I wrote to the TP about Steven Ho's notorious letter to the Forum. After waiting for more than one month, I have received a reply. I'll post the full reply on this thread once I'm done typing it out.

My email and letter to the TP, respectively, can be found at the following links:

(a) First email to TP dated 23 February 2010

(b) Letter to Commander of TP cc Minister for Home Affairs dated 9 March 2010 (printed)

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg
  • Replies 61

I wrote to the TP about Steven Ho's notorious letter to the Forum. After waiting for more than one month, I have received a reply. I'll post the full reply on this thread once I'm done typing it out.

My email and letter to the TP, respectively, can be found at the following links:

(a) First email to TP dated 23 February 2010

(b) Letter to Commander of TP cc Minister for Home Affairs dated 9 March 2010 (printed)

thumbs up for your great effort sis. :thumb:

however, personally, im not very optimistic of an pro-biker kind of response from the TP...

anyway, thanks for speaking up on behalf of us bikers sis! that takes courage!

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

Date: 26 March 2010

Dear [name]

FEEDBACK ON MOTORCYCLE ACCIDENTS

I refer to your letters dated 23 February and 9 March 2010.

2. We thank you for your keen interest in issues surrounding motorcyclists and for sharing your views on the matter. Traffic Police recognise that motorcyclists belong to a vulnerable group of road users. In 2009, motorcyclists and their pillion riders remain one of the most vulnerable groups of road users, accounting for more than 48% of all road fatalities. The main causes of motorcycle accidents include:

(a) failure to have proper control, which includes motorcyclists self-skidding and in most cases, no other vehicles were involved in the accidents;

(b) failure to keep a proper lookout, where the motorcyclist failed to do his proper checks to look out for the approach of other motorists and road users; and

© failure to give way to traffic with right of way, for example, motorcyclists coming out from the slip road onto the main road.

3. Based on our statistics in 2009, there were a total of 91 motorcyclist fatalities of which 60.4% or 55 were caused as a result of the fault of motorcyclists. This proportion has remained fairly consistent over the past 3 years.

4. Traffic Police had taken Mr Steven Ho's letter to the Forum Page as a feedback and is of the view that the general motoring public is aware of the speed limits of the various classes of vehicles on the roads as there are designated speed limit stickers affixed to the back of the vehicles affected. As such, there was no need to respond to what amounted to his own personal views.

5. Whilst there are no speed limits imposed on motorcyclists other than adherence to the speed limits of the roads they are travelling on, it is imperative that [blank]. To this end, regular educational programmes such as the Ride Safe campaigns are conducted to raise awareness and promote safe riding. In May last year, Traffic Police also revised the existing training curriculum of driving schools to enhance the knowledge of learner riders of their vehicles and to encourage defensive riding on the road.

6. Traffic Police also recognise that it is equally important for motorists to look out for vulnerable road users like motorcyclists and cyclists. At the onset of training for a learner driver, the importance of looking out for such vulnerable road users, both at the theory and practical levels, is emphasised. Motorists are also taught not to make sharp turns at corners and to slow down and give way to motorcyclists and other vulnerable road users when making a turn. It is also a strict requirement for the trainees and testees to check their blind spots during driving instructions and tests. This is to ensure that drivers take note of motorcyclists and cyclists who may be in their blind spots. All motorists, motorcyclists inclusive, are also taught and reminded to keep to the left lane(s) unless overtaking.

7. Once again, we would like to thank you for your interest in the above matter. We are open to suggestions that the motorcycling fraternity may have on ways that we can help to make our roads safer. If there are any suggestions that you would like for us to consider, please contact my staff, Station Inspector Nora Bachok, from the Road Safety Branch, at Tel: 65476282 or email her at Nora [email protected].

Yours sinceely

[signed]

SOH WAN KHUAN

COMMANDING OFFICER

ROAD SAFETY BRANCH

TRAFFIC POLICE DEPARTMENT

I personally love this sentence:''If this speed limit does indeed exist then this must be made clear to all motorcyclists. As a Ducati owner, I do want to know if I am expected to stick to only the first gear on Singapore roads.''

that steven ho deserve a tight slap. How my bloody big hands yearns for his face.. LOL

No matter where motorbike is allocated on the expressway will not suffice to these type of people.. If all motorbike were to follow by the 70km/hr rule on lane 3. It will futhermore increase jam thus making them( car who are always impatient ) horn and curse us, cause we are blocking their exit point. What crap is that. If everyone follows the traffic rules there won't be any problem in dealing with road hogging or even speedster. Courtesy is important.

