Hi people, recently i met with an accident, where a taxi driver from oncoming traffic that is turning right didn't give way to me that is traveling straight. From the a passerby that help out, he told me the taxi driver admitted fault to the tp at the scene. I was conveyed to CGH at that point of time, due to fracture and dislocation of my thigh bone and right hand.

After 12 miserable days in the hospital, i was discharged and consulted a lawyer that instructed me to just go to make a police report first. After a week recuperation at home, i proceeded to a neighboring police station to make the report yesterday. I had informed my lawyer that i had made the report already, where he also asked me to photocopy all the documents.

Because of the injuries, i am on clutches and had difficulty of traveling far. My concern here is, i do not know the rest of the procedure of a third party claim that my lawyer mentioned. In addition, how long does it took for the IO to pass the verdict of the case?

Hi bro,

sorry to hear about your accident.

Anyway, I also kena the same as you a few years back, same injuries some more. :|

For your TP report, it depends. My verdict came out within 6 months. But I've heard about others whose verdict is released 1 year or what.

Patience bro. Some people call their IO now and then, but it all depends on luck I guess.

For now, you just concentrate on your recuperation.

Keep all the receipts of your taxi rides, hospital bills...etc.

If you are working, you got to see how long before you can return to work. Whether will it affect your future earnings and such, will be compensated to you. (by right)

Anyway, these details your lawyer/ law firm will inform you.

If the other party's law firm contact you, just ask them to refer to your law firm. Do not agree to anything or what without consulting your lawyer.

The case is going to drag, typically.

Mine took 3-4 years, countless trips to the law firms and specialists...etc.

You got to have patience, though sometimes it is frustrating.

Speedy recover and best regards.

• Replies 194

hello guys. on may 2009 i suffered a serious accident. i was going straight when a car turning right at junction never see me and bang me. i fractured my right thigh bone and left ankle. metal screws were inserted into my left ankle and a long metal plate is inserted into me right thigh (from the hip all the way to the knee). and i am also a student so i was given 6 months mc by the doctor and thus i have to retain a semester of my studies.

now after about 7 months after this injury i still cant feel any feeling in my 1st 2 toes of my left leg although i can move them around. they are still numb from the operation. and also i cant walk properly and i am still limping and have problems climbing up and down the stairs. anyway tp give verdict favouring me and charged the driver so by law its not my fault.

so can anyone advice me what can i do next? i do want the driver's car insurance to pay for all my medical and the school fee i have to pay for the extra semester and also for the repair of my motorcycle. anyone with similar experience? thank you.

Guns don't kill people.Idiots with guns kill people.

hello guys. on may 2009 i suffered a serious accident. i was going straight when a car turning right at junction never see me and bang me. i fractured my right thigh bone and left ankle. metal screws were inserted into my left ankle and a long metal plate is inserted into me right thigh (from the hip all the way to the knee). and i am also a student so i was given 6 months mc by the doctor and thus i have to retain a semester of my studies.

now after about 7 months after this injury i still cant feel any feeling in my 1st 2 toes of my left leg although i can move them around. they are still numb from the operation. and also i cant walk properly and i am still limping and have problems climbing up and down the stairs. anyway tp give verdict favouring me and charged the driver so by law its not my fault.

so can anyone advice me what can i do next? i do want the driver's car insurance to pay for all my medical and the school fee i have to pay for the extra semester and also for the repair of my motorcycle. anyone with similar experience? thank you.

Your description suggests that you can make a claim. You should consult a lawyer who is experienced at handling personal injury cases, explain what you just said above, and ask about the next steps. For a quick preliminary advice, you can go to a legal clinic. Please do it fast before you start losing track of details and papers.

He who hesitates is lost!

hi people, do you all have any idea of the firm Hit Tat augustine & partners, how was the lawyer and reputation. i was recommended this firm by my dispatch company.i just signed the agreement form with one of the coordinator if i am not wrong.

hey bros i was wondering if anyone can gv me some advice. i got into an accident last year around Oct 09. I was turning right, amber light turning to red, i turn, car going straight hit me blablabla. basically i dislocated my elbow, bike scrap.

