> bike able to idle now..it really did help!

another i like to share is basically i went overseas and did not ride for 3 weeks.. came back battery seems week and couldnt start.. intermitently can start on good days and some days cant so i gave up and finally wanna change a batt so it works. went to a bikeshop and told them my problem, they said might be rectifier / coil issue..

but before i could say check or not, they already went ahead and dismantle the rectifier to check, found out the rectifier melted!

he also check the coil.. used some light bulb to check and i see from the circuitry that only the "forward" lights the bulb, "behind" bulb doesn't light up.. so he said coil is affected as well..

Finally he suggested to change to a 2nd hand one..but anyway the end result is i changed a new rectifier, 2nd hand coil and he did some wiring.. these cost $280.. not sure if its carrot, maybe someone can advise and then we can share in case other encounter this again..

http://www.keithurbanfans.net/signatures/TGHSsiggycopy.jpg
  Ah Pek said:
Petcock is the thingy at the bottle of ur tank where fuel flows to the carbs. Yah...wash tank is what u described..any shop can do it..but its easy, can DIY. How much they charge I won't know.

hmm.. petcock onli applies to non vtec bike rite ? nw i can feel like the bike not responsive... jus nw go racewerk ask, mech suggest me to put there 1 day for him to test, but im still considering..

WTS givi e16 smile box, with led @$20

interested party , do PM me..

  tiku said:
hmm.. petcock onli applies to non vtec bike rite ? nw i can feel like the bike not responsive... jus nw go racewerk ask, mech suggest me to put there 1 day for him to test, but im still considering..

Same name applied lah..than call it fuel cock lor.

  tiku said:

Same lah..than call it fuel cock lor. Btw..have u check ur vaccum tube to the fuel cock..iszit loose or puncture with cracks at the both end? This is where its pumping thru engine suction to operate ur fuel flow from the fuel cock.

Also check the carbs rubber ductings to the inlet of the engine (like what ghs posted above in sharing about engine stall..see if any of the four is crack due to hardening and that the circlips are tight. If there is cracks or loose locking..air rushes in and kills ur combustion.

Edited by Ah Pek

  Ah Pek said:
If ur fuel pet kock is clogged..just take it out and clean by unscrewing the big nut that attached it to the base of the tank. Be sure fuel level is extremely low and tilt the tank vertical.

Hi ah pek, thanks for sharing the knowledge. I dun know if it is clogged or the diaghram kaput. The petcock is replaced. After replaced, it is riding properly after 3 rides.

  tiku said:

thanks for the sharing bro.. may i know whr u service ur bike at? keep us update.. mine is spec2 btw... wats fuel petcock??

I did it at ah fook. Fuel petcock is the thing on your left bottom of your fuel tank. U use it to turn on fuel or turn to reserve tank when no petrol.

  HondaF3VJ said:
Hi ah pek, thanks for sharing the knowledge. I dun know if it is clogged or the diaghram kaput. The petcock is replaced. After replaced, it is riding properly after 3 rides.

Good for u bro..this is just one of the problem..some others may be something else.

  Ah Pek said:
The last time I replaces mine cost about $128 (parts only PB1)...labour I won't know coz I DIY.

Haha ok no probz.. I see that after market ones are cheaper then originals but of cuz, originals are must better as they are specially catered for the bike. There are some options about after market that i don't like is the bar is wider and lower and i prefer the orginal ones but a bit higher.. hmm.

ghs said:
hello guys..been riding my version s for close to 2 years now, all my oil change with ah pek and highly recommended!

just want to share something in case you guys kanna the same situation in future, got some reference..

My bike always have an idling problem..meaning in the morning, when i start it will nv idle, always dies off..been told its carb tuning prob but i choose not to believe..so look into other areas like spark plugs, etc.. all no help.. finally i also dono why i do it but went for carb wash and the mech also replaced the 4 pc of rubber "seal" kinda thingy..total for $130 inclusive of wash..

End result -> bike able to idle now..it really did help!

another i like to share is basically i went overseas and did not ride for 3 weeks.. came back battery seems week and couldnt start.. intermitently can start on good days and some days cant so i gave up and finally wanna change a batt so it works. went to a bikeshop and told them my problem, they said might be rectifier / coil issue..

but before i could say check or not, they already went ahead and dismantle the rectifier to check, found out the rectifier melted!

he also check the coil.. used some light bulb to check and i see from the circuitry that only the "forward" lights the bulb, "behind" bulb doesn't light up.. so he said coil is affected as well..

Finally he suggested to change to a 2nd hand one..but anyway the end result is i changed a new rectifier, 2nd hand coil and he did some wiring.. these cost $280.. not sure if its carrot, maybe someone can advise and then we can share in case other encounter this again..

Yours quite cheap le.. Cos my magnetic coil also burnt off previously when i just went into the 2nd year. it cost me $560 to replace everything (rectifier, magnetic coil, battery). If i'm don't remember wrongly, new magnetic coil cost $320, recifier about $160, battery about 80. Should be around this range. I duno if you got carrotted but i think the price should be ok..

  xiaobanz said:
Haha ok no probz.. I see that after market ones are cheaper then originals but of cuz, originals are must better as they are specially catered for the bike. There are some options about after market that i don't like is the bar is wider and lower and i prefer the orginal ones but a bit higher.. hmm.

