Hi all, will be taking my first shot at the TP Test this Thur 28 Oct. ARGH feeling the heat man. Any kind veterans can provide some tips? THanks! :)

Hi Az, you taking this thurs too? Me too man. Argh damn nervous man. How is it like at the TP test? Alot of testers?

think there's a detailed report about TP test day posted by Barbaricboon on page 27 in this thread....

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/296934-CDC-Class-2B-(2010)/page27

• Replies 2.4k

how much is your tw200? and is tw200 a single-seated, looks quite small and also whats the max speed a tw200 can go?

still got no idea which bike to get

hi Endy, mine cost about 4.6k. Its a 2nd hand bike. 7months old only. TW is a dual seat bike. Frame medium frame but the tires are massive, can fight a class 2 bike tire size! TOp speed i have read many articles saying that once you hit 85km/h it will start to complain. From my 2 cents worth, i have done quite an extensive research. If can go 2nd hand. TW is definitely an awesome choice. May not be fast but damn solid to ride. COmfy is the word. Handling is top-notched. According to articles la. I havent got license, so i personally dont know, yet. HAHA!

de oppresso liber[/COLOR]

think there's a detailed report about TP test day posted by Barbaricboon on page 27 in this thread....

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/296934-CDC-Class-2B-(2010)/page27

Hi Freedeee! Hey this thread only got 26 pages la. I followed your link and ended back on this page leh haha! I tried searching for post by Barbaricboon but to no avail leh. ANyways, what the detailed report about? Mind giving us more info please? Thank you (:

de oppresso liber[/COLOR]

OMGOSH, sorry to hear that! :( Hope you are on the quick road to recovery!

Anyways, I saw ur picture and this is kinda unbelievable man, cos i have the same kinda set up in mind for my bike too! HAHA nice! I am thinking of getting D-flex Tusk handguards from amazon, and paste decals on my bike too! Bought a full face helmet on standby already too! WHen are you riding again bro? Lets go for a spin together after i get my license WOO! :)

Not anytime soon for sure. And uh, its 'sis' not bro, bro. HAHA. Jkjk.

kool edmund..id be goin down mah also if i pass..lol need to get my insurance dwn there,lols..some guys bike im buying from is from there so hopefully i pass can go down settle everything..and tp will have abt 90 pple my ferst try..thurs im not so sure,cya ard then~ cheers

Be a HERO

Add this Space For your Meat Fix: https://www.facebook.com/JamesButcheryCo?fref=ts

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

http://i621.photobucket.com/albums/tt299/Az_itsme/20140621_182817.jpg

Hihi. Just my observation from my TP on 07-10-10. Hope it can help to prep for your TP.

1. Report 0715 sharp for warm up. BTW elbow/knee guards are not neccessary on TP. The instructor will let you noe ur number tag. The number tag sequence based on NRIC number. So that means foreigners and "old people" will be the 1st few numbers.

2. Bikes are already pre-park in the middle of nursary. Slip on ur tag and choose any bike and go for 1 rd of warm up. Report any defects if any. After warm up, the instructor will direct u to park the bikes in row of 10.

3. After short rest, instructor will call out numbers and assign the bikes to you. This will be your ACTUAL bike for TP. Tags from 1-10 example will be assign to 1st row of the bikes and so on. Pls DO ur bike check as detail as possible. This is your last chance to find out any defects on your actual bike. The mechanic uncle will try to rectify on the spot if possible. And btw it is good for you to sit on the bike and try the bike bitting point and brakes just like lesson 1. so that u can be more accustom to the bike.

4. Ur PDL and IC are collected and wait for TP tester to arrive.

5. TP tester arrived and validate ur info. Once done, TP tester off to their position and TP start right away.

6. Same procedure as prac8. Wait for TESTER to wave for u to proceed. And pls remember to check right and left before moving off. I think the row in front of me all did not check. The circuit should be easier abit due lesser vehicle and bikes. Pls take note that the routes from slope to canteen and from E-brake to exit you will need to stop left and right instead of in the middle if any vehicle is stopping.

7. On the road. For my case only 4 tester stationed outside due 1 of them MC. 1 just outside the exit of CDC. 2nd on the 1st junction. 3rd on the main junction turning to the route leading the the U-turn. 4th on the U-turn junction.

8. Once TP completed, instructors will inform u the time and location for your results. Hang ard, eat some breakfast etc and proceed to the location once time is near.

9. Stress time. All of us waiting in the rm. Numbers will be called. Pls dont be too happy if your numbers are called. Numbers called are those who failed. The numbers that are called are normally in sequence/rows. ie if u are tag 3, the numbers called are 1, 6, 8, 9, 10 that means u have very very high chance that u passed.

10. Once all those numbers are called, the survivers will congrat each others and the safe driver oaths will be read out. Collect your result and go lvl2 to make your new licence!!