The driver alr claimed insurance frm my company. I engaged a lawyer, which until nw, a good 9mths down has done nothing, no claims whatsoever.

Bt today AIG, the drivers insurer, juz called me and offered me to settle. they say they been trying to ctc me for past few mths cant ctc. duno y. But the person sounded very desperate for me to settle. like she wana close the case fast.

I asked her and she say sum i will be offered, based on past cases, is ard 4-7k. Take note my only injury is a dislocated elbow and abrasions. What im confused is, i duno if i shud accept it.

Plus point is the person say within 1mth i can see my $$. im not a greedy SOB, and i do take into acc that i did not sustain any perm injuries. im back at 100% and gone back to gyming and all. bench press 1.5x ok no probs so i guess im at 100% ah. So i dun nd to worry abt future follow ups or anyth. I wouldnt mind if this 4-7k i might get is like 50% lower than if i were to engage lawyer. but i really wouldnt wana find out one day that i could haf gotten like 50k or sth. thats a life changing amount and i will kick myself for being impatient.

any advice? again injuries are dislocated elbow and abrasions.

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/162924_10150098222388659_776873658_7311881_1249924_n-1-3.jpghttp://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/184825_10150138083343659_776873658_7941714_3856564_n.jpg

hey bros i was wondering if anyone can gv me some advice. i got into an accident last year around Oct 09. I was turning right, amber light turning to red, i turn, car going straight hit me blablabla. basically i dislocated my elbow, bike scrap.

The driver alr claimed insurance frm my company. I engaged a lawyer, which until nw, a good 9mths down has done nothing, no claims whatsoever.

Bt today AIG, the drivers insurer, juz called me and offered me to settle. they say they been trying to ctc me for past few mths cant ctc. duno y. But the person sounded very desperate for me to settle. like she wana close the case fast.

I asked her and she say sum i will be offered, based on past cases, is ard 4-7k. Take note my only injury is a dislocated elbow and abrasions. What im confused is, i duno if i shud accept it.

Plus point is the person say within 1mth i can see my $$. im not a greedy SOB, and i do take into acc that i did not sustain any perm injuries. im back at 100% and gone back to gyming and all. bench press 1.5x ok no probs so i guess im at 100% ah. So i dun nd to worry abt future follow ups or anyth. I wouldnt mind if this 4-7k i might get is like 50% lower than if i were to engage lawyer. but i really wouldnt wana find out one day that i could haf gotten like 50k or sth. thats a life changing amount and i will kick myself for being impatient.

its hard to give you an advice on this. The best i can think of is to call your lawyer and tell him/her your side of the story...they are the best to advice you in your situation and they can tell a bit more accurately how much you deserve..:thumb:

Those Who Don't Know Pain

Can Never Know True Peace

Talk to your lawyer, not the 'part time lawyers' we have in this forum, yours truly included. :)

The only 'advice' i got is as above. :)

Do not accept the settlement unless you really, really, really sure you are back to 100% before the accident.

Cos once you accept it, its case close.

Have you gotten the traffic police verdict on the accident by the way?

Consult ur lawyer.

take note. every month they drag in pay u. The lawyer will charge them interest for you. The trauma u suffer. Ur lawyer will make claims for u. Lost of transport. The lawyer will claim for u. Scars, They will claim for you.

Best is consult ur lawyer. Just a small 1 cm by 0.2cm scar I have due to the accident. the lawyer claim for me 250.

And no worries about lawyer charges. These will be billed to the insurance company. In a event u need to fight in court. U only needs to pay the lawyer a certain amount.

In summary Best solution and advise, please contact ur lawyer.

Ask to see your lawyer immediately and get his view on the offer to settle.

