I am looking for a new helmut (maybe a pair), and am wondering how much to budget for it? I see $300-1000 range, and I also read about "made in china" with PSB sticker...at $30 up....any advice?

also...Regina and Ah Boy....ok they are well known...where else to look?

Subra

1994-GN125

1995-1997-KLE400

1997-2010-K1100LT

• Replies 25

Personally, i feel that the comfort level is the most impt factor to me. I always tend to choose wearing one helmet and leave my other helmets rotting which i only wear once or twice after purchased it. But comfort level also must come with some level of safety lah :D

http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/3506/62342128949007155586100.jpg

人在åš, 天在看

full face, comfort, design, safety, pricing, special features......

depend alot on individual lah.

seen $25 "approved" helmet before.

**only 1 img allowed in signature**

hrmm ok. here 1 :

http://content.ytmnd.com/content/9/f/f/9ff983101ba372c76820377e83214651.gif

Thanks - I am not really for full faced, as I think it is not suited to our weather, and i agree on comfort....and a rational mix with safety....still...so many choices....and budgets.

any advice on budget?

Subra

1994-GN125

1995-1997-KLE400

1997-2010-K1100LT

around $50-$100 should get you a good one at regina.

**only 1 img allowed in signature**

hrmm ok. here 1 :

http://content.ytmnd.com/content/9/f/f/9ff983101ba372c76820377e83214651.gif

Thanks - I am not really for full faced, as I think it is not suited to our weather, and i agree on comfort....and a rational mix with safety....still...so many choices....and budgets.

any advice on budget?

If you are not really for full face then actually any cheap helmet will do. Won't make much of a difference as most riders tend to land on their face in a crash.

vsubra66: When your chin gets axe-ground by the bitumen maybe you might reconsider your aversion towards Full faced Helmet. That being said certain 200 bucks helmet might do the job as well as a 600 bucks helmet. Do your homework and you'll be fine ;)

u litat sae...i shag sia.

coz i wann buy a helmet as well

any pink helmets out there ?

i kw 1 dunno EVO or wad $70? e other 1(dunno wad brand) $120 litat

HJC helmets got promo. trade in any old helmet can get $50 off CL-ST model($100).

Motorbike care products!

www.facebook.com/BikeFodder

absolutely correct!!! don't wear these "half face" helmets. they are useless if you have an accident. rather sweat than axe your chin!

Why some people must learn a lesson the painful way with their own chin, jaw and front teeth..... when they can learn from the experience of others for free.:faint:

And what is the price of pain or facial disfigurement?

Got dollar value? :slapforehead:

Still got people asked me why am I wearing Full face when riding scooter....i rest my case period.....

Get something that is snell or DOT approved. And change ur helmet every 3 years...

How much budget depend how much are you willing to spend Evey 3 years for me less than $300.....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Whats the point of $$$ when you are lying on the road side with half a brain?

Amazing how some of us can spend 20K on a bike, yet scrimp on a helmet.

Does it makes sense to you?

Want to wear a piss pot as a helmet and act cool, by all means.

Just remember the initial function of a helmet is to protect the brain, of which you only have 1.

Why some people must learn a lesson the painful way with their own chin, jaw and front teeth..... when they can learn from the experience of others for free.:faint:

And what is the price of pain or facial disfigurement?

Got dollar value? :slapforehead:

i agree with raptor cause i've lost my 2 fronts teeth when i had a head on collision accident years back, i was wearing a open face helmet and the visor broke into 2 pieces and cut my face as well. now i'm wearing a shoei sycrotec for protection. it not how much a helmet cost....it's how much you value your life. two front teeth do crowning cost $800 already. cost of ambulance $70 haizzzz.......think and do the calculations:cheeky:

1990 Yamaha TZR

1994 Honda Steed

1999 Honda super four

2002 Yamaha fazer 600

2003 Yamaha fazer 1000

2004 Honda Wave

2007 Yamaha X1-R

If you are not really for full face then actually any cheap helmet will do. Won't make much of a difference as most riders tend to land on their face in a crash.

I agreed with that statement whether is a $500 Arai or a $30 LAB helmet when you land face first it wont make any diff.....