Yours quite cheap le.. Cos my magnetic coil also burnt off previously when i just went into the 2nd year. it cost me $560 to replace everything (rectifier, magnetic coil, battery). If i'm don't remember wrongly, new magnetic coil cost $320, recifier about $160, battery about 80. Should be around this range. I duno if you got carrotted but i think the price should be ok..

Coil - $280 to $320 (depends on Vtec or non)...rectifier - $85 -$125 (Japan or Thailand) Battery - Yuasa BS9 - $75 (non Vtec)...Yuasa 10s $160 - $180 (for Vtec use)

  Ah Pek said:
Same lah..than call it fuel cock lor. Btw..have u check ur vaccum tube to the fuel cock..iszit loose or puncture with cracks at the both end? This is where its pumping thru engine suction to operate ur fuel flow from the fuel cock.

Also check the carbs rubber ductings to the inlet of the engine (like what ghs posted above in sharing about engine stall..see if any of the four is crack due to hardening and that the circlips are tight. If there is cracks or loose locking..air rushes in and kills ur combustion.

thanks 4 the advise ah pek.. i haven send to bike shop.. tmr will... i actually changed the 4 jet needle and rubber thingy the previous time i wash my carb.. think tmr bring to racewerk and put my there 1 day over there.. hai

WTS givi e16 smile box, with led @$20

interested party , do PM me..

  CBR888 said:
Ah Pek can CBR400 coil rectifier fit our Ver S??

Not sure if u ar asking about th "coil" or "rectifier"...but rectifier is common (check the connector) and coil I won't know..never experience b4.

  Steven_7115 said:
Hi , ah Pek

Fairing left and right s4 how much can get !

I ask powerstar shop is 80.00 no install , this price is ok or not ?

Thank you !

---

I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=1.329998,103.893961

Sorry I won't know and I don't recommend such thing on an S4...traps heat.

just to share some experience bros out there................

curently riding s4 ver r...bike already coming to 20yrs old.....been riding for 7 years alrd.......

.this thing never happen before...except for the normal battery and rectifier problem

bike stalled half way to work....engine just keep on decresing and stop....not able to start....

1st time....tow change battery,ok....after 3 days

2nd time....tow do some wiring, change harness to the rectifier, ok......after 2 days

3rd time....get cdi and diy, ok......after 5 days

4th time....tow change the spark plug coil and do grounding, ok

all the above mention problem due to short circuit, as inform by the trusted mechanic....he say bike kena virus...

so far so good, been riding for 5 days, seems to be ok and hopefully nothing else....cannot tahan already....

is the bike already too old or just my bad luck, or due to poor maintanance.....

  edyz said:
just to share some experience bros out there................

curently riding s4 ver r...bike already coming to 20yrs old.....been riding for 7 years alrd.......

.this thing never happen before...except for the normal battery and rectifier problem

bike stalled half way to work....engine just keep on decresing and stop....not able to start....

1st time....tow change battery,ok....after 3 days

2nd time....tow do some wiring, change harness to the rectifier, ok......after 2 days

3rd time....get cdi and diy, ok......after 5 days

4th time....tow change the spark plug coil and do grounding, ok

all the above mention problem due to short circuit, as inform by the trusted mechanic....he say bike kena virus...

so far so good, been riding for 5 days, seems to be ok and hopefully nothing else....cannot tahan already....

is the bike already too old or just my bad luck, or due to poor maintanance.....

if i were you, there will be 2 plans.

Plan A = Change bike, less problem.

Plan B = if still love the current bike, push to shop, change everything that has not changed under your 7 years of care. Due to singapore have a irratic rainy forecast. Old bike will tend to be the victim due to the wear and tear issues esp electric. Rather than solve 1 issue and wait for another to pop up, redo everything and have less worry.

I am always seen on the left lane hogging the road. :D

need advice..

this morning when i start up my bike, i noticed a few drip of oil below my bikes.

i searched for the source and found that a pipe/line connecting(the joint) to the side stand is dripping oil..

whats the pipe/line for? is it engine oil leaks?

"When i get sad, i stop being sad and be awesome instead. True Story." Barney Stinson

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Jordanspy_Siggy.jpg

  jordanspy said:
need advice..

this morning when i start up my bike, i noticed a few drip of oil below my bikes.

i searched for the source and found that a pipe/line connecting(the joint) to the side stand is dripping oil..

whats the pipe/line for? is it engine oil leaks?

What oil is 4T oil or petrol oil ?

Sometime is chain oil ,to many u put come out from there !

Better check yr engine oil lever !

If u scare bring to shop and ask !

---

I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=1.322570,103.912132

hi!! i am riding a super four version s!!! may i know what kind of spark plug should i change? my bike shop ask me to get the ows spark plug? he say last longer? or should i get normal 1 will do?

  angwenjie89 said:
hi!! i am riding a super four version s!!! may i know what kind of spark plug should i change? my bike shop ask me to get the ows spark plug? he say last longer? or should i get normal 1 will do?

Lucky u asked..Denso U24FER9. No need iridium unless u are riding continous long distance trip like to Thailand.

  Ah Pek said:
Lucky u asked..Denso U24FER9. No need iridium unless u are riding continous long distance trip like to Thailand.

Jalan besar ah boy sell DENSO IRIDIUM $12.00x4=48.00

NGK IRIDIUM never ask no idea No more than 40

I bought yesterday !

Pls keep old plug after u change for standby safe !