If you ever need any poll assistance please do let me knw. I still can forget the case of Sim Ming Editor who didnt see the red light killed a Indo maid. That is fargin ridiculous.

Pls analyse the content of TP's reply. I can see a few points for rebuttal although I'm reluctant to take it further (because tired of dealing with TP liao).

If you ever need any poll assistance please do let me knw. I still can forget the case of Sim Ming Editor who didnt see the red light killed a Indo maid. That is fargin ridiculous.

poll wat? me too, absolutely ridiculous.

might as well jit tao charge motorcyclists for being in their way.. i gotta be careful wat i "wish" for.. :rolleyes:

OF COURSE they can run u down lar! u riding motorcycle mah! :faint:

Got 3 only? How come there is no driver never give right of way to motorcyclist? o_O

wah lutein, thank you for standing up for bikers!

first you intro the idea of camera riding, now you stand up for us.

got paypal account for donation? lol.

Date: 26 March 2010

3. Based on our statistics in 2009, there were a total of 91 motorcyclist fatalities of which 60.4% or 55 were caused as a result of the fault of motorcyclists. This proportion has remained fairly consistent over the past 3 years.

1. How about the other 40% of the cases ?

Any actions taken to reduce this number ?

2. I doubt their statistic, in the 60%, how many are has been generalized as :

(a) “Failure to have proper control”

(b) “Failure to keep a proper look out”

© “Failure to give way to traffic with right of way”

We know they are some riding like an idiot, but nobody want to die on the road.

No public know the actual statistic, no one can challenge they way the interpret the statistic too.

They always aim at the wrong target, use a "specified" method to solve a "general" problem.

The commissioner of Traffic police should resign because he/she has failed to reduce the traffic accident rate on the year over so many years.

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

it would be senseless to fix motorcyles speed to 70km/h...

they will be tailgate by vehicle from rear which will impose most danger to this group of road users.

From Honda's Phantom to ..................

Clearing each stage at SSDC and BBDC for bike license was fun !!!

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4040/4495691832_8fc77978b6_b.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4012/4495691824_310a73639f_b.jpg

A few points to note:

a) TP confirm that there is no speed limit on motorcycles. All road users however have to observe the speed limit of the roads they are travelling on.

(Why TP is so reluctant to state this clearly in its letter, I do not know. Why won't it say "Steven Ho is wrong. There is no speed limit on motorcycles."???)

b) Since TP puts so much weight on the training portion of the equation, TP can consider the following:

i) stop teaching four finger braking (re. self-skid);

ii) conduct refresher courses for students 1 year after passing (and not at the ridiculous speed of 30km/h please);

iii) make Class 3 students take at least one lesson on 2B motorbike;

c) Remember that drivers and riders with 20 year old habits do not go through the driving school. What messages do you have for these guys? [This to me is the weakest part of the reply.]

d) Let the TP set a good example. For ****'s sake please put them in some good protective gear!!!

a matter of protecting ka cheng mah, if i say outright he is wrong, then got big hoo ha here and there, kena sue etc, bring bad light.

no attention is good attention.

anyway, we should really consider making class 3 drivers go through a lesson on class 2b first, nothing like living a life of someone else than living that life of someone else.

Juz a thought.

If the "proportions remain consistent over the past 3 years", goes to show that what they're implementing isn't working.. doesn't it?

And I dun blame him for trying to remain as political and neutral about his reply in the preceeding mail. He is the Commander after all. Has to portrait an approachable and fair impression unto the community.

One problem I see, in my honest views, is the mentality of the new riders. Don't wish to elaborate but hope u get the gist. Peace.

The goal is not to set a fastest lap, it is to eventually win the race.

A few points to note:

a) TP confirm that there is no speed limit on motorcycles. All road users however have to observe the speed limit of the roads they are travelling on.

(Why TP is so reluctant to state this clearly in its letter, I do not know. Why won't it say "Steven Ho is wrong. There is no speed limit on motorcycles."???)

b) Since TP puts so much weight on the training portion of the equation, TP can consider the following:

i) stop teaching four finger braking (re. self-skid);

ii) conduct refresher courses for students 1 year after passing (and not at the ridiculous speed of 30km/h please);

iii) make Class 3 students take at least one lesson on 2B motorbike;

c) Remember that drivers and riders with 20 year old habits do not go through the driving school. What messages do you have for these guys? [This to me is the weakest part of the reply.]

d) Let the TP set a good example. For ****'s sake please put them in some good protective gear!!!

