Hey bro thanks so much for the responses man! Totally appreciate your inputs.

I'm very much a person who is into practicality too however due to my lack of technical knowledge, I tend to be swayed to purchase something I don't really need. But, my intention is always to make my ride better as well as to upkeep it so that in future, I don't have to spend tonnes of £ $ € or ¥ to maintain the worthiness of the engine.

Your suggestion on the $20ish clutch cover gasket, thats probably the most practical installation to check on the serviceability of the clutch plates. I'll get those done. This suggestion may save me a couple of hundred buck! Thanks!!

Bro, what made u upgrade those springs? I read abt Trac King performance clutch pack too. Didn't wanna make any purchase unless I'm sure the benefits that come along with the change is worth it.

Ahhhhh.. So by changing to heavy duty springs engaging and disengaging / half clutch will be a challenge that's what you're saying.

Bro, I'm the real newbie. See, I don't even know that Gen 1 busa uses slipper clutch :cheeky:

Coffee, tea, milk, me on me no problem. Oops did I say me? :cheeky:

There's just so much to learn about the hayabusa. My main priority now is to sup up my ride so that it is tour / track ready.

If you have any other suggestions on what I should upgrade on my bike for practicality purpose, I'd love to hear them.

For me now, I've just got my front & rear springs upgraded, brake master pump upgraded, brake pads replaced. I'm now thinking of getting my rearsets upgraded too. So far I haven't touched on the engine maintenance portion which I'll be very interested to know what is needed.

My project to sup up my ride has commenced.

Yes same here,repair it when it's minor before it become major.

lol you are too big for me,coffee would be nice.

You may want to upgrade your seat to Tobin or from Zero gravity,great for long hauls and launches.

Did you check your brake caliper pistons working fine when you changed your brake pads at the same time?

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg
  • Replies 56.7k

• Nok97

• NormalAspirated

• HYB80Y

• quizesilver

rearsets are a waste. usually the pegs will get loose. usually the foot brake signals will fail too.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk

i totally disagree,if you bought a rearset of good quality and a reputable brand.Chances of the pegs loose would be low.

The X factor is there,lighter and resale value is there too.

Able to adjust different postions,in a way best of both worlds for track and touring.

Just need to do a pre touring check and when you come back from touring.

I totally agree that it's also based on the honesty of the seller. Guess I recalled you / someone mentioning about your experience previously like back in year 2005/06.

Anyway, thanks for all the inputs really hope to see u guys for coffee soon.

Roughly around there,just my assluck.

I totally agree that it's also based on the honesty of the seller. Guess I recalled you / someone mentioning about your experience previously like back in year 2005/06.

Anyway, thanks for all the inputs really hope to see u guys for coffee soon.

Roughly around there,just my assluck.Yeah same here.

some 1 buy a used bike from that 1... whom every 1 knows.. But no 1 want to know that 1. and now some 1 not happy with that 1...:angel:

What a nice summary:)

Big Kor Kor..... lolz.. u see me high high liao.. Mark kor.im just a rider who love bikes.

w/o using clutch in up shift is ok.. throttle "blip" is impt. BUT down gear shifting MUST use clutch. :thumb:

Fred Kor being humble is good,but telling lies is not.

Thanks for sharing it with me Fred Big Kor Kor,see what i meant?

Stock clutch plate and clutch spring is good enough for stock bike or mild tune up bike. If no sign of clutch slip, no need to change. Thought your mileage is quite low, should be fine. Unless you do burnout or wheelie often, it think it should be fine.

As for rear set, just remove the 2 protruting pins below your foot peg first. The go track and see how it goes. If you managed to touch the peg, then change to an aftermarket rearset. I don't think you will also go track often as well. The amount spend on a reputable rearset, can get you a new set of tire. Think it is more pratical.

Thanks for the tip bro. As of last week my mileage is only + - 32500km what do you reckon? Should I get it checked?

As per Mercenary he suggested a change of the see thru clutch cover which wouldn't cost much so after this change, I should be able to see the clutch plates; a suggestion which I'll undertake.

Regarding rear sets, I've got an additional plate installed behind my originals. That gives me a sportier riding posture. However, I've never ever thought of removing the protruding pins before. Guess I'll do just that and see how it is.

Again, thanks for the tips.

i ride everywhere! i have a rear rack and will cable tie a basket to go market.

wahahahha! !!

my busa, u are worth every penny i paid u.

yup im happy with what ive done to my ride.

Bro u power lah.. Rear rack and cable tie to go Market! :thumb:

Thanks for the tip bro. As of last week my mileage is only + - 32500km what do you reckon? Should I get it checked?

As per Mercenary he suggested a change of the see thru clutch cover which wouldn't cost much so after this change, I should be able to see the clutch plates; a suggestion which I'll undertake.

Regarding rear sets, I've got an additional plate installed behind my originals. That gives me a sportier riding posture. However, I've never ever thought of removing the protruding pins before. Guess I'll do just that and see how it is.

I think you mistaken Mercenary meaning. What he meant is to open up your clutch cover to check the clutch plate physically. This way you might need to change the clutch cover gasket if the gasket got torn during the opening process.

Erm... I still prefer the ride and feel method.

Ya, the stock rearset is good enough for casual rider. Upgrade it when you think you have passed it limit.

Edited by kinwei
Yes same here,repair it when it's minor before it become major.

lol you are too big for me,coffee would be nice.