My claims from my accident that happen on dec 2008 until now not yet settle.

the other party insurance keep repudiating.even MIB step in,they still insist on repudiating.

dunnoe when can it be settled.

4-7k for dislocate elbow,broken finger is not enough lah bro

Klass 2,3,4 i shiny Professional'noye litsenziya

1993:Class 2B-Yamaha RXK/RXZ/TZR125RR/SDR200/WR200-Aprilia RS125R-Kawasaki KRR150ZX(Former)

2000:Class 3-Honda Civic 1.6esi(Former)Proton Exora 1.6Turbo(Current)

2004:Bus Driver Vocational License

2009:Class 4

2011:Class 2A-Aprilia RS250-Honda CB400SF PB1-KTM250EXC(Former)Yamaha XJR400R(Current)

2013:Class 2-Suzuki B-King 1300(Former)

Like Construction said, Do you have the Traffic Police Verdict? If so, thats a death sentence for the other insurance cause the TP already say who is at fault.

If you don't have the TP Verdict, like myself, consult ur lawyer. He will know how to get the most for you. 4-7k is seriously quite low lar. My friend suffered a knee injury and got 40k. But then again if doctors can't prove that your elbow is causing you problems you're at a dead end.

Perhaps you could see a specialist and ask him about the ligaments in ur elbow. Any Lasting Damages.

But before this, always consult your lawyer. If you need a good lawyer, I find my lawyer is damned good. Feel free to pm me if you want his contacts.

Follow your heart, don't regret when you're older

yo bros, i got an update regarding my case. apparently the driver who hit me has been dealt with and charged with dangerous driving. So the insurance guy called me and we met up and discuss and im nw looking at $10-12k. Damn tempted to take man. Haix. Super confused.

Take the money now can take out new bike full cash sia lol. But if go through lawyer will take at least another year. I noe alot of ppl will tell me go through lawyer ah, but $10k now would go a long way as im gona start school soon(private degree) and the money can ease my burden abit. Really the only thing that is tempting me right now is the fact that i can get my money in 1-3mths time. Am gona decide by end of this mth ah hopefully i will make the right descision.

Anyway would appreciate it if any guys here have past experience regarding compensation for my kind of injuries, abrasion and dislocated elbow. Can inform me. Btw Ken1987, ur lawyer fast or nt? Can pm me his contact.

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/162924_10150098222388659_776873658_7311881_1249924_n-1-3.jpghttp://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/184825_10150138083343659_776873658_7941714_3856564_n.jpg

Hi bro, my injuries were similar to yours. I had a dislocated shoulder, torn toe ligament and tons of abrasions. I got to claim 19.5k. And it wasn't entirely the car's fault, so I only got 50% of my full claim, which was 19.5k out of 40k.

So in your case, which the driver was charged, means the driver was mostly at fault. Under my situation if I got to claim 19.5k, I think you should settle for WAY MORE. Thats from my own experience. Hope it kinda helped you.

yo bros, i got an update regarding my case. apparently the driver who hit me has been dealt with and charged with dangerous driving. So the insurance guy called me and we met up and discuss and im nw looking at $10-12k. Damn tempted to take man. Haix. Super confused.

Take the money now can take out new bike full cash sia lol. But if go through lawyer will take at least another year. I noe alot of ppl will tell me go through lawyer ah, but $10k now would go a long way as im gona start school soon(private degree) and the money can ease my burden abit. Really the only thing that is tempting me right now is the fact that i can get my money in 1-3mths time. Am gona decide by end of this mth ah hopefully i will make the right descision.

Anyway would appreciate it if any guys here have past experience regarding compensation for my kind of injuries, abrasion and dislocated elbow. Can inform me. Btw Ken1987, ur lawyer fast or nt? Can pm me his contact.

The offer to settle depends on many things and these can change from person to person. Discuss the offer of settlement with your lawyer and get his advice. Then after hearing the advice, you should decide on what's best for you - which you will know best.

Dear all,

I need some advice here.