:thumb::thumb:

The commissioner of Traffic police should resign because he/she has failed to reduce the traffic accident rate on the year over so many years.

You meant TP Commandant?

there is only 1 commissioner of police overlooking the whole force, but there are many commandants overlooking the sub-divisions of the force, like TP, PCG, etc.. :angel::angel:

1. How about the other 40% of the cases ?

Any actions taken to reduce this number ?

2. I doubt their statistic, in the 60%, how many are has been generalized as :

(a) “Failure to have proper control”

(b) “Failure to keep a proper look out”

© “Failure to give way to traffic with right of way”

We know they are some riding like an idiot, but nobody want to die on the road.

No public know the actual statistic, no one can challenge they way the interpret the statistic too.

They always aim at the wrong target, use a "specified" method to solve a "general" problem.

theres only 1 commissioner of the police force n he just took over the ****.n nw u r crying out for him to resign?he didnt do anything wrong! what i think u meant was TP Commandant or Commanding Officer..

Do not trouble trouble unless trouble troubles you

disregard their position or rankings or titles, they are still public servants. especially these kinda formal letters, they had to show impartial, compassion,integrity,knowledge,abilities and courtesy in writing a letter to fool proof the prints be used against them or worst the whole department or singapore.

something to be expected and if u tell me, having the letter like not having a letter at all kinda things. what we actually asked is not justified (which is the revoking of Mr Steven's Licence haahaa) for literally failing his theory.

well a reply is better than no replies. juz keep it as a momento bah.who knows, in future, we might can use that letter to address some other related issues.

to TS, good job in helping all sg riders.讨回公道, 公道在人间啊啊!!

Class 3 29 April 2009[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2B 11 March 2010[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2A 02 July 2012[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2 On-Training[TP Attempt: TBA]

TA-200 Honda Phantom 2010~2013

GSR Suzuki 400R 2013~Present

the way their reply came back was not totally unexpected.. they didn't even bother solving the problem.. what they did was giving the problem another name... that's all that they are capable of.. honestly speaking.. I'm damn sick and tired of the authorities here in Sg.. but what can we do.. being a pink ic holder.. we've to "stick by the law.."

Like many of us already know.. or should have known.. they wont try to clear the air because they don't wanna be held responsible if any motorist were to start throttling like there's no speed limit and end up getting involved in an accident or something..

yet at the same time.. they can't exactly say that indeed there's a speed limit for motorcycles.. they're just walking in circles.. at the end of the day.. there's no solution...

Such is the way the system works in Sg.. either there's no reply.. if not there's "anyhow reply" ..

But i really appreciate what TS is doing.. but the red tapes in sg is really driving me nuts.. there's nothing we could do really.. i'm really hoping someday we can see some radical changes to all this bureaucracy and government agencies.. not to the extend of our neighbouring country ( you guys know which one) but perhaps just a little shake-them-up will make them see the light..

Selling Fanciful and Vintage Helmets. Interested pls Pm me!

we may needa wait till a TP crashed and had his facial bones smashed before seeing any of them wearing full face..

anyways, have you forwarded the letter to the presses??

Tell THEM that we need statistics on accidents..

Bike accidents - yes!! but bike knock bike??

Car accidents - car knock bike or???

Bikes on 2 wheels definately have it's disadvantages like skidding and losing control.. but if an accident involving car and bike, what category they put them in..?? and is there a lot of bike knock bike accidents..??

they do campaigns and road shows.. but they are targeting the wrong group..!!! tell me, which biker like to skid and crash???

anyone out there?? NO!!! so telling us to ride safe does make a point but we all know that..

they must changed their concept and they gonna teach those blind drivers to keep a look out for bikes!! that's the whole idea..!!

That Steven Hoes nothing better to do.Wana TP implemented 70 on all bike.What car is he driving anyway?Doesnt he know that a 600cc superbike 0-100kmh sprint take less than 4 sec and have a top speed of 280kmh?

Klass 2,3,4 i shiny Professional'noye litsenziya

1993:Class 2B-Yamaha RXK/RXZ/TZR125RR/SDR200/WR200-Aprilia RS125R-Kawasaki KRR150ZX(Former)

2000:Class 3-Honda Civic 1.6esi(Former)Proton Exora 1.6Turbo(Current)

2004:Bus Driver Vocational License

2009:Class 4

2011:Class 2A-Aprilia RS250-Honda CB400SF PB1-KTM250EXC(Former)Yamaha XJR400R(Current)

2013:Class 2-Suzuki B-King 1300(Former)