Hope this helps. cheers

Hi Freedeee! Hey this thread only got 26 pages la. I followed your link and ended back on this page leh haha! I tried searching for post by Barbaricboon but to no avail leh. ANyways, what the detailed report about? Mind giving us more info please? Thank you (:

here you go...good luck for your test!

went for CR just now. everything's okay but i very pek chek that i cant stay on the plank?????? my eyes look straight and everything liao it got me veru irritated that i dropped off =.= this thurs my prac 5! hope can pass on first try. but, seeing my sad case. SIGH.

hey ninny, try not to look straight down, look straight AHEAD aim the cone,at the far end, grip tank, the tighter the better.. , maintain half clutch, play with ur throttle, when going up from the stop line, always rev more, then try to on and off throttle and maneuver ur bike until you get past the plank.. when you think ur going to fast tap lightly on the rear brakes.. and keep the momentum going

if your bike ain't dirty, your not riding it enough

@Az_itsme....your first tp was on 9/9? what number tag were you?

@ninnypants....there are quite a few old threads here, some even dedicated completely to Plank.

can try and read up to see if it helps. different folks got slightly different methods so try all out and see which suits you best.

plank was my greatest obstacle too.

but i practised at it so much that i stopped falling off, managed to stay on almost 100% of the time, unless i refused to concentrate at all cos too tired. haha.

so it's possible! go for it! practise relentlessly and perfection will come.

one thing to consider.....you might be falling off cos you feel angry or frustrated. learning to relax while on the plank plays a very important part actually. :angel:

@ninnypants: plank is my worst obstacle, i drop like 50% of the time usually, but here's what i did to kinda help out a bit.

when queuing up, try and make the effort to position your bike as straight as possible with the plank.

stay relax and throttle a bit more to get on the plank! mounting the plank should be your most important objective! don't worry about time first.

look far (at like the end of the plank or the cones at slalom) and relax, controlling your clutch and rear-brake if necessary. if you followed this, you should be rather fast on the plank hence you definitely need to control your clutch and rear-brake to slow down a bit, but dun overuse the rear brake cause you might end up falling.

when you're nearing the end of the plank, try and rear brake to squeeze out that last second or so.

as a last resort, throttle more :) 4 points better than immediate failure. i got 4 pts for my plank for prac5 but i passed it anyway. so it's possible!

hey ninny, try not to look straight down, look straight AHEAD aim the cone,at the far end, grip tank, the tighter the better.. , maintain half clutch, play with ur throttle, when going up from the stop line, always rev more, then try to on and off throttle and maneuver ur bike until you get past the plank.. when you think ur going to fast tap lightly on the rear brakes.. and keep the momentum going

ok imma grip the tank tight tight until dent!!!

@ninnypants: plank is my worst obstacle, i drop like 50% of the time usually, but here's what i did to kinda help out a bit.

when queuing up, try and make the effort to position your bike as straight as possible with the plank.

stay relax and throttle a bit more to get on the plank! mounting the plank should be your most important objective! don't worry about time first.

look far (at like the end of the plank or the cones at slalom) and relax, controlling your clutch and rear-brake if necessary. if you followed this, you should be rather fast on the plank hence you definitely need to control your clutch and rear-brake to slow down a bit, but dun overuse the rear brake cause you might end up falling.

when you're nearing the end of the plank, try and rear brake to squeeze out that last second or so.

as a last resort, throttle more :) 4 points better than immediate failure. i got 4 pts for my plank for prac5 but i passed it anyway. so it's possible!

ohhh yeah. true. play smart. XD thanks for the tips guys!

Plank is ok for me, my greatest obstacle would be for general blindspot checking, slope and e-brake procedure... keep forgetting the steps... any tips on how to memorize the steps?

Money to bloW

keep forgetting the steps... any tips on how to memorize the steps?

You're asking for tips on how to memorize the blindspots. How about writing things down and practicing them in your head more? -_-

Plank is ok for me, my greatest obstacle would be for general blindspot checking, slope and e-brake procedure... keep forgetting the steps... any tips on how to memorize the steps?

eh when you wanna do road revision with me ah? my tp is in two more weeks seh.. haha anyway regarding your query, assuming u just came to a stop before the red line, and turn off throttle after the first white line.. here are the steps..

1)brake gradually (front and rear,but rear more, )

2)check right, left leg up/right leg down

3)check left ,left leg down/right leg up

4)check right and turn on right signal.

5)move off and quickly change to gear two(might get penalised if you decide to just drag gears until the give way line)

if your bike ain't dirty, your not riding it enough

ok imma grip the tank tight tight until dent!!!

I always dropped off the plank. ONe tip,RELAX. If there's someone on the plank infront of you, dont look. Cos you'll end up worrying or stressing yourself out. Take a deep breath, go fast up. Once your bike on the plank, look ahead. clutch in a bit and tap rear brake. Keep looking infront. I once used up one whole CR just for plank. Heh