I was involved in a Road Traffic Accident back on 27/7/2009. I was travelling straight along this 2 lane road and at the junction, I was hit on my right by a car turning right.

More details on this accident:

I was travelling along this road after moving off from a red light at the junction just 170 meters away from the junction that my accident happened. I was the first vehicle to move off, so I will take extra note of the situation ahead of me. While approaching the junction, I can see that a car is trying to make a right turn, but was in a stationary position, seeing that I have the right of way, and green lights in my favor, I continued my journey but with caution.

When I was in the junction, I remember clearly that the car is still in stationary position, but when I was going pass it, the next thing I know, I was thrown out of my bike and fell onto the road.

I was still conscious after the fall, I can still move my body and legs, I thought that I was alright, which I just fell out of my bike because I was knock off it. But I was so wrong, I fell numbness to my right shin, then there are some passersby who came to me and help me, asking if I am alright and they took off my helmet. I asked if I am alright, and one of them told me that I will be fine. I tried to sit up to further access my injury when to my horror, I found my right leg in a very awkward position. Then I realized that I had broken my right tibia and fibula, it was a serious injury as I had an open fracture injury.

Soon, the ambulance was at the scene and I was taken to hospital. The only thing I was asking is can my leg be saved?

After a long surgery, they finally saved my leg, they told me that I had suffered a Cat 3C fracture, that is the worst fracture that anyone could have suffered. I not only had fractures to my tibia, fibula and ankle bones, but also severed my blood vessel, my nerves and my muscles as the broken bone pierce through my skin.

I stayed in the hospital for a month, and gone through multiple surgeries, involving skin grafting, muscle grafting and vein grafting. I was also on internal and external fixators to align my leg.

I can consider myself luck that all major injures only concentrated on my right leg, I did not suffer any other injuries.

After I was discharged, I met up with my lawyer’s assistant, who took the account of my accident and advised me on how I should make my police report. Then I went to the police post at the hospital to file my case.

After everything, I went back to the law firm to sign on the warrant to act letter and the lawyer’s assistant informed me that they will proceed with the fact findings which will take 3 – 6mths, and during the mean time, I should keep all receipt and documents for future claims. He also told me that they will proceed with the claim once I have recovered, which will be ard 1 year, judging from my injury. He did mentioned that if I am in need of money, they can make the claim for me now. So I told him that I will wait.

In between this wait, I had a few more surgeries done to me, removal of external fixator in Oct 09, bone grafting in Dec 09 and internal cleaning of infected wound in Mar 10.

The latest surgery was done because the A & E doctors found an abscess on the skin right on top of the metal implant. With that, they found out that I am suffering from osteomyelitis, an infection to the bones.

Doctors told me that further operations will have to be done for me, but in the mean time, they will have to put me on antibiotics treatment.

From that point onwards, I know that my injury will not be recovering that soon, so I go back to my lawyer and asked from their help. They told me that I can get and interim payment to help me with my bill payments, so I requested them to proceed with it.

A Writ of Summon was served against the lady driver, who somehow failed to reply within the time set for her to reply, so an Interlocutory Judgement (I/J) was obtained against her by my lawyer.

This I/J was served based on a 100% liability claim.

After collecting all my receipts and documents till date, they proceed with requesting for the interim payment. Once again, the defendant (now is the Insurance Company) did not reply with the payment, therefore, my lawyer put up a court order for them to pay up.

Their lawyer replied with the acknowledgement with a paragraph notifying that they have advised their client to put up a request to set aside this I/J imposed against them.

How, the lawyer’s assistant have been communicating with me, telling me that in order to settle this case fast, I should consider giving up about 10% out of the 100% that I have gotten now for negotiation. This means the liability issue will be 90% - 10%. He quoted cases that the plaintiff tend to lose more if they going into court with the defendant, and he advice me to take this 10% out to bargain for that 90% - 10% liability.