A visor just do not have the rigidity of FF....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

i agree with raptor cause i've lost my 2 fronts teeth when i had a head on collision accident years back, i was wearing a open face helmet and the visor broke into 2 pieces and cut my face as well. now i'm wearing a shoei sycrotec for protection. it not how much a helmet cost....it's how much you value your life. two front teeth do crowning cost $800 already. cost of ambulance $70 haizzzz.......think and do the calculations:cheeky:

ambulance need to pay?!

hjc promo la. cheap and reasonable.

but some people really only learn things the hard way so don't force the ts to get full face la, his choice, his brain, his mouth and chin. lol.

haha well said guys

think i will get a ff.

those cheapo 1 aso cn rite ? less dan $200 de

haha well said guys

think i will get a ff.

those cheapo 1 aso cn rite ? less dan $200 de

Dun just think, GET one. Go motorworld, think the HJC promotion is still on. Less than $200. Grab it while stocks last.

Contrary to what most people think, an FF is not really stuffy inside. You will gradually get used to it.

Been wearing a FF since i got my 2B licence last year. Never looked back on an open face since.

It still perplexes me why some ppl will buy a $500++ open face when there are cheaper full face options in the market which is logically proven to provide more chin/mouth/teeh/lower jaw protection.

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/3699/ref1.jpg

Yeah, get the HJC from Motoworld, then throw away that useless open face. I have been using full face for 16 years, and I commute daily on my bike.

Those who say full face is hot and stuffy and restrict vision are just giving execuses.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

any advice on budget?

More than 90% of all the helmets are within your budget so you really have alot choices.

Full Face (FF) helmets definitely provide more protection than Open Face (OP) helmet especially the jaw area.

If you feel FF helmets are not suited for our weather that is because you are not riding fast enough :angel:.......just kidding, i take all that back.

A well designed FF helmet will provide good ventilation, and the wearer will definitely not be in discomfort.

Bikers wearing spectacles usually do not like FF because they find it troublesome.

You can always choose a Flip Up (FU) helmet. You can get a good NOLAN FU FU helmet at a reasonable price. Another recommendation is the SHOEI Synchrotech.

I am not qualified to comment on PSB's helmet testing methodology but i can definitely tell you a $25 PSB certified helmet from LAB is not the same as a branded helmet such as the SHOEI Synchrotech.

There are alot of technologies going into the design and production of these helmets which is part of the reasons for being so expensive.

The helmet is there for a single purpose to protect your head in the event of an accident so choose wisely.

wah $500++ 4 open face...

:bow:

More than 90% of all the helmets are within your budget so you really have alot choices.

Full Face (FF) helmets definitely provide more protection than Open Face (OP) helmet especially the jaw area.

If you feel FF helmets are not suited for our weather that is because you are not riding fast enough :angel:.......just kidding, i take all that back.

A well designed FF helmet will provide good ventilation, and the wearer will definitely not be in discomfort.

Bikers wearing spectacles usually do not like FF because they find it troublesome.

You can always choose a Flip Up (FU) helmet. You can get a good NOLAN FU FU helmet at a reasonable price. Another recommendation is the SHOEI Synchrotech.

I am not qualified to comment on PSB's helmet testing methodology but i can definitely tell you a $25 PSB certified helmet from LAB is not the same as a branded helmet such as the SHOEI Synchrotech.

There are alot of technologies going into the design and production of these helmets which is part of the reasons for being so expensive.

The helmet is there for a single purpose to protect your head in the event of an accident so choose wisely.

Wah bro, u recommend him Shoei or Nolan, $300+ price range. But i believe they are great helmets, no doubt.

TS, u should try goin to Motorworld, HJC IS-Max got promo selling for $180. That was 2 weeks back when i visited the Kaki Bukit branch, not sure if the promo is still on.

"The helmet is there for a single purpose to protect your head in the event of an accident so choose wisely."

This line reminds me of the time i went down to Regina to scout for helmet and almost got into an argument with my gf.

I was undecided between picking a Caberg Rhyno, AGV S4 or a Nolan 103.

She got restless and said that i choose helmet like a girl choosing shoes during shopping.

I replied, 'I'm choosing something to protect my head, so of course i should choose wisely'

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/3699/ref1.jpg

ya lor.but really canot blame ma.buy helmet leh. nid 2 c it,smell it,wear it 4 quite a while

not buy cig or a meal.

$180 nt bad 4 a ff.

but quality gd ?