You may want to upgrade your seat to Tobin or from Zero gravity,great for long hauls and launches.

Did you check your brake caliper pistons working fine when you changed your brake pads at the same time?

Hahahaha.. Same mentality towards our rides.

:cheeky: yes I agree I'm too big la.. Hahahahaha..

I did try to find Tobin seats but I hardly get any response. But I have to admit that after that few unsuccessful attempt to acquire the seats, I gave up. And man.. it isn't cheap those Tobin seats (from abroad). Maybe I'll go look for it again.

Nope, did not check on the brake calliper pistons at all (pardon me for my ignorance but it didn't even cross my mind to get it checked because I don't even know abt the pistons to begin with). Why must these pistons be checked? What detrimental effects does it have if these pistons went kaput?

I think you mistaken Mercenary meaning. What he meant is to open up your clutch cover to check the clutch plate physically. This way you might need to change the clutch cover gasket if the gasket got torn during the opening process.

Erm... I still prefer the ride and feel method.

Ya, the stock rearset is good enough for casual rider. Upgrade it when you think you have passed it limit.

Oh I see! Damn, that means I've misinterpreted his suggestion. Thanks for clarifying it bro.

Regarding the ride and feel method, so far (touch wood) I haven't felt it yet but I felt it in an old car many years ago.. it was so bad that the vehicle even at high rev, clutch fully disengaged still could not climb a mild slope + acceleration was utterly sluggish. Is this how the bike would react in a similar case?

Oh I see! Damn, that means I've misinterpreted his suggestion. Thanks for clarifying it bro.

Regarding the ride and feel method, so far (touch wood) I haven't felt it yet but I felt it in an old car many years ago.. it was so bad that the vehicle even at high rev, clutch fully disengaged still could not climb a mild slope + acceleration was utterly sluggish. Is this how the bike would react in a similar case?

As long the rpm does not match it supposing speed, that is a clutch slip for you.

about seats,

if u goggle and read about it. its always a mix reviews.

as for myself, im using gel seat.

i quite nice feeling but still lacking in some areas. once i change the seat cover, i notice the gel.is only at the center of the seat. a small one. damn. i felt rip off man.

ebay gel seat and u find a big potion of gel. juz that it needs to place on ur seatpan and cover it with seat cover. wise to ask the pro to do it.

would go with that route. once done will sell off my current one cheap2.

I personally feel that it will be better if the foot peg is slightly higher..

Installing after market rear set is nice but a decent pair will cost you around $980..

wow . . . . !

get from ah boy johor cost like rm500 max? heheheh sawadeekap brand.

i got a adapter to raise the footpegs abit. that too i scrap the pegs. hahahaha not that i racer juz that busa is low already lar. easy to scrap the pegs wahahahaha.

Whao, what foot peg is that? I think a resonable set will cost around $400~$500, like vortex brand.

I think the foot peg height is subjective to a person body. Those ang mo preferred lowered foot peg, maybe due to their long legs. While maybe us asian are usually smaller built hence preferred a higher peg. I also find if the peg is slightly higher will be better. Then I can rest my elbow on my lap while riding the boring NSHW up north.

wow that's quite a high price to pay for the rear sets. I was thinking $400-$500 range.

Whao, what foot peg is that? I think a resonable set will cost around $400~$500, like vortex brand.

I think the foot peg height is subjective to a person body. Those ang mo preferred lowered foot peg, maybe due to their long legs. While maybe us asian are usually smaller built hence preferred a higher peg. I also find if the peg is slightly higher will be better. Then I can rest my elbow on my lap while riding the boring NSHW up north.

how i wish i can be like what you've described, smaller built asian. On the contrary, I'm 1.85m weighing in at 120kg. Average size la hor.. :cheeky:

i got a adapter to raise the footpegs abit. that too i scrap the pegs. hahahaha not that i racer juz that busa is low already lar. easy to scrap the pegs wahahahaha.

I got the exact adaptors on too but havent managed to scrap the pegs. You must be a cornering freak!

wow that's quite a high price to pay for the rear sets. I was thinking $400-$500 range.

i think is either light tech or woodcraft.. cant rmb

if interested can try go look around at unique, one of the staff there riding busa.. with tons of accessory.. got bling bling rim also haha

so i was like saw his rear set and i ask how much.. when i heard the price then i also WAHHH! lolz..

but i did install the woodcraft engine case with slider, $320

I got the exact adaptors on too but havent managed to scrap the pegs. You must be a cornering freak!

use what u have now first. once u have hit the pegs and wants more clearence then u upgrade to a racing footrest.

i no corner freak. juz trying out only.

i hit 300km/h once

scrap footpegs around 4 time

thats it.

how i wish i can be like what you've described, smaller built asian. On the contrary, I'm 1.85m weighing in at 120kg. Average size la hor.. :cheeky:

Ya I knew. Rode with you before, many years back... :angel:

Btw, anyone knows where powder coat shops are located? I tried find at AmK industrial area. One of the shops do, but when i ask if could powder coat my rear foot rest, they say leceh la, need to leave bike there la. Sigh... I'm like wth?! We still can ride when we take out our rear foot rest what. Just that cannot pillion only wat correct?

Then after a few days went back to the shop and i say ok can leave bike there, they say they dont do! Wtf wtf wtf wtf???!!!!! Lolzzzz

Any seniors can chip in?

"Bikes don't leak oil, they mark their territory"...