Upon hearing this, I went to some extend by talking to friends, and even another lawyer about this issue. Their views are quite different, and each have their point of view on either I stay firm to fight for my 100% claim or I offer this 10% as a fast settlement.

I am quite torn on the fact that I don’t wish to relinquish any liability until I am proven liable, but risking the fact that I will lose more percentage to my claims. Furthermore, I will be going for another operation on 2nd Sept 10.

In the end, I told my lawyer to tell the defendant’s lawyer to go ahead with the request to court for lifting of the I/J.

Any Bros out there have any experience in this I/J issue, I need an advice whether should I fight for the 100% or give up 10% for negotiation?

My lawyer’s assistant kept giving me the idea that I will lose my quest by stating all the past cases that he had handled before.

What should I do?

The short story is that it is quite rare to see 100% liability attributed to one party. 100% would happen, for example, when someone hits you from behind. When it comes to deciding whether your lawyer knows the law and how it applies to your case better, or whether your friends would know better, the answer should be clear.

You should ask your lawyer what happens if you concede liability at 90%. Specifically, ask what is the proposed amounts claimed as damages, and whether this has been agreed with the defendant? Note that there are many cases where the parties agree on liability, but did not agree on the amount of damages. You might also ask what kind of damages, and how much, to claim for each type. He should explain to you special damages and general damages, and the different types under each. And where the disputes could arise if the defendant have not already agreed these claims or amounts.

The short story is that it is quite rare to see 100% liability attributed to one party. 100% would happen, for example, when someone hits you from behind. When it comes to deciding whether your lawyer knows the law and how it applies to your case better, or whether your friends would know better, the answer should be clear.

You should ask your lawyer what happens if you concede liability at 90%. Specifically, ask what is the proposed amounts claimed as damages, and whether this has been agreed with the defendant? Note that there are many cases where the parties agree on liability, but did not agree on the amount of damages. You might also ask what kind of damages, and how much, to claim for each type. He should explain to you special damages and general damages, and the different types under each. And where the disputes could arise if the defendant have not already agreed these claims or amounts.

Thanks Bro Contrarian,

When asked about the conceding of the 10%, my lawyer's assistant told me that it is like a bargaining chip, the defendant's lawyer will bargain for more, but he told me that we will not bargain beyond that 10%.

After much consideration, I decided to fight the case, I mean, there's no guarantee that the Insurance company will accept my call for a 90/10 settlement. I understand very well that I will not get a 100% claim as there's no witnesses and its my word against her word.

I haven't even gotten any word from the TP about the case, whether she's been charged or not. I understand that if I stand trial, they don't even need the police to charge the lady, the trial can take place before the police even touches on my case because I am claiming the interim payment now.

I'm not sure why, but the lawyer's assistant keep quoting me failed cases. Take for example, he quoted me a case that the biker was knocked down by a car which is making a right turn, the biker was charged with 100% liability!! I mean, why is he telling me all this to 'scare' me?

As for the claims, they've advice me on the respective claims, and everything. But I kept having this feeling that they are just trying to 'scare' me to settle my case fast so as to give them the time to take on another case.

Oh, btw, I've gotten the court order for my interim claim, and the lawyer's assistant told me that they will take 2 weeks from the date of the court order for me to receive the money, but I've not gotten anything after the 2 weeks, I'm not sure how long with they or can they drag on this payment.

I was reading all the past cases, so have bro Harin settled his case? How about other bro's here?

I am still in this state when I still have at least half more year till I can start walking again, but due to this financial issue, I have to fight this case now, its so stressing....

You are levelling accusations at your lawyer, which are probably unwarranted. By telling you what happens in other cases, he is telling you the realities of similar claims, and what could happen. This is far better than not setting the client's expectations properly, because many claimants will believe that they are always right, and have a strong case, and will surely win everything they ask for. Those claimants get their shock when they succeed in part of the claim, or none, and regret their failure to consider offers to settle.

Since you say that you've been fully advised on the claim, then would you like to state what are the general damages and what are the special damages that you are claiming?